Too sexy for a gospel album cover? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 December 2013

Too sexy for a gospel album cover?

Religious groups have been criticizing Mary Mary's Erica Campbell's new album cover, saying her dress is too tight and she's showing off too much curves on a gospel album cover. They think she should have toned it down a little. Erica is going solo after leaving Mary Mary.

What do you think of her album look, appropriate or a bit too much?

324 comments:

1 – 200 of 324   Newer›   Newest»

Too much!

Nneka said...

Very ok. Na dis one they see talk. They no see Maheda oooo. Na pesin wey wear full clothe. Mtchwww

Not bad to me

Kevwe said...

As a gospel singer, you should do things that will glorify God. But that dress ain't doing so.

Say wat? Is she plannin on bringin peeps 2christ by 1st makin dem commit lustful sin? Lol its way too sexy girl

First to comment

Sajuwa Abimbola said...

Not bad at all..

Kevwe said...

As a gospel singer, you should do things that will glorify God. But that dress ain't doing so.

If person no tell am,she no no.....mtcheeeeew.

LYDIA

Omoba News Media said...

hahahaha we like am like that ohhh
http://www.omobar.blogspot.com

wht is too sexy here?nice one joor.

She has hips sha... Yes its too sexy SEXY LIKE NICKI MINAJ

I wish her all the luck in d world.

ifitush said...

holy marry!!!!! If she sing like d 4 church na comfussion be DAT oh...

IFIOK so on POINT

I personally picked out that dress 4 her, so its cool.

Gospel sex appeal.. Its orai

I think its quite sexy, no offense. Just my opinion

I don't see any thing wrong with what she is wearing.

Abeeg mek dem free de babe joor............. 4 me its ☺ķªª¥

Awele said...

Criticizing her ke? What for? That's been hypocritical, she's decently dressed for heavens sake! Our God is rich in everything and never shabby looking God, I will bless u according to my riches in glory means what? Abegi

I don't see any thing wrong with what she is wearing.

I think its quite sexy, no offense. Just my opinion

FOR A GOSPEL COVER? HABA, DS IT TOO MUCH NAAA. WHO KNOWS, MAY B SHE HAS ANOTHER MESSAGE SHE IS PASSING OUT. ANYTIN CAN HAPN OOOO, LOL

She looks very very very pretty wowwwww..... So she gat these all along? Show them baby...#lovethemcurves#

There is nothing wrong with that outfit.... furthermore the good Lord looks at the HEART of man

yes , she is putting on a guiseppe sandals and ive never heard her giving to charity !

Oyismama said...

Lindiski, why you dey even ask sef? Can't you see how revealing this outfit is? If you wan do gospel, go all the way and stop putting ideas for men (and even women) them mind jare!!!!!

Not too bad

Shadrach said...

I agree with them on this... She for don wear jalamia or A shape skirt to look more Christian... hehehe

Blackberry said...

Perfect cover..no nudity...it can only look bad in ur eyes if u r a hypocrite from hell.

na wa oh wel she try

Fuck your opinion said...

Do de attend Deeper life? She is all covered up. Or she for tie IRo and BuBa? Or dress like Princess Njideka?

aunty lin, see her figure 8...
i think dey re right..she really nid to tone it down a little...

well...anyone can think what they want but i think it's not offensive. J C

At least she cover all her body,not bad

dhobiz said...

I concur

Omar Sonyes said...

Hian!! Oh! Nsogbu! I see nofin wrong wif wat shez wearing, people wear dis kinda cloth 2 church. Sm people claim 2 b born again buh deep dwn, dey ar worse Dan a devil him self. Biko! Free her joor

Naijaclickguru said...

Thats her own paradigm shife. http://www.naijaclickguru.blogspot.com

kiki said...

She looks good for a mum of 4kids.as for inappropriate,its really for God to judge.

I think her outfit is Okay... Afterall... It didn't show any part of her body... Bin a Gospel artiste doesn't mean she can't wear outfits that shows her shape!

Ann Marie said...

Way too much. this world is turning into something else, Christians are now being compared to maheeda

The babe gather..

FMH said...

All I see is hotness!

Its indeed too much , d cover is indeed distracting the focus which should be on God is lost.

Notin is wrong wit it. Her body is all coverd up.#JC

Appropriate......pretty cool...

havilah said...

Dats true. But moi likey

God, made her dat way..plus she covered her body well, dot think its bad though..(my view)

so called organizations n dier criticism.... buh shes hot !!!!!

