OBJ slams GEJ again, says he is afraid Buhari might jail him if he leaves office | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 15 February 2015

OBJ slams GEJ again, says he is afraid Buhari might jail him if he leaves office

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo yesterday came hard again on President Jonathan and his style of governance, claiming that President Jonathan is afraid that if Gen Buhari wins the election, he might jail him when he leaves office. Obasanjo said this while speaking to newsmen at his home in Abeokuta shortly after his return from his trip to Kenya and UK.

Obasanjo said President Jonathan was doing everything possible to win the elections, either by hook or by crook. He said president Jonathan is playing the cards of former Cote d’Ivoire President, Laurent Gbagbo who continued shifting elections in his country in a bid to ensure that he won the election, a situation that plunged Cote d'Ivoire into political crisis. He said President Jonathan was reigning and not ruling after he said in his last media chat he was not aware of the military's advise that the election be postponed. He said INEC deciding to postpone the election was a forced decision. Read all that after the cut...

"While I was away, I refused to make any categorical statement on this issue because I wanted to come back home and learn at firsthand what actually transpired and what was going on, and it turned out to be a forced decision on the INEC because it was alleged that the Security Chiefs were unable to provide security, and as a result the Chairman of INEC had to postpone, in accordance with the dictates of the so called Security Chiefs. I thought, for me, that was bad precedent for democracy in Nigeria. It meant it doesn't matter what preparation or lack of preparation any electoral body could make in Nigeria. The final decision whether election will take place on the day scheduled for it lies in the domain of security. It is a sad day for democracy in Nigeria. I will say this: we must all feel concerned before democracy is killed. The observable and what would appear to be happening is that the president has a grand plan, a grand plan to ensure that by hook or by crook, he wins the election or if it all fails, he scuttles it and creates chaos, confusion and unpleasantness in the whole country. It is the duty and function and responsibility of the security officers to provide security. The President is the Chief Security Officer of the country and he is the Commander- in -Chief and if security is required anywhere, anytime, it is his duty to provide it. Failure to provide it is dereliction of duty. Pure and simple. Whether the President is following his own grand plan or his aides and associates are working a script, they are playing a script which must have got his endorsement, if not initiated by him. What again, it looks to me that the President is trying to play Gbagbo (Laurent). Gbagbo is the former President of Cote d’Ivoire and Gbagbo made sure he postponed the election in his country until he was sure he would win and then allowed the election to take place. He got an inconclusive election in the first ballot. And I believe this is the sort of thing Nigeria may fall into. If I am right in what I observed as the grand plan and then in the run-off, Gbagbo lost with 8% behind Quattara and then refused to hand over. All reasonable persuasion and pleading was rebuffed by him and he unleashed horror in that country until nemesis caught up with him. I believe that we may be seeing a repeat of Gbagbo or what I called the Gbagbo saga here in Nigeria, I hope not.” he said

Obasanjo said the reasons given by military chiefs who called for election postponement is not tenable and that if they have failed, they should as well leave office and go home

