Same Sex Marriage: Who be government teacher? By Reno Omokri | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 21 January 2014

Same Sex Marriage: Who be government teacher? By Reno Omokri

An article written by Special Assistant to President Jonathan on New Media. Find below...
The criticism President Goodluck Jonathan has faced in some quarters for signing the Same-Sex Marriage Prohibition Bill 2011 into law is in my opinion clearly misplaced. For one, these critics have to understand that the way and manner democracy works, at least in Nigeria, is that the Legislature makes the laws, the Executive implements it and the Judiciary interprets it.
But be that as it may, in Nigeria, the President at any time is both a Head of State as well as the Head of Government, this is one reason why the President is called an Executive President. Continue...

As Head of State, President Jonathan is duty bound to epitomize the culture of Nigeria.  As the late Afrobeat Maestro, Fela Anikulapo Kuti, sang in his hit song, 'Teacher Don't Teach me Nonsense', the government's teachers are culture and tradition. In fact, to quote Fela, he said 'who be government teacher, culture and tradition'.

Many of those now criticizing the President danced with glee and agreement to that tune because as Jesus Christ said in John 8:32 "you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free". What Christ did not add, but which we have come to find out ourselves is that before the truth sets you free, it may first make you angry!

Nigeria has its culture and it is the duty of governments to protect their culture.

It is quite unfortunate that critics who praise foreign human right agencies for calling for sanctions against Nigeria have not realized that Nigeria has cultures that many foreign nations would not tolerate. 

For instance, Amy Chua, popularly known as 'The Tiger Mom' has an upcoming book entitled 'The Triple Package' in which she lists Nigerians as one of 8 Super Races who raise excellent children. One of the reasons which Chua lists for the successes of Nigerian parenting is the fact that many if not all Nigerian parents would not think twice about spanking a child who misbehaves as a way of correcting their behavior. 

Many of my readers will agree that the fear of a spanking is a great motivator to behave well. In fact, some Nigerian parents will even spank their children if they have bad grades at school. Chua notes that the fear of such a spanking greatly motivates Nigerian children to do better than children of other nationalities. It is worth noting that Amy Chua is of Asian origin.

As a result, wherever they go, but especially in the United States, Nigerians are the immigrant community with the highest educational qualifications bar none!

However, it is actually illegal to spank children in many US states and in much of Europe and Nigerian parents have been arrested for motivating their children via spanking. 

Now, if foreign domains would not tolerate something that is part of our own culture and which has been used to positive effects by generations of Nigerians, why should we accept something that is not in our own culture in order to please others? 

In the modern world in which we live in, male and female sexuality have been flashed very powerfully and provocatively by the media on youths approaching puberty to the extent that mixed messages on sexuality are passed on to many youths who do not know how to handle the images they see and their response to them.

The confusion that these images bring lead to tendencies being formed. If these tendencies are fed, they will grow stronger. If they are starved, they will grow weaker. 

Almost 100 percent of the Nigerian population declare that they are Christian, Muslim or Traditionalists. All of these religions reject homosexuality as a way of life. Let me make myself very clear here, these religions reject homosexuality as a way of life and not homosexuals. During His lifetime on earth, Jesus hated sin but showed love to sinners.

As such, we must understand that good laws shouldn't conflict with The Word of God to suit lifestyles. Rather, they should conflict with lifestyles to suit The Word of God.

There would be people that would say the law is not fair to those with such a lifestyle and they may have a point. But we must be able to distinguish between what is fair and what is right. They are not the same thing. 

For instance, if you are a Christian you know that in Christianity, once there is genuine repentance, God will still forgive even a serial killer and leave open the doorway to eternal life in His Kingdom to such a person. On the other hand, if his victims died without accepting Jesus Christ as their Lord and Saviour, according to Scripture, they would be unable to access eternal life in the kingdom of God.

Now, if you ask me, I would say that it does not sound fair, and many people would be of the same opinion. But it is right, if you are a Christian, because Christians believe that God made us and is Sovereign over us. 

It is not only homosexuality that is against our culture and the religions which we profess as Nigerians. Corruption, oil theft, election rigging, terrorism and other activities are likewise against our culture and religion and we have made laws against them and people have been arrested and sent to jail. Nobody is singling out homosexuality.

So when foreign Oped pieces lampoon the Nigerian Legislature as well as the Federal Government, rather than hold these opinion pieces as proof that an error was made with the signing into law of this bill, what we as Nigerians must do is to ask ourselves the question, what should be the driver of our Grundnorm, the basic norm, order and rule that forms the underlying basis for our legal system? Should it be the opinions and cultures of other nations or should it be the cultures of our people? 

And it is trite nonsense for critics to write that the President only signed the Bill in order to distract the public. With all due respect, distract the public from what? If a genuine rebranding of a nation is the projection of positive things that are happening, then there are enough positive things happening in Nigeria that are capable of catching and holding the attention of Nigerians.

For the first time in our nation's history, this year's World Economic Forum on Africa will be hosted by Nigeria in Abuja from May 7-9, 2014. The choice of Nigeria as a host is against the background that Nigeria, under President Jonathan, has recently emerged as the largest economy in Africa  (tinyurl.com/pbbld8r). Today, Nigerians live 10% longer than they did in 2007 and earn 65% more than they did in the same period (tinyurl.com/y5tfwwd) and (tinyurl.com/yyl5xy2). 

