'How I got into the oil business' - Billionaire, Mrs Folorunsho Alakija | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 14 May 2014

'How I got into the oil business' - Billionaire, Mrs Folorunsho Alakija

One of the world's richest black women, Mrs Folorunsho Alakija has opened up on how she got into the oil business that has made her a billionaire. Speaking during the Women Inspiration & Enterprise WIE event that held two weeks ago, the chairman of Famfa Oil & Gas, said she got into the business through perseverance and hard work
"It was not a planned thing at all. A friend actually contacted me that some people wanted to buy crude oil and she was wondering if I will be able to get them to make the purchase. I got an appointment with the Minister of Petroleum and he told me that it's not the way to go because there wasn't much profit in selling it and because it's a foreign company that Nigeria is imposed at selling its crude to international market. That it will be better to look at other things. I went back to my friend and told her what the Minister said. Then it seemed as if that door was shut but something else came up. I chose not to walk away so I went back to offer another service which was catering services. And yet again I was shut down. I did not give up, I just knew that something had to come out of it. I spoke again to some friends in the oil industry and I was told to ask to be able to supply transportation services for those who are purchasing crude within the country but I was shut down again by the minister.
Then the last time I went to see the Minister, he told me that the government wants Nigerians to be involved in Nigeria's exploration and production. That it has been the multinationals that have been taking advantage of the oil business in Nigeria. So I was like OK...probably this is not the likes of me. I felt like there was no point coming back but honestly, I'm not the type to take no for an answer. So I began to ask questions, I began to knock on doors, I began to seek information and in the long run, I applied for an oil bloc. But all through that time, the ministers have been changed 3 times so each time they are changed, it takes me back to the bottom of the ladder and I will have to start all over again but I still did not give up. The whole thing started in January 1991 till the end of 1993. I kept going, kept going, kept praying, in-between I became a born-again Christian. That was when I knew the lord. When I was 40, I decided to enter a covenant with the lord that if he blesses me, that I will serve him for the rest of my life and then I got the oil license. It eventually came after 3years but I did not get the one I wanted." she said
On her husband's role in all her business pursuit, she said 
"My husband was solidly behind me. There were many times that I will go back home crying and he would tell me to stop crying and he would tell me to stop crying that after all, we are not starving, we are very comfortable. I had his support financially, morally because I had a settled home. I had a balanced relationship with my Husband and my children. All that helped me to dare to make a difference" she said

126 comments:

Meehn, this os so fucking inspiring but this gat me laffing """I kept going, kept going, kept praying, in-between I became a born-again Christian"" the lesson here is that in all things we should always put God first and wait to see hw he will surprise us and hardwork really pays no doubt.....

Thanks for the Revised version of how you got into oil business ma

oilandgasdissertation said...

Interesting story, #inspired

Oluwasegun O said...

I know in the nearest future, I will have a testimony like this too.
One thing I love about the whole script is that she has a home despite all the wealth and she has a place for her husband in her heart.

fungi said...

Awww nothing comes easy, good she has a supportive family, some husbands will b envious lol

ladywannabeblog.blogspot.com

SisiTiti said...

The oil Bloc is for T.y Danjuma. Lol mrs Alakija I know your story very well,why do these people keep decieving us,do u Libers know how how much it costs to get an oil bloc,who was she before she got an oil bloc?....it is well meaning nigerians and senior generals in the military that get oil blocs....the oil bloc she manages is not hers its for former military leader T.y danjuma pls tell them to stop deceiving us..lets not go into further details.**no joke**

God has blessed U madam. ride onnnnn

Please tell us how you were able to get so many meetings with ministers of petroleum. Because there are millions of people, even those who work in the oil industry, that have never been in the same room as a minister of petroleum.

DOBY DOBY said...

Words of encouragement

I love her and I'm happy for her. I know that God will do my own in Jesus name... Amen!

