Nigerian Immigration reacts to Davido's claims of harrassment by their officers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 11 May 2014

Nigerian Immigration reacts to Davido's claims of harrassment by their officers

A few days ago, Davido tweeted that he missed his flight to London because of immigration officers who were harassing him at the Murtala Mohammed International Airport, Ikeja because of money. The Nigerian Immigration Service has responded to Davido's claims.

In a statement released today by the NIS Public Relations Officer, Emeka Obua, they said Davido had approached immigration officers at MMIA on the fateful day with the intention of travelling out of the country and presented a US passport number 460918874 issued at Georgia on Dec. 14,  2009 and valid till December 14, 2019.

It explained that the officer that attended to him drew his attention to the fact that his US passport had no Nigerian visa on it with which he would have been admitted into the country, and Davido reportedly responded that he had a Nigerian passport but forgot it at home. Continue...

The statement said,
“The officer now informed him that he should go and bring the Nigerian passport to convince him that he did not enter Nigeria illegally with a foreign passport without visa. Adeleke started arguing with the officer, who had to refer the case to his superiors and the verdict was that he could not make the trip unless he produced the said Nigerian passport.
“Livid with anger, Adeleke, in company with his bodyguards, started protesting in a disorderly manner, prompting the Comptroller of Immigration in-charge at MMIA to intervene. He advised Adeleke to call his bodyguards to order (caution) and comply with the lawful instruction which would not only erase any doubt as to his immigration status but also establish his claim to dual citizenship.”
Davido was said to have left and on the following day produced his Nigerian e-passport with number A02227477 issued at Abuja on August13, 2010 and valid till August 12, 2015.

The NIS stated that the passport was endorsed and the artiste then proceeded on his trip.

The statement added,
“This behaviour of Adeleke is quite unfortunate. One would ordinarily have expected some form of commendation from him for the professional manner the officers, who attended to him, conducted themselves especially in  saving him from  embarrassment at some international port of entry by ensuring that his passport is endorsed as is the law and practice in Nigeria .
“The intention of this statement is not to to join issues with Mr. Adeleke but to set the facts of the incident, as it happened at MMIA on the said day straight."
Source: Punch

228 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 228 of 228

NIS is wrong. No question about that. People are mouthing off without understanding what passport is all about.
Davido can travel out of Nigeria with his US passport only. Passport is a means of identification and (authority:visa) to enter a country. The USA passport he has satisfies 1. He is who he claims 2. No visa required for US citizens to enter UK.

I have traveled to UK from Nigeria several times with my US passport and there was no harassment on that whatsoever. The only issue was the incessant plea for money by the NIS officials.

The job of NIS is to ascertain that it is not a fake passport.
However, to enter Nigeria he must have a valid Nigeria visa on his US passport unless he has his Nigeria passport.
So, the NIS officials acted in ignorance.

Didi3000 said...

It is so bad now that after getting foreign currencies for my trip, I hv to still put aside some naira for 'aggressive tipping' going out and back into Nigeria, otherwise that trip would not happen, or worse still u might hv to dig into d dollars meant for d trip.
The govt really needs to do something about it. Its a total embarrassment. I've been to several countries, and it does not happen anywhere else in the world, only in Nigeria, and especially to Nigerians.

Last time I checked,you didn't need a Nigerian passport or visa to LEAVE Nigeria. If he travels without it, it can only affect his return to the country. They are up to this shit. Instead of them to face their actual work.

well i dont think askind D for his Nigerian Passport at the point of leaving the country makes any sense.All he needs to present is Us passport and if when coming back to naija he does not have his naija passport then NIS can then perform there so called professional work. Note that if you r coming to naija frm US or even Uk, passing the immgration there is not possible without a valid visa or Naija passport. for those that are saying NIS is rigth am sorry u guys r just jealous fools and d problem of naija.

obviously the lot of LIB commenters are illiterates that have never stepped foot out of this country. If you have, you will know that amaericans require visas to enter/exit Nigeria. If Davido shows his US Visa, it is assumed that he is American. What is with all the stupid Idiots here talking rubbish. and majority of commenters are suppsed to be the future of this country. You all are one huge pile of disgusting shit!!!!

Sooo.. This is Just Davido thinking that he is above the law and then later they will all complain about corruption in niaja.
Do the right thing and you will have no problem. Will he say same thin to an immigration officer oversea?
Yes, Naija immigration officer always ask for your passport with the Visa.

I have met Davido on several occassions and he is quite humble. I have even witnessed him being harrassed and insulted, he chose to walk away than cause a scene. We all know Nigerian immigration, I am not a celeb, yet they harrass me for money every time i travel. I dont believe Davido would have been unnecessarily rude if he wasnt prompted to be, let us all be realistic. He is a celebrity and would be mobbed if not for his 'bodyguards', i know for a fact that he would rather not have them around.

