Armed SSS operatives storm El Rufai's home in Abuja | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 24 January 2014

Armed SSS operatives storm El Rufai's home in Abuja

Tweets above from Mallam El Rufai's son. According to reports, men of the State Security Service (SSS), this afternoon stormed the home of former FCT minister, Mallam Nasir El-Rufai to pick him for questioning at their office in Abuja. El-Rufai wasn't home when the SSS men came calling. Continue...

Premium Times reports that the SSS had invited El-Rufai to their office yesterday Thursday Jan. 23rd to answer some questions in connection with a statement credited to him that there might be violence if the 2015 general elections were not free and fair.
The former minister made the comment while speaking at the Transformed to Transform, T2T Nigeria, Conference and Career Fair, a leadership and empowerment initiative for the National Youth Service Corps members in Abuja on Wednesday.
He was reported to have said the 2015 elections could be marred by riots and other forms of violence that might lead to loss of lives and properties unless the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, and the security agencies ensured they were free.
The former minister however refused to respond to the SSS’ invitation on the ground that he had a pending suit against the agency over his detention in a hotel in Awka, Anambra State,  during the governorship election in that state last November 16.
He also told the Director General of the Service, Ita Ekpeyong, that he was willing to meet with him in his home or office or that in the alternative the SSS should produce a warrant of arrest.
Spokesperson of the SSS, Marylyn Ogar, had earlier issued a statement Thursday warning those making provocative statements ahead of the 2015 general election to desist from such or face the full weight of the law.
Ms. Ogar said the attention of the service had been drawn to incessant provocation statements by some Nigerians threatening violence ahead of the election. She did not mention any name
“Such comments are offensive, misguided and directed at stirring hate among Nigerians,” she said. "This service and other law enforcement agencies have the mandate to protect the country and its citizens. We, therefore, warn all subversive elements that are bent on promoting divisive and disruptive agenda to refrain from such as the full weight of the law shall henceforth be brought to bear accordingly.”

98 comments:

the 'ss'....

c.e.o

And Dokubo is walking freely after threatening Nigerians should we fail to return GEJ come 2015,anyway the beauty of it is that no one rules forever. Soon Just like El Rufai GEJ will also be by the side writting letters and tweeting about the President.

Mrs E said...

Why should folks that should know better resort to callous and insensitive comments that could lead to lose of human life? Shameful!

They r crazy wat of what Asari Dokubo said even buhari. They shud pick on pple their own size. Nonsense.

@BOBO_EDO said...

That guy talks too much!!! He over talks!!!! That's his business!!!

@Bobo_Edo

Eugenia Ekeji said...

Sealed lips.

AnnMarie said...

While the people looting money are walking freely on the road, they wanna arrest somone for provocative comments. Issorite

So y is he hiding n lies abt prayin..any1 dat wishes Nigeria violent wil reciv it in hundred folds..arrant nonsense

Good for him fool

He should know how to control his big mouth. Am sorry 4 d son who can not even tweet in simple English.

Why do the SSS wnt to use force???? Is not as if he's running away. Keep calm and Arest him.

Jacob said...

Nasir said the almost obvious. How is that inciting? Some families have been damaged forever from the perceived election irregularities in the past. The natural reaction to rigging of many people, expecially in certain geographical areas of Nigeria is violence when they feel disenfranchised. Nasir didnt incite. Further, why have our law enforcement aparatus become unconcerned with judicial pronouncements. Soo much impunity. Disobeying rulling and judgements of competent courts? Where is that done? If DSS feel he should be arrested, let them get a warrant of arrest. All this is crap. This is what we have when we put square begs in round holes

Ghen ghen! Wat has he done this time around?

Finally somebody is doing this job in this country.. good riddance to bad rubbish.. @CaptainNikee

El Rufai is suffering from a disease called "Midget syndrome"

GEJ till 2019
#TEAM FRESH AIR.

ChyChy said...

Pls what happened to the likes °Æ’ Asari Dokubo, Clark etc that made d same statement, am not any side but standing for equity and fair justice. God bless Nigeria

IKE_D said...