With the growth in our economy and the progress in our Human Development Index, why would the President need to divert the attention of Nigerians with the Same-Sex Marriage Prohibition Bill? If there is any distraction at all it is that this storm in a tea cup is distracting media attention from the real and tangible benefits of the Transformation Agenda such as the fact that Nissan recently announced that as a result of the new National Automobile Policy they would begin to build cars in Nigeria with effect from 2014.

Let me add one last word to those who continue to criticize President Jonathan. You can't pursue greatness and comfort at the same time. Leaders must be willing to stand up for what they know is right even when critics cry for blood.

Reno

258 comments:

1 – 200 of 258   Newer›   Newest»
Jaunty said...

Enough of this gay matter, let's move on to somtin else pleasssssssssse!!"

shut up and park well.say YES to gays.

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

I'm too broke ryt now to give a flying fck

AnnMarie said...

We are tired of this gay gist

I know what the bible says about homo's but Deutronomy 22:28-29.if a woman gets raped she should marry her rapist.we should start practising that too.don't take parts of the bible that suit you and leave the rest.stop being hypocrites

They must have bribed this one. Jonathan has done this to distract us from stella oduah's scandal.

Don't mind them Reno. for the first time in his admnistration GEJ did something that was suppported by over 90% of Nigerians.
Just as another country finds it repulsive for a man to marry more than one wife and even go ahead to stipulate the number of kids a union should produce,so also we frown at gay marriage.
We can't afford to get it wrong at every aspect,atleast even in our country's difficulties lets be at peace with our God.

...trying to earn political points!!! GEJ must go in 2015...Reno Omokri, take Note!

Nice write up.....SAY NO TO HOMOSEXUALITY. Disgusting behaviour. I mean when u guys r fucking each others asses. Doesn't shit pop out? Disgusting.

Being gay is not in our culture,so bleaching is in our culture abi.4 in every 5 nigerian women are chronic bleachers. Fixing fake brazilian hair,is it in our culture. hypocrites.if we practice our culture,non of us should be speaking english.

Well written,this write up is so truei don't really understand why the Western countries don't seem to mind their own business.Gosh

AGAH said...

hmmm...followed u to d part u said we make more...COME ON! WE SPEND MUCH MORE ON BASIC TINS!! SO WATS D ESSENCE???

This makes sense. . . To me sha.

In the 10 commandments,I didn't see thou shall not be gay,but I saw thou shall not steal and thou shall not commit adultery which many nigerians do,on a daily basis.

AGAH said...

hmmm...followed u to d part u said we make more...COME ON! WE SPEND MUCH MORE ON BASIC TINS!! SO WATS D ESSENCE???

Nigeria would still be useless today,tomorrow and forever, if we don't change the way we think.

Smart write up. Strong critics still have a lot to learn. I hope they all get to read this at some point. 14 years may not have been the best choice of action but the rationale behind it is still justified. Eventually, it'll be reviewed..

I hate being nigerian I swear. We are too backwards and crude. God why didn't you make me a white girl with blonde hair living in america.

Gentletee said...

Ok you have made your point Reno. Dont forget the president has to assent to any bill passed by both houses before it becomes law. Meanwhile, I am in total support of the anti-gay law.

callyluv said...

Jesus is comin soon..repent of ur sins!!Linda am ist to comment

Odeoshi..........mstchewwwww keep praising ur master hungry fool. Be talking trash on social media all d time.

Good words. God bless you.

I think Nigeria Government should close down both boys and girls hostel as this also contribute to gay activities, let both hostel merge so there won't be same sex f**kin anymore. MY.

Gee said...

So spankin a child is our culture huh? And lockin up homosexuals for 14yrs is a way of showing them luv?

Am with u 100%...God bless u,Reno!

Oya nigerians start supporting the thieves that steal your money on a daily basis.

Ufuoma asamaigor said...

I love this piece. It is well written and provokes thought in those with rational minds

so so true i concur with all you have said.

Well said Reno. Just some bunch of hypocrates making noise for attention.

i concur with all you have said

WAGES of sin said...

Reno, after all d good point u made, u just spoilt everything at the end with ur praise-singing for ur Oga... A GOOD PRODUCT NEEDS NO ADVERT...#Word

Am tired of dis gay dis gay dat, wont read any article, i did government bck n secondry sch didnt like d subject wont like it now.

Rosygirl said...

exactly!i don't know why some people are against the law when they know that the act is ungodly.LINDA I just noticed u have changed ur back view,it looks so colourful and beautiful and I love it well done sis!

In the ten commandment,I didn't see thou shall not be gay,but I saw thou shall not steal and thou shall not commit adultery which many nigerians do regularly. Stop being a hypocrite

Justice Team said...

I support you 100% sir.
Well said, we are Africans lets behave like it. Let's not live our lives the way our former colonial masters want us to leave. It's not only their world. It's our world too.
Nigerians please let's be patriotic. Before you start am not a fan of the current president. But if a man has done well it has to be said. Kudos Jonathan.
Just make sure you prosecute those 17 governors EFCC recently indicted.
goodluck

I agree with you Remo. The Western world should not dictate to us what we should accept as right or wrong.

