Photo: The effect of doctors' strike | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 December 2013

Photo: The effect of doctors' strike

A patient being evacuated from the National Hospital, Abuja by her relations as a result of the on-going doctors' strike.

139 comments:

I am sorry but there is no excuse for what these doctors have done. No excuse whatsoever. You mean they will stay home this Christmas season eating rice happily ?... Unbelievable , a noble profession being turned into rubbish. Come and try that in a developed country and see how you will immediately get struck off the medial practice .... Rubbish... There should have at least been a skeletal service with maybe 60% of doctors still working. In fact I am short of words

Lady Stelusy said...

Na wa o, when will all this strike end, God help us in this god forsaken country.

Nikapetrelli said...

Datz wat it will be.Since strike is d only language understood in dis country

as doctors forgotten d oath dey took to save lives @ all cost

What a pity. Lord pls heal Nigeria amen. Bt can we find a better way of approach rather than strike? The truth is, its da poor that still suffers.

captain jack said...

That's so bad!!!!!! Sad

Lord guide our leaders right. Issues like this bothers me a lot,many lives will be lost bcos not everyone can afford the private hospital coupled with d fact that most of them don't have d necceSsay equipment and manpower which make them refer patients to government hospitals. God these pple needs Your almighty touch.

Eyah! The Lord is her strength, God please heal her in Jesus name Amen!!!

Phaeton Phoenix said...

What else can we say but God help Nigeria loooool.

No name said...

It's doctors time to strike now... Nigeria my country!!!

B4... i once hd a patient scheduled for surgery d last tym we went on strike, dis baba made d mistake of a lifetym trying to wait for d strike ...his matter entered 1 chance..n he said his pocket status made him nt seek oda options
may God help us

MARKET MONITOR said...

Stupid associations from asuu strike to doctors strike. Crazy freaks!

wtf?see girl “breastfeeding” her boyfriend inside public pool.[pic]

dollyjossycakes said...

Pls govt of nija,give dese doctors wat dey want ooo,pple are dying nd I pray more should nt die

My God!! whats wrong wit this country

Why now? This xmas season when everybody should be happy. Doctors are vital, pls govt ans them o.

God have mercy on Nigeria revive this nation cure this country of every locust,canker worms and caterpillar leaders in Jesus Name Amen.

So bad

What a country. Kensport

zaayyy said...

Abi now, when dey don't want her to die... And all these stupid private hospitals that aren't even well equiped are too expensive... Naija is jst a fucked up country

May God help us in this country oooooo!

That is wot Doctors want to hear.
The Head of Administration always back them that is why the see themselves as god.
Doctors do nothing in most Nigeria Hospitals, most of the work is done by other Medical/Health professional.
"Know it all syndrome" #lol
Doctors my foot

okiki said...

All Nigeria needs is God

Fammie said...

Please let this issue be resolved, is not gonna look pretty at all this festive period as high casualties are usually recorded around this time?

Scientists develop an app that can monitor cholesterol level

Wrong time to be sick! May God heal them.

Timothy said...

N̲̅A̲̅W̲̅A̲̅ ̲̅O̲̅ ̲̅N̲̅I̲̅G̲̅E̲̅R̲̅I̲̅A̲̅ ̲̅W̲̅E̲̅R̲̅E̲̅ ̲̅A̲̅R̲̅E̲̅ ̲̅W̲̅E̲̅ ̲̅H̲̅E̲̅A̲̅D̲̅I̲̅N̲̅G̲̅ ̲̅T̲̅O̲̅,̲̅E̲̅V̲̅E̲̅N̲̅ ̲̅D̲̅O̲̅C̲̅T̲̅O̲̅R̲̅S̲̅ ̲̅M̲̅A̲̅ ̲̅D̲̅E̲̅Y̲̅ ̲̅G̲̅O̲̅ ̲̅S̲̅T̲̅R̲̅I̲̅K̲̅E̲̅

This is bad.
Thing is: 'He who goes to bed with an itching anus, wakes up with smelly fingers'. Okeoma says so.

Shebi them say na "warning strike"? Why is there are there no doctor in the hospital to take care of the sick and patient? Some times we the people "the masses" are the problem ourselves not the government. Since it still a warning strike I don't expect this. *ThatFunctionGuy*

ifitush said...

Wicked Government .....