Its appropriate joor bt y is she going solo?@ AMAKS

I don't c anyfin wrong in dis outfit,it shows how much Christians pretend.

I don't agree. For me she isdecent 4rm head to toe cos i don't see any skin showing. There is no such thing as too sexy. Having curves or being straight is nobody fault except nature----C21

Olufunmi Akindele said...

its ok na..... she's covered up. tight yes! but not bad.

Mehn..see gobe, it makes no sense..GOSPLE?..Abegi her dress is too tight..see shape..She looks attractive all the same..post my comments..

Beautiful say so

I c nothing wrng wt wat she's wearing,its not exposing any part of er body na. Abi shuld she wear jalamia?

Wit dis cover....baba leave it. 2 million copies 1st week of relase

there's nothng wrong with it. She is human and a woman after all. Do people expect her to wear sultana ni? People and their expectations sha

Joe said...

My Dear even if those chicks goes on a regalia that floats over like a religious gown, with a Ninja like Head cover 'who go fall go fall'.....It takes a regenerated mind to say NO to sin, It goes beyond restrictions and Tactics...Guess dis world can't just go on without Loud critics....

Dis is some endourment...Ukwu on point

ellen said...

No b her fault she get dt kin shape.. Ts nt soo bad bcauz no part of her body is rilly showin.. Dou it looks toooo tight

OBINNOWILL said...

Most of the people criticising, they wear dis kind of outfit to church, their daughters, wives wear dis kind of outfit to church.

Isokay jor!

they are right,the cloth is way too tight,shes a gospel artist not an hip hop artist or Rnb as Rihanna n Beyounce..

She looks good! At least she dint xpose her body!

Is it a crime to be sexy? I don't see any thing bad and we can't see anyting private soo, pple should hush......!!!!!

I don't see anything bad here,considering Maheeda is also a Gospel artist.

she luks lyk a diva. I luv d luk

Igor said...

Nke a ka Flavour na akpo ukwu nwere nti.

Madam lili what do u tink urself.....me I dnt see anytin wrong wit what she is wearing oton....lol first to comment

Alot of people are blind to what is happening in this world. What she did is deliberate.Cant u see it? Illuminati tinz! Forget the so-called gospel music. They r set to continually weaken people spiritually(carnal longings) so that when their MASTER comes people are already prepared to receive what he will offer that is- "Do what thou wilt cos u r a god". Run my child!!!

It will attract Non christian to embrace the music and get the message.

not bad

Too much where? Person get fine body come be crime? Na wa o...!!!

donnyperry said...

What we should be concerned bout is d content of d song and how it uplifts our spiritual life.I don't see anything wrong in dat pic,there is nothing revealing,maybe only for some sexy body,already masturbating just lukin at d pic.

I agree to the criticism, wah message is she sendin out? Dis is nt Christianity.

Its too fitted, showing all her body contours..... Not very religious.

I agree to the criticism, wah message is she sendin out? Dis is nt Christianity.

Their heads are not correct. Hypocrites!

donnyperry said...

What we should be concerned bout is d content of d song and how it uplifts our spiritual life.I don't see anything wrong in dat pic,there is nothing revealing,maybe only for some sexy body,already masturbating just lukin at d pic.

The only thing you're gonna hear men say is "dang she sure got a body on her". I don't think any of them ωïll buy it cos of her music sha....she does have a banging figure on her though but this is definitely too much under the umbrella of "gospel" I don't know if her target audience is the deeper life kinda born agains cos if it is, she sure ain't selling with this outfit...

wellllllllllllllllllllllll

seuntolz said...

Boi oh boi...........this will inspire me to giv mai life to Christ d more.....

beesonova said...

Perfect and virtous *smiles

Mma Efa said...

sexy 4 Christ ! Me likey !

This is no the best photo to be used for a gospel album cover. The dress. The hair the shoes everything is off. Looks like shes going to the club.

idon't see anything wrong wit it.she looks hot and angelic.meanwhile,those sandals are hot

AMY said...

Me I lov wah I'm seeing ooo! She looks real good!

MRS OHIO ERANKO said...

GOD IS A FASHIONABLE MAN , I THINK SHE DRESS WELL,

MAY I ASK, IF WE SHOULD BE A SLAVE TO ALL THOSE BELIEVES.

BECAUSE GOD HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH WHAT YOU WEAR, HE ONLY NEED YOUR HEART,

THERE ARE SOME PEOPLE WHO WEAR BURKA ,COVERING HEAD TO TOES,
THEY TURNED OUT TO BE SADIST.

