Senzo Meyiwa's dad criticised for waving to the crowd at his funeral | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 4 November 2014

Senzo Meyiwa's dad criticised for waving to the crowd at his funeral

This pic has got the SA online community talking. This is the father of late South African goal keeper and captain of the national team, Senzo Meyiwa, who was shot dead on October 25th by suspected armed robbers at his girlfriend's home. During his funeral last Saturday November 1st, Sam Meyiwa waved to the crowd in excitement from an ambulance conveying his son's corpse.

Most South Africans found this offensive as he was meant to be grieving. He was seriously criticized and now the SA online community have gone agog with Memes of the waving. See some pics after the cut...

102 comments:

It was probably unintentional...It is well

www.glowyshoes.com said...

me i dont see anything wrong

visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Amicable said...

U cant please everyone in life,so better do u and leave others

Ppl funny die

I tire o! What is he waving them for?! R.I.P to the dead.

Looolz world people, you can never please them.
They shouldn't cry mother than the bereaved,I guess he was only showing appreciation.

SANDRA said...

Sir, its a burial not a political rally or musical show

SANDRA said...

Sir its a burial not a political rally or musical show

Hahahahaha pls dey should free d papa joor. Its his few minutes of fame. Let him enjoy it. Even tho he's in grief, he is proud of his dead son.

LMAOOOO...

SOCIAL MEDIA HAS TURNED DIS WORLD TO
SOMETHING ELSE

HAHAHAHAHA

Val lala said...

These SA people sef! #vallala# valentinechisom7@gmail.com

Rest in peace meyiwa,the old man wan show say him get swag. (bayofam)

Yeas he should be grieving but at the same time showing appreciation is not a crime! That was his way of saying "thank you" I guess..for showing his family love amidst all these. It is well with him. Psalm 118:17. 2tim 4:18. BishopDammy#

lmao.....wait to u see mine.... meenahz.blogspot.com

haha methink this guy took some bottles for his grieving heart and people misjudged his action.

Lol..crazy...

Waving? Like for real? D guy fucked up sha

Uche Emma said...

Was he happy his son was killed or what?
Just enjoying?

Hahahahahahaha... South African gradually Turing into Nigerians that turn very serious issues into a joke and make good fun of it.

Buhahahahaha
Crazy clowns, maybe he was overwhelmed with the crowd dt came out for his sons funeral....n decided to pay homage
He aint look exicted sha

Just like naija's "My oga at the top" lol.

Lmao! Dis pple no go kill me. But why wud he wave? Nawaaaoh! As governor abi president okwaya? Wen ur son's corpse was right there. Kai! 200 lashes on ur black butt....oya bend down.

Lmao...the man dey enjoy the 15mins fame ni

msscheew!!!!! dunno y people r so stupid! the man was prolly waving to appreciate their support...nobody knows the pain a grieving parent goes thru!

Everythng is a trend these days Eve nude photos

Alarapon A said...

Lmao....na wa o...can't stop laughing 😂😂😂😂

KWEEN said...

Oh my God! LMAOOOO... the player's death is nothing funny for sure, but look at all those memes. kai. Looool. His dad probably hasn't gotten this much attention before, so he just had to seize the opportunity to enjoy a few minutes of fame. And now, he'll be a household name in SA for a while. Mission accomplished. I guess.

Lolz

JP said...

OMG is it not bad enough that he lost his son? Please you guys should free the poor old man. He was just acknowledging his sons fans.

Thank God for social media. This is just hilarious

Mehn! Chill no longer in vogue. Sobs

Lol !!! Laugh don kill me here ooo, and come to think of it, was he actually happy or acting as a star's father? , when he was supposed to be grieved?..

Neks said...

Social media and wahala, the turnout probably overwhelmed him.

Neks said...

Social media and wahala, the turnout probably overwhelmed him.

its unfortunate he was criticized.. he could have just been appreciating everyone in attendance.

Lmao, cnt stop laffing

harby said...

This SA people can b funny sha...buh y wld d man wave too its a funeral nd not campaign nah

Slimy said...

Hahahahahah, d world is funny though d man called 4 it... Still lmao

MISS UNDERSTOOD said...

LOL... That moment when you get a bank alert.

Mystique said...

People self! Dat might be his own way of thanking people for coming to the funeral. He might just be amazed at d way people turned out.

O boy I tout this only happens in Nigeria...