IFIOK so on POINT

The regime of GEJ is nothing but a major disgrace. After coming out of one strike another one starts,hope gullible nigerians wld look beyond tribe dis time and vote a more credible candidate. Like iyabo said ur leaders r a reflection of u d citizens. Pls use ur brains and vote well coming 2015.

meandoc said...

@ anon 6.39, calling doctors know it all syndrome! If other health workers are d important pple in d hospital, y r patients leaving! U sound like a dumb bitter paramedic, treat the patients pls, aftall you don't need the doctors #dumbquack#

Maryjane Oprah said...

I always pray for our country..but it seems like the more I pray,the more complicated it becomes...God please help us in this country of ours...ASUU calls off strike,Doctors began their own...

At Anonymous #1 you're crazy!!! You too go and work their job and don't get paid. Nonsense. freaking double standards! oath my ass! like you all can take that nonsense. The oath said do no arm to your patient, not work without pay. That's why the medical practice in that country is substandard but yet you raise millions to go get service in other countries. 3rd world metality oshi.

I completely agree with you. I don't understand why Doctors will embark on this.
Doctors on strike, it doesn't even sound right almost like saying journalists are on strike. Its inane

People of Nigeria.. instead of you to go cry to the government to give this people what they deserve, you're abusing the poor doctors that have suffered blood and sacrificed their whole youth!!! this is the problem with nigeria. If it is that easy, and it's all about an oath.. You should all go back and become doctors then.

and the stupid people saying the oath to save lives at all cost. which oath are you talking about.

This is the Oath!!!
To consider dear to me, as my parents, him who taught me this art; to live in common with him and, if necessary, to share my goods with him; To look upon his children as my own brothers, to teach them this art; and that by my teaching, I will impart a knowledge of this art to my own sons, and to my teacher's sons, and to disciples bound by an indenture and oath according to the medical laws, and no others.

I will prescribe regimens for the good of my patients according to my ability and my judgment and never do harm to anyone.

I will give no deadly medicine to any one if asked, nor suggest any such counsel; and similarly I will not give a woman a pessary to cause an abortion.

But I will preserve the purity of my life and my arts.

I will not cut for stone, even for patients in whom the disease is manifest; I will leave this operation to be performed by practitioners, specialists in this art.

In every house where I come I will enter only for the good of my patients, keeping myself far from all intentional ill-doing and all seduction and especially from the pleasures of love with women or men, be they free or slaves.

All that may come to my knowledge in the exercise of my profession or in daily commerce with men, which ought not to be spread abroad, I will keep secret and will never reveal.

If I keep this oath faithfully, may I enjoy my life and practise my art, respected by all humanity and in all times; but if I swerve from it or violate it, may the reverse be my life.

For you to collect anything from the Fed Gov't, it's either you strike like university teachers by refusing to work or you strike like the Under -17 Golden eaglets by scoring goals and winning tournaments cos 'strike' seems to be the only language the Fed Gov't understands. I just hope the Medical practitioners will be both tolerant and considerate for the sake of the sick and accident victims especially during the yuletide.

In most developed countries doctors are not permitted to go on strike however they are at least paid. God help naija, only in Nigeria will doctors be expected to work with no pay while the politicians engorge themselves with nigeria's money. They can't be bothered to implement a health care service that benefits the masses and actually exists. But instead the facilities are poor in government hospitals, doctors expected to work in such depleted circumstances. No wonder doctors are fed up and striking.

First I must warn Linda not to eat dis comment as she always does to me. Second, Anon 5:38, I want to answer u plainly and truthfully. Some of the doctors can't actually afford a feast of rice and goat meat and chicken and wine as u ignorantly think, some of them are also sick, yes sick with worry of January school fees, what a consultant earns here is what a ward nursing assistant earns in ur so called developed world yet they are not as diligent as ours, even in private hospitals! It is not asking for too much when one works and asks for a decent piece of meal. I am a Nigerian woman, living in ur so called developed world and married to a medical doctor, I have my fair share of testing of both waters and I tell u honestly, you are attacking the wrong person! Talk to ur Govt. Not the doctors, they too are 'sick' and needs govt healing

A developed country will not watch its health sector degenerate,its doctors underpaid and overworked,and its leaders running abroad to treat hiccups.when the life of Nigerians are worthless to the Government and you expect Doctors to work "miracles" despite the gross negligence.Anyway Myopic Imbecile and drop-outs like you don't know doctors are humans too.

Can you just imagine????

Mtchewww!

Is there hope for this country? Seriously! Is there????

