Anti-gay bill: US threatens to sanction Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 21 January 2014

Anti-gay bill: US threatens to sanction Nigeria

The US has threatened to sanction Nigeria following President Jonathan’s signing of the Same-Sex Prohibition Act 2014. The world power is threatening to scale down its support for HIV/AIDS and anti-malaria programmes in Nigeria. This was made known yesterday Jan. 20th by James Entwistle, the US Ambassador to Nigeria.

Mr Entwistle said he was worried about "the implications of the anti-same sex marriage law which seems to restrict the fundamental rights of a section of the Nigerian population.”
"The issue of same-sex marriage was very controversial all over the world, including within  the United States where 17 states out of 50 had endorsed it, but others still reject its legality. The issue that we see and I am speaking as a friend of Nigeria is that as I read the bill, it looks to me that it puts significant restrictions on the freedoms of assembly and expression; in my opinion which applies especially in advanced democracies, once government begins to say something in these areas, freedom no longer applies. It seems to me that this is a very worrisome precedent.”

265 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 265 of 265

U ar too gay u can tink straight ehen... Dont u knw dt u ar posesd with evil spirit? My dear ur help can only come frm God.Go for deliverance so dt d spirit can b cast out

gbemi said...

Same sex marriages are unrecognized in some states in the US. How ever gay association, assembly,relations r not. No one will come to ur door to beat u up. Some gay folks even get married. But not under the law (just withing thin their community) its won't be recognized by the goverment but they won't go to jail for it. No will they be pulled out their homes and beaten. The Nigerians are not asking fro marriage rights. Neither is the US. They are asking for our freedom of association, which is fair. A way to reach out to other gays in the community. We are notbothering anyone with our sexuality, we are no imposing on the heterosexual community. Culture traditions and religion aside, homosexuals are in nigeria. The knowledge of that alone gives more than enough reason to let us be ourselves. No one will jail a man in US for having two wives. Only one can be on paper. Shikena. My bro got two wives. I just wish some nigerians can pull their head ouuta their asses n think rationally. U can't jus shut the door to our face like we don't exist, the coutry is ours too as much as its ur. Need I state the fact that not everyone is religious. Hence u can't punish me based on ur own belief. Pls nigerians! We should only punish offences that threatens other ppls basic human right. Child right, animal rights. Right to life etc.proudly lesbian!

U re a big fool to say dat........as far as am concerned dey re not God and can never be.........when one door closes a better one will open.......God will always provide an alternative for us

Baby G said...

i neva undastand y des westerners no go leave naija alone...

If u as proud as u say u are why did u post under anonymous? Let's see ur name and face. Demented fool.

USA too get wahala make dem leave naija alone biko

You're the type that would sell your soul to the devil for 1 naira

All in your pocket you stupid monkey. Who likes you? You are calling our BELOVED NATION NIGERIA dead? If you ever drink as much as a cup of water from our land MAY YOUR THROAT HOOK! #Anuofia

Linda if they like let them deport all nigerians from their country.Can nigeria interfere in the domestic policy of the US? Regarding the issue of the man that married a 15year old in south africa, I think you are being hypocritical.I know if it were one of your celebrities that did the same, you would have looked the other way.Seriously speaking if the man were to be paedophile he would have kept the marriage secret.How old was genevieve and omotola when they gave birth? Being paedophilic is a psychiatric disorder, so you might as well say that those men that impregnated the ladies I mentioned above are paedophiles.linda I would advice you to reasearch more on who paedophiles are before jumping into conclusion about individuals.

Fear fear- U fear America bt u ar nt Afraid of God abi?U respect America dan God.I bliv in miracle

We don see u wey b litrate.Na u study govment pass clap 4 ur self.Ur govt teach u to keep dependin til u die.My dear tins like dis hapen 4 u to b strong.evry dis apointmen is a blesing

make d price of drugs go up no wahala so long as God is in control n nt satan.I bliv in miracle. Since i came to realise hw miraclus God is i hav nt b livin on drugs n i share d news to odas n dey experience d same tin. Wit prayers u can liv witout drugs if u hav faith

@ anon.1:27pm, that ur girl u inserted ur dick in her anus and feaces ( shits) rubbed ur dick, seriously the girl is a very dirty girl.

Can u imagine.....DEY SHOULD GO 2 HELL.
What nonsense, Are dey our god?
Must we do as dey say? Rubbishhhhh.
It against our culture , morals etc. We will not bow...

