Mummy Cried: Nsukka Boy’s Presidential Scholarship Story from London University | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 4 March 2015

Mummy Cried: Nsukka Boy’s Presidential Scholarship Story from London University

Sponsored post. Article written by Chibuike Ugwuoke. Read below...
As a youngster, I had a dream to study abroad but the truth is, dreams are luxuries that can only be accessed when there is money.
My name is Chibuike Ugwuoke was born and bred in Enugu State twenty-something years ago to a very modest family. Even though I wouldn’t say we were poor because we had neighbours that prayed to live in our condition, I knew schooling abroad was reaching for the stars. We simply couldn’t afford it.
I gained admission to study Computer Science at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka in 2007 and by God’s grace, graduated in 2011 with First Class Honours. It was a challenging experience but helped me become the man I am today.

Last year, I left Nigeria for the first time – to begin my Masters of Science (MSc) program in Information Security at the University College, London (UCL). It wasn’t because my parents had become overnight millionaires but because I was one of two hundred and five (205) graduate students to benefit from the PRESSID (Presidential Scholarship Scheme for Innovation and Development) awardees in 2014.

A senior lecturer at the university informed me about it but I felt it was one of those 419 wayo-wayo scholarship schemes that has become a norm in Universities. Besides, I did not expect the final selection process to be credible. In previous regimes, such things are only awarded to people who are related to a prominent person in the government. Somehow I decided to try my luck and apply but even when I was going for the final test phase in Abuja, a part of me felt I was wasting my time.

I’m here in London, but neither the cold nor the fact that I am again the class representative as I was throughout my undergraduate days has made me fully believe that I am not in dreamland.

Hardwork, determination and resilience helped me graduate with first class honours from the university. My classmates who fondly nicknamed me ‘Modulus’ and other schoolmates I met form part of my network of friends today, as do some of my lecturers. There is no point in criticizing the academic structure of most tertiary institutions in Nigeria because the more we complain and point fingers, the more time we give for the system to decay.  Personally, I have decided to be part of the needed change and will become a lecturer when I return.

It is imperative to note that this would not have been possible without God and the Goodluck Jonathan administration that initiated this scheme in 2012. I cannot thank you enough, Mr. President especially for lifting a burden from my parents’ shoulders and for fulfilling the dream of a nobody.

128 comments:

princess zee said...

And we are just hearing this now? Na una sabi, campaign things

Happy for u and yes may God con't to bless GEJ 4 us.....

Wow! This is my friend Modulus. He was my set at UNN.
So happy for him,may God bring his good works in your life to fulfillment.
Modeman we miss you, can't wait to see you again.

Peejay said...

*Yawnsss*

Happy for you & your reason for campaigning for GEJ is understood.But I still see Otueke loading...95%.GEJ has tried.Let someone try his also until we get the perfect president.

Everything about PDP on your site is SPONSORED... Every crap on APC is free will. Linda Ikeji Mata na mmiri doro nwa ezi doro nwa nkita. Onye lere enwe goro nkita mata kwa na ihe ntukwu ka no na beya.

Hahahahahaha sponsored post indeed.....dude how much did he{anonymous} paid you to come and post all this in favour of the anonymous? Campaign strategy I can tell from the beginning of the story to the end.

:::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::::::::::

Modulus....So you still go there go do class rep? I think say you go dey concentrate on finding wife by now?

Lucky boy.lindaobserve

WHATEVER..... God's willing may the best person that will change my status wins. IJN (Amen)

7F098C19 said...

Cool story. Engr Emy

How inspiring

Gay Life of an Anonymous Writer

Thats good,Gej till 2019.

Bia Linda whats the update about the ill health of Buhari? heard that he is currently bed ridden...jst a question**

**Dahenriez**

dilinger said...

Bravo and well done...GEJ to 2019!

There is no way someone will tell me that the combo of Tinubu and Buhari is better for our nation! Mbanu! With all there antecedents! No way! I see the forces of darkness trying to set this nation back! If the duo wins, it's obvious an ill force that's won! Nothing good comes from badness! No matter the level of "badness" the orchestrated propaganda says of this administration, it is in no way comparable to previous administration in making efforts for the children of the "unknown". The "You-Win" program is a case point. Never even knew this one exists. Tinubu wants to merchandise Nigeria like he did Lagos! GMB just wants to fulfil his long quest to wrest power and rule and dish out his vendetta on perceived enemies! How can a sadist and a bigot be a better option! Haba! What wind of change?! Change to what! Retrogression! Let's jettison sentiments please!

Olivia Sose said...