“When they have failed, they can as well go home. Their job is to maintain law and order and provide security at any time and at any place. They said they cannot do it, they have failed. I want to believe that this was forced on them, I want to believe that but whether it was forced on them or it was their initiative, it was bad, very bad. I hope we will never have a repeat performance of this in this country again. The unfortunate thing is this: they are over exposing themselves or they are being over exposed by whoever brought about that way of doing things, and for me, a momentous decision like that cannot be taken and implemented by the security chiefs. It was even made worse when the President in the media chat on the 11th of this month claimed not to have knowledge or not to have authorized it. I get worried, very worried, that if the President of Nigeria is not in-charge of security, maintenance of law and order and such a decision can be taken behind him, assuming that is true, then the President must be reigning but not ruling. And who then are the shadow figures that are ruling us? It means that one day we will find out that  this country would be plunged into chaos, into commotion and into confusion and the President would say, ‘I do not know about it’, of course President(Jonathan) can run but he cannot run past God. He has constitutional responsibility and to claim he doesn’t know is not an excuse. So, I do hope that those Service Chiefs who we are proud of the services people like me and others like me have rendered and proud of what they are doing, will not shame themselves and shame us. This is because what this amounts to is what, in the military circle, is called very an unmilitary conduct and conduct to the prejudice of good order and military discipline. For me, you can give any excuse or you can give any rationalization or you can rationalize anything. Look Boko Haram problem has been with us since 2009 and now if we say what we have not been able to achieve since 2009 would be achieved in six weeks, all I would say is that God is a God of miracle. God can do anything but knowing what we know, look countries like Syria had election, they have full scale war all over the country. A country like Iraq had election, they had full scale war and they are still having war. Countries like Afghanistan had election, they even had election where the incumbent served his term and moved out. Even Colombia where the rebel group (FARC) has been active for more than 50 years has been having elections regularly and FARC is still very active. So, to say that what we have not been able to achieve in five years, we will achieve in six weeks, let us wait and see. When people want to make excuses, they should look for excuses that are tenable. I believe the President’s fear is not leaving office per se, because he and I have had occasions to talk about this both seriously and jovially. I believe President would want an opportunity to disengage peacefully and have a nice, decent and a glorious exit, I believe the President’s fear is, particularly, motivated by those who he see as Gen Buhari as his likely successor. I believe those people would have been telling him that Buhari is a hard man, he would fight corruption and you may end up in jail if not in grave. I believe people must have told him all sorts of things and he is not the only one, there are other people who may be afraid of Buhari. But why? I would say that Buhari has learnt his lessons. If he hasn’t learnt lessons, then he would be probably the most unlearning human being. If he has learnt lessons, he would know that you do not fight corruption by putting people in jail for 200 years. And this has been done by my own predecessor in office, General Abdulsalami Abubakar. He recovered over $750 million from Abacha’s estate without putting anybody in jail, without hurting or harming anybody. When I took over, we recovered over $1.25 billion from the same Abacha estate without hurting anybody, without harming anybody. In fact, what would be rather unfortunate is the fact that our lawyer who is still alive and able, who was chasing this money all over the world, said to us that there’s still about $1 billion to be recovered from Abacha estate but the unfortunate thing is that my successor did not do anything about it even though it was in my handing over note. I don’t think the President is afraid of being out. There’s life after Aso Villa. It depends, of course to a large extent, on how he descendsý; how his descent takes place; and how his exit takes place. Because out there in the international world, there’s so much need for the wisdom and experience of people who have done it before. They also want people who are creditable and credible.” he said

According to President Obasanjo, General Buhari would give a firm leadership to Nigeria and preside over an efficient and effective economy
"Whoever comes in at anytime in future will fight corruption, and we must even encourage successful fight of corruption. We must. Recklessness and impunity must not continue to be our part of life. Whether recklessness and impunity in the management of our economic affairs, in the running of our finances and even in political affairs, they must not be allowed to remain part of us. Buhari  has tried to do it before. I believe he will give firm leadership which is what is good for a country like this. When he was there, it was the military and military is both the executive and the legislature. In a democracy, that is not possible. I believe he knows the military, the damage that has been done to the military. It has been rendered almost impotent by a number of things that have happened and I believe he will do something about it. And if he doesn’t do it, I would say shame on him if he gets there because that is some of the things he knows. I believe he can preside over an efficient and effective economy. He has the knowledge, he has the experience, he may not be a bowl of fire as an economist but he presided over it.” he said
He advised President Jonathan to stop listening to those creating the phobia of Buhari in him
"He should not listen to those who are creating phobia, phobia of Buhari, phobia of enquiry and all that. President Jonathan has done well to the best of his ability and he has made history as the first elected Nigerian from a minority tribe and nobody can take that away from him. He can even make a second history, if it turns out that way. If he contests a fair, free and transparent election and loses, take a dignified exit. He will be on the mountain top and he would be acclaimed as a true patriot and a true democrat. What stops him from doing this?” he said

265 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 265 of 265
Adah said...

Obj is old enough to be your grandfather.. watch your mouth and stop acting like hypocrate here. And again. Why on earth will you rain curse on someone u dont even know. I pity your life cos those curse will remain on tour head.

Amaka Chinedu said...