60% of those commenting on this blog doesn't know the immigration rules perhaps have not traveled out of Nigeria. His Nigerian Passport or visa was not needed since he was departing from Nigeria. US was what he needed to grant him access in to UK. The Nigerian Immigration are just bunch of thieves demanding for dollars as if you work for them.And if you don't give it to them they are ready to frustrate the hell out of your life.

Nonnybaby said...

Then WHY do you need a transit visa for the UK if you're coming to Nigeria via the UK? Or even ANY other country through which you transit, for that matter? Because WHEREVER you are found to be boarding from, you must possess proof of HOW YOU GOT IN THERE in the first place! This is basic International border law! For all we know,; you could be an alien, a terrorist, or possibly snuck in through the Sahara Desert! NICE guys may indeed be villains, but on this one, THEY ARE RIGHT. I will never leave the UK for Nigeria without BOTH my passports!

On August 21, 2013 at MMA in Lagos on about to check-in at Arik COUNTER to US, a very rude Nigerian passenger was ordering an officer to get her a cellotape for her overloaded box. I was ashamed because I knew she gave bribe to the officers and they let her jump the QUEUE, then allowed excess luggage.I was ashamed that an officer allowed himself to be disrespected because of chicken feed bribe

Wat are u people saying... Under the right law, as he didn't produce a travelling document that showed he legally entered Nigeria... Then they are suppose to arrest him and deport him back to USA not the UK he intended to go too..

All of u are fools... Let him go to USA and try to leave to UK with a Nigeria passport that has no American visa but a UK visa on it and see wat would happen to his arse...

Your stupid is astounding... British people are allowed entry into Nigeria without visa...

U are a dull child because if u have travelled u would realize he needs his passport to leave the country . Even the president won't be allowed to go through in right countries . He shouldn't be allowed to leave the country

ZeeZee said...

They definitely just wanted money firstly who doesn't know Davido is a Nigerian guy? They should have databases for nationals must you always move with 2 passports... SMH dey dere

FOOLISH NIS! bkus em no give na money na?

why do you need a Nigerian passport to travel OUT of the country??? That Makes absolutely no sense... my mum travels OUT of naija With her red passport ALL THE TIME! These immigration people dont even Know how to lie properly mtchew

After reading most of the comments here, I've come to the conclusion that those who think Davido was arrogant are people like me who have not travelled out of this country by air; those who say the NIS officials had no business trying to sort out his Visa and that they are actually too corrupt are people who have travelled out of Nigeria by air. They begged him for money.

After reading most of the comments here, I've come to the conclusion that those who think Davido was arrogant are people like me who have not travelled out of this country by air; those who say the NIS officials had no business trying to sort out his Visa and that they are actually too corrupt are people who have travelled out of Nigeria by air. They begged him for money. However, in my narrow mind in this issue, I would have thought that they were right in wanting to know how he entered Nigeria in the first place. Well, 2 good things have come out of the issue: He will always carry both passports or the relevant one, and, they will never beg him for money again.

Chiefo said...

@Davido,each time u re travelling try to go with ur two passport to avoid delay,tell us another story wen u re with ur two passports.u ve made d mistake already ,if NIS had allowed you travelled without ur passport and on ur way back u weren't allowed to come back without it u all complain dat NIS didn't d right thing wen u were leaving and all dese fools comment on NIS will open dere dirty mouth to say why did dey allowed him to go .

For real. Why would the dumb ass immigration list his passport numbers in their statement. And yes they always ask for money.

Aunty linda u refused 2 post my comment on dis issue abi u dey fear told u I was dere,even told u d conversation I heard btw 2 immigration officers still u no shake body bcuz I gave u fact u 1 pursue me 4rm ur blog now o. Mayb u didn't bliv me buh I was dere nd 2 cut d long story short dey refuse 2 let him travel bcuz he refuse 2 drop nd dey even compared him 2 Psquare nd said dey alweis allow Psquare bcuz den dey drop well well unlike tight hand davido" So dey ad 2 come up wif sumtin 2 hold him. Aunty linda no post dis 1 wey I don summarize again bcuz u dey FEAR. "YiMU"

You people should forget the fact that davido bracks or not,Nigeria immegarions officers mostly in MMIA are nothing but thieves,they accuse u wrongly for uneccesary things and even beg for money as said and if u refuse giving them believe me they might delay you to miss ur flight,which way Nigeria.

FYI you do not need a valid Nigerian passport to travel out of Nigeria. This is a fact and law. Two, if he was in Nigeria without valid papers, what you do is send him out, meaning you let him leave the country, not encourage or aid him to remain in the country.

So whoever the immigration spokesman was does not know what he was talking about!

For the ignorant commentators out there.

travelled to dubai in february on my return few weeks later NIS delayed me for over 2 hrs at the airport asking for money. i didnt hv a dime on me. they threatened to seize my bags etc. i was so angry and frustrated i started crying. had to use my atm to withdraw money.its really sad.

I am so inclined to believe Davido's story because it is so true! Immigration officers, especially the ones at the check point before you get to the boarding gate are always asking for money. They've been doing it from time!

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 228 of 228   Newer› Newest»