In d dev.country u jst tuked abt,docs r paid v well.u won't even have a reason nt 2 work. At tymes u don't get 2 have plaster or d least instrument in our hospitals... D govt shldnt play wif Docs. I was able 2 sleep 4 only 4hrs per nite in med. Skool b/c competition waz high,so after al dz sufferings,ild b paid peanuts? Pls pay me well n ill do my work 2 d fullest.meanwhile its a warning strike...so kindly get ur facts right. Cheers Hun

Oponu,stop advertising your moronic blog here again.Get educated and intellectuals will visit.Idiot!!!

TEEDEE said...

I find it very heart breaking when doctors go on strike, agreed you have every right to demand for your wages, but then again you have taken an oath to save lives, and seriously going on strike is clearly not the best. Please dear government answer them, cause a lot of innocent people will suffer for nothing. God bless Nigeria my country. I still believe one day we will get it right.

A colleague of mine recently lost her child because of the strike at a Federal hospital and hers is one of a thousand stories. A sorry thing to happen in the most populous black nation.

Take oath go buy oat for market na......

The strike is not necessary.Nigerians are the problem nigeria is facing now.Everyone want to fill up his or her pockets at the detriment of the poor. Even when the money is given to them to improve the health sector they embezzle and equip their private hospitals.let's be realistic here,doctors are well paid irrespective of the fact that there is high negligence to their duties and malpractices.May God help us all.I pray God heals the sick especially during this period,he is still the great healer.

Since they are on strike now, the people you claim that does the work in the hospitals should start doing the work. Unnecessary beef.

Uloma said...

It doesn't change anytin... D govt are d crazy ones here!

Uloma said...

Awww... I cn see u r pained. Kpele buh d strike continues,dnt worry ehn, its jst a 5day warning strike....
If we r as useless as u say. Why una dey lament na! Hahahhahhahhhhaaa

Uloma said...

Wonderful respond to a stupid comment! I like u!

Fuck your opinion said...

Room for private hospitals to make more money. Its not fair tho.

Uloma said...

Please tell dem ooooo! Selfish pple!

Golda Awosika said...

Wat wil eyes nt see in nigeria we country #*karlishah*

Uloma said...

Am sure they mentioned work witout pay somewhr.... Rubbish! Pls let's fight for our future! A better future!

The major reason why the doctors are on strike selfish and out of jealousy of other medical workers. Imagine going on strike because the national industrial court ruled that other health workers should continue skipping from step 10 to step 12. That is why they are on strike, for the NIC to reverse the judgement as if it affects them in any way. This is pure jealousy strike! Ask them what they are agitating for? Its not as if poor funding of the health sector affects them alone. It affects everybody in the medical team, from the nurses down to the othe team members, yet they are still working especially this xmas period.when others went on strike, they called them names and urged their members to remain on duty when they knew well they could not do a thing in the hospital. Now the table has turned and they want public sympathy by posting pictures here and there. Please, other health care teams are working including the consultants, so the effect is not greatly felt, only the work load has increased for others.

U must b thinking with ur armpit! We swore oath means dt we shld work free abi or with substandard fascilities or under deplorable conditions for both patients n doctors. D skeletal fascilities ur looking for private practice neva do abi na all of dem cost. Some people wld c strike, they wldnt even ask for wt is been demanded n they wld b yarning dust....dis place b like developed country ...hw we wan take develop if gvt ignores us n goes abroad wen de r ill...olodo
linda pls post my comment!

U and who took that oat? That's not what we took as hippocratus oat. Doc Dman

I am so happy pple in d medical profession aren't replyin dese nicompoops(sarah pius and anonymus 5:38...u sit down derd and open ur God forsaken mouths...suilence is d best answer for peeps like u and linda,u sef! If u like dnt post my comment

pwitie B said...

Plss they shud resolve it ASAP

Pls remind them...*sad face*
#Dat angry sister!

Chi-Chi said...

NMA threatened to go on strike should FG accept the demands of JOHESU after they won the court case, now they are on strike purely out of selfishness. They want people to feel the effect by going on strike yuletide period and immediately after ASUU called off theirs, and this is a pure sign of wickedness. This strike is not about salary! as somebody said the can't work without payment. Ask them what it is all about and you all will be surprised. The leadership of NMA have lost focus and everything is now about politics. Most doctors don't even know the reason for the strike and some who know are disappointed. When JOHESU went on strike, they directed only their members in federal hosps to reduce the hardship on the masses but this NMA directed both federal and state hospitals which is babaric. Though the FG is not serious about the health sector, but the individuals should do their own part first. This is really pathetic. NMA is seriously loosing public sympathy and it is really a shame

doctors have no right to emback on this strike, its just inhuman no matter what the reasons are... I dint knw doctors to be cruel

Mimi said...

