Lagos State Government seek to ban smoking in public places | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 21 January 2014

Lagos State Government seek to ban smoking in public places

The Lagos State House of Assembly yesterday January 20th passed a bill seeking to make smoking in public places illegal in the state, with first offenders having options of paying a fine of N10,000, three months in jail or both. The bill which is waiting the approval of Gov. Fashola to be signed into law prohibits residents from smoking in places such as libraries, museum, public toilets, schools, hospital, day-care centres, public transportation, restaurants among others.

Lagos residents who break this new law repeatedly would either be sent to prison for 6 months or pay a fine of N50,000, while owners of public places who encourage the breaking of this law would pay a fine of N100,000 or be sent to jail for six months.

The bill also seeks to punish anyone who smokes in front of a child with a fine of N15,000 or six months imprisonment. The bill also directs corporate organizations to place the 'No Smoking' sign in their premises. Companies who default would pay a fine of N250,000.
The Bill when passed into law would be supervised by the Lagos Environmental Protection Agency.

151 comments:

Now, they are talking some sense. If you want to kill yourself with lung cancer, do it in private.

Cool.

OMG!WOMAN said...

Lol, Mother africa is angry.

Mich said...

Be that as it may,British American Tobacco remains untouchable.
Meanwhile,the new Benson Switch tastes like snorting coke off a French's woman's ass.

Mich said...

Be that as it may,British American Tobacco remains untouchable.
Meanwhile,the new Benson Switch tastes like snorting coke off a French's woman's ass.

Ol's Network said...

Making sense...

Ol's Network said...

Making sense...

Am 100% in support of it. Good one

Oya naija police don see another avenue to make money, plus must we always copy the white people..

Lydia AB said...

Smoking in public places has been prohibited in Nigeria since when Ransom Kuti was minister of Health. I think the problem has always been implimentation.

say wat..bt dat 1 no consign me

Nice one jhur...dis one will reduce d rate of smokers anĂ° even save sum pple lifes sef...I agree with dat new law..thumbsup

Teacher caught in the act with student in school premises
Here

Teenager Caught Hving Sex In The Bush With A Married Man
Here

Lady Uses Fuel Pump To Satisfy Herself From orgasm
Here

Woman goes to a Public Funeral without Under Wear, see what happened Next…
Here

jaybeyblu said...

Yaaaay! Good to know
Hate it when I get home smelling like a fire place. Sigh! Way to go Lagos

maman Xara said...

Wetin man pikin fit say for dis again, good idea abi bad idea? Hmmm! Air pollution, later na slippers dem go start bannin to wear commot . Abeg make dem focuse on somethin else jor.

Ironically over here in Abuja people started smoking indian hemp in the open when the law was passed.

KOSI said...

how many "aboki" are they ready to stop? i doubt.

Hahahaha! We are just getting started! Human rights in trouble.

sundayotuns said...

Another way to generate tax.

IkwerreBoy said...

I am in support... what non smokers inhale is far worst.

Government shuld neva try such rubish.ar u guys crazy?plz allow d citizen 2 be free,we ar nt slaves.first of all ur ban same-sex marriage nw dis...!dnt try rubish

Good law, secondry smoking is eeven more dangerous than to the smoker himself!
See the 7i year old man that raped a 7 year old girl

Don't tink is a bad idea.....but remember pple making money on d street b4 joining into conclusion

Jumping#

Nice movement.. Jagz where are yhu?? #winks#

resturant?fashola u must be mad if u sign dat,folish man.u pple wnt 2 turn ur citizen into slaves rte?stupid hyprocrite government,u guys smoke more dan citizen

mayor zod said...

hmm will that really stop people from smoking??

AnnMarie said...

Its unhealthy being a passive smoker, dunno why someone who doesn't smoke will be inhaling from another. i'm with the government on this one

Wat bout all dose trailers drivin thru lag roads ??pple dat jst burn anytin in d streets nko ?

Eko o Ni baje, Lagos is working

veralu said...

Y don't u talk about phcn wahala and lack of security in d state

Very good!!!!!!!!!

Great!!! I love ds

BEN said...

I'm in full support!

This is good.... lol.