What happens if people suddenly decide that dogs are attractive and start marrying them, would the west force us to accept that?

Why are they not threatening Russia?

Wow This is gr8 writing Reno Omokiri!!!
Good 2 see Intelligent people lyk this not those illiterates who come out 2 voice opinions that do not hold water.
God Bless You Reno Omokiri!!!

Stella oduah's bullet proof cars scandal.what happened to that one.you can not distract me with this anti-gay bill GEJ. I have never seen two men going to marriage registrars office to get married in nigeria so you can't fool me.I will call gej good,when stella oduah has been prosecuted.

Not gonna lie...that did kinda make sense

Too long

#GBAM# U ARE SO RIGHTTTT.

This guy have no point, the book you quoting was given to by the same "Teacher"

This is a beautiful write up, at least I now understand why the bill was passed into law...

manufemeedwardmary said...

What is written is written, let. the president be please.

Adedoyin said...

Am sorry,for the first time Reno wrote without sentiments or being annoyingly loyal to Mr President. We're a nation that live our lives on our culture and tradition, how dare anyone condemning the President on the right thing he's done. Fela lives on ...To think that everything he sang about keeps coming up.

Well saiD, praise God!!!

sexy mama said...

Hmmn, Kaabo omodo rere.

God bless whoever wrote this, and Madam Linda, im begining to thing you re not straight!. Our funny celebs though, i just wonder what stupidity is in their heads!. when ASUU was on strike, none of them took the clue to do any write up. Alas, all of them are forming literates now, so that the rest of the world can see that they also are still alive. (attention seeking fags e.g rugged man and so on) "Same sex marriage is none of our business" my ass!!! I mean!, may God really heal all the sick in the mind and skull! i really wish to do a right up one this issue, but i just get tired of it all the time. there is no point fighting losers...There are men of God in this Land whom while they live, i can boast that Homo's shall never prevail! Amen is an heavenly seal. so i end my comment with a big SO BE IT. AMEN.

Makes sense.

Myke said...

Sound comments. Homosexuals are not accepted in our country and they better leave now dat they have the chance to. We must'nt westernise every aspect of our lives. We r Africans and Africnans we shall remain. Homosexuality is not African neither is it natural. Homosexuals are not accepted in dis part of the world. They should look for some place else to go. Shekena!!!

Nice one Mr Omokiri
And Linda plsssSssSS enough of this Gay iSh on your blog....it uSed to be my favourite blog, but right now I don't know how I feel about it
Pls let's focuS on other important issueS and let the anti-gay bill be

True Talk...

MamaZ said...

Well, I've never given a damn about this Reno guy but this article make loads of sense sha....... I heard how Nigerian youth are now faking to be gay seeking asylum abroad? We must turn everything to business centre in Nigeria!!!!!

Sir, Your write up is very important and timely. I hope all these advocates for Same Sex rubbish understand that there would be no compromise for their awkward and distorted lifestyle. Let the United States and other Foreign Oped give the asylum. God bless Nigeria!

Lov dat.Gay out of 9ja already signd so no goin bk Mr/mrs critics

manufemeedwardmary said...

Yes point our culture is African culture not European, so please let Nigerians be,Enough of this Gay stuff.

Tes said...

This article in my opinion is beautiful nonsense. What has spanking got to do with anything? Yeah, people spank their kids BUT point of correction not everyone does. Do these people that do not spank their kids get arrested? No? That's what I thought. Tell your government to stop changing the law to suit them. These are the same animals that made a law stating that children wouldn't get married off till the age of 18 and within that time, that pervert called Yerima married an under-aged Egyptian girl. I didn't see anyone talking bout laws then. Is he above the law? GTFOH with that double-standard b.s. Wasn't it the same western world that brought Christianity? Why did you welcome it? Abi was it initially part of your culture too. I mean, I don't support homosexuality but then again everyone is entitled to BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS. It isn't your business what people choose to do with their lives. It is not like they killed someone or something. Boko-Haram is busy terrorizing the whole of Nigeria and the most important thing you're concerned about is gay people? Please don't piss me off. Live and Let Live.

Supported

wow this article did open my eyes to certain things i didn't think of. how i wish it could be published for the entire world to read.Truly it's not all about being fair but doing what is right to uphold values, beliefs and culture.

funmiD said...

Well written and well defended but my question is this; Is it part of the Nigerian culture and believe that men should take underaged Minors(girls) and continually rape them in the name of marriage.If not, why has the National Assembly not made a law against this vice going on(even amongst them)and proscribe Jail term for the beasts who dewomanize these young girls.
please National Assembly do something to protect our young girls.

God bless u.

Eve said...

Well Said!! Well Said indeed! Jonathan do that which U know to be right.... Pay no heed to detractors.

DownUnder said...

Makes sense. Nigeria is a sovereign nation and the sooner the rest of the "world powers" realise this, the better it is for all.

Well said sir

Well said Reno I cant agree with you more. We must keep things in perspective! Very important!!

peperina said...

