No FG directive to return applicants’ money - Immigration Service | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 24 March 2014

No FG directive to return applicants’ money - Immigration Service

The Nigerian Immigration Service collected N1,000 application fee from almost 700,000 applicants who participated in the recently disastrous employment test that claimed more than 15 lives. There were reports recently that the federal government had directed the NIS to refund the money but according to new reports, no such directive has been given by the government despite the fact that the recruitment exercise was cancelled.

The Public Relations Officer of the NIS and a rep of the Minister of Interior said that they are yet to receive any directive to refund the money.

Meanwhile, the Nigeria Labour Congress and the Trade Union Congress have called on the Federal Government to refund the money to the applicants. They should return it. It's the decent thing to do.

48 comments:

bleached body! oops

Molurlah's MakeOver said...

They should return it but how would they trace all those they collected money from? It's not a realistic attempt. How would they go abt it? Cramp they up in stadia and watch them trample each other to death again all because they want to collect their 1000 naira back?

Will returning it bring back d dead, those who organized the disgraceful test shud be sacked instead

Oyo is their case

Gistyinka said...

God pls give us good leaders not rulership .

Let's see how this goes. Αѕ much αѕ its the right thing to do, some applicants money wil remain swallowed. #fact#

codename Bronco said...

Money wey don end since last year. No money reaches the nigerian govt and returns back to its citizens regardless of the circumstance

Yh it is very decent,let dem return pples money abeg! buh pls come to think of it sef, wen did nigerians started paying money to get a federal govt job? Wat a country we live in...Smh

Return kor, return ni, u xpect the govt to return the money, I bet u the govt wld pay a deaf hear to that, I really hope they return the money bcos that's the right thing to do

E go hard oooo to refund that money oooo,nigeria government is so so corrupt,God help us.

AnnMarie said...

I guess they already shared the money

Slimy said...

Ohhh n please NLC n TUC, ask dem 2 pay it with interest 4 the time wasted cos time n money n for d inconveniences... They shud berra pay it cos its d right tin to do.

Mab said...

I kne they wld not refund d money, uts just sp sad ppl lost their lives.

Y are they (NIS) holding on to the money?

Alozie Paschal Okwara said...

It will be hard to refund. Account has to be made for the logistics and admin actually catered for. That does not include the "shared money'. finally, there maybe terms and agreement protecting them from lawsuit over the money. People never read the fine prints. RIP for those who lost their live over this. :(

Technically, the applicants paid 850 to NIS, 150 belongs to the bank, it's on the teller. IMO, NIS is just being made a scape goat. We should thank them for finally defining the number of jobless youth in the country. With that huge crowd a stampede is to be expected, there is no way that crowd could have been controlled. It's sad to know lives were lost, but it is what it is. Instead of fighting for a mere thousand naira, let's listen to the desperate cry of the youth. My siblings went to the one in Lagos, and from all they said, desperation was in the air. People fighting each other for paper and fighting soldiers with cocked guns for the exam paper. I asked my siblings why they didn't just come home instead of struggling, and they said what if it works out. The money would never be returned, cz it can't be accounted for

How do they plan on doing that? How are they going to return the money to applicants without diverting the money? Government should find another use for that money! Use it for something that will benefit every youth in Nigeria.

Give them bacj their money.... This goverment bad die.....

OBINNA JAMES said...

NIS employment is for sale.

Story. Return indeed.

Linda, D-wetin? Dem been get decency na him dem collect ppl 1k? Tinko, dat money don go o.

When did this government know the right things to do. We should ask our self if this is the kind of government we want, change have to come from the same youths that's the government has robbed of the future what we can be is to make that change the people that lost their life's all because they want to make change to their family to themselves . change came to them because they were tried of sending CV and getting no where that's why they took it upon themselves to go on that day some borrowed money to get their all because of change. The word change we use it every day in our life you wear some clothes you don't like after looking in the mirror you go and change the mirror is looking back at we the youths of this great country for change to come they're living in luxury people in government went poor Nigerian can afford to sleep well for they are worried were the next food is coming from. We need to make change choose leaders that's want change too

Dis one na cock n bull stories its nt possible nigerian govt no serious

If they even want to refund the monies to the applicants, people will still die through stampede of whom will be in front of the queue. I tire for naija and their system/way of doing things; nothing is ever organised.
Anyway, they have to find a way that will not warrant more deaths and refund their monies.
Finish n klaar!

*My R1.50c comment *

Zenki brown said...

Will dat be possible? To return money hard Ooº°˚ ˚°ºoo . Anyway, let's see ♓☺w it goes

Dey shld refund d money

Oga ooo

Janelicious said...

NIS RETURN THE APPLICANTS MONEY.

Imagine this shameless people.They ought to hav returned d money without being told.Up till nw, the senate is yet to respond.God is watching all of them.

But on a serious note, are we just hearing that fees are charged for some applications in Nigeria? The Police force, Army and a few others actually do this.

visit www.promonigeria.com to be a winner now said...

Quasi contract...

If NLC is really serious then they shld have spoken out last year when it all started. Plus, how many jobs have they fought for the youths of this country to have? Please I'm tired of all this medicine after death by some people. We are such a reactive noisy nation

may d lost souls rest in peace.........even if d money s returns,it can nt brings back lost lives

I pray dey return d money oo. Dis country dat likes money too mch

Dey canceld d test nd NIS doesnt want 2 refund d fees?evn wifout directive u dnt kw dats d rit fin 2 do? Sick of diz country I swear

They are suppose to return the money

Tunji Adeleke said...

The money should be shared to the families of the dead applicants, and letters of apology sent to all applicants that paid the money with a detailed summary of all money collected and how spent. This transaction should be published in major Nigerian newspapers. A stop should be made to paying for application forms by the jobless Nigerians youths - 95% of which were from poor homes.

How would dey even go about it??? Its so unfortunate....

Haba ! No FG directive ? Who do we believe now?

Abeg which money are they returning? Is it d one that has been shared or which? U guys think d money will still be in NIS's account? Ifahear. This corrupt 9ja. Na d Monday after d exam d money X. Shior.

Exactly what I was thinking! I'm also pretty sure they do not have a system in place where they have sufficient details of all the applicants. Smh

Was there a directive from FG before the money was taken from the applicant? Is the money deposited in Govt treasury?

Ehn.. Make dem return d money nah, abi dey wan make dat much money from a fruitless recruitment?

Yes they should return the money but why is it now that youths have lost there lifes that all this drastic actions are been taken? NLC and CO.Y!! So so sad,

@Tunji Adeleke great idea,God bless you!

Where #EyesRolling#. Jennipukka

Well said!!u hav brain nt brazillian hair

Not just sacked or fired...they need to be prosecuted.