He never see that kind of crowd b4

Am sure he was overwhelmed with the number of sympathizers and fans at the stadium. People took the gesture wrongly

I think people grieve differently and we cannot compel a person to grieve a certain way. Maybe he was appreciative of the people who came to support his son; maybe he found solace in the crowd; whatever. The man is going through a tough time and is coping his own way.

Cherelle said...

Aha hahahahahahaha! the shit has gone viral.oooo! chai!

horluwatosyne said...

Lmao.....i think dat all he can do nah,just thanking dem for paying him last respect

Mandymice said...

lool

I guess all we Africans are de same, around de globe, shabi wen Michael Jackson's fada made a press speech wen he died, Americans didnt see dat to make noise abt. His son is gone, nd for goodness sake he is being buried like a hero, in de grounds were de likes of Nelson Mandela were buried, mourning mood wont bring him bck, but living wit de little celebrity moment can really go a long way to elongate his life.

Everyone wants to be famous, even at the detriment of others! The man just wanted a moment in the spotlight and he has it, the memes prove it!

Puh_Lease!! he was probably appreciating the love the south african people and govt were showing to his dead son by the turn out..i dont know why they blew it out of proportion..people grieve differently.. nobody sane would want to lose their child.. the fact that he isnt rolling on the floor doesnt mean he isnt grieving.. #SMH
May the young man's soul rest in peace.. #AMEN

Sick old man...lol

The man that spent the first three days fighting for the guys property. Then spent other days doing press conference to badmouth Kelly. Weird man!

The people that imitated him made the story funny! Ahahah

People are mad,they will surely lose someone so that they can also wave to d crowd.the poor man appreciated people that came to bid final goodbye to his son,now look at what they have turned it to......dis is senseless...I feel for d poor man...RIP MEYIWA....deenop@yahoo.com

Mizmai said...

Lool

Can't stop laughing..... Its a crazy world

Lolzz, dis is funny tho. Who knws wot might ve happened btw him nd his dad wen he was alive *Flora*

Moku said...

i think he was just trying to say thank you for the respect! they should not crucify him jare!!

Joy Adeniyi said...

He can't be blamed. Maybe he's never known fame. He shouldn't be proud about the death of his "famous son" if it were yoruba land, parents of a dead child are not allowed to see the carcass of their child not to talk of attending the funeral.

people react differently when they grieve and am sure he was only touched by the outpouring of emotions for his son, he didn't mean anything bad by it. Remember it was his son that was shot.

Timi Da Uyi said...

I See nothing wrong with acknowledging the crowd and thanking them for honoring his son. He is obviously overwhelmed with the love shown by the crowd. No father rejoices over the loss of his son more so when they are not even in any disagreement (even at that nkor)People just love to be negative that is all.

It will be a big error to criticize this man, I feel he is under emotional torture at the moment!

Dat man right dere so doesn't look happy, I guess he was just appreciating everyone 4d support & turn out... Eyahhhhh
And it has turned 2 a big joke. Is social media doing more harm than good?

It will be an error to criticize this man at the moment, I feel he is under emotional torture!

joy Egbunu said...

People of dis world sha!!

Sanspearl said...

Lol...make una leave d man. He was enjoying some minutes of fame.

You are right my dear

i feel sorry for all of you saying he was enjoying his 15 minutes of fame. it is a pity what social media has done to your brains. The poor man was clearly overwhelmed by the love and support. People are just getting dumber everyday. God help us all.

Your english and spelling though......I weep.

"They shouldn't cry MOTHER than the bereaved" Like seriously?

but sha some South Africans are spiteful,bitter and have a poor mentality.whats wrong with what he did for Gods sake?so he shouldnt appreciate folks for coming out to sympathise with the family?mtseew

ade said...

We are too SAD as a Nation, as a Continent and as a race...Its a shame thats what white folks want us to be and we do that unconsciously..Isint the funeral meant to be a celebration of life??However bad the circumstances, they all came out to celebrate the captains life and am sure every proud father would do the same, seeing within the short life hs son lived, he was able to have an impact...

yes....like seriously...dats Bona for U....

Dan said...