May God bless Nigeria

Lucky you!!! GEJ is d man of d year...

God bless u more for coming out open some pple will benefit and yet speak ill of GEJ! To be a leader is not moi-moi

Scam

That's exactly the type of stories we want to hear....Very inspiring!!

PDP welldone! your campaign has gone to this level. we want change, chikena!! pay the oil marketers abeg, and stop all these noise.

Testimonial campaigning beats smear campaign any day!

Dazzlnbeau said...

U are hearing it nau cos y'all hv been asking wat he dd for four years..... He's good works r speaking for him!! GEJ 2020!!!!

Thank God U benefitted from GEJ admin...........Good for U

Now I see where the article is going....... what the big deal, is the president responsibility to give the excellent student scholarship, all na campaigning strategy!!!!!!! Apc......... CHANGE.

Funso Samuel said...

You can never have a perfect president. Even Obama is nt perfect.

Bonario shebi u said Goodluck has not done anything good? Now ur shouting I KNOW HIM. Mtscheeewww. Facts can never be disputed!

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

Hahahaha.

Happy for him tho

Bbt why are we suddenly just hearing of this

All na campaign strategy

#March4Buhari

NobleC said...

So in which part of this story did "mummy cry"? Grammar doesn't seem to reflect his first class ability or was it written on his behalf by TAN?

CONGRATS AND STUDY hard cuz wit d way u r talkin ple lyk u r nided in d educational sector....tomjerryswit

UNHAPPY NIGERIAN. said...

@ Porsche Quinn, I am a strong supporter ofGEJ, for the only reason that he is an improvement from all the past presidents we have ever had in Nigeria & above all, GMB is by no stretch of mind a competitor to him as a democratic, effective, president that we need in Nigeria now but still I will not vote him for man of the year in Nigeria today unless ur voting president of the century in Nigeria. Then I concur 100% hence I am back in Nigeria to cast my vote amongst so many other reasons for GEJ to continue until 2019. I say then, FORWARD GEJ, FORWARD PDP & FORWARD NIGERIA!!!

Omosimua Sarah said...

Thank God for you, my younger brother first class Economics graduate is applying for the pressid scholarship dis year too..May God favour him in Jesus name..

Bonario how come u didn't get scholarship??

OKIKE said...

Just tell us to help you get a Job and quit bitching!

POLITICS SAI BUHARI sai buhari, y nw ur telling us. frm law northcoast

This is another hungry person paid to write a summary of how one president only helped him with a presidential scholarship. If there is a scholarship of such, why isn't it made known to the public?, Nigeria needs to take charge of the country like Ghana did years ago. Line up all the current politicians in a firing squad, eradicate them like mosquitoes. This will aid the nations aim to start from building the country from scratch and build without any foreign influence.

campaign things

See Modulus in new science lecture theatre, NSLT. Happy 4 you

Anonymous Personified said...

Yesooooo. Proudly a LIONESS.
Can see Abuja building in that 2nd pics.
But Bonario you dey fall hand by supporting 'Buharia'
Go GEJ. Weldone Chibuike.

congratulation
sponsored campaigner

God bless you Chibuike. this has been proved as in the Bible, when Jesus healed the leppers, it was only one of the healed that came out to praise Jesus and thank the Lord.....So my advice to all is to rejoice with the brother first before your so called Corruption mentality and hatred for our government. Wake up! Change we seek is here... Up GEJ

XO said...

How much did he paid u??? Christie, fear God!

Why saying this now
It doesn't change my perspective of GEJ

Ifeoma said...

I was tearing up as i read Chibuike's story. What can i say? The good that men do preceeds them. For this testimony by Chibuike, the Lord will certainly bless president Goodluck Jonathan. Any one who reaches out to lift another up will himself always xperience progress. This is quite examplary. The Lord continue to bless Nigeria with this type of caring leader. The Lord bless the president.

Yes maybe some do have scholarships and we cant deny its great, we are happy for the dude but why is this just coming out, why now ?

IGBDev said...

Happy for you -God is not a sleeping God- He surely will answer us all. Stay bless.
Samsung Led 55 Inch TV Review

Chi chi said...

Modulus. Aww so nice! He used to help me with assignments back then. Such a nice guy. U deserve d best.

Congratulations Bro. Keep shining... Remember too to vote n encourage ur family n friends to vote our Transformational President back to power. #VotePDP28/03/2015.

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

Mummy did not cry since o bt suddenly it's election period and mummy decided to cry lol

Mrs Jade said... hahaha @ princess Zee, you spoke my mind

Congrat

Better wash of life. Don't fall for it. Jonathan hasn't done anything tangible for him to be voted In again. All these one na stunt. Did fashola contest like this when he was going for second term? No! Because he knows his works will do the talking.

