Toll collection on Lekki-Bridge to continue, Lagos Attorney-General insists | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 March 2014

Toll collection on Lekki-Bridge to continue, Lagos Attorney-General insists

A Federal High court this morning nullified collection of toll on the Lekki-Ikoyi bridge after a human rights lawyer, Ebun Adegboruwa, filed a lawsuit. But despite that ruling, the Lagos State Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Ade Ipaye says toll collection on the bridge will continue.

The State Attorney General said this today a few hours after the Federal High court rulling
"The judgment read this morning did not specifically address many of the questions raised by the applicant, neither did it grant any of the declarations sought. So the road users will continue to pay. All the same, we are not ruling out any kind of interpretation”. Aside from the failure of the court to make any consequential order or declaration, the judgment contains at least two or three fundamental errors. And one of the errors is the assumption that the Private Public Partnerships Law of Lagos State, which we cited in support of toll collection, did not apply, simply because the bridge was not constructed by public-private partnership”. Ipaye said
The Attorney-General also revealed that the Lagos State Government plan to appeal the judgement and file an application for stay of execution.

51 comments:

And so road users will continue to pay their compulsory offerings.The law is a bitch!

And so the war begins!

These bastards want to keep enriching their pockets while the masses suffer

justice team said...

But is it fair for Lagos State to use Tax Payers money for this project and still be charging the same tax payers to use the bridge. It is my fair and Baba God is watching them through the same glasses he used to watch Abacha.

At least it seems like our judiciary has woken from almost three decades of slumber.

Law over law... Lolz

Why does he want to bother appealing since he doesn't intend to obey d judgement? Let them continue to make a mockery of the Judicial system. Ipaye is loosing respect if he doesn't know, someone should tell him. U obey then complain!

Alright #bright bravo#

It really boggles my mind how people don't understand that in order for any country to have smoother safer roads, tollgates should be erected so that people pay & every area gets new roads in return.

Faith Ogaga said...

Ehennnnnnnnnn....dis attorney no dey hear word ooooo! .mabi him get cut for the money niii?

My Commissioner Sir, be ready to go to prison if u commit contempt of court. QED!

Meaning? PeAcE

Ok now

The bridge was built with taxpayer money. How can you now charge them for using the bridge? This is like someone using your money to build house and telling you to pay rent to stay inside.

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

Oga oooo, when government are not obeying the court rules
Latest nigeria gossip

I am so disappointed with the comment of Mr Ipaye. As the AG of a state that knows the procedures of the law, such comment is very disappointing. If you are not satisfied with the judgement, you appeal it. For an experience and the AG of a state to say that, I think he should be suspended or sacked.

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

Nawa o o .....Power Must Change Hand Come 2015. Enough of all this exploitation from the inconsiderate baggas!

already today because of this news that place was jam packed with cars... jus blocking peeps going to bourdillon...msheeew

-Blunt Ibo boy- said...

Law against law.

Naija ppl why una no go mob these leaders.. fear no fit make una fight for ur right abi? But if na gay matter or somebody stealing pepper or some frivolous thing like that, the demon in some of u go jump out.

Adebusola said...

I live I uk and thr r tolls too but thr are alternative routes so ppl have a choice to either go the longer route without a toll or the shortest route n pay,it's up to u. This one naija wants to do I don't get it o. I taya for that country walai

Adebusola said...

I live I uk and thr r tolls too but thr are alternative routes so ppl have a choice to either go the longer route without a toll or the shortest route n pay,it's up to u. This one naija wants to do I don't get it o. I taya for that country walai

yusuf said...

Mr. Ipaye becareful o

Ipaye is right and you have to be a good student of law to understand. Let's watch how it plays out. Remember, the students of law, the law is an ass.

I'm nt a supporter of fucking political party in Nig,bt i must state clearly that thns wl be worse off if that Visionary bt enslavement APC shd rule this nation....just my two pence#

OLUWÆßÖßßÝ

na God go punish bad leader 4 dix country,a whole AG wntz 2 go against law.mtcheww

Boms said...

are you a fool? that's a very moronic statement, considering the fact that we are in Nigeria, and ur pretty self is aware of the situation of things in the country, 'Corruption' u really think they will use the tollgate money for that? for a Nigerian to be saying that, that's just silly! I'll give you a pass if you're not a Nigerian.