@Phaeton, am wondering why you are laughing out loud. I hope you know what lol means???

Lord please stretch forth your healing hands upon anyone lying sick in any hospital and without help in Jesus name, amen.

Mimi said...

@Anon6:05 fear God oh!!!

Bold Kid said...

This is jez pathetic mehn! Smh

These are some of the reasons why I feel the Military regime was kinda better.....I hope they call off there strike sha, so as to save the ill-ones...

dr S said...

If you are so unenlightened you don't need to expose yourself publicly. Have you been to teaching hospitals to see how Drs slave away and risk their lives for the peanuts they are paid. No developed country would pay or treat their Drs for the sacrifices they make like this country does. In Nigeria, Drs don't have a life in teaching hospitals so don't make statements you know nothing about.

ginagat said...

God will heal dem.

Anon 7.21, I did not insult anybody. So you insult ie crazy is definately for your head and your head only. Pray you do not have a close relative who is seriously sick and needs help from a government hospital with no doctors. Then you will smell poo..... I maintain there should at least be a skeletal service for Emmergency cases..,, wake up and talk like a literate person. You are just rambling..., what of the millions that may end up.... Because they cannot afford private care? Infancy I just feel tired. You do not do this in the medical profession... You just do not

Alll we al nid is prayer....

dr S said...

Before you type stuff or open your mouth to say things, make enquiries, research, don't be so narrow minded and limit yourself to LIB. Find out why Drs are on strike. It's not for increment, it's being sidelined by the government while other civil servants are favored. I won't go into detail cos you have a brain, fingers and eyes and can check it up on Google. And FYI the oath we took which was declared by Hippocrates, the father of Medicine was made with the condition that the society would give him his due and good things of life, again Google it and educate yourself. Imagine a Dr not being paid his salary for 3 mths and being the sole provider in his home, using his car to transport passengers for money. Where in any developed country do you see that? Like I said, I won't go into details with examples, just take a day off and spend it in a teaching hospital then you'll not only ask Drs to strike, you'll beg them to protest for the inhumane conditions they are subjected to. Cheers

Another Idiot with Mental Retardation.

See me for IQ test

Doctor pls return bck to ur duty, remember ur service is aa humanitarian one. God bless all of u.
4rm Gnomic Pretex

Blackberry said...

This anon u mumu like muntula o.

Blackberry said...

Even if they are underpaid? Even if no good facilities? To study MED na free? Just close ur mouth

You are the one insane speaking like dat about doctors. Are our needs not supposed to be met by the government? Mstcheeew

If u don't know shit just shut that gutter u call a mouth @doctors do nothing.
y don't u wear a white coat and do the work.

In developed countries, doctors, nurses, fire fighters, police men n women, emergency services are classified as 'essential services', so dey can NEVER go on strike...at least here in canada...having said that, they are well paid and treated with the highest level of respect and dignity...so much so that pple dream of becoming policemen n fire fighters...they save pples lives, u can bring a dead man back to life..even as d govt consider the doctor's families, Doctors shld consider another line of action...like someone suggested skeletal service but not all going on strike....

Loisy said...

If you aint a dr just shut it and recognize you don't have all the details. I'm tired of people just be conDeming Drs! And yes, I AM A DR! Shoot me!

Jewel said...

She should be taken,for treatment, to the german hospital where patience Jonathan have been receiving treatment.

Loisy said...

Thanks s lot anonymous 7.25. People should really just shut it and give Dr s a break! Remember you don't have all the details. And what oath are you guys talking bout? You don't even know what it says! And yes! I'M A DR! SHOOT ME!

Loisy said...

Thanks É‘̤̥̈̊ lot anonylous 7.27.. Let them see what's in the oath they keep referring to- surely almost all of them don't even know what it says! I'm soo tired of hearing drs condemned! You guys should just shut it! You don't even have half of the details! And ​​Ɣε̲̣̣̣̥§! I AM A DR! Shoot M̶̲̥̅ε̲̣̣̣̥ now!

Jona do sumtin quick. Doctors joy done lost. @ Zenki brown

Loisy said...