@ Galore... whoever you are.. where ever you are... may the blood in your vein start turning to water. . May your bones start cracking and may you never know peace.. God of gods shall deal with you.. You shall die like a dog in the street... what ever you put in your mouth shall turn to poison.. You shall never live to see the good things in life.. Everything you lay your hands on shall fail.. Bible said thy shall not judge.. but because you judge someone and place curse on them.. May the curse reign in your life and your fmaily... May you never have a rest of mind... God said thy shall not fight for me, I will fight for myself.. for you to go against God's word... may every good thing in life go against you.. May you never see helper.. everyone around you shall turn your enemy.. May you die in your sleep.. May your parents cry over you... Galore.. where ever you are right now... you shall be killed... you shall suffer from earth to grave.. if you have kids... may all of them die in your lifetime.. if you dont have kids.. may you never have one.. all the curse u place on this blog shall goes to you and your family.. so shall it be in Jesus name. AMEN

Thank you my brother! Even if I'm supporting gmb I cannot sell my conscience and say that obj is a good man cos he killed a lot of ppl, timaya even sang about the ppl he killed! GEJ is the only nigerian president with no political killing trailing him.

OnPoint

Nope, GEJ ain't going nowhere! Common, do you know wat it means dat God is on somebody's side??
"A thousand shall fall at your side, and ten thousand at your right hand; but it shall not come near you." GEJ is protected by the Lion of the tribe of Judah! Let them continue to talk but at the end victory belongs to GEJ!

OnPoint

Wise? Really? So mama j why didn't you support his 3rd term agenda? Or did you? Talk now so we'll know d enemies of our progress in our midst. Did you or did u not support obj's 3rd term agenda?? Over to you mama j....

OnPoint

He has gone senile along with gmb. They now suffer from delusion

Wer u in support of obj's third term agenda? Yes or no

Galore I can see. U are sensless remember this man was once there and he understOod everything more than your own forefathhers

Its quite unfortunate that we at this time of our lives will be looking at issues that borders with our future and the future of our unborn children with sentiments. I'm only suggesting that regardless of the credibility of President Obasanjo, we should look at all the accusations objectively and without sentiment. i'm not a fan of Obj because he would have done worst if it was the president the peoples Buhari was contesting with no doubt but President Jonathan has been unconsciously campaigning for GMB. I voted against GMB three times he contested event rallied round GEJ in 2011 but he has failed in his leadership. I had one thing in mind when i was voting for him in 2011 that he will try to prove to Nigerians that somebody from the minority can make a grate leader compared to that of the majority.

the list of why i wont consider him are as follows;

1. It took the President about 2 weeks to accept the Chibok girls has been abducted.
2. The issue of Boko Haram has been taken with levity and absolute negligence by the President.
3. Part of our national pride as a Nigerian is that our fellow African countries rely on Nigeria when they have issues in their country. The come to us. i.e Liberia, Serra lone, etc. we have been relegated into them entering our own country to help maintain law and order under the watch of GEJ. what a pity!
4. Money was allegedly laundered into South Africa and our Government came out to say it was from our Government and South Africa refuses to release the money and the president doesn't know what to do to deal with South Africa.
5. South Africa has the audacity to return Nigerian on arrival at the airport with legitimate documents back to Nigeria. what an insult.
6.The question is i dont like GMB for one reason he removed elected president from office and we were scolding him by voting against him in general elections to serve as deterrent to other soldiers who may be having such agenda in their minds but we were left with no choice but to consider him against GEJ who has failed in everything. Although i will give one thing to him, under his watch we are enjoying our freedom of expression to the fullest without harassment from anybody. Someone who suppose to know better would be addressing issues like ordinary Nigerian on the street.
If you must lead me you must be intellectually sound and see beyond the people you are leading unfortunately he cannot so he wont have my vote. That's why i wont vote for him and am sure many other people would have their reasons to vote for or against him.

al dese gej supporters dey make me blieve say common sense no dey common, shey ona dey think tru ona anus?

There is no 'might' here, Buhari will imprison him if GEJ stays in Nigeria after loosing the election. I'm not saying its true GEJ is afraid o but he should expect it... I am beginning to worry a whole lot, I hope as a country we wont slip back into military reign.

This is so true : If he contests a fair, free and transparent election and loses, take a dignified exit. He will be on the mountain top and he would be acclaimed as a true patriot and a true democrat.

GEJ will be respected if he conducts a free and fair election, what happens after that me I dont know but he owes it to Nigeria to control his dogs and not allow himself be pushed into rubbishing the election process.

m sure ur brain wasnt workin wen u typed dis

OBJ has gone too far. True statesmen do not talk all the time. My respect for him just vanised. He is behaving like a restless bored old man. Anyone close to him should advise him to talk less. He shoukd learn from George Bush Junior. I will now vote forG EJ.

True Talk. Too much confusion

Gbam!

Where are you from or could this be mental issues?

