EFCC recovers $11billion stolen funds in 11 years | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 6 November 2014

EFCC recovers $11billion stolen funds in 11 years

Since the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission,  EFCC came into existence in 2003, a total of 11 billion dollars has been recovered. 

This was disclosed by the Head of Media and Publicity of the EFCC, Mr. Wilson Uwujaren yesterday. He also said that the commission handled many cases involving advanced fee fraud (419), money laundering, contract scam, internet fraud and has recorded over 100 convictions.

The EFCC Spokesman made the comment while speaking at the Forum of Spokespersons of Security and Response Agencies organised by the I-Nigeria Initiative led by Mrs. Ada Apiaffi, in Abuja yesterday, November 5th.

He said; 
“As most of you are aware, the commission has the statutory responsibility for the investigation of all economic and financial crime. In the last eleven years we have been in operation, we have handled thousands of cases in these areas and I want to report that we have recorded over 100 convictions  as a result of our investigations. In terms of assets recovery, we have recovered assets of well over $11bn in 11 years and I think that is a record.” 
Mr Uwujaren said the EFCC had also created a new unit known as Combined Inter Agency Task Force section which will be responsible for  harnessing the potentials of international law enforcement partnership for the benefit of the commission and the nation at large.

He stated that the EFCC’s relationship with international law enforcement organisations and development partners trust the commission’s activities and this has resulted in a boost.

The EFCC Spokesman mentioned that the commission had not dropped the case against the impeached Governor of Adamawa State, Murtala Nyako; that investigation is still ongoing.

47 comments:

Where are all the monies?in ur bank accounts?

Uche Emma said...

Kudos

Dave Mide said...

Nice...good job. But all these money went where? And btw, do you know u could av achieved / recovered more if only you could summoned ur courage en gut to go after the bigger fish

The fund is small

Getting Tone And Tight Bum: The 7 Simple Ways

Why re we human's like this?? Always trying to use our mouth to slate our broda's and sister's. Remember wat the 10 commandments taught us to do----Deuteronomy 5:17 Thou shalt not kill, Deuteronomy 5:20 Neither shalt thou bear false witness against thy neighbour.......Do u knw dt we can use our mouth in killing our neighbour's by too much criticism, which not every1 can stand that and can lead to some go as far as taking their own life.
Pls I beg all of u in d name of our lord jesus christ,lets all try to be very mindful of the way we critisize through our comments on post that are been made here,it can kill and it can save life as well.
Then Mr lib reader that uses the name #kingofkings#...Deuteronomy5:11 Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain: for the Lord will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain.stop using that name.
Please let's not all forget that the coming of our lord jesus christ is very near. Where would he find us when he comes???

Val lala said...

The qustn here is where are those money now?????????? #vallala# asked!! Valentinechisom7@gmail.com

And no doubt most of those achievements were during the Nuhu Ribadu led EFCC,not this one that goes after pick-pockets.

oilandgasdissertation said...

incredible

How much of that money was from corrupt government officials? Basically the bulk of it was from fraudulent activities.

Good job people

Popular Comedian tries to propose to Genevive

See what Tiwa Savage did to a popular Comedian

Pretty wife caught cheating on her husband with the houseboy

Nadia Buari caught in a Hotel with a prophet

Weldon to EFCC. But where all dos money con dey now?

#king said...

Okay next..........................#KingOfKings #6ixGod

wellcome to KingEneogwe blogspot said...

No need cos they will still loot it again /share it among themselves

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

well done guys... buh more work still need to be done o, so no slacking, your rewards shall be in heaven

Peejay said...

*yawns*. They also let go of fraud cases worth twice that amount.

picJC
EFCC should account for the money they recovered.(it should be used to solve some problems in our country)

Whiteman said...

Where is the money??

I hear them, Good for them #onelovefromSnow#

Olusoji said...

Hoping to see the money get to the rightful owners.

Good.If they havent dropped the case against Nyako,why are they not hunting the light fingered old man?coz he's still at large.Choi that man dealt with my people big time

OTUNBA said...

Abeg make we hear word story for the Gods

pls let them use the money to fight corruption, provide good infrastructure, good schools, help eradicate poverty...abeg oo

laundering, contract scam, internet fraud and has recorded over 100 convictions.
See private photos of omolola margret an akure based socialite leaked by her sugar boy

So, na $1billion per year... OK!

So na $1billion per year?... OK

$11 billion in 11 years?this country is really corrupted...just imagine that big figure and the ones that r yet to be recover,a country can never move forward with such huge amount...kudos to them

It doesnt really make any difference, bc the money will definetly be stolen by another set of politicians

kudos to EFCC

Job well done! but hey EFCC Hommies, there is still along way to Go! put in work please....

If you've got my voodoo dull please help scratch my butt, I'm in public! Call me *** THAFINEXX ***

Lol $11 billion in 11 years dis peeps are funny...olubukola dabiels aka blackmamba...

Dx is 2015campaign moni,let's qo der.I remain #Immanuel..Youngkixx93@gmail.com

Its not about recovering looted money buh where and what happened to the said recovered money
This ppl sabi use our head drink garri
After recovering it,it looted again by another mofo
Smh,9ja which na???

....SƖεεkz

story for gods where is money?

After recovering the money which area of the government did they invest it into?? Nonsense!!! *****QUEENMAYA*****

Commendable but It can't be compared to the ones stolen.

THE ACT OF SEX said...

Work harder.

Get your grove back

7FD74D92

Joshtech said...

Where the money they go.

Olusoji said...

They should be accountable for the money.

Olusoji said...

If it has really recovered the said amount the cbn or finance minister will have the full details.

Like we don't know they could have recovered many times more.

good job but where is the money

paul c c said...

all this our money where una dey share due is God oo

So where are all the money recovered?

AND SO? THE ONES THAT WERE RECOVERED BEFORE TODAY NKO?

abujakenneth said...

Where are all the monies recovered? Are they not all stolen? Vicious cycle and yeye country

Where are the monies? Still nothing to show for it. No common infrastructure! They recovered the monies from the pocket of old politicians into the pocket of new politicians. Simple!

Wher the $11B cum dey now?