Photo: Army releases 42 suspected Boko Haram members in Borno | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 6 November 2014

Photo: Army releases 42 suspected Boko Haram members in Borno

42 suspected members of Boko Haram were today Nov. 6th released to the Borno state government after investigations carried out by the Nigerian army showed they had no ties with the sect.

Presenting the released suspects to the state governor, Kashim Shettima, the  Deputy Director of Army Public Relations of the 7 Division, Col. Sanni Usman said investigations showed the men who were arrested at various times in Maiduguri and other parts in Borno state, had no connection with the sect. He announced a donation of N100,000 each from the Nigerian Army to the released men to help rehabilitate and reintegrate them back into the society.

Receiving the men, the state governor thanked the army for conducting a thorough investigation. He also gave cash gifts to all the released men. 39 of the released suspects were Borno state indigenes while the remaining three were foreigners from Chad, Burkina Faso and Cameroon.

One of the released suspects, a 300 level student of the University of Maiduguri said "I never knew that I could be free again but today marks a new beginning in my life. I will tell my story to my grandchildren."

Source: Sahara Reporters

37 comments:

Boko Haram members released and still got paid.. Woah!!!

APPLELIPX said...

Hian!!!
Hw long haf der been der... on what basis where they captured, detained, investigated and not found wanting
Wonder how many innocent pple r behind bars for nothing

Awww! "I will tell my story to my grandchildren"
I thank God for their lives,considering the sado-masochistic disposition of our military men.

Rotfl @ I will tell the story to my grandchildren. Well I hope they are innocent for real. No one is meant to be trusted this time around. BH are heartless #onelovefromSnow#

these people should be very careful of people they arrest,imagine!many innocent souls would have gone just like that.

Please visit us @
www.spillithere.com
we want to here your story
Linda sweetie no vex abeg.

Read very well before you comment

Awwww really touching

That's the kinda stories we hear in this country..... Suffer not a witch 2 die in Nigeria# *****QUEENMAYA*******

this is bull shit, just a mere strategy to negotiate on a low key, supid idiots!, i hope they knw the implications of the stupid shit their doin

Bia nwa torotoro a! Do u even understand english?sure u read but still didn't get it! If its to beef u cum 1st. Anuohia..... "Suspected BH" hello????? Dang!!!!!!!

Olusoji said...

They must be prosecuted

Unbelievable

Only God knw the pains those dudes don pass through i swear....

It is better a guilty man is freed, than an innocent man jailed (or killed).

Jobs in Lagos..PH..Abuja..and other cities

Chichi Taichi Okere said...

How do you expect anyone to take you seriously when you can't even spell *hear?

Confused country, confused leaders, confused everything...

Boko haram is causin grief 2 many families. (Westino)

Like 100,000 will pay for the torture and the distress they so obviously went through!

2015 political thug has just being release to the governor

#yimu

ifedayo said...

The useless military with their barbaric acts of torture pushed some innocent north men to join Boko Haram, they have killed hundreds of innocent people and yet they can't crush the real Boko Haram. Sometimes u can't tell who the real Boko Haram is, but one thing I know is God will judge all of them.

I am sure u didn't read the story before u made comment. If I see you anywhere in Toronto I must give you knock on the head.

sweet malo said...

See your English"they ve neva kill any boko suspect" you are only concerned abt killing not justice..

thank God they are finally free...

#Godblessnigeria

Army investigation????

how long have they been away for them to get 100k each

its wel o. Nafisato4@gmail.com

Why would anyone visit your site when you clearly have complete disregard for the English language. You start your comment with small letters, your punctuations are wrong, word spacing wrong, even your spelling!
Please go and get a copy of brighter grammar and do yourself some good.

Toronto, did u get ur certificate from 'Toronto'? Because it appears English is a major challenge for u! They are not Boko Haram members, they were suspects arrested, who have been investigated and are now free. #DontGetItTwisted

Uche Emma said...

WHo ensured that they are not BH members?

9ja stuff, bokoharam being paid again, i tire ooh

In the first place who certified not beign a member; well thats 9ja 4 u;

Hmm...
Boko Haram get paid after killing innocent people

Hmmmmm, I can't shout

All of you don mad finish... These ppl are playing politics and following shekau instructions by realesing his men. And @Dypo Ololade... I know you wont use petrol to fry plantain unless u don sign your Willl. When u even see in me person.. u no go even reach where I stand.. Idiot

demmyzone said...

Am sure most ppl here have never been interrogated by police or army before,bcos i know that if police or army wants to get u to confess,u will,BELIEVE ME,though, i also know that torture in the name of investigation is wrong but most times,they are left with no option,we need to start trusting our military even if their release could be part of part of ceasefire/negotiation,i support it,so far if that ll bring an end of these killings.