Congratulation! Dis ÈŠ̝̊̅§ gud. Those who have ear let dem listen. ɪ̣̝̇ nvr sex man finish Ω̴̩̩̩̥α woman ɪ̣̝̇ won sex! If U̶̲̥̅̊ cant live by the rule abeg, biko, pack and live our nigeria. The bible didnt tell us to homosexual.

Well said sir

Well done.

very well writen! we can't keep promoting rubbish in our country just because it is wildly acceptable. Its just the punishment i dont agree with but the bill was soooo necessary. Thumbs up GEJ!

Chai ! This guy is learned ! Great write-up.

Ur'e blessed for speaking the truth

Great....God bless him for this.

007gal said...

Quote "it is not only homosexuality that is against our culture and the religions which we profess as Nigerians. Corruption, oil theft, election rigging, terrorism and other activities are likewise against our culture and religion and we have made laws against them and people have been arrested and sent to jail. Nobody is singling out homosexuality."

This makes much sense and I strongly believe Nigerians would back Jonathan on this law being passed but having said that, one is not to hate the sinner but the sin itself just like fornication and adultery.

Well said

Makes lots of sense

Nigerian government are thieves.So after 14 years in prison will a gay guy start liking girls.I want a honest answer from someone no insults.

Linda biko dis letter 2 lng #wlkawy

When i saw d headline i thought 2 myself ds is an article more about boosting gej's image than about d same sex marriage law and i was right.y does everytn have 2 b politicized with govt?Gej n his boys wnt hesitate to use anytn dat happens in ds country 2 make d man look good weda its d eagles winning the cup or its ringing a dumb bell in the stock exchange!(by the way if he wntd 2 b a time keeper he's in d wrong profession,go join d monastery)my problem is not in d signing of d law but in d maintenance of d so called law 2 keep it from being used against innocent people.nig is not ready 4 a law lyk ds as 1 can easily be accused of being gay by anybody n get thrown in jail n we all no how incompetent our police force is,people get picked off d street by d police n jailed for years or awaiting trial for d most random tnz and now dey av added anoda silly reason to d list!a policeman could be askin u out and when u refuse he arrests u for being a lesbian,a girl can want ur bf and go accuse u of being a lesbian n vice versa.i don't support gays or gay marriage but y jail consenting adults.sum bastards falsely accused n murdered aluu 4 in d most gruesome manner n a bill hasn't even been read to pass a law against ds practice.Gej's desperation stinks to high heavens,i think soo little of people who would use any n every opportunity to make themselves look good.y does he need so many people launderin his public image if he's actually workin!?d important question ere is IS NIGERIA READY AND ABLE TO MANAGE A LAW LIKE THIS??lemme stop ere b4 my rant bcums an article.(Ds is my personal opinion not a critique)

What about Cecilia ibru and the gang of bank thieves what happen to them. Shut up your mouth you assistant you're corrupt to a T.

Well said 4 d first time I agree with him

peperina said...

What ɪ̣̇ believe ÈŠ̝̊̅§ that one day G̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴͡D̶̲̥̅ wil strick Americans. They are the root ☀̤̣̈̇Æ’ evils. Despite the fact that Nigerians ÈŠ̝̊̅§ corroupts, W̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ still have the best culture.

I will never ever again vote for someone who grants pardons to harden politicians who steal our money, disguise as women at airports etc.

Reno u made your point based on homosexuals,but looking at other sectors mentioned,I disagree,GEJ is not doing well at all,he should sacrifrice lots of things for this country,he should select one and finish it,even if he is president for 15 years he will not improve any sector because what would he be doing there when ll has been done,so my advice pick one finish it and let others to continue like that.
Gringo

well spoken , i think we should uphold our culture, our values , we should stand up for what we believe."if you dont stand for something you will fall for anything''

Correct article! *Cagey*

Well spoken, pity those who wouldn't see sense in this

IkwerreBoy said...

I like reading his articles... he writes so well. And this is an eye opener to those myopic minded Nigerians in Diaspora. We don't have to learn everything or while learn we should be able to extract good from evil.. No be to copy verbatim as if we are still in 1960. Since the Canadian government stopped President Goodluck from visiting their country because of this antigay bill, I was thinking they would have pulled forces with the American Government to stop the winter Olympic games that's about taking place in Russia because of Putins antiGay stand... so far nothing has been done infect they are telling not forcing putin to change his decision and all that. This is a clear indicator of what these western countries think of Africans and our beloved countries. We must learn to filter what is good from what is evil and uphold our culture and tradition always. Though I am not a supporter of the 14 years in Jail if homosexual are caught because prison is a breeding ground for homosexuality anywhere in the world so that part of the bill should be amended. Homosexual needs help I believe this imbalance can be cured with much love and attention and psychological reorientation.

Conqueror said...

Reno, thumbs up FOR dis piece, may God bless u 4 dis...dnt mind dos ''abnormal'' human beings criticising d president instead of praising him.

Very well said. We all have to put our hands together to preserve our culture, preserve our morals and preserve our heritage regardless of our religious differences. God help us all.
**Tboy**

PAPIGREY said...