I feel sorry for you.. Your bad english is most likely why you couldn't get into med school, and you still can't respect those who speak and work well. Kpele o hater! Mtchew!

Pls doctors u pple shld ve mercy on those in d hostpitals 4 d sake of God almight,Asumin ur mum,wife,husand,children r sick won't u pple treat dem?

Dis is too bad... May God help her.

This regime has recorded an unprecedented number of strike actions by several union bodies. When the issues come up, we usually find out that the government did not live up to an earlier agreed deal. This government is insincere and I guess these guys know that so l kinda don't blame them but I think emergency services should still go on.

Y r u this pained by doctors?guess ur a failed one.pele

TegBaby said...

Oga ooo! Another strike? Hmmmm help Nigeria Lord plss

Anon 6.39 u are ignorant, only if u have the faintest idea of what it takes to be a doctor and all the years of training that goes into making one,yes they've got to be proud cos it ain't easy and they are worth their salt a lot of trash is happening in the health sector that they've continually complained about but the government has continually ignored them remember this strike has been postponed on two occasions all out of the good will of nigerian doctors who are receiving meagre sums of money for the services they render.u obviously desperately wanted to be a doctor but circumstances probably prevented u that is not an excuse for castigating such a humble and respected profession.let's pray the federal government does something concrete about this problem in order to forestall future occurrence which will have far reaching and damning effect for the poor masses

God will see Us through all these trying times

Very inhuman. My God wht are we turning to. Vampires I guess. PH Girl.

@DejiMD said...

A reasonable LIBer will sense grudge
& personal hatred in ur comment wch does not relate to the subject matter (content =0/10). It's either you work under a doctor or you tried getting admission to read the course but ur JAMB score or brain failed u. Why don't u work hard in ur area of specialization. Pray to God to allow ur child to be one if u are that interested (if not as dull as h are) & stop pulling down others.

See dis one talking. Anyway, next time u re sick or ur family members re sick, go see a nurse or a lab technician.

NK said...

Most of them ve private hospitals so it won't boader them @ all. I pitty those who can nt afford 2 pay in private hospitals. God will see us 2ru

God Bless you Meandoc and Anon 7:21 . People think they know what goes on in the Doctor's life, but they have no clue. Sad really if the people of this country are talking about doctors like this, how would the govt listen to them. Smh. Anyway since strike is the only langage the Government understands , then strike it is .

The elephant in the room is the jumbo pay of the NASS members. ASUU was the beginning. Every sector wants their share of the national booty. Took them this long to figure out.
The docs were just waiting to see how successful ASUU will be.
Until we put the legislators salary on the table, this will continue.

Sandicious Sandy said...

Oh my God! I hope they consider the lives of people and change their decision. I hope private Drs are working?

OMG!am sad,but they swore to save lives,this is a deadly strike... Apinex

NkT said...

It is well.

No comment.#JC

The problem wit Nigeria is not all abt d leaders but also the people being led.Has any of u bothered to find out d reason for d doctor's strike?do u guys even care abt wat it's abt?.With ignorance pple like anon no 1 ll wake up n utter crap cos of ignorance.So cos docs took oath their families shud die of poverty?.u cannot compare the salaries of docs in Naija to dat of other docs in other parts of Africa not to talk of abroad.How can docs be paid hazard fee of 5k n lecturers hazard fee of 30k?wat hazards do lecturers face? R dey exposed to d communicable dxs we see everyday? R dey exposed to HIV or hepatitis?r dey exposed to pxs wit Open Tb etc. U all shud sit down n really find out wat d strike is all about b4 u cast stones.do u know for how long dey have been negotiating wit d govt but to no avail?Ignorance is no excuse to insult pple.also docs don't claim to know it all which is why medicine is a continous process.after 6+n yrs in med school,u do housejob or internship,NYSC n bak to residency program which is another 6yrs.pls know d true facts b4 u utter nonsence all cos u have freedom of speech

Linda Ikeji, I believe wat u shud do is to find out d reason for d strike cos it seems u r also criticising d docs.not everyone can afford private hospitals like u.

Dee Tee said...

Why the strike at this period? Hen... Who are those using government hospital?

@DejiMD,tell am.Jealousy is a bad thing

@DejiMD,tell am.Jealousy is a bad thing.

