Photos from Nelson Mandela's funeral | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 15 December 2013

Photos from Nelson Mandela's funeral

Nelson Mandela was buried today December 15th at his ancestral home in Qunu after a four-hour state funeral service this morning which was attended by 5,000 people including Bill Clinton, Oprah Winfrey, Richard Branson and Prince Charles

There was a fly-past and 21-gun salute as his body was lowered into the ground. See more photos after the cut...

218 comments:

1 – 200 of 218   Newer›   Newest»

aunty linlin pls is 15 december not november o... happy sunday ...Estelle

RIP..but 4get dis guy get rep die.. aunty linda I nid d 20k to further my education,living with my uncle and my father is late (dead)..my mum is a teacher..av written jamb 3 times and gotten admission twice..but no money to go further. am 19..I want to read computer science and have create my own blog later in life to be as good as urs..u r in short my role model....I kno ur kind heart will be able 2 give ..I kno 20k wunt do much but any amount is acceptable..I knw u have me on ur mind but don't 4get oo..thanks a lot cuz am already assured.08189962793...wema bank 0229419803..tanx..MAYOWA

Linda U inspire me with ur consistent work

Uh choi linda! Did you enter a time machine? Which one is November 16? Get your date right! RIP Mandela! Which we would one day have a leader like you.

Linda dec 15th...lol I know it's a mistake happy Sunday

hot baby

I won't stop aunty linda till u hear me out..
Yours truly
Mayowa

Linda dec 15th...lol I know it's a mistake happy Sunday

hot baby

Tobs2.10 said...

RIP Madiba!
Sorry, i couldnt make it to the ceremony.
:(

Aunty linda..I won't stop until u hear me out oo..
Yours truly
Mayowa

Gat a ticket to #HarpRhythmUnplugged for sale at a low price. holla 08179032674

juliet said...

May his soul rest in perfect peace. Amen

lawra said...

Rip madiba**sadface** yu will 4eva remain in our hrts

Igor said...

I have been watching the live coverage all morning.I am sure Madiba will be elated with what is happening.May his beautiful soul find rest in the bosom of our lord,Amen.

Aunty linda..if u knw hw many people r refreshin ur blog evry minute..u would be proud of ur achievement
Mayowa

Princess Chinasa Ukaegbu said...

For a man that divorced a wife that suffered with him just to marry another. And they say he was a wonderful and a forgiving man, but he couldn't forgive his wife for whatever reason. Men are terrible.

Rest in perfect peace!!!

Once upon a time, there was a leader. Its unfortunate we have mere opportunist here in Nigerian and dictators masquerading as God's sent. I pray Nigeria get better someday. Amen. RIP Mandela.

May God Grant him Eternal Rest!

Wonder wat she was thinking abt,maybe her wedding arrangements

havilah said...

Whao! Madiba is bless even afta his death.

RIP madiba

RIP our gr8 hero

Obi said...

RIP giant of history!!! i tot they say no camera how did u manage to get ur pics linda?Obi

ruby said...

Gathering of d Who is Who in d society. Rip Mandela...anty Linda Plsss d 20k Wil b enuf to carry out my project. Am a final year student. My no s 08063381518. Lookin 4ward to hearing 4rm u

RIP MANDIBA
samuelohis.blogspot.com

finally

IBK said...

A GreatMan He is and was.....Even the Dog was Calm...

Keep resting Papa Africa

Linda bico help that boy that he said his father is dead. Muyiwa abi wats his name. Don't let God be angry with you o. I was sad when I heard his story cuz I av been in a similar position before

RIP.... GREAT MALDIBA

Tgirl Missperfect said...

Rest in peace great man,u will always be remembered.

GLADYS said...

May his soul rest in peace.lindodo,its December 15 ooooo,not November.

Hey can you stop this "aunty Linda" thing. .. its irritating. . Linda is Linda. Chai!

Final gudbye 2a grt man dat lived in d wrlds annals of history.Btw Linda I cnt find GEJ in d pix.ws he not invited? Lol

Tiana said...

Woaaaa........ Watched it life

RIP MADEBA

Blackberry said...

Ummm..ok mayowa, if u don't hav the money by this weekend, mail me.