Mr reno i will give u one bottle of your favorite champayne for this article,tell them ooh...we must stand up for what is right even when critics cry for blood

Bold step Mr President, don't mind those foolish oyinbo people cus they can not impose their stupid culture no us. If they like make dem all sanction us finish as far as God dey our side victory is ours

Olumhe Benedict said...

well if our folks wer gay, i wouldnt av been born.....proudly straight n pro straight,,,,,,,,Are you SINGLE? and in need of a life partner? that perfect

soulmate? your search ends when you visit 'hook-up mates in

nigeria', Nigeria's first Dating website, established over

3yrs ago, we have had over 4 succesful marriages, over 50

active courtships and counting! visit us today via facebook

on www.facebook.com/HookUpmateInNigeria, or our website on

www.hookupnigeria.com.

True talk... "You can't chase greatness n comfort". It's high time we realise what we difference in what is right and what is fair.

Emeka said...

Great read!

Very well said! those foregn countries that want us to copy there sad laws can go away... our president has the balls to say no to legitimising homosexuality and the british, canadian, americans, german, norwaigians etc dont have no balls to do same. rather they allow sin to rain in there country... thats why this countries are seeing the wrath of God and going down the toilet. Cant wait to relocate to Nigeria and enjoy the good level of culture that still exists there.

OXY

Well said. Solidly behind d fed. Govt. On this one. God bless Nigeria

On point noni!!!!!

doc said...

Rightly said,cud't hv made a better statement.

I've always said that the only good thing OBJ did was the introduction of GSM. And now the only good thing GEJ has done is to pass this bill. All the way GEJ. I got ur back..............

On point noni!!!!!

BELLA! said...

Welll said.

Peejay said...

As long and boring as this was, it actually makes some sense...

Amaka sparkles said...

This is the best write up ever written by Reno. Please sir tell GEJ to carry on his good works. If Nigeria is not comfortable for any of the critics they should relocate to wherever. I want to use this opportunity to thank Adams oshomole for standing up for the truth despite the party difference. It is about our culture and religion people should respect that.

Wow! Well said sir! Well said. The western world can't force their laws and way of life down our throats. AND THEY CAN'T decide or make laws for us! That is why we are an independent state. Well said sir. Well said. Hilary Obiorah

Lisa London said...

This is such a politically inept and weak argument I don't even know where to begin.

I dint read it all sha....but ...man no fit impregnate man n babies don't come out of d aynus....so if ure gay...don't adopt ...stay "d way u are"...since its all about sex n how u feel. Am beggining to like blogs without comment box...its way serene n quiet... No offence Lingi chow...

ANYA IKENGA said...

You have a way of doing ur job and rightly too. don't mind haters. may their male children be raped by male hood loom . And may their daughters be lesbians Amen.

No to same sex marriage in Nigeria! many Nigerians are in support of the bill only a microscopic few are not in support! So let the anti-gay bill stay

Amazing write up *applause*

Mr Reno the spokesman and culture preserver. I stopped reading your article when you spoke about spanking and Nigerian parenting because I believe you should have stopped there. I can imagine you would have gone on to talk about religion and morals. Upon all the spanking and training how far have we gone as a nation. What we receive is training to be a hypocrite. Where parents fail to inform a teenager about sex as it is against their religion? I believe you must be having a laugh because the foreign nations you are comparing Nigeria to are doing well without the spanking and they have people of better characters occupying sensitive positions and pushing their nation forward also without spanking. On the gay bill we dont have to be taught government again. If the president signed a paper concerning the gay bill he agreed to the law being passed so he pretty much passed the law instead of using grammar to confuse illiterates that its the judiciary that passed it. If you want to know what would have happened if he didn't sign it ask Museveni or ask your lawmakers.

This is a five star write up *****
Thanks, the message is terse and succint.
I'm glad we still have men with brains in their cranial cavity and not air.
Good job...keep it up.
Anonymous2014

Sisi said...

I love this......

Nice One

KE Cadgon snr.

Who ever is criticizing shld to to hell. Homosexuality is agnst Christianity. Evn God himself isn't in support. Our president did d ryt tin n im fully in support. God bless u president Jonathan

KE Cadgon snr.

I luv dat....

MissW said...

''You can't pursue greatness and comfort at the same time. Leaders must be willing to stand up for what they know is right even when critics cry for blood.'' so true!! The bill is a welcomed development, this is the Nigeria we want to see. Thumbs up to the President for standing against all odds and i hope we'll still keep standing with our decision no matter the situation. Weldone Mr president this is a step in the right direction.

Excellent!!!The Lord promised never to destroy the world as He did with Sodom and Gomorah.His ways are not our ways.Lord have mercy.

God bless u Reno

God created Adam and Eve, any country that feel unhappy with this law, can has well grant visa to all the gays/ lesbians to their country. they would be so free to practice it over there!

Nice post..#fact

The law is here with us deal with it...alternatively lick hot Iron or hurge transformer. Two consented adult my foot "SAY NO TO GAY TINZ".

Igor said...

For once,I totally agree with Reno.

Job Akpan said...

Case closed.

Job Akpan said...

Case closed.

Waooow am so impressed with what I just read,he really said my mind.kudos Mr. Media

#WORD.....the world should mind their business and leave us with ours.Nigeria is an anti-gay nation,we're straight people and homosexuality is'nt part of culture and nature...left to me all gays should be castrated and locked the fuck up.....CheerZ!!!