What a joke. Flawed intel has led to no arrest, no wonder they can't find the killers of the late Bola Ige. Nigeria and it's Mickey mouse secret service operation.

Juliebabe said...

May God help us all and Psalm 91 is my families portion, amen

El-Rufai vs SSS part 1.
We are watching...

*NiKi Posh*

Their business!

Asari dokubo made all form of threats concerning bloodshed in 2015 if gej is not re-elected, Nobody arrested him or invite him ooooo

This man is a goat! Wen he was packing all the properties in Abuja as minister he didn't know Govt was bad. Now he is acting all deranged bcos he is not in power

Reality UK said...

For the record, this man needs to act like a true states man. His tweets incites violence. He should not be allowed to hold any public post at all

Somebody should tell 'mallam' to watch his mouth! That guy talks too much! Irrespective of the fact that our law agencies can miskaform, our so called leaders have to put their tongues at check. That is how Buhari said there would be blood and the Igbo people in the north became scape goats!

Sabrina agu said...

And the political drama continues....

Igor said...

They should also arrest Lawal Kaita and Junaid Mohammed.These has been blood and hell if Jonathan runs in 2015.These people should be shut up before they overheat the polity.

Asari talk him own we no see SSS o! And his statement was more definite, he didn't even say "might", na wa for dis country sha!

WTF?? For dat statement?? Why didn't they arrest asari dokubo when he publicly on national television said and I quote "jonathan must win in 2015 whether he contests or not, if they want us to spill d blood of d goats and chickens on the streets, we will spill the blood.." Aka d masses are now goats and chickens... And they didn't arrest him for questioning.. Am gradually losing my respect for this regime.. Tueh!

Desmond 2 d G said...

He is saying the truth....cos dis are past leaders...forget it he jst said noting bt d truth.....

Guys check this out
http://tasknjob.com/?share=117951

U must b blind in a daft manner! Wat oda simplicity do u xpect??naa wa oh.. if u don't hav anything to say...jst read nd "pass"

Free speech is democratic. SSS should go after BH & other threats to "National Security". Its another excuse for their incompetence and they are obviously doing the bidding of the Presidency and not Nigerians.

kclub said...

Bonario, am tripin for ur comments lately. Ur head dey dre

kclub said...

Ur father is a fool

Senseless sss dat r nt truth to their profession bt can only be remote control by their bosses! They should deal wit issues they hv at hand nt minding ppl like El'rufai, stupid folks! Dig head like them. @SHoK

kclub said...

U be fool, no wonder u ar anima, see ur life, dey find english wen d guy can buy and sell u

Amarachukwu said...

And it doesn't concern me...

Senseless sss dat r nt truth to their profession bt can only be remote control by their bosses! They should deal wit issues they hv at hand nt minding ppl like El'rufai, stupid folks! Dig head like them. @SHoK

Aggressive president ever

Serves him right! hes becoming a nuisance!

Mumu rufai. You will one day be history. Attention seeker.

Thank God that finally this government is standing up to the occasion if they had done this in 2009 Boko Haram would have been a thing of the pass now

Fuck u GEJ, fuck u SSS. I hate ur govt with so much passion come and arrest me fools

Girl said...

Bona ooo... U no go kill person...

That's the problem and that's why we are where we are because nobody wants to talk and when you have the odasity to talk you are called a 'big mouth'. WAKE UP!!!!

Naijaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Nonsense na dem sabi abeg

Kclub u say person father Na fool abi so if I tell u say ur fada Na fool how u go feel. Mr _melvin-say so

Nna forget that thing. Jonathan no fit tweet anything. E go dey Otuoke dey shak Ogogoro.

No mind d mumus

Abi o. Primitive people use power primitively.

You will be Geography abi? Anuofia!

You see this irresponsible government. Asari Dokubo, Edwin Clark, Ezeife have all been threatening the country but they were not invited talkless of arrest. Well, 2015 is almost here.

Serves him right, was he better, give him an appointment he will shut up

Mallam with cow brain!!!!