Kudos Fashola.. Even if we have other pressing issues, this a step towards the right direction. I hope other states will do same too.. #Mr Lucky

I think Foshola is jobless for him saying this shit

yes yes and yes. second hand smoking is just as bad.

iq said...

Correct! i really like dis law. God bless lagos state nd governor fashola. Pple constitute nuisance with dis smoking of a thing.

sharonO said...

Really this is serious but a good idea tho sorry to those addict...

Governor Fashola is a chimney o.he will have to smoke only at home.

But shey we can inject or inhale the other ones sha.because that's what will happen in clubs now(already happening) if we can't smoke.

I fear the corruption this will create even if I support the motion. I just hope the relevant bodies on this won't deviate from its natural goal and use it as an avenue to increase intimidation and the rest. Kudos to Fashola ones more #Mr Lucky

Eugenia Ekeji said...

Way to make money out of some people. I'm in support though.

I give my 100% support! Let it be signed ASAP
WE are OUR OWN PROBLEM
#doctorbobby

In as much as i appreciate the effort and intention of the LASG. All I see is just the Nigeria Police Force profiting from law...

I think how government need to understand that they need to clean up and change the orientation of the Law enforcement guys (NPF, LASMA etc) first...

Mab said...

hope this works bcos evem the police that wld be sent for the arrests they are the ones that always smoke in public and in front of kids

Uncle Fashola y r u just giving this police men avenue to "chop money"

Chinonso Charles said...

Thats good news. . .

Online Naira

Hmmm... I see a lot of "aboki's" being arrested!
Pls when a policeman commits this crime,who will arrest him?

hehhehheheheheheh, smokers prison knocking at ur doors, u can only smoke in d middle of an ocean cos it can only take a ship 4 them to get u. Lolzzzzzzzzz

I think is good development. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

hmmn this one don pass me oh!

Way to go!!! Second hand smoking kills more...

Ghen ghen!!!!

I support this 100%,especially hang out spot passive smoking for non smokers is adverse to health.....yay!!!!! house of Assembly

God will punish fashola if he appproves this! Cos me I like 2 smoke anywhere ooooo

Sometimes govts initaite policies that are excessive,but this time if the agency to enforce don't abuse their powers No smoking or attempting to reduce smoking is not a bad idea

bravest hrt said...

Lol.. Naija we no dey fail o

Funny!!!

WHY SHUD SMOKING,ANTI-GAY LAW IMPLEMENTATION ETC B OF PRIORITY 2D GOVT ESPECIALLY AT DS TRYIN AND TROUBLING TIME IN NIGERIA? D QUESTION OF GOVT PRIORITIES IN DS COUNTRY'S A NO BRAINER. DO DEY NEED A REMINDER ABT WAT OUR PRIORITIES ARE?

Ghen ghen!!! I'm liking ds law..I jxt hope dey extend it to oda states wen its been approved.

Hmmm a very good thing to do, it's hard enough breathing with all the air pollution and some idiot will be smoking in the hot afternoon in a public place. Smoke in your houses, you chimneys. Hilary Obiorah

Juliebabe said...

Odikwa very risky in Flavour's voice. Tobacco is not good 4 your health, smokers are liable to die young.

Shai! I fit smoke for club abi?...hope d will not arrest those suya abokis n women who fry @ d road side. Hope they know that some cars n generators generate more hazardous smoke than Cigar.

Haba! Datz goes against human rights. R we r free nation or not? I hate smokin but still... Just sayin...D Curious1

@chux.com..congratulations to Lagos state..rivers state do something please.

Good one! Let me hear abt human right in this again and see if ur mouth ll not turn to ur anus.

I expect Obama and his gay partners to condemn Lagos state for passing such bill that restrict ppl's right to smoke freely.

cute mee said...

Its a gud 1,pls let's help our kids in d prevention of lung cancer,I wish such law is in ph,if u want 2 smoke enter ur bedroom nd do it,stop being a nuesiance 2 d public.

This one go get as e be o. Fashola sef na chain smoker. I hope he approves it!

flante said...

It's a good one. I can remember when I used to smoke, inhaling smoke from other people annoyed me.m thru wit dat now n really wonder y ppl complain its hard to quit smoking...

Mich's Crush said...

Very Good!

This is very big rubbish. I hope fashola will not Approved such a thing because this is stupidity. Beside fashola him self use to smoke so no way.