Wetin this man dey yarn sef...*hiss* #merrygoround

What a writter ! Nice one

I have never seen a male animal on top of another male, because to know they know the different between both.
so why is humans different in attitude, and behavior. God destroy Sodom and Gomorrah because of this, any Nigeria gay or lesbian who can't come out public to say it. Then you don't know your left to right!!

Well said

proflinks said...

Dis man is an inspirational speaker. Hope some idiots wuld find tym 2 read it tru b4 commenting

Lovely post! Gbam

This is all valid and makes a lot of sense. there is a lot to be hidden and whether this is a ploy to distract us from them or not shouldn't blind us from the fact of the matter, this is our culture as has always been.

Well said Reno, Infact i think those journalist especially CNN should visit nigeria n ask dem hw dey feel about dis... Dey wil be disappointed to knw dat Nigerians r irritated wit dis forbidden news dey r forcin down our ears bcos we r more dan happy to revive n restore our strayin youths. Thanks for standin up

winky said...

So right!

Gbam, I am totally in support of the government on this one. let homosexuals go elsewhere with their mumu practice.

Best thing u have ever said! No body is stoping gay plp from being gay but they should do it in the western world biko

Toyin said...

Remo must say something sha.. This whole drama has been on for a while,but first,when it comes to homosexuality am "liberal" and i think(in ma small head)those guys are missing sha(Nuffin like "Clean" girls menh,I can "lick","Suck" and "Ride"). Back to the matter, in John 8:7 Jesus said "Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her.". So am gonna based my argument on this,coz reno quoted a verse too.. So this same "Thieves,Adulterers,Murderers and rogues" We call leaders (including Reno himself).Thinks some people should go to jail just because the wants something different from what we want.Please are they without sin? I mean if we are basing this whole argument on our "Tradition and Religious" views,those guys that came up with the bill,the ones that read it,and the person that signed it,are as filthy as the people they are trying to wash. So they should go wash em self clean before trying to cleanse others. Nwaz sha,

hmmm...true talk,reno..i support u 100%

what a lecture to those speaking just because the act is accepted by the west. I love the West, their principles and some of their decisions but on this one i am against them, God is against it. Nigeria is against same sex marriage. WD

Thanks Bros Reno may God bless you, your points are very clear, the western have their way of life and we have ours. Things that work for them must times is not ok for us. That is why over here a man can get marry to more than one woman and is ok here, but over there one can't try it u will go to prison. What is right they there may not be right here. And over 90% of Nigeria is ok with the law why is the 10% talking too much about it? Thanks Bros Reno

Fatimah said...

For once, I agree in totality with Reno. Good piece!

Swaggs isimemen said...

God will bless u Rino Omokri I support u 1000%... Mr Rino Omokri If its only this u did dis year is ok by me, Canceling GEJ visit 2 canada doesn't have anything 2 do GEJ nd to nigeria people canada Gov. Nd USA the rest country supporting Gay in nigeria wherever u re go 2 hell turnder will fire u evil people accident will kill d remaining of u Gay nd lesbians people Amen... Hmmm Oyiiboo, na wa for u ooooooo!

U asked us to wear coat under hot sun, we did! U said we should speak ur language, we obediently dump ours! U asked us to tie a rope round our necks like goats, we obeyed! U said our ladies should wear dead people's hair instead of the natural ones God gave to them, they obeyed. U said we should marry just one woman in the midst plenty damsels, we reluctantly obeyed! U said our decent girls should wear catapults instead of the conventional pants, they obeyed! Now u want our men to sleep with fellow men AND women with fellow women so that God would visit us like Sodom! Nd gomorah Oyinbo, we say tufiakwa! If u like keep your aids &supports. As Nigerians we say NO to GAY nd lesbianism relationships/Marriage
Let me say it again canada USA. Nd d rest countrys people who support Gay both badoo of toronto, christy fischer. they should go 2 hell turnder will fire u people if u do nt repaint accident will kill d remaining Gay nd lesbian people wherever u re Amen.. the Bible hv said it u should nt resist devil...

Mr Reno u re talking rubbish, d truth is dat if u re not born a homosexual u will never know nor understand wat is really goin on. U think pple wld just wake up and choose minority? U think they re happy d way they are? U think if changing ways was possible they wldnt have changed? Listen homosexuals are real, bisexuals are real, dats why a married man wld still be chasing guys up and down. Scientists are yet to arrive at d cause of homosexuality, its not a learned behaviour as some may say. Bringing up a law dat wld harm these pple is wrong, Jonathan u re not God, pple are suffering in dis country, trying to survive abroad and leaving Nigeria, have u caught all d politicians dat have been stealing our money? Until scientists prove homosexuality is a learned behaviour, u dare not sign such bill. We all know its been listed as an offence but Jonathan u shldnt have gone further, u shld have focused on other things. Its more a sensitive issue than u think. I am not gay and I don't support gay marriage but I m not a saint either. All these kill dem, burn dem, jail dem is jst inhuman and baldardesh. Besides most of all these pple are even culprits!

Swaggs isimemen said...

