Senate confirms Emefiele as new Central Bank Governor | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 26 March 2014

Senate confirms Emefiele as new Central Bank Governor

The Senate this morning confirmed the appointment of Mr Godwin Emefiele as the new Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria. Emefiele was the Chief Executive Officer of Zenith Bank before his new appointment. He replaces Sanusi Lamido Sanusi who was suspended by the Federal Government  on February 20th over allegations of financial recklessness and misconduct.

72 comments:

beewhy said...

Congrats to him...

Linda why do ur stories go blank when u click on dem to read? Pls do something about it,not funny

BONARIOS BABY said...

So sanusi has finally been removed,mmmm I pray this man is better + congrats Mr Godwin.may God help u

Ok na wao. Dem for wait make we resolve sls issue before d announcement

Zenki brown said...

Congratulation. W̶̲̅oяk carefully.

Good for him let's hope he does well #bright bravo#

Congratulation!

Congrats!!!this Man is very Conservative!!!I hope u reform the Banking sector Sanusi had a purpose but he ws lost track wn he started getn involved in Politics and makin remarks against d Govt he ws under!u dnt ve to lik the President but to undermine him!SLS wasn't al dt professional....

And one Mr. Adebayo as deputy! This appointment is fishy! South-South stuff!
-Yemoh.

Abbie said...

Wow... Good 2 knw! Btw, were they gonna disapprove his appointment? Nah, i knew he wld be approved. I think congratulations would be in place then and let's hope Godwin Emefiele's governance would change our economy for the better.

Welcome back 2 naija, Linda. I believe u had a smooth flight home. Keep my share of d goodies u came back with o... Xoxo.

~It's me noni! Ur 1 n only Abbie~

i hope he is the feutuer we are welting for congrat to him

Mi Lady said...

Congratulations!!..May God use this soul to bless lives with his office.. God bless Nigeria!

Congrate o..oga gomina....its better dis time let see d effect of people that truely have the fear of christ....unlike d Scheeeeeeeew...........

Thank God lamido has been replaced, atlist that arabian or arabic bank of a thing no go come to light again......

I just wish this man will reduce the production of 1000 naira note and increase in the production of two hundred and hundred naira note bcos we business people dey suffer for change like crazy... They should look into that matter abeg.....

Good one. Adieu sanusi.

Leonard Omotayo (Hormortaryo #Frosh) said...

New person to swallow our money... Welcome to d world of corruption"

Congratulation sir,we all hope your administration is better than that of former CBN governor mr lamido...he is the reason why petrol is scarce now...useless man....he should go to hell....before I descend cause on him....congrate once again. Your excellency

OMG see what these uniben female students are doing in their hostel, shaking their bakassi
Here

Woman beat friend for sleeping with her boyfriend
Here

See How this Ashawo embarrassed her customer after he refuse to pay
Here

See what this oyinbo man is doing to a naija girl
Here

Hahaha. Ooops! Thought it was "suspension?" Nigeria my country!!!

Na so dem take style chase sanusi sha...na all of dem sabi jare
*vanchuks*

Naija leaders b changing power unnecessarily n givin us headache tryin 2memorise dier names n date of appointment 4 current affairs

GEJ just dey fill government spaces with him people and puppets.

Hmmm congrats. That's a great responsibility o

Congratulations Mr Godwin Emefiele.

Congratulations Sir.

i watched it live on NTA..d man nor get white bears o..linda wer u for see dis pinsure..lol

Okay so they ve thrown SLS out nawah oh power dey sweet

So wot?he will b a stooge of d president!

Before nko? They get choice? No be president wey appoint am?

congrates

chy nkem said...

Lindy; tot Ʊ said Ʊ wld b mia 4 16hrs, Ʊ И̲̮̣̥̅̊Ơ̴̴͡ 1 com baq again.... #missingyouseriously

Mr EMEFIELE congratulations ooO. I hope ur new office ll bring good and better for us. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Vickyfabulous said...

9ja sha...

Mr EMEFIELE congratulations ooO. I hope ur new office ll bring good and better for us. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

bebetoshure said...

Congratulations sir. May your gov. season be a favourable one. Proudly ZENITH.