I so much love this woman. Somthn in me has alwz told me she's a born again christian. Anybody can deceive u think otherwise but the best of blessings com frm d Lord...u just have to give ur life wholly and entirel to him, wt a lot of patience, hardwork nd prayer. Im a living witness to that

Wow! Round of applause,never knew its so easy own an oil bloc in Nigeria. Hmmmmm.

kbouy said...

How does this inspire people, it sound more like a salon talk, oil rent collection is different from giving insight talks about investiment opportunities and skills requirement in oil and gas sector

Opportunity and hardwork madam! Some have been hardworking but never got the opportunity to meet people that will sell ideas to them or connect them as u had.

Folorunsho, Folorunsho, Folorunsho! How many times did I call you? Three times abi.

Just know that dia ris God u oo.

I no go blame you, you inherited the riches of the gentiles (Maryam Babangida) like bible talk am :)

I'm inspired!!!!! Never giv up!"! God bless me like u bless dis woman!!!

Am so inspired I av lent to pray and work and have faith and do not give up,madam thanks for sharing ur story with us

FUNMINISTA said...

So what's d moral lesson

ADULT JOKES said...

l like this. At 40 she didnt give up.

Haha madam everyone sabi how u got ur Oil bloc why are u lying to people thank God for u but u don't ve to lie about that. everyone knows how u got it through ............

Above all, i thank God u are a christian... because really what shall it profit a man to gain the whole world and lose his soul.

Haha Madam why are u lying now people knows how u get ur oil bloc through our formal ....... thru his .... u dont need to lie about that just thank God for you that u are rich and i pray u help the needs not living an extravagant life as others

I knw most nigerian's dnt like dis kind of news.majority wants quick money.Anyway am jst a young lady struggling to survive nd to make it big in life,have got a big dream nd sure news like dis do inspires me.have got a business in mind dt I believe would make me grow big if been focus of which I knw nd believe I will but do nt ve d fund to start up. Pls pls and pls am using dis as a means of reaching out to my fellow brothers nd sisters dat can support me wit 1.5m or let me say help me out.I will be very greatful..I dnt knw who to run to for help,am jst so confuse.I knw dt money is big bt I believe there re pple out dere dt can support me,I need to be an independent lady,I dnt jst knw hw to go abt it.pls linda I beg u in d name of almight God,pls post my message.

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

Such a Powerful n yet submissive moman... Dat ngele tho reminds me of Medusa's head... Does she have any single daughters? just asking as per bachelors concern hehehe

Amma be lik. U soon!

=mma linda d story isnt complete na

Seriously, this is the kind of women I admire.. Successful, confident, persistent and honest too.. Plus she is happily married and loves the Lord!

Ungrateful Nigerian beating ard d bush. This is a woman dat a fashion designer to maryann babangida n maryann babangida used her position as first lady to dash her oil bloc n she is here telling us hw she did dis n dat. Rubbish

I will like to be like u when I grow up...lol

Yeah right, 99% of us dont have the means to secure appointment with ministers.

Thank God. U fine come get money + husband + fine children. Na u biko. Enjoy ur life.

Story! Its that simple abi? The way she jst said it.....

Mrs Folorunsho Alakija, please help me with an employment in ur oil firm...Thank you and God bless u more

Family is everything, gud relationship stregthens you. God bless me wt one.
$$k@y$$

Stories dat touches d tozo...

This is super storyyyyy!

BeBe said...

I am glad I read this. Thanks for sharing. Perseverance pays off.

Ayodeji said...

Well you can now help someone who is not a liability 08023137665. Many thanks

Nonsense, she didn't even talk sense, u already hv millions so wot re u sayin, empower dos dat hv like 10k in acct how to be rich! Mtschew

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Ok congrats to you madam. Please come and adopt Eadreamz.. Thank you in advance...

What a happy story... The story of a woman who was determind to succeed against all odds

ANYA IKENGA said...

Lie! We're u not Mariam Babangida's tailor? U were supposed to be a front but got lucky cos u were making ur returns and u are still making.

hrm paul ojeih said...

Is dat so madam Alakija na so im take happen we thank the lord the bringer of wealth

FightThePower said...