Goddy said...

RIP to Mandela!!!

r.i.p madiba

Let him finally RIP,

#GIFTEDhands

Is great to be great.

Is great to be great

15th dec. Meanwhile, as per dat money, I know say u don share am finish . The post dat got d highest comments was when u announced dat u wia giving away 1million naira. D 2nd post was when u reannounced it.and I tink d 3rd post was d rivers state house of assembly fight.

Is great to be great.

Rest on baba Madiba!

Priceless Gold said...

R.I.P great mandela

R.i.p madiba...legend never die##

Khai Ogheneovo Nelson obukowho Mandela my Africa biggest mentor... Migwor.abi na

NiKi Posh said...

Lindiwe November 15 ke?Seems Ɣ☺ΰя pregnancy is taking its toll on you. Try open Ɣ☺ΰя eyes wide and Ŧђɑ̤̥̈̊п̥̥̲̣̣̣k me l8er.

Sammie said...

Aunty Linda its December ooooooo*winks*

Pls am expecting your call for the 20k olamide onabule 08057914601 I will not want to lose my adimission with oou again pls ma

Sammie said...

Aunty Linda its December oooooo *winks*

vincentia said...

Rip mandela,but how can dey bury somebody on sunday?does he attend sabbath?

*star* said...

RIP mandela,I was watchn on tv 2day were a south africa pastor was preachn abt nelson mandela&how he said dis world was given 2 gift first jesus christ&nelson mandela becos he died 4 d ppl.I luv u mandela

Sammie said...

Aunty Linda its December ooooo *winks*

Jane said...

RIP great one. I wish u make heaven so all will be complete.. Linda my love. 20 will do. Tnk uuuuu.#kisses#

Rip madiba

Aunty linda happy sunday pls y are u treating ur own sister like dis nau I was expecting & still expecting ur call to gv me 20k I hv been anticipating ur call to mk my xmas beautiful pls save a soul #ADORA# 07033453250 tanx help me plssss put a smile on my face dis season & u will get an overflow testimony in 2014

Madiba was truly a great man! An epitome of a gud leader. Our leaders suppose to emulate Him if only they r wise enough instead of stealing our money. May we d young ones takes Madiba's footsteps. R.I.P Madiba. Shok

RIP MADIBA.

Realkeni said...

Is like our Aunty is high on rom November 15th lol anyways R.I.P Sir Nelson Mandela...

didi_promcy said...

Madiba z a legend

Linda is it November or December

evelynstan said...

Madam Linda abeg correct ur date today is December 15th not November 15th lol

Pls mayowa dis is nt a begging site. Kilode.leave linda alone joor!

R.ℓ̊.p mandela..4eva in our heart #charming kay..

This is a wonderful piece miam. Other bloggers gave excuses as to y they couldn't upload pictures. Pls I need the xmas 20k to assist me pay for my hostel accommodation. Thanks 08067123055

A man died and the world stood still.....Rest in Peace Madiba. You legacies will live on in our earths.

Rip freedom fighter....

Kweenie:)

RIP Madiba

Janelicious said...

May his soul RIP

All I can say is rest in peace MADIBA, it could hv been better if u wia a 2ru born again christain!

Benydon Ben Carson said...

R.I.p xa

Yess He truly lead by example. Shame to all Nigerian leaders.

GENTLEBABE24 said...

All my life i've neva seen dis type of burial dat attractd pple 4rm all walks of life;anyway he is a gud man. Rest in peace MANDIBA nd PAPA AFRICA!!!

Bill Clinton was not there

Duke Emeka said...

RIP Madiba, Great Leader and an icon of possibilities.

Lady Bim said...

RIP Madiba. May Nigeria be blessed with one of your kind.

All these our politician they should follow his footsteps to make obodo naija beta instead of satisfying there greed. Rip great one mandela

SouthernSoul said...

Great and colourful ceremony for a great man...

15 of december Ms Linda ... Nobody is above mistake tho just thank me with the 20k I really need it badly to complete my lil sis acceptance fee in school ... Here is my acct details if am worth it GTBank 0030336334 Name - Ben Justice afe

sleep on freedom fighter!