I've always said it, corrupt as the GEJ administration is perceived or said to be, it's the only one that has benefited people that I know. I'd always heard of Govt scheme this,Govt scheme that, but never met anyone who could attest to them. With GEJ's scheme, I know of 3 people (close friends and family) that won youwin grant of N10million each and I've seen d transformation this has brought to their business and lives.

Krix said...

Thank God it's u antiGEJ that knows this guy.

Krix via iPhone 6 gold

Happy for u oh but pls study hard & do not forget why you're there

Nice..

sudden testimony. hmmmmm. are u the only sponsored student in London? why we no see the rest photo na. So, na to give scholarship con hard? na wetin my people for village dey do too. WE NEED CHANGE FOR ALL MASSES, NOT THIS KIND CHEAP THING AS GREAT AS NIGERIA IS. Well done ooo. WE DON HEAR YOU. #voteforCHANGE #GMB/PYO2015 #MARCH4BUHARI

Sharrap.. Go and look up the meaning of sponsored. Linda doesn't even have a sponsored article of apc. Anything pertaining to apc and pdp are news worthy that's why she carries them. Anything other than that is sponsored, like ads. This is an ad so it's sponsored. Stop thinking through your anus

The president isn't a typical politician. he doesn't shout when he does things like this..GEJ 2015

passions said...

@princess zee i support u joor,since 2014 its nw ur coming out to speak abi bos ur looking for more favours ...make we hear am nt jealous of wt u hav bt i dont lk dis whole nw era of commending some new developments becos for me dey r all campaign strategy.

Who ever said Obama was perfect..f*ckoff,we need a perfect presidente yiaa..it's not Buhari btw hehehe

Good to knw that Jonathan touched a life..congratulations my fellow super lion...

If i may ask, where has the so called Modulus been? i see this as a campaign strategy to gullible people into believing ur so called Jonathan Gbagbo.. i am not moved by ur article.. yeye people.. GEJ has already packed his portmanto, preparing to leave in Otueke abi wetin dem dey call am..

True...But Scholarship schemes have been in existence before now. Even if they give children of the Politicians there are still sprinkles for those who merit it (which is existent in this case) under Jonathan's watch i got to the final interview for a job at Nigeria LNG and I was asked to present my sponsor before I could be given the job. I did not present one so I did not get it. Shows that it is same ole things.

I really love Your commenta.

AND YOU DEY HERE DEY ATTACK JONATHAN. OLOSHI. MAKE U NO GO FIND WORK. THANK GOD THAT YOU KNOW HIM. THIS IS A CASE OF CRIMINAL APC CERTIFYING THAT JONATHAN PDP IS TOUCHING LIVES

Congrats Modulus, thank God for bringing your dream to pass.

Obi Ik said...

Modulluuuuussssssssssssssss!!! So you carry this class rep thing go London abi? Nice one. He was my class rep back in UNN computer science department. We had about 6 first class graduates in our set but just him and one other girl (Uchenna) made it through the PRESSID screening! We all know about YOUWIN too.

For those wondering why this (and other news about GEJ's performance) is just coming out now, it's because his media/publicist guy is a complete moron. Instead of highlighting GEJ's efforts, he's going about talking rubbish. Jonathan actually affected a lot of lives but this Boko Haram idiots just stole the headlines from him.

Congrats again Modulus!

Construction Site said...

Modulluuuuussssssssssssssss!!! So you carry this class rep thing go London abi? Nice one. He was my class rep back in UNN computer science department. We had about 6 first class graduates in our set but just him and one other girl (Uchenna) made it through the PRESSID screening! We all know about YOUWIN too.

For those wondering why this (and other news about GEJ's performance) is just coming out now, it's because his media/publicist guy is a complete moron. Instead of highlighting GEJ's efforts, he's going about talking rubbish. Jonathan actually affected a lot of lives but this Boko Haram idiots just stole the headlines from him.

Congrats again Modulus!

@Good luck Jonathan is working

APC a

APC are barking

@Buhari will give him scholarship when he becomes president in 3040

For now....it is continuity for @Gej till 2019

Rough Diamond said...

Transformation continues. #GEJEBEANO

Happy crying, sai buhari joor,

Vote no fight

Information is key to success! I wish you the best. Tired of writing TOEFL nd SAT nd seriously seeking an admission into US college nd UNi without SAT nd TOEFL? It wnt cost you so much money. Contact me on 09098849137 sunnyjayone@yahoo.co.uk. #sunnyjay

BABA kay said...

hahahaaa! see modulus o! lol! happy for you bro! Remembered all d wahala u gave us back then in CS dept!