DJ KENNY said...

We get better tins to find solution too no be smoking,bunch of fools

t baby said...

up Lagos other state should emulate please

nice one shaaa... #bubex.

Oga government, what about smoking. In the club.I hope dat wuld nt b a crime

ok..we ve heard...everything will be passed into law

that will be great..............

sherylicious said...

I support this kind of bill cos smoking in public can harm others who inhale the smoke, not all this gay bill your sex life is not to anybody's detriment but to the people involved.

If Fashola signs this bill i will not only be very happy but i will also have more respect for him because i heard Fashola is a chain smoker. lol

Thank God it's abt freaking time. I feel like I'm abt to get cancer everytime I'm home. We don't need to add 2nd hand smoke to the carcinogens from burning diesel 24/7.

Now the banning begins. Everybody will start banning everything, even hugging

Seriously?

More gists and hot chicks photos at >>Nigerian entertainment news

BOOTYLICIOUS said...

abeg abeg make dem die it whats dat?ehn?

dudette said...

#laughingatsmokers#

Lyndy said...

Kudos to Lagos State Govt. Its abt time all these acts of moral decadence re put in check for posterity's sake. Let them go nd hide whil smoking. We dnt want kids to see them do it

Thumbs up fashola

FINALLLLLLLLLLLLLLYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

Another avenue 2 make money.

If they like let dem enact a bill dat nigerians shouldn't wear cloth again... Afterall its a western culture #dazzlingAk#

Chris Brizzy said...

Secondary smoking is the deadliest of all and I think the law when in motion will do more good...
I follow say 'Yeah!'

Wahala don start,gays,babes,oyibo,albino,linda ikeji be warned,the public be warned,fashola too be warned.wink wink

Abegi... Wetin sef, hahaan!!!. Mk una kukuma ban boyfriend n girlfriend holdin hands in public... Arrant myopic joblez unconstitutional dissertational display of metaphoric suss.abi na

Finesse said...

Sick law!!!

Very good I love this one,haha that's how they will be inconveniencing people with there smoke...a big thanks to the Governor of lagos state.

Great move, before they kill us with second-hand smoke!

Good move in a wrong direction.

Sorry 4 d likes of Fashola,Terry G, Don Jazzy e.t.c.

even for dubai wey be arab country dem dey smoke for public.

Human right advocates where are u oooooo dis is same as gay right bill abi no bi so?

Lol notin person no go hear 4 dis country,in oda news ASUP stil dey strike

even for dubai dem dey allow dem smoke for public,na wa o niger

absolute bullshit is that the steady electricity the stupid Governor should ensure for his people or Good road, his there putting a stupid Law that why that useless country remains stagnant, useless leaders thank God i follow una dey suffer am there foolish leaders.

Swaggs isimemen said...

Correct I love dat is a welcome development is very good kudos 2 lagos state lawmaker raji fashola should sign it fast...

Swaggs isimemen said...

Correct I love dat is a welcome development is very good kudos 2 lagos state lawmaker raji fashola should sign it fast...

Swaggs isimemen said...

Yes... finally..... someone is actually doing something good.

gud one

LL said...

hmm...interesting. Lets see how it goes. On a second thought, i doubt if this will work in Lagos sha...With the huge number of smokers in the state..well, we are waiting for your approval Mr Governor.

Lagos state government just makes sense. This is the kind of law we need in Nigeria; not the kind that pokes its nose into other people's sexual business

Good move, I think clubs needs to be added!

Fashola is working, you lots are sleeping.

I would be very much impressed if such bill is being signed to law by the lagos sate governor, this will definitely help to reduce if not eradicate the habit of smoking in lagos state. i would also employ other states government of the country to do likewise. Kudos to lagos state government.

Good one. I hate cigaret.

Ona don start oooooo,evrytin naim ona de ban o

Abeg make dem no ban igbo oooo,very swt

about time!
I was a smoker. smoked for about 8 years. So the smell of tobacco does not really bother me. however it is depressing whenever i go out with the missus and theres smoke everywhere. apart from the fact that she cannont breath well in such conditions, we all also suffer from second hand smoking.

Fashola please sign this asap.