Mimi said...

Rest on Madiba.....

Sleep on Tata Madiba...with the 20k I can give my mum 10k for her business and the rest to give my mum and I a different and special christmas semiloreAkins...07039228566

Oga ooo,there cannt b any honour lik dis again,there is only 1 mandela

Jewel say so

Swaggs isimemen said...

My respect 2 mandiba u re d word winner leader among d leaders may ur soul rest in peace nelson mandela in jesus mighty name Amen.

Madam linda, the date should be 15th December....Madiba lives on #Viva_Africa

--SOD--

Rip gr8 man

R.I.P MADIBA GREAT ICON/LEGEND OF AFRICA ALSO TO THE WORLD...Steadyman Say So...

RIP... Papa

Rip hommie..mehn see burial be like weddin nd bday 2geda,see activity..

bravest hrt said...

9ice

kay(Jos) said...

Linda ! You are just too much ! Wait a minutes, how & where did you always get your info ! Well it is quite inspiring. I pray that GOD will give a man that will understand you and take you for whom you are !
Keep it God bless you.

Rest In Perfect peace our Nelson, great man of the people. Nelson my family loves your name

Mandela's corpse get rep pass all living Nigerian leader!!! RIP Madiba.

flikyvicky said...

Rest in Peace

I dnt knw wot to say cos u dnt like posting my commentings & would hv been among d lucky ones _u shared d 1.5m wit but cos u dnt wnt 2 add me on ur blogger,nowahala I will continue 2 be a reader of ur blogger until wen u will change ur mind 2 publish my comment + happy Xmas in advance 4rm ur lovely reader Ogu Chinyere

Rip Mandela. Welldone Linda 4 ll D̶̲̥̅̊ pic

kay(Jos) said...

Can we have someone like MADIBA in Nigeria ?
I don't think So or LIB readers can we ?

Welldone Linda for job done so far.I rarely comment on ur blog but enjoy all info u post.suddenly ur fan base has increased due to d fund u promised for Xmas.As much as i feel d economy of d country has derailed,i still feel unhappy wt d way people r goin abt dis money been promised.Pls fix it in time and lets stop dis embarrasment ur fans r portraying,common dis is social media and foreigners visit dis site also.Kudos 2 SA for a memorable funeral.RIP a great Icon.MADIBA

Lol,bro/sis abeg 20k no go do anything for u concerning ur education....why not just go straight to the point and tell her to find u small bar wey u go use buy some things for xmas....RIP MADIBA

penkified said...

RIP MANDELA.....He is indeed a great man....

A final farewell to africa's greatest son R.I.P Madiba

Nice pics,well done

RIP mandela...we will miss U * crying*

Respect Man

ndabai princess said...

Great man,gone 2 rest! He deserve al he got!! Good night madiba til we meet 2 part no more!! Nigeria leaders I hope u re seeing this*

Rest on madiba......

Further your education with N20k? Hmmmmmm!!!

Rip baba..... But aunty is "dec 15" not "nov 15"

~ALATISHE say so~

No one missed ur absence!

My friend go and ask fashola. Yorubas can beg for Africa.

KoolChica said...

Finally,he is resting in peace.Goodbye Tata....Farewell Madiba

ASA said...

Why they carry him go this deserted area.....dnt they have a state cemetry....btw...rest in peace Mandela..!!!

Rest in peace Madiba.U 'll forever live in our heart and ur legacy will live on.*tears*

rip madiba

Go well my hero my mentor ,, apartheid was wiped away by u tnx so much.

Rest in peace great one.see simple burial.look at the simple car that was used to Conven his body.if its in Nigeria ehhhhhhh! I no fit shout.we have a long way to go.

RIP MADIBA..

Must you comment? Thank God you used the word man, he is a man after all, besides the divorce was could have been for the benefit of the wife and not his! He is not a saint but he is a very good man and that's why the whole world is celebrating him, don't come here with misplaced anger against men and b4 u reply with more venom I am a woman and I just see the world differently. Thank you

U serious @curvy ZO?..thanks 4 d help.
Mayowa

Let's give it up 4 miss *perfect* chinasa. Ur comment is so dumb.

