55 killed as Tiv youths and Fulani Herdsmen clash in Benue | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 24 March 2014

55 killed as Tiv youths and Fulani Herdsmen clash in Benue

It was a bloody afternoon yesterday March 23 in Benue state as some youths of the Tiv tribe clashed with suspected Fulani mercenaries in the state, leaving 55 people dead. The communal clash which is reported to be about land matters happened at Gbajimba, the headquarters of Guma LGA of the state.

Sources say suspected Fulani mercenaries had attempted to attack the Tiv community in the morning at about 10am but were resisted by the youths. They then made a return after a well coordinated attack plan had been hatched. They came in their hundreds, shooting indiscriminately and burning down houses. Continue...

"They came in their numbers very early in the morning from Awe, Nasarawa State and made an attempt to seize the town and the local government secretariat but they were confronted by our youths who resisted them, forcing them to beat a retreat. Later in the afternoon at about 1pm, they staged a more coordinated attack on the town, this time they came in their hundreds, shooting, burning down houses, huts and killing anything in sight. The Police station in Gbajimba was helpless because we have less than 50 officers and men on ground at the station and this attack has completely overwhelmed them". A witness said
Benue State Deputy Governor Steven Lawani while speaking at a thanksgiving service yesterday at the state capital, Makurdi, pledged that residents would reclaim their land being occupied by Fulani herdsmen. 

49 comments:

God have mercy! Bloodshed everywhere in the northern part.

Ngozin said...

Lord have mercy this madness is really getting out of hand and should be urgently nipped in the bud !

Can u imagine dis? #wtf# kill al d fulani pple na,wat yall waitin fr eh? Blood fr blood nd tiv shuld mak it bloody fr dem.tired of diz fulani nd dia draggin of land datz nva diaz

Wait a min did dis ppl 4GT we r actually in 2014? Abi which 1 is dis? Staging attack to claim land in dis present day...well as dey say history repeats its self...d goverment should betta do somfin abouh it ASAP Biko

dansignature said...

what will this northerners not kill for?

dansignature said...

what will this northerners not kill for?

Gist arena said...

HUMAN BEINGS ARE NOTHING TO THEM AGAIN, KILLING ONE ANOTHER HAVE TURN THE ORDER OF THE DAY. MAY GOD HAVE MERCY

evalsam said...

Ooooh God please help Nigeria!!!!

This fulani people are so damn stupid.... Na by force to enter my house after i no give yu permission neh.....

Jonah should send armies upon armies down there to destroy this men abeg..... 5 big bus full of armies will do the job perfectly.....

nsogbu dikwa oo for this fulani herdsmen if the live in ur community u'r not safe anyi ga agbara unu oso bikokwa the government should do something abt this oo

#milito da great#

evalsam said...

Ooooh God please help Nigeria!!!!

This hausa people are just goats in human skins.

fulani herdsmen are now the second in comand to boko haram, Abokissss may God banish all of u from this land called nigeria. Foolssssss!!!

Hian!!! BOKOHARAM killings never do?

God help these people.

Wahala D̶̲̥̅̊e̩̥̊y̲̣̣̣ but god pass them. God is with us amen nigerians let us pray oooo our country needs prayers.pray

God pls protect us !!!!

Southerners in Nigeria have to wake up and raise their voice against d moves by Fulanis to wipe out every Nigerians and take over d country. Now, d occupation has extended from Plateu to Benue, it will soon enter Enugu and Cross River. This is a dangerous trend.

But I hear there's abundant land in the north? D land mass is enormous so why r dese fulanis' claiming land n looking 4 trouble. I'm beginning 2 suspect that dere's something more 2 dis dispute.

Maybe when they are reduced to 5 aside on their so called land they will wise up. . They still think they are in the stone age .

Let God save us in Nigeria o, thing ar fast turnin upside down

News like viz makes me sad nd laugh vis days, killing because of lands????its well sha..... Wen naija delta youths picked arms, d northerners wia quick 2 condemn us... D government will not solve all ya problems, let d youths pick up arms nd defend their parents nd their children.... A fight 4 justice is a just fight...... Swagaholic

These fulani fools r getting outta hand o!c pple dat do nt have a particular dwelling causing havoc anyhw.God help dis country

These is madness!!!God!