Great! D president is trying but news like this wouldn't have gained audience if not for d campaign.

Abeg, say something else, we all know election is near. Thank God youre in the UK, have you heard about free education from age 3 till youre done in high school. What are you talking about? What has Nigerian government ever offered us? Abeg say sonething else.

I said sooooooooo.

Adeagbo Kabir said...

What is the "big deal" in government giving scholarships to study abroad? Even countries that are not as rich as Nigeria are doing it. Besides, other president before GEJ did it without making any noise about it. I think a president/administration counting that as achievement is not serious and does not know what good governance is.

Victoria said...

Federal scholarship board has been in existence for years and has been been granting scholarship to brilliant and indigent students. There's nothing new here rather this administration gave it a name that will aid her in looting from that office, don't be fooled. Sai Buhari!

Lady B said...

Yes so..

Doubles your income with oriflame..add me on 52da6fa6 for more info.

You can get stuck to your perspective! Yes he may not have taken the nation to the place they want, but obviously he has made some good strides in the right direction. He is way better than previous presidents and in no way can be compared to GMB and Tinubu based on their antecedents. You can go for a sadist and a bigot! You can go for the people that wants to merchandise this nation as they did Lagos! You can go for those whose ethnic and religious bigotry is "legendary"! It's all your personal decision! Immediate past president and vice built private universities while in office, but the incumbent built 9 federal universities. Foundations are being laid. Everybody can't be wise. The word foolish is created for a reason.

I don't comment on dis blog thou, but I knw dis guy well well his lyin,i wasn't gej scholarships dat took him to London, his dad hlped him wit dis dey sold dere granfada palmwine land stop lyin modulus u don't nid dis u r doin dis to get ursef a job...fuck buhari, fuck Jonathan two useless set of people dat can't give Nigeria CHANGE

That one doesn't blow his trumpets shouldn't be taken wrongly! He's saying it now cos there has been propaganda that the president hasn't done anything, that he is clueless! Really! Some of those haters are "beneficiaries" of the ghost workers syndrome who are obviously annoyed that there scheme has been busted. Billions of naira has been save in the past year alone cos of the technology applied which was able to detect the fraud in the civil service scheme. The writer of the article did what he did cos people like you have been asking what the president has done. He is among the few who felt it's imperative to say thank you and let people know the good that has been done to him.

when will Nigerians face the truth and stop using evry medium to campaign .....Goodluck did dis for u with Nigeria's money not his,scholarship isnt new it come up during all administration so cut d crap..congrats anyway

SYLVIA IKEJI'S BLOG said...

If i didnt believe before now, now i do. This guy was my set in NSK! While i was in English and Literature, he was among those people that do lectures till 6pm.lol...and thats our exam sheet and environment. looollz. Why he is posting it now i doubt it matters, bottom line is, GEJ did it. Nice one though.

@Krix so being anti GEJ will stop him from missing his friend eh? From his comments that I read, he doesn't hate GEJ. Just like most people don't hate him as a person. But as the president of Nigeria, he's not trying at all. Helping or two people doesn't mean he's doing his job well. In fact, his score as far as I'm concerned is 35% and that's failure. WE NEED CHANGE

when will Nigerians face the truth and stop using evry medium to campaign .....Goodluck did dis for u with Nigeria's money not his,scholarship isnt new it come up during all administration so cut d crap..congrats anyway

linda ure just biased. i can see u ve decided to sell ur vote to apc but no problem, bcos i believe u will definitely reap wat uve sown. May God forgive u for being part of the ppl trying to ruin the lives of young nigerians "sponsored post indeed"

#smh - what about millions of others who had same dream like me too. our schools have never been in a worse state as they are now. Corruption and Cheating are like brothers and sisters. The percentage of lecturers collecting bribes for marks have more than quadrupled during GEJ regime. CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHY WE DIDN'T HEAR ABOUT OUR REFINERIES DURINIG GEJ'S HALF A DECADE RULE? HE WANTED HIS FRIENDS TO BE IMPORTING ABI? VOTE CHANGE, VOTE GMB!

PR....LIES LIES BLOODY LIES

It's true...a friend of mine also got same scholarship!

You are nothing but a drunkard. Because it hasn't affected you doesn't mean you should come out and talk rubbish. Tat guy there was my class rep. Bonario knew him very well. So shut your dung if you have nothing to vomit.