Zuriel.

yes!we will be remembered by what we've done. Even, d bible said it, "our work' has reward rest in the bossom of our Lord.

Fare thee well. The legend becomes one with the soil.

Ogah P said...

May his soul rest in peace

Chinasa, in true Naija woman fashion you have brought something so significant and turned it into something to do with marriage. The man divorced his wife for reasons best known to anyone but both of them/ If you want to know ask Winnie, you hear.

RIP Madiba!!! Guys Omale Joseph is giving out N3m to 100 lucky of his OJB readers like sis linda Oooooooo. I think i have his contact.. Naijanewz@dr.com

RIP Madiba... Omale Joseph is given out the cash gift of N3m to 100 lucky OJB readers like Aunty Linda... Lol!! Copy copy.. Make i go play that game Jere.. His email na Naijanewz@dr.com

Tabitha said...

#crying# may God bless his soul. That is a born leader. A man who lost part of his life for his people. Not Amaechi who goes about saying rubbish, wat about d money he has stolen via Mono rail project. They should start by stoning him. Lindodo how are u?

Mab said...

L its not only MALDIBA

Madam u can forgive someone bt u cnt just see urself with dt person again.
Besides u knw nothing abt dem so jst chill

ZEEPLUS said...

Rest on ,the african hero#crying#

Like say u get money for ticket b4. Abeg park well

celeb-bella said...

African awoo. RIP Mandela

Don Peror Francis said...

So fucking what???........Feeling like Don Jazzy abi?

Starboi Mandela

Rest in peace Madiba

Chinasa, what is your problem with Yoruba people. Do you see it as being funny or what? Personally I think u might have some sort of mental disability. I bet you went to church today and expect that God will answer your prayers with so much hatred in your heart? I pray u dont get beaten up one of these days.can u for once make a reasonable contribution. You appear not to be learned. What are u doing in Lagos? Why dont u just go back to your village!

@Chinasa, ur comment is one of d reasons u will always get dumped . He is Madiba....Not Jesus christ .

@ Chinasa. What do you know about anything? Please go and observe you siesta if u cant say something reasonable about anything. Hater!

Where was Mandela when Gowon was killing ndi Igbo? haven't heard of his role during the Nigerian civil war!

Anony 3:25 Otele gba gi there.

U can help him too... God bless u

Can you just shut your trap for once Chinasa . Must you have a tribalistic comment for every thread? Especially when it is not relevant. Get a life please.

Souljagurl said...

Rest in peace Hero, man of peace and kindness.

@ Chinasa. At least he will be remembered for his contributions towards liberation of his people. What will you be remembered for? You stupid remarks to every issue?

wow... Fly past @ its best, Tnx Lili 4 this news as i did not have the opportunity to watch it.
PS: just release the names of your winners so we can stop seeing the pleas in every other post. BTW, way-2-go aunty Lili, God will continue to bless you for being a helping hand to those in need.

I guess u don't like me dats y u didn't post my last comments,but I can beat my chest that I read ur blog every 20min of everyday,(though I don't usually comment,due 2 fear of insult by others) ,I started this ritual since febuary 2013,and I guess dis is y am qualified 4 d 20k asides dat, I sincerely need it to get a jamb form for my fatherless niece, and as an orphan,I need it to continue my fish business so I can get more money bfr I resume back 2 school on d 6th of january. Forget my chrismas,its not meant for orphans like me. O7039227870,thanks in anticipation aunty.

Rest in peace, Madiba. Such lovely sisterhood between his ex and current wife. Hope it holds forever. I'll bet the funeral has done wonders for South African tourism. It seems a place that many will want to visit, rich in history, culture and beautiful scenery.

Sorry is ur name Estelle or u are wishing me happy Sunday?

Chinasa Ignorance is a disease. Get informed. When he came out, she was seeing someone else (27 years is a long time). He asked to get back with him. But she chose to stay with her current bf. Thank me later for the education.

Lmao.#word

Shut-up! Stupid cock-sucker.

Fianlly!He's at rest...Sleep on Madiba!
Aunty Linda ve received ur calls Twice nw.Am stil waiting on u!God bless u.
chinonye_christian@yahoo.com
Ibuo Ada vivienne.
Ibuo ada vivienne Diamond bank
God bless u.