God will bless u Rino Omokri I support u 1000%... Mr Rino Omokri If its only this u did dis year is ok by me, Canceling GEJ visit 2 canada doesn't have anything 2 do GEJ nd to nigeria people canada Gov. Nd USA the rest country supporting Gay in nigeria wherever u re go 2 hell turnder will fire u evil people accident will kill d remaining of u Gay nd lesbians people Amen... Hmmm Oyiiboo, na wa for u ooooooo!

U asked us to wear coat under hot sun, we did! U said we should speak ur language, we obediently dump ours! U asked us to tie a rope round our necks like goats, we obeyed! U said our ladies should wear dead people's hair instead of the natural ones God gave to them, they obeyed. U said we should marry just one woman in the midst plenty damsels, we reluctantly obeyed! U said our decent girls should wear catapults instead of the conventional pants, they obeyed! Now u want our men to sleep with fellow men AND women with fellow women so that God would visit us like Sodom! Nd gomorah Oyinbo, we say tufiakwa! If u like keep your aids &supports. As Nigerians we say NO to GAY nd lesbianism relationships/Marriage
Let me say it again canada USA. Nd d rest countrys people who support Gay both badoo of toronto, christy fischer. they should go 2 hell turnder will fire u people if u do nt repaint accident will kill d remaining Gay nd lesbian people wherever u re Amen.. the Bible hv said it u should nt resist devil...

completely off point. not a matter of religion or morality at all, but fundamental freedoms; assembly, association and expression, and the freedom from persecution. idiots in government, using words to manipulate people. corruption is also immoral. are you and your cronies setting yourself up for 14 yrs in prison? Mr. Teacher, teach urself about poverty, structural inequality, underdevelopment and theft before you start casting your judgmental stones. fools.

Nice talk....#gbam#

Nice taalk#gbam#

Absolutely correct sir. We need to stand our ground for sanity in spite of foreign threats and intrusion. Homosexuality is a rape of sexuality sanity. Man and woman was created to take dominion of the world and multiply (increase)it; not man and man. God help us!

So Corruption is part of culture that is why GEJ has sign Anti-Corruption bill into law? Sincerely, no bodi in dis government has good head!

Someone_Special said...

Jesus Christ said in John 8:32 "you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free". What Christ did not add, but which we have come to find out ourselves is that before the truth sets you free, it may first make you angry"
This quote is the answer.

Mtxhwwwwwww !!who z he anyways????

Reno..... well said!

TOO LONG A STORY!yawning

Nice write-up

We'll said

One of the best piece to come out from this government yet, we must be able to distinguish btw "what is fair "and "what is right" we shouldn't allow the western influence cloud the true essence of our culture and tradition and Nigerians must be resolute in safeguarding our tradition .. And most of the celebs ranting about this gay bill are just hypocrites , how many of you will genuinely support your children if they were to be gay ? Tosin bucknor and the rest. Forming for us as if na only una go school pass or travel pass Mscheewww! ...#smartclown#

bumshasha said...

I agree, they shd leave us alone. They need to respect our tradition.

Great piece by Reno;at least in a long while.
Couldn't agree less.

Truth....

I Agree with Reno on this one. If Obama is in support of Gay why is he rejecting Robert Mugabe proposal to Marry him?
In Nigeria you spank a child to straighten his brain when he misbehave while in America you would be arrested for correcting your child by spanking. (Lol @ Straighten his brain)
Abeg America or the West should just leave Nigeria alone

OMOKRI abi what is your name?

Did you pass Use of English in school? Summarise pls. ARRRGGGGGHHHH

Brilliant! i always knew the GEJ Govt. would be appreciated only on the long run> well done.

Sasha bone said...

For once,the first few paragraphs of what he says makes sense but the truth is Nigerians aren't like Christ,they wld hate both the sin and the sinner.

Ibukun said...

First time i am actually agreeing with this Reno guy's comments. 2014 will be a great year for me.Amen.

This is too long to read abeg,,,it won't change anything in this country,,,,haa!everybody will come up with articles,open letters,,blah blah blah,what has it changed in this country???haven't seen any change,,,abeg!!!

ronnie said...

I kinda agree with this article. JEG get some smart people around him ooo

ronnie said...

I kinda agree with you here. JEG has some intelligent people around him oo.

Please for goodness sake. All these politicians with dia way wayo. So u did it for God's sake? Fornication and adultery is not good but we Nigerians still do it. Where is the freedom of expression? Say d truth, u are trying to cajole your way out of this cos u didn't expect much negativity from other countries. Homosexuality is wrong. We all know DAT, u want to follow the will of God? Exile all disvirgin youths in Nigeria. Imprison all politicians that adulterate. Skikena

christian Igbokwe said...

This is one of the most captivating and on point writeups I have read this year. I have tried without success to place the reason why Nigerians pursue western cultures even at the detriment of our enviable cultures. Homosexuality is an abomination which even the most of American states have refused to accept. President Jonathan should not be shaken by all American and European threats. Nigerians are with him on this.

Iphie dearie said...

Gbam!!!perfectly written..Need I say more????

I agree with u pal.

sola said...

I kind of totally agree with him. Except thath he seemed to be more to the Christian angles. He should watch out that Nigerian's like to criticise such things which is usually their delight.
Law and custom are two different things but we should also know that the law is greatly influenced by custom. This is what is playing right before our eyes. We should accept it and just move on! Stand up for who you are! Be proud of yourself. We mustn't always conform with the world!