Thank you Jare... Fucking sellouts like bona need better flogging

One out of 150 million + Nigerian,am jus sayin Wetin I knw
Ola frm Brampton

Fool
Be happy with those God has bless

Because GEJ is not talk talk, he is focused on doing. That boy was my classmate. He is one of two who got the scholarship from my class. After school I know 3 people who got jobs through sure-p scheme. People do not know these things because unlike the opposition, GEJ does not bother much on shouting. But in the end, we will definitely know.

UNN is great varsity
Am happy for u nwanne

It is really really sad when I hear people saying this is a scam. Sad and unfortunate. Because I know him well and thank God bonario does. People should go beyond propaganda and check what the administration has done.

tchrge said...

So this is your point?? Do you know what grammar is..

tchrge said...

Abeg is it not GEJs works that is speaking for him.. Please think smart

...they had to use Linda Ikeji's blog to tell us this...now? Right?

Politics eehhnn... #Scientific Campaign things

Good for the guy tho'

GEJ, thank you

All men were born equal but some choose to become leaders and others fellowers

Happy for u Chibuike. GEJ till 2019. me and all the APC members will continue to vote and support his Administration. he has done so well, we don't mind to support his third term tenor after 2019. yes! the umbrella that covers all PDP

this is neither a means of promoting the Jonathan government nor a means of campaign. my elder brother is a beneficiary of the PRESIDD scheme. you can also confirm the program online. he is now in the America studying for his PHD . i am also going to subscribe to that scheme after my national youth service and you pray i qualify.

GEJ all d way! Onye kelee sunny sunny eklee ya GEJ na d man

aakkk said...

if u don't have anything intelligent to say, don't bother

prettiyz said...

Thank God 4 him

Modulus my man. you bam. alwyas a hard worker. Thanks to GEJ for giving you the opportunity. GEJ all the way...

Make first class and see if u won't be helped...no scholarship for people without head for education

I can confirm the PRESSID initiative is truly merit based.I personally know 2 people that have been beneficiaries.
the problem Jonathan has is he does not project his initiative well enough..

Fix the local schools you stupid president!

This fine geh wey dey gbaguan for Africa. Smh

@Bonario Thank you for this I also have a course mate who won a scholarship to study in the UK but I too do not support GEJ. Reason: These scholarships have been available through PTDF even before GEJ came into power. I have at least 5 close friends and family who got scholarships through PTDF so this is not new and is even a tip of what I expect My president to do.It was however nice seeing all the Niger Delta youths sent abroad to Learn piloting and to study in universities. They were so many at one point. Hope Nigeria is keeping in touch with all these her children she's shipping abroad. Congratulations to this fellow though the world is now open to have him.

@Victoria, federal scholarship board is still there but has nothing to do with pressid! Jonathan introduced pressid and should get the credit if there is any.

SWILL MARTIN said...

In my university first class ke?u won die???#ambrose alli university ekpoma how dem won take giv u??except ur connection long well datz how they will give u even if u deserve it,2:1 sef na by God's grace.wissh I went to scholls dat gave u what u deserved lyk dis 1 I 4 happy wella,cngrats nigga God de ur side.

@XO Now I think you're the one that should "fear God" hahahha you for just allow her get her moment of shine Na.. Anyway sha! Nice observation...

Which country? Please am from Cameroon and none of such programs exist here

This is neither a scam nor campaign scheme. It is TRUTH.
I know the writer back in UNN and aware of the presidential scholarship.
Now, I'm not hinting on this for the skeptical to believe but for the free minded to accept.
What we have to know as Nigerians is that GEJ is working hard as a president; some of which are long term and will unfold as time comes by.
Just as someone on this blog quoted: NO PRESIDENT IS PERFECT.
The president of America is doing well in the course of his tenure with huge and amiable developments; But thousands of people still criticize him.
Quoting a friend of mine, I say: I'M ALIVE BECAUSE I BREATHE. THE AIR ISN'T SO FANTASTIC THAT I YEARN FOR FRESHNESS; BUT I RATHER STICK TO WHAT I HAVE THAN RISK GETTING BAD AIR.

If you are a first class student you will know it is not for dullards.😁

Innocent Mafiele said...

I don not know this dude But I firmly believe him As my Elder brother is among the 300 Nigeria students in South Korea undergoing a Presidential Scholarship training in Shipbuilding to become a certified Shipwright. Previously Things like this were fantasies to common men like us, but now it is happening. I thing this Administration is more focused on youth empowerment that any of its predecessors.

Real story.....Modulus is a genius! I am happy for you my G!

Why r u just telling us?