Anon above that referred to this man as a fool. U plus all ur ancestors plus ur future family are the real fools! Bastard!

Blind in a daft manner loooool! Death.

Can we be friends? I like the way you write. Highly intellectual and your readers can relate to the story because it communicates effectively. I write as part of my hobby when am off hospital duties but would like to get better at it. I feel I could use your help.. I can send you my facebook contact if you're interested. Thanks..

I am sure nobody is looting save all the women in power the ss do not go near women becos of women empowerment. ... u seee. Ehen El rufai stop threaten nigerian peace ..... Infact u need explain for all the lost lives so far. Sponsors of Boko are coming out with speeches here and there.

Seems the meaning of 'provocative' in Nigerian politics has to do with any statement that contradicts interest of the 'bosses' and 'cabals'. Anyways, all of 'em are birds of a feather

I assume you and Linda are from the industrious eastern part of Nigeria. B4 you trivialize a serious issue do your due diligence, pls quote the malam's full statements, he said people will will die and that the only way to seize power is by force. Remember the last time?, youth corpses and ibid bore the brunt, this time, they will wipe entire uni community remaining in the north, pease Linda, you don't have to rely on premium times, investigate his statements and quote the entire statements he made and your readers decide, stand up for your people who will be massacred if his predictions comes true.

Igor said...

For the records Bona,Asari was only replying those that were threatening his brother's second term ambition.Igbo's say 'nobody knows a madmans relatives until you touch him.

Razzy said...

Hmmm Please am begging u my fellow youths let's not allow these political office holders compromise our futures by distracting us with their political sagas. 41.5 million nigerian youths are unemployed and 4. 5m enter labour market annually. Is it bad if government is providing for 4.5bn annually in the budget to tackle unemployment problems. Am sure if graduates are being given 1m each @ the end of their studies, 70 percent will promote the economy and even create jobs opportunities for those that don't have privilege to pass through school. Walahi if we youths don't wake up from slumber and raise this issue we will continue making unnecessary comments on these clowns that have already made provisions for their unborn generation.

Razzy said...

Hmmm Please am begging u my fellow youths let's not allow these political office holders compromise our futures by distracting us with their political sagas. 41.5 million nigerian youths are unemployed and 4. 5m enter labour market annually. Is it bad if government is providing for 4.5bn annually in the budget to tackle unemployment problems. Am sure if graduates are being given 1m each @ the end of their studies, 70 percent will promote the economy and even create jobs opportunities for those that don't have privilege to pass through school. Walahi if we youths don't wake up from slumber and raise this issue we will continue making unnecessary comments on these clowns that have already made provisions for their unborn generation.

Misinformation, el Tucson statements moderated by PT, Linda help us, post the exact offensive statements made by el rufai, particularly the statement: the only way to seize power is by force. So they have come by him by force also.

SSS IS NOW THE EXTENSION OF PDP. THATS THE DISADVANTAGE WHEN EVERY TOP AGENCY BOSS HAS TO BE APPOINTED BY THE PRESIDENT. THEY ARE AT HIS BECK AND CALL, HE CAN USE THEM WHENEVER HE NEEDS THEM. AND THE PRESIDENTS SINCE 1960 HAVE ALWAYS DONE SO. YOU SUPPORT THEM YOU ARE FREE YOU DONT SUPPORT THEM ALL THE AGENCIES COME AFTER YOU.

julius said...

ok

read interesting gist

Forget , IF ELrufai is guilty then he needs to be charged . This is a man that has committed atrocities and ran away from Nigeria all in the name of exile? He now came back and wants to redeem himself as a good man? NO , We Nigerians are not sleeping. He can never ever promote Violence with his words. I don’t know GEJ, and if his words promotes Violence , SSS should pick him up . You can’t talk nonsense in America before FBI picks you up. Parrots to be a said to be wise and smart . They see and tell the owner what happens .But, this man is just a foolish parrot. You have dirts in your hands and you want to scatter Nigeria? People are praying for a violence free Nigeria so that our properties and Investments will be safe he is trying to be a foolish hero? MADNESS! If your families were part of the killings in the north and the boko haram issue , then you should have shut up a long time. evil man.!!!! charge him to court let him go and sleep there until after elections.