@ano 5:38 ure very stupid 4 dis comment, so cos dey are doctors dey shldnt feed? Y dnt dey pay dem? And dir are private hospitals so let dem take dir sick dir! Doctors are humans too n also av families of dir own, PAY THEM!

Linda I guess my response to anon 1 didn't get verified but I will write again despite my old resolve not to comment again here.

U see, it's only lack of knowledge that will make one keep comparing urself with others when u haven't tested their own waters. Igbos avers that "onye ruo ukwu akwu, o mara ihe ichara". Medical practice else where isn't better than in Nigeria! The Nigerian doctor strive to use d almost non existing resources to treat but d other countries being cited are provided for till their teeth drops yet they are lazy! A consultant in Nigeria receives same salary with a ward assisting nurse in Europe or US. Y won't dey go on strike when most if them are worried sick of how to meet January school fees payment for their kids? Nigerians, Doctors are sick too! Plz talk to ur leaders not the doctors.

If u dnt knw wat ure sayin den dnt say it. Dey pay dem well, not hir dt dey expect doctors 2 work witout payin dem!

@ano 5:38 ure very stupid 4 dis comment, so cos dey are doctors dey shldnt feed? Y dnt dey pay dem? And dir are private hospitals so let dem take dir sick dir! Doctors are humans too n also av families of dir own, PAY THEM!

Gud one@any 8:9pm,pls ar u for real?????which work ar u doin witout d docs??well am nt sure if u ve been 2 a TH b4,stupid comment frm a stupid paramedic.....pls stop trying so hard or jelousing dem,u guyz aint in a competing

Abeg this docs deserve evrytin cos their cos isn't an easy one,it deprives u a lot of tinz even holidays lik xmas,easter,summer,shows,pleasure.so pls I don't lik seeing dem cry or beg 4 wat belong 2 dem....they deserve d best.dey need 2 b respected esp in dis naija .I pray d sick get well nd d govrment hav mercy 4 ur pple dat cnt affored private hospital...........amen

The value of this country is jes depreciating daily...smh

Owa ga bayi ooo

i dnt care what anyone think but there re people who shudnt have strike as option.. if am in authority, any doctor abt to be employ will sign no strike agreement for me so dat if u ever do u get sacked the next day.. many civil servant in ministries dont earn half of what this people earn yet they keep complainig..... and somebody is sying he sleep only 2hours every night while in medical school only to be paid peanut... did sumone force u to study medicine??? u no see igbo languge go study... u no get juatification.... people do nt hv to die becos u wnt a raise

This Strike is because they dont want Lab Scientists, Nurses and other allied health fields to be directors in their own field!. this is just self serving...i wonder why this govt still condones a group of proud folks on an ego trip to hold the health of this country to ransome. its sad.!!!. an oath was taken by these mfs to save lives first. all they care abt is their pockects and egos. if they feel they are not well compensated... they should go to some other place andd get better compensation... why would a doctor fight others that work with him for the benefit of the patient?. why!!!. every little thing, they want to strike...and yet they have private clinics thaat corner these same pple that govt hospitals have forcefully discharged!. too bad. i pray for the sick to be healed!,. Amen!

Linda,pls pls try to get full/complete info before u put up stories as sensitive as this.A lot of Drs cannot afford to give their families a happy christmas!Why shld i be punished after spending so many yrs in school wit hard Labor?We r not the big bad wolf guys,the Govt is!

Chei ya ur jamb score no allow u do medicine abi?suck it up darling,Drs are here to stay...nd derez absolutely NOTHING u can do about it.Ndoh!

Was going to say the exact thing!pained paramedic!go do the work na as na una dey do ALL the work! Ignoramus.com

You do not do dis in the medical profession?and u wld knw becos u are....?pls honey speak bout this u know about ok?

Oh God i'm loving u guys today!was going to post this Oath myself cos most pple going on about it dnt knw anything about its content!

Speak bout wat u know and stop spinning conspiracies dear

No consultants are at work dear paramedic,stop deceiving the public.when nurses n others went on strike cos dey wanted to become hospital CMDs and 'consultants' (laughable),doctors were at work and y'all know ur services were well covered by us.No dey deceive the public abeg,nurses r not saints either

Oh dear paramedic,is dat u?save the speeches nne,u guys r not better and even the public knows it

Ignorant fella!u probably studied english language in school...dats if ure not still in school!mscheww!

Bowale said...