Lmaoo...lol take it easy I'm sure it was a braino...sorry typo lol

tim said...

about joining the movement.. check out my facebook timeline.. add me up

Life drama

WAOOW! THIS IS CRAZY. THE MAN WAS SIMPLY OVERWHELMED BY THE CROWD PRESENCE AND THOUGHT TO ACKNOWLEDGE THEM, THEIR LOVE AND THEIR SUPPORT WHICH WAS ENOF CONSOLATION. IF SOMEONE DIED AT 100 AND NOBODY CARED, WOULD THIS NOT BE A BETTER, MORE SIC, IMPACTFUL WAY TO EXIT THIS VAIN WORLD? I TIRE FOR THIS PEOPLE OO.

Abeg make south Africans talk better abeg,dem neve think as dem go take seize back thier country back from HIVAIDS...them they criticize old man wey dem on him own..#aidscapital

WD said...

This man has done nothing wrong here, he was just appreciating the people who left everything to attend his son's burial. He knew they could have stayed home too and watch on TV set but they despise everything to attend the burial.
Lets now assume he is wrong but the people that started this hashtag of a thing av done more wrong bcos the family is grieving right now and all they could see is the fault of the father who had just lost his bread winner and common,they think he is happy to loose his son? I dont pray they loose some one of that age in their families.
I pray the Lord give you the fortitude to bear the loss Mr. Meyiwa and RIP to you Senzo.

I believe the man just waved in appreciation. nothing else loosing a child is not a thing of Joy.

he was probably moved by the love from his son's fans that could move a mother to tears. that was his default show of emotion.

KIKIS said...

He was not waving excitedly na. Just appreciating the crowd. Mschew

All these people dat has first class English Degree in Oxford university, plz allow us to make mistakes, we're still human u know...besides not in dis era of soft touch phone pads, some phone pads has a way of mistyping someone's grammar...

Big Below said...

Make una free the man make SA sabi Em face. Opportunity comes but once.

God bless you jo. Let me tell u what i saw in that first picture; a father overwhelmed by the mammoth crowd that came to pay their last respect to his son. The father can either do two things, look on in the car or at least bring head out to greet/thank people that came to honour his dear son. He made a choice and waved in thanks (that's how i see it)

Last bullet: Ive learnt NEVER EVER EVER to condemn anyone in mourning. I once called someone to greet her over the demise of a loved one (on phone) and she screamed at me ''don't call me, don't tell me anything, i don't want to talk to anyone''.
She later called me to apologize, her sister did the same thing too and i just said, ''its okay, I'm sorry for your loss again''.
End of the day, don't judge cos u don't know what its like to be in his shoes. May God keep and protect our own.
Linda make i nor use torchlight find this my comment. thank you.

MILADO said...

PEOPLE TOO FUNNY

Princess Chinasa Ukaegbu said...

stupid south africans please leave the oldman to mourn his son

Grow up!

Carcass kwa?? Is he an animal????

How is this offensive, a lot of people are just jobless. Oga don't mind them you did nothing wrong they even know #onelovefromSnow#

TANZANITE MOVIE said...

view my Tanzanitemovies blog

Lacey Love said...

God bless you for talking sense jare. Abeg find your comment o. Lol

If only say your name dey here I for scratch MTEL card for you. You talk my mind.
How people go think say na happy be that! People must talk sha because them get mouth.
Inbox me make I scratch card for you.

ChincoBee said...

Hian I think he was just appreciating the number of people that came for the funeral of the son and nothing else. Who would be happy to loose a child?

Notin bad dere na

Emmanuel Christopher said...

MAYBE HE JUST WANTED PEOPLE TO KNOW THAT HE IS THE FATHER OF THE GUY.BUT AGAIN THE TRUTH OF IT IS THAT HES NOT EVEN SUPOSE TO BE DOING THAT CUZ HE JUST LOST HIS SON.THAT IS NOT HOW THEY DO WHEN U LOST SOME ONE YOU LOVE,DOING THAT WILL MAKE PEOPLE FEEL HAA DOES HE EVEN FEEL THE LOST???IT IS WELL.

IDRIS said...

Social media diz days can be so funny.... cant stop laughing here, this pple imitatating d old man are so funny. But I think wat d man did was not wrong, just appreciating his late son fans.

I DONT THINK DIS IS WRONG ANYWAY... HE WAS MISCONSTRUED... BUT DIZ PPLE IMITATING DIS MAN ARE SO FUNNY

people shaaaa.africans will be africans.he prolly was appreciating ppl.if na niaja,dem go even say wetin he dey find for him pikin burial

@Nnenne, its "pple that have", "some phone pads have" U're welcome dear