Pics: Heineken/UEFA Trophy excites Fashola, Nigerian Breweries distributors | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 25 March 2014

Pics: Heineken/UEFA Trophy excites Fashola, Nigerian Breweries distributors

The excitement generated by the recently concluded Heineken/UEFA champions’ league trophy tour is still reverberating in football circles. When the trophy train made a well deserved stop at the Lagos State Government House Alausa, Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola SAN, showered encomiums on World’s leading international premium lager beer, Heineken® for availing Nigerians the rare opportunity to feel and experience the actual Trophy live. Continue...

He made the commendation when ex-international football star and Coach Ruud Gullit, who is also the Heineken brand ambassador, paid the governor a courtesy visit with the League Trophy. 

“Nigerians are extremely passionate about football. The UCL is a favourite amongst a very large section of Nigerians. The trophy is coming at a time when the Champions League is at a critical stage. Heineken’s gesture of giving Nigerians an opportunity to actually feel the real UCL trophy live here in Lagos Nigeria this period is indeed laudable. It is a gesture that most Nigerians, including myself would not forget in a hurry”, the governor said.

While appreciating Heineken for finding Lagos worthy of being included as part of the destinations where the UCL trophy would berth, Governor Fashola also used the occasion to call on the youths across the nation to embrace sports to engage themselves meaningfully. He said “Nigeria is a country full of talents. We want our youths to challenge themselves and embrace sports, not just football but other sports as well. We want to see Nigerian sports men and women compete with the best and excel at the global stage. Sports is a viable tool for national development and those of us in government would do all we can to support sports development.”

Commenting on the rationale behind bringing the UCL Trophy to Nigeria, Marketing Director Nigeria Breweries Plc, Mr. Walter Drenth, said Nigeria would always be an important part of Heineken’s® activities. “It is the objective of Heineken to open the world of its consumers by ensuring they get the very best experiences from Heineken wherever they are in the world.”

He pointed that The UEFA Champions League has a long and distinguished heritage and is the pinnacle of European club football. “Heineken® strives to ignite fans conversations. This year’s UEFA Champions League Trophy Tour brings football fans around the world closer to the action in an unexpected and surprising way enabling them to interact with Heineken® and the tournament. As we get closer to the final, we will continue to engage with fans by offering legendary brand experiences.”

It would be recalled that the trophy arrived the country with the brand ambassador Ruud Gullit on March 13, 2014 was also show case to the Nigerian Breweries Plc Management and other members of staff as well as the distinguished distributors.

The Heineken brand that bears the founder's family name - Heineken- is available in almost every country across the globe and is the world's most valuable international premium beer brand.

To follow Heineken on Twitter visit www.twitter.com/heineken and to become a fan on Facebook go to www.facebook.com/heineken. To view videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel at www.youtube.com/heineken.

20 comments:

Nice one #bright bravo#

We are the champions! Great Inspirational song

That greedy Okocha still dey alive? Mtcheew!!!

Meet the trophy.........

Mehn, i still dey imagine say i dey touch that cup......

TWITS said...

I love this game!!!
Gullit, Jay Jay and Oliseh looking good...

See groove.

nice
baby face

Bringing d trophy down to Lagos is a good iidea. It will keep d fire of d desire of playing @ d highest level of European football burning in d hearts of aspiring talents dat abound Nigeria.
Love d part where Olisa was having charts with Okocha, considering their relationship after Olisa called it a quit 2 d Super Eagles.

Great gesture indeed.

Nice one.

Sorry man, maybe u shld join Nigerian Breweries.

It was in the lobby @ d office for almost a whole day, & peeps took pics.

Once again, my "condolences".

*perks of working in NBL*

Dem try sha!

Gud thin

This happened two weeks ago!

Professional Job Seeker said...

Well done, nice one!

You can follow the link for trending Jobs in Nigeria

AnnMarie said...

they tried

Chris said...

Hahahahahahahaha. I still dey laugh all those mofos. That trophy is a replica. I can bet my house rent on that. Do u guys really think UEFA will send the real thing to Africa??? If u do, u 've got another think coming!

Hmm, UCL Mother of all league. Lovely and collourful event. I pray John Terry lift this trophy again this season. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 