Reno baba nice piece. Tell our Presido to ignore critics around d world. Na mumu D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ worry dem, D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ no fit do anytin. In fact all of these faggots & maggots dem sabi say homo no pure but as e b na bad bad tins D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ sweet mumu pass. Twaaa!! NONESENSE!!

well said. so if we say its allowing people to pursue their sexual preferences, we would soon be letting pedophiles to walk around freely and say its their human right and natural sexual preference. what is right is right and what is wrong is wrong. Ride on Jona, we are with you on this one

This man is retarded.
What is this Super story? Nigeria is not a Christian or Muslim country, it is a country of diverse people and beliefs. So what next? Start to round up atheist, traditionalist and agnostics?

"what should be the driver of our Grundnorm, the basic norm, order and rule that forms the underlying basis for our legal system? Should it be the opinions and cultures of other nations or should it be the cultures of our people?"

I love this statement... The so-called forward thinking Nigerians, don't even know what should obtain in our constitution..

I am not saying the flaws and fears raised by the pro-gay activists are totally unfounded. But using those flaws to blackmail the nation into condoning homosexuality is just outrightly wrong. And all those claims about people being born to be gay, is the height of educated illiteracy.. It is not even a theory, only an hypothesis made on some random observation, by biased scientists..

What is happening, is that the international media has been captured by some people that have some ideas. And they want to use the media to project and force their ideas on others, rather than leaving media as a platform for the exchange of information.

This law is to protect our children, first and foremost..

A constitution in a democratic society is a catalogue of laws, formed by a people who have come to say, this is how we want to govern themselves, based on their ideas, beliefs, vision and values. The majority of Nigerians utterly reject the ideas and beliefs that condone homosexuality. And the only way that can change, is by the ones with different ideas trying to force us to change our stand (which they have started trying to through their bombardment of pro-gay programs).

In the end, we should not mistake talking in a foreign accent for superior intelligence. Nobody or people are a monopoly of intelligence, what only differs is knowledge (which no one has monopoly of). Therefore, the white man's ideas are not always superior to that.

(If Olu Falae and IBB knew this, maybe we wouldn't be in such a mess economically)

ABEG just leave these bunch of idiots . Dem think say na colonial days we still dey? Please if you are gay and you don't feel comfortable here move outta NIJA simple. Go to america or uk if you don't have money go to Ghana or Cotonue or SA. Please leave here..How can I as a guy be sleeping and be scared that someone might penetrate my ass...can you imagine?

honest write up Nice one

Aymii said...

Normally Abati and Omokri are hardly people i agree with on any issues........but on this one i concur............

Give Nigerians an inch and they will go a mile........If our youths ever get the idea that men fucking men vice versa is tolerable in any way...then all our secondary school boys and girls will start experimenting to see what the deal about the whole thing is.....

This anomaly should be nipped in the bud!! And that very early!!!!!!......the prison term is a deterent strong enough to do that!!!!!!

All that crap about Gays being born that way is not something i buy..... These Americans are just trying to Force thier Godless beliefs Down our throats..... NIGERIANS HAVE SAID NO 2 faggots and lesbos!

ON 2 the Next!

Nice write-up

Bros, you have spoken well and God will bless you

Well said..Most Nigerian Youth are wanna be ,and they lose they birth gift based on them tryin to be what they are not or just say blending in..We are all special and gifted for the greatness of the world as a born Nigeria,so pls stand on what is right and lets all carry our country to her greatest height..Am writting this from UK and i knw what its like to live in a community with gay,it is totally wrong trust me..Its not what you what to have in a Country like Nigeria..Pls my people support your nation and stand with your goverment for making a positive decission,your goverment need you on this..So help us God !!!

sweetie said...

True talk,dey can't decide 4 us.evil people,d owner of our soul never sleep or slumber.dey shall see anger of GOD.

For the 1st time, u made sense.

I applaud you, the west can section all they want that's their prerogative but Nigeria is sticking to this law.We need to protect the minds of our children.There is already enough economic and moral degradation we as a people don't have to add sexual degradation to compound our issues. I think Gays and Lesbian need psychological help they should seek it.

I 100% agree! This is possibly the best write up ever from GEJ's camp!

Very true sir, it's high time nigerians stand up nd fight 4 wat's right

And what people don't know is the whole hoopla in America is from some people who are behind the media, they will never show you the adverse effects of these decision for gays to be legal, its ultimate greed, every other part of the world see what they show u, but they have thier own problems inside, Americans tend to push thier own freedom on other nations, thats just bullying

flymoke said...

For the very first time of reading Mr Reno's article, I agree wiv him totally. If d west can't accept our culture and values, why should we accept theirs? Colonialism is way past and Nigeria is an independent nation now. NO to same sex marriage.

Fantastic piece from reno omokri.we stand by nigeria for nigeria.

It not late yet....U can stil become anoda Michael Jackson. *hisses* ....

Faggot

White Gardenia said...

Right on point. Abeg tell them.

Have U ever wondered or bother to find out wat happend to Sodom and Gomorrah and why??? Since u claim to knw d bible.........Faggot

gee said...

Am impressed with this write up.....from a true and honest Nigerian

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 258   Newer› Newest»