Even Dokubo should be picked up.

I attended the T2T conference and wat mallam said is bin turned upside down. He wz advocating for a violence free nig and simply sited an example dat if des our politicians decide 2still hold on 2power tru corrupt practices it will definitely incite protests and violence. There4 urgin INEC to ensure a free n fair election cum 2015. Now SSS are harrassn him over ntn, I nva heard of SSS arresting Asari upon evrytin he said. God help Nig,its nt as if d man is contestn sef.

El rufai, u've served and left power, pls allow my president to serve and leave o. Wen u were in powere, we didn't hear ur voice o. That's the problem I have with all dis backstabbing politician's. Wen they are in power, they'll do nothing, wen others come, they wanna prove they are better, or perfect. Stupid people.

Zenki brown said...

Like father like son. Evrything is straight to tweeter. GEJ v Mallam

DENNIS said...

Carry on El-rufai...

I hate dis so call mallam aboki an dia apc irritating counterparts dats wat buhari said dat if he doesn't win dat he will mek dis government ongorven now luk at book haram every way killing bumbling an all dis some fools will still open dia mouth an blame gej

Razzy said...

Why is he a fool?

Why. Is he a fool?

Get ur facts right!!!

There comes a time in the history of great nations when the citizens pause and think. What do we want? I believe 2015 is that point in Nigerians history. The peace of the nation lies in the hands of the electoral committee. That's a point worth stating

Where was GEJ when innocent university students where burnt to death in port hacourt without trial? That is how it all starts impunity.

Honero said...

Bona....so intelligent of u!

Honero said...

And Asari Dokubo the empty head doesnt?

The Duchess said...

Please STFU! I was at that conference and this guy said nothn provocative. All I remember him doing was cracking ppl up with some jokes and funny statements. He may have digressed a little to political issues but is he not a politician? GEJ just dey find trouble where trouble no dey. Trouble dey sleep yanga go wake am. He should worry more about the ppl who say thns behind his back and not elrufai. **i am NOT an el rufai fan abeg.

I dont know why you guys are so bothered this is a democratic government worse than the military dictators,they do what they want the way they want how they want when they want

All you south south ppl are easy to find sha. Coming on here with all the bullshit in you. Please take a chill pill. Your president has made worse statement.

We've noted that you are frm the southsouth and a GEJ follower.

"Blind in a daft manner" loool I can't deal

Gbam!!! Preach it!!!

Another southsouthern. Yall will be the sacrificial lamb.

Read before your talk!!!

First time commenting, bonario God bless you! After all what dokubo has been spilling out in tabloids den a man jus sayin wat everyone knows dey r goin after! Kmft hypocritical idiots!

Jacob, you entitled to ur opinion, but I may ask if you've read the malam's entire statements bcos I have. I take exception to the sratement that the only option left him and co travellers is to seize power by force. That is part the that I believe DSS find treasonable and inciting. Similar statements were made prior to 2011 elections and we know what happened. However, I believe anyone who incites and exploit our social-religious divide to wreck havoc on others should be arrested where pdp, apc or islamists.

U WILL SOON B ARRESTED & KILLED & NOTHING WILL HAPPEN.

Apologies, I careless if you attended the conf or not. Anyone who says the only way to seize power is by force should be arrested, whether asari or el rufai, by the way what is common between the two?, seen that they are both prone to inciting, hate filled, violence and bigotry statements, go figure it out.

Jacob please don't mislead the vulnerables. Come to the part of the world where I live and make statements remotely close to violence, terrorism, bomb, mass violence and see if dozens of swat teams, fbi and their likes will not descend on you before you had the chance to say Abasi. Rufai was extended an invite but he demanded a warrant, they got him one and he went into fear mode. Anyone who threatens and incites violence should be arrested, whether pdp, apc or buhari.