Stillo

Obj is a stupid man,he's the one that killed Nigeria. He's afraid that Buhari will jail him that's why he choose to side buhari but God must punish him. Pot calling kettle black.

Ikponwa

This is the best comment u have made in dis blog without sentiment!

So amongst all the past thieves I.e OBJ, Babangida, Abdul Salam, a Abacha family, go won, sha garish, Tinubu, fashola, Ameachi and all past leaders only GEJ is afraid. Why didn't Abacha finish his work on this man so we won't have this problem now. OBJ is evil

Baba should leave us alone, because statements like these could plunge this country into anarchy.

The elder statesman has spoken again! He's too old to say he's fighting for his own greed, why can't Nigerians see that it's for our own good. Instead of listening to facts and the contents of his words, we keep judging him with the past. Nigerians deserve the bad leadership we always get, because we've chosen to remain in darkness, when the world is forging on. May God help us

ogeee said...

Let d will of God b done in our Nigeria! GEJ till 2019

AMIJEZ said...

Oby has suddenly become a saint. Gej inherited all these evil frm u,d ealier pple wil know that oby is d evil spirit attacking d progress of dis country. A man dat banned employment as i finish my nysc cos he cant create jobs.

AMIJEZ said...

D devil used whoever that spared him in prison against this country. Am so bittered about dis man,Gej is d best president Nig.has ever had in dis democratic dispensation. Sure p is real,am a witnes.

God will give thenkind of good luck your jona is giving to Nigeria
We Yoruba don't support evil
We don't support thieves we don't support
Bad luck
We don't support vampire
We don't support clueless president
We don't support the most foolish president in the history of Nigeria
We don't support a drunkard
We don't support a man with PhD he can not defend
We don't support devil incanate that married a principality
We don't support Alajebanu ,ole
Oponun sowe nu
We will not allow Jonah to cause civil war in Nigeria

AMIJEZ said...

Old age is a blessing but his is a curse to this nation. Gej is a good man for not jailing u since.

Shut your mouth my friend

OBJ just lost all, i mean ALL the respect i had for him before now, such a sick, derailed old man, who has refused to bury his head in shame. GEJ's going to win whether you make all these foolish talks or not. And for the renewal of your oil block licenses, its going down and tough on you guys. Between OBJ and GEJ who's more applying all the possible measures to ensure that GEJ looses? We all know what you stand to loose and deal with when GEJ is re-elected, no one is a kid anymore, all the secrets you all old fools kept away from the poor massses was made known in black n white in GEJ's administration, we understand where the pain and anger against GEJ is coming. Victory shall be ours by the Grace of God come March 28.

OBJ and His cohorts will be jail first for setting Faruk up OBJ want to set this nation ablaze because where he's going is closer to him he will not succeed. Nigeria United will stand

God bless you man, point of correction, his "ill-gotten wealth" that gave him the farm. Foolish old man. He fought tooth and nail to achieve his "THIRD" term bid oo, and he's here ranting nonsense about GEJ wanting his 2nd term in office as bad. Mr. Monkey(OBJ) shut the f**k your rotten mouth and let's hear good words joor. Olori buruku, agbaya oshi

Foolish person ... Have there been any corrupt free regime in nigeria? You are calling out names only in gej regime ... So other governments prior jonathans are corrupt free ...

It amazes me how Nigerians spontaneously react to issues raised on the political domain especially those raised by the active players in the polity. I see most people retorting without deep thinking. You'll scarcely find hard facts in their commentaries but only insolences. Look! one million insults will never make U factual, it rather portrays U on the side of the defensive. Argue with facts and objectivity, then the world will take U seriously, otherwise ur commentary will be considered a garbage and inconsequencial. I even feel terrified when such retorts are coming from the so-called youths. Perhaps that's the reason the slogan "leaders of tomorrow" has become a mirage as the older generation knowing the make-up of most youths of today would consider it a disaster handing over to them.
Obasanjo is not perfect, but if there's anyone in this country today with a wealth of experience that should know how best the Nigerian state should be governed , he is such a one. You must have a better experience and information about the Nigerian state to be able to disprove his assertions. Finally please apply some decorum, insulting him means you can also insult ur father if his views differ from urs.

Dis guy. Is foolish to d tip of his fingers.. u wonder y Nigerians say u look lyk an ape it's nt jst d obvious resemblnc Bt d mental capacity to.i sit n. Watch cus God will shot every pharoh up.OBJ,BUHARI n JONA...d choice is wit God n nt ur speculatns or lies or decit.