There is nothing one won't hear from the north!!! What kainda animals live there, every little thing is fight, chaos n killings! Dem no de tire niii? Na wa, abeg me I tire to read all this news about killings, as if na chicken dem de kill. Abeg it's getting nuseating to d ears.

This fulanis are a clog in the wheel of peace.Theuy always have this animalistic tendency of dominance wherever they go.I guess this stems out from their long relationship with cows.They will do anything for their cows.except recently they've upgraded to guns instead of their traditional knives.something fishy in their latest sophistication.Terrorism or politicians at work

haaa nIGERIA IS JUST A FAILED STATE...YOU SEE THESE HAUSAS ELITE ARE JUST USING THE FULANIS TO ACHIEVE TY I SAY ALL TIVS MESS...SHAME TO THEM..THATS IS WHY I SAY ALL TIVS IDOMAS IGALAS BEROM OF PLATEU..KWARA..SHOULD FORM MIDDLE BELT REGION FAST...

Cant we just send this stupid fulani animals out of Nigeria???!!!

stranger said...

Thr always comes a tym when d only solution is 2 match d fulani herd men's incessant attack would be to match em blood 4 blood.

This is actually a silent planned jihad/pogrom against the predominantly christian middle belt Tiv indigenes who have rejected Islam, a systematic plan using fulani herdsmen to wipe them out period...

Hmmm Federal Uni of Agriculture is next 2 Gbagimgba village. Yet wit all dis news I've nt seen any soldier in dis sch, No security. Gudluck pls do something. Na God hand we dey oh

Benue people, have been sleeping! There have been little attacks in different villages and nothing was done. Now,this. There's an adage that says "na from clap na in dance dey follow". How can a Fulani man leave his home,go to another's, burn and kill him? And the Gov.'s promising to give them back the land. Instead of making sure they are dealt with once and for all, to prevent further re-occurrence. Benue youths,y'all had better fought for your land and birthright. If you like, concentrate on eating pork and pounded yam.

It's easy to give a Fulani man water with ur cup buh to collect it is war.

Every Nigerian how is above 30 and can proof that they have a job should have a right to own a gun

When will people actually address the pertinent question which is "WHO THE FUCK ARE THESE GADDEM FULANI HERDSMEN"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

True talk my friend. I gat my AK 47 and mucho bullets waiting. Make dem come.

It s those Nig. Leaders(boko haram) dat re sponsoring d fulani herdsmen so dat d jhard dat they cudnt take over Nigeria in d past will ddo so now. God in his infinite mercies will make a way 4 us in Jesus name Amen. FRANKY.

They have now crossed over to the middle belt??! Slowly but surely creeping down south. I don't understand. You go and trespass on land that is not yours. They allow you and then you try to take it over??! Spawns of satan! We shall not take it down here o. Asari and 'em, MASSOB and them Odua boys will roast you alive!

They(fulani herds men )even do that in the south .That was how they killed some farmers in isoko (Enwhe and neighbouring villages).

Haba aren't these Northerners filled with blood already?!! Do they have to leave the North to go blood hunting? WTF is wrong with these people?

May God help us

They are mercenaries from Chad and Niger in the name of herdsmen. Its a Jihad thing. their way of gradually trying to "islamize" the country, killing people and taking over

The only way for Niger is to legalised GUNS! Because if ur neighbour knows u ve one and he has too, there will not be any need for him to threaten u. This TIV youths I tire for them oo! Y are they allowing this fulani to believe that they have the monopoly of violence? Even Bible talk am say ' the kingdom of God sufferet violence and its only the violent once that can take it by force' TIVS boys protect urselfs! Attack the attacker!

Dey are Animals cloth wth human skin.

kemisola said...

God pls save Nigeria from blood shed everyday...its now getting too much oo

This borno Pple I hope u guys are not under a curse sha, killing everyday isn't right oh, what isn't good in the eyes of human, isn't good in the eyes of God, make una fear God oh

Thats the same thing they did in Biafra-They came in their thousands, shooting, burning down houses, huts and killing anything in sight.

jpapi said...

The fulani herdsmen need to be addressed before they go out of hand...before you know it they would be sponsored by some wicked Nigerians...if you remember BH started like these....naija which way forward

Gbam.u couldn't hav said it better.