Pacesetter1 said...

RIP mandela

Ajiifixing said...

Oloriburuku Chinasa Ukaegbu. Check out her comments on this post and understand her life. Frustrated bitch.

Ajiifixing said...

Oloriburuku Chinasa Ukaegbu. Check out her comments on this post and understand her life. Frustrated bitch.

IAmhairs said...

Tata madiba u ll 4ever live in our minds....GOD BLESS U MADIBA , GOD BLESS YOU NIGERIA, GOD BLESS YOU LINDA N GOD ME i

Honest am tired of pple begging here its annoying n am p...ed off! b4 linda offered 2 give d price hw were u faring?Muyuwa n all d BEGGERS out there its enof! Some of u r lieing jst 2 get dat money haba na by force?Muyu someone said contact him so do it n stop dis ass kissing.l wan read comment nt begging n...after metchew.

R.I.p legend Mandiba May ur soul continue 2 rest in bosom of d lord..

Idiot ni e Chinasa. Wats the stupid statement u made? Pray that u don't find urself in Mayowa's shoes someday.

RIP Madiba.....pls their is nothing like "Perfect peace" is either peace or nothing. Rest in peace!

She wrote 15 Dec nt Nov.read it again proof readers.NEXT?

my dear LIBERs, l lost my dear n luvly Senior n still very young to be forgoten soon on 9th December 2013 at her late 30s. Its heart broken but l pray dat God will console my family with peace of mind. May her soul rest in perfect peace. Amen. RIP Madiba.

vampire lestat said...

Rest in peace lion of africa, we will never forget you. Africa will never forget you.

@fase... Na quarrel?!

@cynzoey said...

Sleep on Madiba!!!

Wow... this is grand! Befits a man as great as he was! RIP Madiba.

Cocoz said...

RIP Madiba...you served such an honourable last rites

@Mulikon said...

RIP Madiba..

wemimo said...

Rip Mandela..great man!

Rough Diamond said...

Anayo 1!!!!

So much has been said; so much has also been written since we got the news. Even the media is awash with stories about him. World leaders and even common men like me eulogize him. But one question has been ringing in my ears, “Justice, could you have done what Mandela did if you two swapped positions?” Paraphrase it to say, “Can I do what Madiba did?”
As I pounder over this question, let me in my usual way, put down a tribute in the form of a poem for this icon that flew away in golden wings.

A MAN LIKE NO OTHER

Go forth Madiba
You towering giant of a man
With a voice that stood against oppression
A trailblazer that blazed a trail
Showing tenacity in the midst of adversity
He took upon himself the suffering of humanity
And toiled even in Robbin Island
Where men are stripped of their dignity

Madiba,
You’re not Christ
Yet you acted like the Messiah
Dealing a deadly blow to apartheid
Even when men misunderstood you
You stood alone on the part of Justice
Madiba, oh Madiba!
You were sent on an errand of mercy

Who shall we now brag about?
When Mahatma Gandhi had gone
And the Zik of Africa is no more
Even the voice of Martin Luther goes mute
And injustice stands as strong as the rock of Gibraltar
Dancing with impunity,
Men cringe except Mandela who mended.

A strong man in the clan has gone
A man stronger than poverty and oppression
A man who chose peace in the face of war
A man who forgave in the face of wrongs
A man who showed us the way to peace
A pathfinder and a pace setter
You left a shoe bigger than humanity
And your branches spread across bridges

In Rivonia trial you stood tall
Even in Robbin Island you endured
Having the prison walls come down
You fought in the battle of gladiators
And apartheid came crashing under your feet
Madiba, oh Madiba my man
Your valour and gallantry we all know
Today encomium pours like showers from heaven

Nelson Madiba Mandela,
A man born on the month of Julius Caesar
You lived like Messiah,
Even as Isaiah prophesized
You died on the same month Christ was born
As the world mourn your departure
I pray that your spirit comes upon our leaders
Farewell, Farewell, the great Madiba______ man of peace.