Hehe baba it easy to criticize but very difficult to offer good counsell.Take it easy sha.

Let your father die in Jesus name. Idiot

You are simply a kid born just yesterday, what do you know about Nigeria? Jonathan is the best President ever in this century....Obj has failed Gej has refused to be his toy...pained old man

Omotola you are as senseless as a goat....what do you know about Gej and Obj? Anyways u are yoruba never expected any good talk from u....what did Obj do in Nigeria? The problem be caused is what Gej is fighting to correct. Go learn before you talk

Your role model who slept with his sons wife? You must be sick

Your general not our general....moron

Thank you anon. 3.21 you have said it all. Why didn't Obj fix the problems? He spent 8 years what stopped him? Gejs era electricity has improved better roads and schools

Senseless yoruba moron... how do you mean real elderly man, a confusionist like him. Nigeria biggest problem Obj

God bless you Nelson. Obj what happened to the one of the villages in kogi state where you sent the armys to? Tell us..Gej is a peace maker and not a killer... The problem you caused is what GEJ is facing now. Your tenure all the governors looted money how many did in Gejs regime tell us? You there talking of corruption

Hand over to who? Boko haram leader you are stupid anon 11.53 what is buhari coming to do again.

God bless you sir Eze for your mature and true comment

Mike shut up what truth? He caused all this trouble in Nigeria, what did he do for 8 years tell me he produced the most corrupt government, killed a lot of people slept with his sons wife etc

What do you know about the economy is gej the economy? Gej has nothing to do with devaluation of our currency. Olodo

He is winning cos he is peace and God wants peace for his ppl. Gej til 2019

Well said

You talk trash

For GSM abacha started it before he died Obj took the glory

Anon 1:43 what are you saying? You must be a kid of 15 years you don't know anything from go back to your history teacher to tell you about ibb Obj and abachas era. Saying Hest tenure has been the most corrupt tenure. Kid

Go and sleep.. Gej is the best ever president... He will win b cos hos mind is free from evil unlike the Apc people the rejected thieves from pdp

What are you saying? Go back to objs tenure his tenure has been the most corrupt tenure ever.. tenure of looters

What an elder sees sitting, a child cannot see it evening if he climbs a tree. GEJ is a serial silent killer. Many Nigerians and the future of this country have been killed by the stetch of corruption and incompetence of his regime.

Obj might not be pure, nobody is. But he has spoken the truth, and truth always prevails. Our destiny is in our hands and in d power of our votes, let's use it wisely. May God bless Nigeria.

well said Chief Obasanjo how can President Jonathan come out and BLATANTLY lie to us in public in a news chat that he did not know about the postponement of the elections something is very wrong after running to all the church's in Nigeria his actions are very very SUSPICIOUS

madam linda pls post my message

well said Chief Obasanjo how can President Jonathan come out and BLATANTLY lie to us in public in a news chat that he did not know about the postponement of the elections something is very wrong after running to all the church's in Nigeria his actions are very very SUSPICIOUS

madam linda pls post my message

some idiots are just writing rubbish here, i begin to wonder of dey actually read all Obj said....cos if dey did dey wnt b criticing him cos his regime was far beta to Jonathan who is useless nd brainless. he has notin more to offer we Nigerians, Why wnt pple just read inbtw d lines...pls before u just vomit anytn just read wat obj said ova nd ova again , i mean why wld INEC postpone elections witout consulting him dats d most dumb story to believe, i am not in support of any candidate bt i just feel we desire sometn new

http://onlineyouthjob.com/?user=6768

Oguike Emmanuel said...

People of selfish interest, The nigerian government which is difficult for GEJ today is from the people surranding him. Nigeria must be better AMEN

Really??? And obj is a blessing to our nation?? Go n take a chill pill please

As in eh

I swear

Silly silly Nigerian. Obj who foisted GEJ on Nigerians suddenly becomes arch enemy? The only story i see here is that OBJ isnt getting his way with running Nigeria hence his annoyance and mouthing off. GEJ might not be all that but for well known corrupt officials to be so angry at him right now it only means he is doing something right.

kwacha $$ said...

Obj is really ugly o...chai I just look him left jaw well...can't place him between an australapitecus africanus or homo erectus...money is indeed not errythingin life.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 265 of 265   Newer› Newest»