Incoplete story... She had unfettered ACCESS. That's the only way you see the minister again and again to the point that one of them eventually points you in the right direction. Madam, now that the Lord has granted you success, would you be so kind as to share the TRUE story of how you cracked the ceiling? Don't gloss over anything. Aspiring women (the young and not so young alike) look upto you and above everything else the Lord Himself is also listening...

Get the fuck outta here! This isn't respectable money. It was acquired as a part of the incessant looting of a coutry's natural resources! No respect for ya lady..enjoy your money and try to take it to heaven with you.

Dee Tee said...

Oil business is indeed a business

Liar liar pants on fire! Madam there is God oh! 2015 is coming oh, oil block relocation things

Big lies....i know are children

What i have learnt form this story is that Perseverance and resislience pays.I thank God for her,praying and working towards my own oooo

There are many holes in this story. Nigeria is a very corrupt country and the oil n gas sector is the most corrupt sector of the economy, so there must have been a lot of questionable dealings and dirty practices involved in obtaining an oil block and we all know that only cronies, god fathers and political supporters get these things because an aspiring entrepreneur will never get access to such opportunities in Nigeria. So I believe this is just the watered down version of your success story. All the same you are a billionaire and successful but I'd rather listen to a genuine inspirational graa to grace story than a shady clouded one.

Love. Real. Stories like dis.. I tap into Ur prosperity... Getting more Dan urs... Keep it up ma...

Ild tell my story soon,all i need is confidence n start up capital

Touching story, madam tell that to the birds.

Hmmm, na so.

Let d God of mrs Alakija b my God. I really need 2 effect my family, relatives, friends and d world @ large positively.

Mrs E said...

Good for una

Perseverance, prayers, patience.... the 3 'p's that matters

no that is not true. she is not saying it yet. i am into oil and gas so i can relate to alot of things been said here

Qlatifah said...

In all she had contact so she strived and survive, here we are talking a no body it means we who knows no one stand no chance, she kept going back to see d minister, see levels.

Good for you!na God sabi the true story

Awesome God, wish I cud meet her in person I need just 150k to run my business. Dear Lord I need a helper

Lightman said...

So people won't comment on this inspiring story. If na one rubbish talk like that, we go dey see comments rushing over each other.

I'm inspired O jare. So much pessimism in Nigeria that people are not even daring to knock on doors.

CONGRATULATIONS MADAM. YOU ARE PRIDE TO WOMANHOOD. KEEP REMEMBERING THE POOR WOMEN IN OUR LAGOS AND NIGERIA IN PARTICULAR, N20MILLION CAN CREATE PETTY TRADING @ N10,000 FOR ABOUT 2000 WOMEN. WHAO THAT IS A GREAT NUMBER TO ACHIEVE AND BRING TO CHRIST. WE WILL KEEP YOU IN OUR PRAYERS ALWAYS.

dhobiz said...

The same thing i av been asking God....bless meeeeeee

Chai , madam from d nature of dis ur gele , I needed no dibia to tell me ur a determined woman mgbe ututu..
# unu amichago mmanu anyi .....since 1993 sef ka I bidoro miba mmanu obodo a !
pls pass dat license to me , cus uv tried already

This is not the true story , still some untold part of the testimony , madam !

Kept seeing the ministers? There is God ooooooo.
-Yemoh.

Mchewww!your even part of the government then.To even have an appointment with minister is not easy thin as at that time.

Good for her.... My turn soon

Story Story... She hasnt said the truth... Nyways, congrats and may God bless me too

who is that friend you were always running to abacha's wife abi? and the high people you designed clothes for? please spare us the story.

GCN( LADY G ) said...

SHE IS RICH AND VERY GENEROUS... A GREAT PHILANTROPIST I MUST CONFESS... IMAGINE HER GIVING OUT 10 MILION NAIRA TO AN ANGLICAN CHURCH IN LAGOS TO ENABLE D CHURCH BUILD A BIFITTING PLACE OF WORSHIP... I WAS AN EYE-WITNESS.

Quite inspirational. Linda, expect my inspirational story soon.