It's funny that a lot of people think the doctors are the bad ones here, whereas, if you have been to a hospital where because of ONLY ''your'' relative, the doctor would not sleep throughout the night, you will understand their plight, they work around dangerous equipments dealing with diseases you and I have only heard of..... Please cut them some slack, let them fight for better work and living standards.

Anon 7.36 mrs married to a doctor, anon 10.39 miss people should go to private hospitals, anon 7.40 miss or mr imbecile and drop out... You lot need to get your thinking changed big time. First if all I reject all your insults and they have bounced back to you all a hundred fold. I do not use foul language no matter what. That would be too low. Secondly I said there should be a skeletal service in place for emergencies. Would you all rather have people die like chickens? How sad you all are. Not everyone can afford private care and private care is not usually the best anyways. You just do not bring to halt services for the masses and the poor and have them die just like that. And for your information, I lost my dearest relative in one of these government hospitals, we knew he may die however if the so called doctors even put a smile on their faces and showed abit of concern not wanting to get 2000 naira of us, it would have helped relieve the pain abit. A consultant even dropped someone's case notes and walked off with the student doctors after seeing another patient. I had to go and pick the notes and rush over to them. You should have seen the look the consultant gave me.... Meanwhile the student doctors were texting.... They are not all bad but long and short of it is you took an oat to care. I pray the govt pay you your dues. And I pray you change you attitudes towards humans.

Anon 7.10 I think you should start praying hard that you do not loose someone dear to you in this situation you so dearly support... I feel sorry for you and your mentality

And you are a lousy arrogant doctor as well

Anon 8.42,wnt dignify ur comment with an answer...

Anon 10.42,i really think its ur mentality dat needs help here;again i say,speak only of things ure informed about

Mcheww... If you haven't spent 6 years of your life in medical school (minus assu strike o) only to graduate and be underpaid by the government then don't talk abegi. Sometimes doctors even use their cars and money to support and help patients themselves while they have families to feed at home.. Its bad enough that they come home late at night and barely have any family time, now they're not even getting paid for it on top. You don't understand what doctors go through here in Nigeria, to watch your patients die not because they can't be saved but cos you don't have any means or facilities to save them. and concerning the 2000naira matter its a govt hospital not a charity organization, if you treat a patient without billing them the money goes out of your already menial salary, and considering the rate of poverty in Nigeria ..imagine giving out 2000 naira to about 50 patients a. Month, how would you live? . You don't understand what doctors realy go tru, u can only sit behind your laptop and comment, I've lived with a doctor for 17 years so I know what it is they're fighting for..but even upon this strike patients come to our house and still he consults and prescribes drugs for them for free. Some doctors are still on call for emergency cases sef..abeggi just chill if you dunno what to say.. You're attacking the wrong ppl, face your government!
-amakalette

@amakalette,well spoken.its amazing how the same patients Drs fight to save,assist with hospital bills and lose valuable family and sleeptime over do not hesitate to attack nd judge us witout all d facts.Sad...

What are these dense doctors saying,from all indications u are all bloody houseofficers,that barely know the difference btwn a syringe and an IV cannula..Anybody that works in a hospital,or has been a patient in a one,will rightly tell you that nurses strike have a greater effect on the patients,and d hospital as a whole.There's usually a total shutdown,I mean no single patients on the wards or at most one serious case that probbly refused to go, but wen doctors are on strike, u can still see up to 9 ore more patients on the ward even tho they might have been discharged,they don't leave, becos they still have nurses attending to them!

The 2 'anonyMOUSES' that replied,u both actually sound like retards,from terrible spellings to wrong use of punctuations and tenses, and to think that u are what our universities churn out as graduates of medicine. Pathetic!

What are these dense doctors saying,from all indications u are all bloody houseofficers,that barely know the difference btwn a syringe and an IV cannula..Anybody that works in a hospital,or has been a patient in a one,will rightly tell you that nurses strike have a greater effect on the patients,and d hospital as a whole.There's usually a total shutdown,I mean no single patients on the wards or at most one serious case that probbly refused to go, but wen doctors are on strike, u can still see up to 9 ore more patients on the ward even tho they might have been discharged,they don't leave, becos they still have nurses attending to them!

'nurse eliza' and mr spelling check,are u guys still on this?the strike ure fighting over has bin called off ages ago!Get off dis thread already!social media gives ignorant pple so much opportunities to express their ignoramus!

Hotel house call said...

I am so sad to read about this incident. I am also a doctor and I hate such activities of doctors which effects other people badly.