More like congrats to Jim Ovia.and we should headline it,"senate confirms Jim Ovia.

The keys to the National treasury have just been handed to Jonathan. He will now be free to plunder without looking back. This guy is incapable of saying No to his Boss. Just ask Jim.

Another era of absolute corruption in the banking sector again...this is really aad !

Lin lin, i am finding it difficult to upload my comment via google account. But anonymous account is working. What shuld i do? Libers any idea? *Real Danielz*

Congratulations...so there is no comment on $20billion missing.

He better revitalize the crumbling economy and not join his predecessor in robbing the nation's currency of it's purchasing power. Cheers sir

May God help him deal with any temptation to do ....... #and congrats to him

Congratulations!!!!!! Uncle Goddy. God bless you. Do well oo. Aunty meg would be on cloud nine. I'm sure we wouldnt be able to enter your house in Dallas again without security check. God bless you joor.. You've worked for it!

Still want Sanusi in that position,he's impeccably good.

Keep quiet and give Mr Emefiele a chance to prove himself, afterall he has taken an institution like Zenith bank to greater heights. Did Jim Ovia answer the questions for him @ the senate? We all have mentors,so Mr Emefiele is not different.....please let us be objective and optimistic. We need a positive change, he may be the change maker!

congrats. Sls abi wetin then dey call am is finally dead. when are we taking him to the mortuary.

Goddy baba welcome its ur turn to chow the national cake.happy chopping

this is goodnews confirmed another soludo in the house brilliant.

as for sanusi, that is what you call oniranu somebody

I congratulate u Mr Godwin, its ur time to also eat out of d national dinning table

Congrats to him.

You! Business Wetin? How do you manage your business when you spend your 24hrs refreshing LIB. Stop lying lol

Yea my president is really blank

Eddreams u call ur self or who u are a bloody idiot, u don't even know where you are heading I don't even believe u ever know wat this country is all about..sanusi have made it forever u go and kill ur self poor rabbit

Am really hapi for u sir.... Congrats

Wats Congrats to Jim Ovia! Cos he took over frm him? As a CBN Governor he's working independently nw he's d Boss of al em Banker's Bosses so he aint goin to do anytin to compromise dt position!and Emefele is not an easy person to be swayed!!!well dt my opinion I hope am rite....xoxo Charmie

Congrats sir, much better than the bow tie killer lol

I hope this is not an ATM for 2015 election? God help Nigeria.

Adebayo?, south-south?....are u a Nigerian?

So that Adaora still doesn't know how to dress according to the occasion. Why will you wear those kind of tight pants to the Senate. I don't even know in what capacity she was allowed into the chambers. Jim Ovia's people! Mtchew!!

U are clueless oo! Jaiz Bank has been operating since 2012! If only u'l do more reading and less talking!

Welcome back Queen Linda. Ρυт my package together oo. Congrats to him and his family. Cos that's what nija represents now. Its well. So its gonna be his signatory on the naira notes.. Hmmm. Stingy Zenith bank. If you aint their customer, you won't understand.

Another chopmoney center? i pray not!

Congrats Mr Godwin - let your ηαмє imply to your reign amen.

Pls can someone tell me wot dis old man is goin to do as d CBN governor, at his age, he shuld resign, stay at home and enjoy his children's money, how long wil he stay to enjoy d money he gets now, so so annoying, Abeg he shuld go home and sleep joor

CBN governor normally has a tenure of 5yrs and dere after go 4 a 2nd tenure for anoda 5yrs... so SLS has already announced dat he doesn't wanna go 4 a 2nd tenure. His tenure will expire by June and Mr. Godwin's tenure is 2begin in June...So its as good as SLS wasn't driven off d seat, it's already time 4 him 2go and anoda Pson taking over d seat. Anyways congrats to d newly appointed CBN governor, I hope u will do better

Dis man is from my town ika south LGA Agbor delta state. Congrats to him I hope he help his people.

Rancy said...

If na u nkor?

Rancy said...

Lobaton, naija I hail o

Congratulations sir. Moh'd

Jim Ovia's influences in the back ground...

Congrats to Jim Ovia is right! Only someone who has never interacted with Emefiele will argue with that statement. God help us!

Na so...the nation bread must go round for the chawing to continue.