We will rather obey God than America. God knows how to take care of his own,they can take their help to Sodom and Gomorrah for all we care.

if i catch gay 4 my area 14yrs prison term go b like 4 sec. I go butcher d bastard. Proudly homophobic wink

whizzev said...

they must be crazy

Yes ooo, even if it takes 9ja to stand alone on this.

Well said joor!!! gbogbonise

i dont support this bill at all. not because im gay or anything but i think there are bigger issues in this economy to worry about. will locking up gays fix our road, repair our refineries,gives us steady power, create jobs ,provide security or end boko haram? its as irrelevant as that child marriage thing and shudnt even find its way to our constitution.

we nigerian don't give a damn of what they think,so they should live there life the way they want and let's our's,but if they insist then to hell with them...@

and not to forget all ye silly nigerians screaming U.S can go to hell.............una go suffer am when they pull out.im sure some of you block heads have forgotten that the government dont give a shit about ur ass. we always let our emotions take the best of us when we reason sometimeS.if an adult and a MINOR are caught being gay,arrest the adult .but if its two consenting adults.......LET THEM BE.

i dont support this bill at all. not because im gay or anything but i think there are bigger issues in this economy to worry about. will locking up gays fix our road, repair our refineries,gives us steady power, create jobs ,provide security or end boko haram? its as irrelevant as that child marriage thing and shudnt even find its way to our constitution.

sucre said...

Are u a foil??? Like are under dump??? They talking about stopping support on pple living with HIV and AIDS this pple need dis drugs to survive and if they pull this pple are doomed??? I cry for this nation!!!

You sound like the devil himself how evil can you be? May all this evil that you have typed befall only you and your family!

Why are Nigerians so backward thinking? ...WHY???

Femoskylalasky said...

THEY WILL ALL PERISH WITH THEIR AIDS! RUBBISH!!!

Bitch you're the idiot. Dumb asses will never progress in life

all these western countries thank you very much o my nigerian people do not need your HIV OR MAleria medicine, we have dibia for that. we also do not need your witchcraft technology, our winches are stronger. my nigerian people do not want to even come to your yeye Sodom and Gomorrah country were people suffer and suffer till they die, do you see any nigerian queuing at your dilapidated embassies. in fant please close your gate to hell embassies and get out of niger . look at you paupers coming to tell us how to run our buisness. we say no to GAYS and YES to everything else including pedophilia in the senate, yes it is our right to pick and choose which sins to punish. the next group of people to be victimized will be those over sabi intellects becos the average IQ IN Nigeria is 67 any one with more IQ is an american spy and gay supporter and should be caught and flogged immediately. nonsense.

I am not in support of people being gay or lesbians. But come to think of it; we seem to have forgotten th true meaning of democracy if such bills are been passed. I would rather like to talk about African Government in general. But of all African countries Nigeria seems to be that spine that holds that term democracy. If citizen can't hold their rights to personalties and freedom of movement,speech or chosen democracy?
Nigeria govt. is not not just in the right spot to bill ant-gay right cos one fact is it not only throws people of such community to harsh judgment, but also puts these people into our nations so called jungle justice practiced by some people. Things like our jungle justice both on innocents and non innocents needs to be put first to order. If not people will be Mal-treated.

In as much as I am not in support of d anti gay law, I still am not in support of wat d u.s govt is attempting. Dey shud mind dr useless business nd country, wch 1 is dah dey r withdrawing dr aid nd support, y makin much fuss bout our own country. Ds strongly shows dey r anti christ cos withdrawin support cos we rejected gay marriage is sth to leave us thinking. But evn at dat I think gej was wrong to hav criminalized it, and all d gays causing ds trouble God is watchin u in 3D.

U.S.A. "GO AND DIE!!!!".. 'IN OSHIOMOLE'S VOICE

sammy said...

Pls all gay should assemble at POWER CITY INTL JOS or UYO,seriously my pastor can help deliever you.@advice

Ode

THEY SHOULD GO AND DIE SANCTION COH SANCTION NEE, OBAMA'S DAUGHTERS WILL BE MARRIED BY LASBIANS AND THOSE GAYS IN THE NEXT 15YEARS THEIR ASS WILL START TO DE LICK YEYE PEOPLE

Lol, the devil is too small naw

I don't really understand this. Y won't america mind their own business? Must dey come into this matter? God is really merciful . Was is it not this same sin that sodom and gomorah was destroyed for? His grace is so sufficient but must we continue in sin that grace may abound? God forbid. All this pple that r saying things against this anti gay shld leave dir children so dat dey will marry same sex and dey shld not bother adopting children others that decided to do things d right way dat God ordained it to be done born. Let us see what will happen in d next few years. Nonsense. My problem is just make dem no make pampers dey costly at d long run.
Lili pls I can't comment with my google account for a long time now. Pls what is happening?