Honouring Mandela is not by writing sweet-sounding words or phrases like I just did. We can only honour Madiba by imbibing what he preached and stood for. In the words of President Obama, "We are all privileged to live in a world touched by his goodness."
God bless Africa!

Rough Diamond said...

Muyiwa we know its u! Nothing for u! Stop fooling ur sef Abeg!

Rough Diamond said...

Dundi united !

Anon 2.55 your grammer can kill readers that's why linda doesn't post ur comments. Try n understand pls.
Anon 2.57 bulls eye.
RIP Mandela, destiny fulfilled.

Its live madam

RIP Madiba. Who can we bury like this in nigeria?certainly nobody...and come to think of it I can't see any aso-ebi in sight,hurrayyyy.

Its live madam

OLORI said...

U are still d same mayowa so stop fooling urself

NennyD said...

Rest in Peace Madiba ....You are indeed a Great man...the Hero is Gone

Why would god be angry with Linda for not helping the guy? What is wrong with you? How many people do u think Linda can help? Ungrateful lot!

Emmanuel Benard said...

RIP madiba.......

A poor unknown boy from a small Qunu village to one of the greatest man in the world, wow! Nothing is impossible, RIP madiba

May gentle soul rest in perfect peace Amen!

Rip madiba ... I sat and passed my ssce 3yrs ago but I've been unable to further my education due to inability to purchase a jamb form ...the twenty thousand will go a long way in buying a jamb form and secure my post utme form ...I really wish to further my education...thanks ma

Chibaby said...

RIP Tata Madiba

nd nw our great madiba is 6feet under...RIP papa

jane said...

Wats it wit u guys sef,dnt u tink its typin error,bizzy bodies talkin rubish.atleast she gives us updates nd we ar impressd wit her work.learn to appreciate nt condem pple's effort pls.

rest in perfect peace giant of africa.luv u

Thank you... I love you so much!!! For this response.

Abeg its LIVE nt Life...olodo

Go and kill ur self, channel ur anger issues towards making ur own life better are u saying u are d only one dat is aware of it, or better still u are better than everyone persons dat attended d ceremony.... Try and achieve wot he did b4 u can start blabbing

Your comment does not make sense, have you even read the history of Mandela and winnie? Abeg park well. BTW I'm a woman.

This is what we call "Hero's past...."

Goddy said...

RIP to Mandela!!!

mike neji said...

Mandela has lived his life and the whole world is praising him for humility and forgiven spirit.This calls for a sober reflections for our leaders.What will they be remembered for when the death will come knocking? Mandela never had a private jet, he didn't prosecute oppositions, he loved the poor much as he loved the rich, he never had a bullet proof car(s) and made south Africans to be proud of their country.
Which of the Nigeria leader(s) will die and you expect the citizens to weep? Non.Our leaders should borrow from the virtues of Mandela.His simplicity is infectious.Mandela didn't die in foreign hospital and neither did he visit Germany, Saudi Arabia or UK for his medical checkups.Reason is because their hospitals are equipped with south Africans money.Why would a Nigerian leader rush to abroad to treat ordinary malaria when every government claimed to be building hospitals.Why can't our hospitals be equipped.
I noticed how Nigeria were relegated to back ground in the order of arrangement during Mandela's burial.The reason is not far fetched, south Africa wouldn't want to recognise our leaders who are so self centered and also lacking the qualities of a good leader.Countries like Tanzania and Malawi were given time to make speech.Even while recognising members of the international communities/diplomatic Corps our dear country wasn't mentioned.As far am concerned I believe it was an intentional act by South African government to let our leaders know that corruption can't take them any where.Moreno why Nigeria be recognised when we don't have good foreign policy.just recently the president of Liberia was thanking united state for helping in resolving the civil war that they had.Nigeria was excluded.
Is it not time that our leaders should look inwards and put their house in order and stop this idea of primitive accumulation of wealth.From Abia state to zamfara tthrough the presidency, the story is these...corruption.You may enrich your self/generations but one day the debt collector(death) will come and their won't be any hiding place.Neither will committee be set up the question the debt collector.Vanity upon vanity is vanity. REST IN PEACE MADIBA.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 218   Newer› Newest»