#ByeFelicia

Zenki brown said...

Going against a court ruling?

Swagg isimemen said...

Nawaoo

kube said...

U be OZUO

kclub said...

Come 2015, nigerians will still have the greatest shock of their lives. Fashola the best governor, fashola APC, hw daft are we people, why do we allow all this stupid clueless politicians to keep on decieving us? LASU is ther more expensive than some private institutions, a whole SUGh elect of a school arrested and yet we are all blaming Goodluck Jonathan, we are all blaming PDP, abeg, what makes the difference? Of what God is dis man? Eva since is tenure, its always being from one issue to another,tax today, send igbos home tomao, haba, kilode? rubbing peter to pay paul, we better wise up and let's not all dos our decietful leader keep on decieving us. I don't do politics so I careless, all av got to say is dat its high time we knw the right person to vote for, its nt all abt a party, its abt an individual. Kayode.

An attorney general n minister of justice should know better than castigate court ruling in public! This is contempt ex facie curiae. Why state that it will continue? Who gave him the right to castigate d decision of the court and interprete d judgement of the court. Is he d supreme Court? Why should he point out the error in judgement. If not for the partisan politics Hez meddling into? They see it as APC vs PDP. D lagoon is a federal land,d fiat dey were given 2 build it doesn't extend to toll collection. N those living abroad talkin n asking why we can't pay toll shud sit down. The toll is entering pockets of few same as all d taxes we pay.

Come to our courts,sumtyms u hear a case were govt acquires land running in 200 millions compulsorily. Give dem compensation of land worth 60 million and later come back to charge 55 or 57 million as land use n tenement charge. All this carried out n fought in court by d ministry of justice.
Mr Ipaye,u don't fool us. The party is giving u liver to say wat u likw

And here, my friend, is a tale of the attorney -general who went against the law. . .And thus started the breaking of court rulings by all and sundry.

Anonymous 8:35pm....... Can see u are the only one making sense here.......Nigerians don't like the truth to be spoken.....they travel to our Europeans countiesthey see toll is been paid and yet they come back here to get everything free.

Adebusola I don't know the last time u were in Nigeria but please do urresearch well before commenting on a topic ......there r other alternative route they can take. Is somebody choice to take the toll which is consider the express or the alternative

What masses, the masses live on the mainland

Is it up to this amount dat we are paying here ?u don't stey here in lagos I know

Justice team said...

Why are taxes paid? Is it not for infrastructure and social amenities. Why use my money to build a road and still still want me to pay toll. It is different if a private entity built the road but no it was built with tax payers money. Let's stamp out corruption

em bad belle pipo

You would expect the "so called"private investors in this case, come out to defend thier claim...

He's insane.

Na wah for 9ja we need to stand up for our right.
revolutionary is what we need.
May God help us.........

ola lib

said it.... when i went past last night i asked one of the guys why i had to pay when it's all over the news and what he said was madam na so me sef hear am o ... i paid my 250

So why appeal or apply for a stay of execution when he said in his statement that the judgment didnt address or grant any of the applicant's prayers? Ipaye must be a confused lawyer.....

If it's the PDP that flagrantly disobeyed a court judgement now, Lai Mohammed would be everywhere talking nonsense about disobedience to the rule of law.

Obey the judgement and file your appeal.

So who do we believe now???!!!

lagos isnt the only place where toll is collected its done in other countries, once thtere is an alternate route u ave a choiçe, wht about if the road hqd been left undone

more over we shldnt be biased when commenting some leaders dont do anything when in power party or no party im not concerned im on the side of achievers so fashola is my best governor anytime anyday

Ipaye? No word for him, he is just following orders, he himself knows the truth. The issue has been politicize again, the federal gives order, the States disobeys...don't forget that those country u see paying toll fee, they get tax refund every year. How much our Lagos State govt wey dey over tax us they pay back as tax refund? We no be oyinbo so don't use them as example. #kay#