Who needs their help anyway they should go to hell and roast God is on our side

Idiot fool, it is better we suffer, than 2 do ur useless bidding. Oniranu Awon onisekuse.

And olympics does what to you or pays what bill? How many medals did she( nigerian) win in 2012?

Certainly gay

Amarachukwu said...

What's wrong with all these countries? They shld let us be n go to hell.

This is really d end time

The level of the average Nigerian's ignorance is amazing. So people really think Nigeria can survive without the US? We are extremely dependent on that country for everything! One small sanction and that law will be amended. Who wan bet am?

We can't survive without their money.

Yes it did! Is your memory so short?

If only our government will be responsible to manage our resources just maybe we wouldn't be threatened by the Westerners.It bothers me so much that the same energy our government fights issues including the weight of the punishment cant be channeled towards fighting unemployment, corruption and poverty but when it comes to issues of condom, bride marriage you see them seeking media attention im pretty sure someone is stealing money while all the gay topic is getting all the attention. #gaypeeps God said be fruitful and multiply

I dont understand how Nigerians can be so blind! Dont you think the sponsors of this law know what they're doing! They want you to focus your attention on insignificant matters instead of asking them real questions about issues that actually affect your life! if two consenting consenting adults when to things to each other, how does that affect you (in this life or the next)?

The amount of money the USA is withdrawing in Nigerian aid is so insignificant to them, but very significant to the people that need it here. Ask yourself if your government will attempt to make up for the loss in aid funds...chances are, they dont care either. So while you're here spewing regurgitated bible verses, your law makers are busy chopping your money, no questions asked. PAY ATTENTION!

ZeeZee said...

Why don't they go and bother Russia about being anti-gay, why bother Nigeria?! Ctry to use all the coercion you want God will keep the Nigerians.I'm not Nigerian myself but im rooting for you >>ZeeZee<<

When all of u cannot travel to the US/UK and canada anymore, u will start going to african countries for ur "vacations...looool

Thank you. karma

iam_HOC said...

Satan pikin. Make dem free us jhoor

Ignoramus!

LusciousKels said...

Oh Americaaa am disappointed in u!! thot that humanitarian work comes naturally to u guys contrary to wat some say, but now i believe dem that u guys dnt do wat doesnt benefit u..so u ve been aiding with d sole intention of manipulation huh? u er worst off and i pity u cos whether u like it or not God reigns in our part of world not science or obama hissss!!!!

let ds imposters go n rest......what d hell r they feeling like GOD? why God seat above n watch them bragging with power and help.Of what need will they be for us if they wat us all 2 perish like sordom? God forbid. Linda nwannem ihukwa?

Sharrap U̶̲̥̅̊ foolish FOOL, to hell wit dem aid, befor dia stupid drugs, we ve been treatin ourselvs wit root nd herbs. I tink d dick head dat calls himself obama should go fuck himself

Sincerely im not gay and I dont want to talk about if its right or wrong but one thing is for sure and is Americans can f**king teach us how to rule our country. They should stop involving in somethings. When uk brought new immigrant rule of deporting any type of people why didnt they talk or do something. Obama is not my president.

tseanUSA said...

It's such a shame that most people talk without any use of their brain ,well ThaT's assuming Theyhave a functioning one. Whatever people choose to do wWith themselves is not anyone's business. Has anybody commenting here seen any same sex act on the streets of naija before?? No,so What's the noise about. The usa can choose to do whatever They please. Gej should just know he can face the consequences of his actions ,That's all. Most of the goats talking here self r even gay. DecIeving your foolish selfs!

tseanUSA said...

The only person that has made any sense. God be With u. Like seriously!

Well those countries are developed,Nigeria is not and we need the help.So pls next time think properly and weigh your options before commenting.Ignoramus!

You are a big mugu,are you thinking straight,Nigeria is underdeveloped.Abeg use your sense.
Also someone's personal life is none of your business,are you God or did he give you assignment,Abeg mind your own business,mumu.

Officially speaking,you are an ignorant fool.

Shut up,makes us stronger?are you high or just being stupid.Did you have any education in your lifetime.Just saying

Actually it is you and the other Nigerians that are going to be FUCKED UP when USA takes their help.You are going to die in suffering mumu

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 265 of 265   Newer› Newest»