They started with imprisoning gays. Now its smokers. I hear they're planning to make internet browsing a criminal offence too.
Little by little, people's fundamental rights are being infringed on. The sad part is that the citizens gave the government the go ahead to do so, when they applauded the anti gay bill.

Nigerians, sit back, relax and enjoy the show. This is just the beginning.

This Lagos is a bad place for me to stay cos I can't do without weef

This Lagos is a bad place for me 2 stay cos I can smoke weed anywer

They should also ban the advertisement of alchohol on televisions.

@bonario liar.i guess u still @ pape or 1 man village in Abuja for saying that.

Ijoba mi ko fe oshi bi ti ijoba fashola #in olamide's voice#lagos don hear am

benny Ikeji said...

Fashola is equally a smoker , hope he doesnt sign the bill

They should ban peeing in public places first

MissBusyBody said...

About time too.. Smoking should also be banned indoors...

Francis said...

Until I hear a bill been passed for constant electricity then to me Fashola is working.Dude has ran outta idea's man... The prisons will be full if this law is passed.Plus who will arrest em Policemen wey go smoke for public? Another avenue for these police men to intimidate citizens.

Dende said...

Funds must be raised for 2015 by fire by smoke lol!

Your excellency,hope that applies 2 u and ur benson & hedges...oh and 2 dat ur chimney younger brother always emitting smoke at crescendo like jalopy

few said...

nw naija police will b like IF U NO GIVE US 500NAIRA WE GO CARRY YOU GO HEAD OFFICE AND U GO PAY PLENTY MONEY..CHAI!..nd u xpect doz aboki to stop#impossible...sum even smoke while slipn sef..#hahaha#

Good I like that

BETTER

You're not stopping people from smoking... its aimed at stopping people from smoking in public places like airport, movie theaters, supermarket, anywhere that is not within the confines of your own home or areas reserved specially for smokers.

Good point. Yeah GEJ, what about plans for the ozone? I remember when I came to Nigeria, I dont know anywhere there (where I was) , but the area we went to, the buses and cars were emitting dark smoke. When I blew my nose afterwards, it was black stuff. The air quality in Nigeria needs major improvement.

The policeman has someone he reports to, right? Report him there. If you dont know, use social media to rectify. Take his picture and put it on the net, im sure he will have someone reprimand him then. The power of media.

Yayyyy! Good news

Im sure those that got cancer from inhaling your filth are saying the same about you.

I think someone mentioned its an avenue to raise revenue for the govt. This will work well if implemented adequately.

i totally support this law.the law is protecting the rights of non-smokers while also not infringing on the rights of smokers.so a person who smokes can continue to smoke in his house the only thing is that he wouldn't smoke in public places so as not to harm others who don't smoke.

i totally support this law.the law is protecting the rights of non-smokers while also not infringing on the rights of smokers.so a person who smokes can continue to smoke in his house the only thing is that he wouldn't smoke in public places so as not to harm others who don't smoke.my only concern is whether it will be properly implemented.

Mikun said...

This is a good one.

Good!

So someone can't smoke in his or her car while driving abi? Am a female nd I like to smoke wen am driving. We can't also smoke at seaside in lekki too? Fashola plz swerve.

Mak Nisy Collection's CEO said...

Good one, I will bless the day smoking is banned in public places in Nigeria as a whole...

Amarachukwu said...

Very good,I like the idea.

So many people here in the north will be affected if this law were to be a nationwide thing.Here Alcohol is seen as evil than smoking.People smoke even in their offices and no one complains coz its the norm here.Bonita bislam

I support

I love d new Benson switch..mk brain die

GOOD PUBLIC HEALTH MOVE. I wonder if that was the real motivation or if this is another way to tax citizens. Have they defined what constitutes a public place? There you go.

Author Unknown

Your right ends where mine begin. So y disturb me with your smoking. Good one Lagos state.

Jay raster falar will not be happy with this one ooo

Sally P said....#in dbanji's voice# "don't tell me nonsense"....wot do u mean by banning smoking? Abeg rest joor if u don't av any other thing important to add to the lives of lagosians.....y dosent he ban himself from spending more than he earns?

So as hot as naija weather u want to smoke ? And u re even a female, do u want to run mad?? Or u wan craze?? Is the weather not hot enough? Tomorrow u ll be shouting cancer!!! Repent, The rapture is happening sooner than expected.. The Rx