Sir/ madam.. Her story is actually believable because some people are born with luck and their character attracts other people ... I am not saying it's true but I have an uncle who had been applying for over 4 years during obasanjos tenure and had it approved at the end.. He is now on the Forbes list who also is a nigerian, God works in different ways.. Stay hopeful and blesses. Tckre

If she did not have the contact to visit with the minister of petroleum, how is it possible to buy an oil block? Dem dey sell oil blocks to ordinary Nigerians? Story story...OBJ is at work here with dis woman!! They sell our oil resources to their friends, family members and cronies making them billionaires while d Nigerian masses languishes in poverty #Smh

Adline said...

Good for you

Let her just bless d need like us

Hehehe. Nwanne your head is there.. Olugo turn anyi to miaa the mmanu...

Because u were busy hating you forgot to write " I know her children' for once people should appreciate good things so it will come ur way. No need to track me coz ur heart is bitter..

Really,am watching.

MADAM.... PLEASE TELL THAT TO THE MARINES, FROM THE LIES YOU CALLED STORY, YOU SECURED APPOINTMENTS WITH THE MINISTER OVER 4 TIMES.. MADAM, TELL US THE TRUTH NO THESE #LAMBA#.

MADAM....PLEASE TELL THAT TO THE MARINES, YOU SECURED APPOINTMENT WITH THE MINISTER OVER 4 TIMES AND YOU CLAIM YOU WERE JUST COMFORTABLE WITH YOUR HUSBAND AND CHILDREN, ABEG ABEG ABEG...

D husband don hammer!

Hard work and perseverance my foot.and you were able to access ministers.I'm hard working and can't even see LG chairman

Be careful what you tap into,pray for yours.

You will find it soon IJN.amen

How did she get to that door.

Not obj,na IBB

She forgot some aspect of the story. Well let me continue for her.

Mrs Alakija: I got there at 8pm, took a shower and put on Victoria secret. After a glass of wine, I told the C-i-C, that I wanted to retire to my room.....and the rest is history.

Why are Nigerians ever so unbelieving and haters to say the least? If She is concealing any parts of the story, why don't you leave that to God. I hope there is no one saying there is anything God cannot do irrespective of the corruption in the system. Some of us are outstanding examples of what God can do in the life of an ordinary person. If I were you, I'd draw a lesson or two from the story, trust God for mine and work at it.

Oluwadamilola said...

Amen.. me too..

Ayodeji. I don laff trow way my phone

Read Folorunsho Alakija's full story here; http://mytestimonys.blogspot.com/2013/05/folorunsho-alakija-god-made-billionaire_14.html

supahfly said...

Helo madam, pls let me use dis medium 2 beg u 2pls tel ur cousines Dr ADETOKUNBO ALAKIJA(DMD of Dys Trocca Valsesia) (DTV) and CAPT BABAJIDE ALAKIJA (chairman of Dys Trocca Valsesia(DTV). To pls remove d court order holdin d above company2 run.
Am an employee of d company dat shld b celebratin dere 60th anniversary dis year. But due2 misundastandin between ur peeps and d italians dat own shares of d company ur peeps decided2 put a court order holdin d company2 operate hereby causin thousands of nigerian employees2 b out of job and salaries. Madam it wil b a big shame if d company finaly closes down and peeps get2 knw it was due2 ignorant action frm members of d Great ALAKIJA family.
Pls madam tlk2 ur cousines and let DTV run again. Linda U cn reach me on supafly10@yahoo.com 4 full details of d dirty war between d alakija family and d giachetti family (italians) in respect of DTV

suzydiva said...

Asin, she shouldn't have even mentioned the fact that she had connection with the minister cos if I had such opportunity n dint make it dat far then I must be cursed.

oscar said...

There is nothing inspirational about this story. Adenugas son can not come ant start telling us how he made billions when he inherited his dads estate. Madan simple you just inherited our natural oil block because u met these currupt ministers that have been alocating oilblock to army generals and some individuals that is fronting fir them. this oil is a natural endowment and the revenue is supposed to be used fo the dev and advancement of the country and its citizenry and not just to enrich one family. a fresh graduate can not tow that line there are no steps and lader to climb

preacher said...

what shall it profit a man or woman if he or she gane the whole world and loose his or her soul or what shall a man or woman give in exhange for his or her soul. madam, without holiness no one shall see God not money. so think about your future end.

Smart woman!

Weda she straph o, thief o, do tailor work or even house gial o! E no mata! Wetin mata b say she got what she wanted. D end justifies the means! Shikena!

Baskin said...

I just can't stop laughing. This is very hilarious not inspiring madam!

MissBusyBody said...

This gele makes her look like Medusa....

Sir/ madam.. Her story is actually believable because some people are born with luck and their character attracts other people ... I am not saying it's true but I have an uncle who had been applying for over 4 years during obasanjos tenure and had it approved at the end.. He is now on the Forbes list who also is a nigerian, God works in different ways.. Stay hopeful and blesses. Tckre

Aunty Titi pls more details abeg

The main point is that she made good use of an opportunity and God blessed her. Not every successful woman sleeps around.
Many sold off their oil blocks but she worked hard to prospect and fulfill the desire of the FG for indigenous participation in the oil sector.
I admire her courage,humility and generosity. She has a foundation for the less privileged.She built/donated a beautiful building to CMS Grammar SCH, Lagos amongst other charitable ventures.

Aunty titi why are you hating now .wetin you wan talk whey go move d woman I beg go drink acid Joor

Tolu said...

I look up to successful people....why not learn one or two things from her story....be it real or fake,,,,rather than waste ur time seeing d negative....i just wana be succesful

hope there is no juju inside

if any one believe this story is a fool!!!! big lie of the year. person weh dem dash licence when babangida was leaving the seat and mis-managing Nigeria's economy

ebonydoc said...

Ur English is terrible; u shd actually pay me d 1.5m to teach u good english! Meanwhile, God bless ur hustle oh dear sis!

I haven't heard such rubbish in a long time.
I've been in the Oil and Gas industry for a long time and you guys won't believe the amount of corruption that takes place trust me. I say it again.. "YOU ALL HAVE NO IDEA!!!!!"
very sad!

Hello Guys,

Are you employed?

We understand that sometimes you might need cash urgently, and not have it at that moment. This is where we want to help; getting you the needed funds within 24 hours.

Call me on 07046395542

VANITY... I REPEAT... VANITY.

Hmmmmn very inspiring may the Lord keep u for ur family am praying for God blessing too

The oil block was given to madam Alakija by the babangida's , Alakija was maryam babangida's seamstress and persuaded her husband to hit Alakija with the then famous generosity the babangida's were known for ( popularly called Ibb spirit) hence the oil well was given Alakija just as the babangida's left power. That oil well has nothing to do with the Danjumas

Mr over sabi, we dey english class? She only requested for an Assistance,if u can't help u back off,like those dt can't assist ve done..other dan drawing attention to urself foolishly

Loolz...ddnt knw u wia on my mind as regards the gele

PRESH

This story is pure JIVE !! The Oil block was handed over to her on a platter of Gold by Maryam Babangida while she was still her Fashion Designer. All these stories of Hardwork and perseverance is mere Cock & Bull story

This story is pure JIVE !!! The Oil bloc was handed over to her on a Platter of Gold by Maryam Babangida while she was her Fashion Designer. plss save us all these your cock & bull story of hardwork & perseverance !!!

Na everybody dey get easy access to minister like that??? Mtcscheeeeeeeeew. Just say thanx to the IBBs. Simple.

LoL... I was thinking the same thing. *Singing in Shina peters voice* oil block for hand, back for groundddd :-)

omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com said...

Gbam@ James u hit the nail on the head.
How my marriage ended- click my name to read more

ZeeZee said...

I began to read till I saw "I contacted the minister of petroleum" #itsokay you got into th oil business because of connections!!! THERE ARE LOADS OF SMART ASSES OUT THEIR BUT JUST TO GET THEIR STORY HEARD IS HARD