I THINK SHE IS OK WITH WHAT SHE IS WEARING

I nor c anytyn wrng wth am oooO

Diz chick na die! See shape abeg...I love U̶̲̥̅̊ babe. Maheeda Nko...she is using W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇É‘̤̥̈̊†̥̥ she got †̥o draw guyz †̥o God....wetin D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ wnt a̶̲̥̅̊kε̲̣̣̣̥. She do?? Tie wrapper? Bcos she be gospel singer? Or wear over size? Lol

De cloth is just fittin not too sexy. Erica has amazing curves which r difficult 2 hide. * Phil *

Not the best photo for a gospel album cover. The dress the hair the shoes everything is just off.looks like shes ready to hit the club. Besides why did she breakup with her sister. That's why I don't listen to their music. They all want to be beyonce . just don't kno how to switch. Ll

Though covered but really sexy. "Do not cause your brother to sin"

De cloth is just fittin not too sexy. Erica has amazing curves which r difficult 2 hide. * Phil *

Microtorch said...

What is important is the message gotton from the song... The dress is cool tho... Linda u want her to tie wrapper?

My own issue is with the shoes. Me no likey!

Akeem Rotimi said...

Linda to me its ok, just that human hrt re corrupt,permit me to say that. We Christians are scared to dress the way we want to because of what people would say and think. Christianity is not a religion we must know this! But a heavenly lifestyle. We don't ve a dress code like other religion, No wonder the bible tells us not to judge people by their appearance, but that doesn't mean we shudnt dress to represent christianity well. Anyways, I love her outfit but kinda too tight though.

Erica pls take several seats. You look more like Nicki minaj than a woman trying to preach the word.

how would i have listened to her album when i dont know her ,i only sabi derica tomatoes wonder who removed the "D" letter. anoda one ojere

Leonald said...

Hmmm..... I don't just tink she's a gospel singer, cus she looks so astonishing.

Gbabe said...

Better than showing cleavage and thighs. She's wonderfully made.

Mordi said...

Biko nwa bu mmimi. Let's appreciate good thing. She looks good.

My advice. Quite gospel music and go do a song with yonce cus am sure that's what you want.

D dress is okay on her.

Mixed reactions... she is actually not exposing anything!! I mean she's all covered up...still it's a little too tight for an album cover its the first thing you see

immaculate said...

HER CLOTH IS OK, THEY SHOULD GO AND SIT DOWN , SHE IS NOT THE PERSON THAT CREATED HERSELF

Hot and sexy, I see notin wrng in d dressing or makin it an album cover. Whether she a gospel artist or not

I tink is OK, n perfect 4 me own opinion

TEEDEE said...

I toth they where sisters. And yes its tooooooooo sexy for a gospel album cover. But then again who am to judge how you dress to praise the lord. Walks away*

On a personal level dear madam linda, I dnt find anytin wrong wit d dress. It may be tight bt nt indecent. Whoever says oda wise, na u sabi

Bamidele said...

It is for no man to judge anyone......

mitchell said...

She looks like an angel#######drooling

bloody Illuminati, and why is she throwing her free mason sign. and then she sings gospel. goosh these people re every where

oh lawd

Discover the hidden weight loss secret of top Celebrity

Everything depicting Christ should be decent and holy. I rest my case.

Not appropriate and not too much!

Facethefact....

There is nothing wrong with this dress, she has curves naturally.

doo ityav said...

Her critics shud remove d log in deir eyes b4 criticzing ha.is it ha fault dat she's endowed?or she shud hide wat God has blsd ha wit cos she's a gospel artist?if ha figure is makin dem go mad,den dey shud go to hell or betta stil,buy ha album n listen to d songs n b blsd.

BLISS said...

Na wetin. This is gospel. Damn too hot. Watching in 3D LED

Don't think its that bad.@jaypapa says so.

makasteve said...

Don't see anything wrong with this she is well covered up

i fink is btwm her &God

well, it ain't her fault she got curves! But ya maybe a half pic wudda bn better! I don't see wats *so baddd o* people wish to be like this! Well for her next album! She could tone it down! But she looks good! like those criticizing don't look good! lol appreciate and give a constructive criticism not so loud that it makes d news. ALETTE PETERS! :)

phrank316 said...

abeg linda leave erica alone jare,so bcos say she sings gospel songs she should not wear somthing good for her,so na till she wears mary amaka we go no say na gospel artist,besides all her body were covered in that dress

ReXX said...

Damn girl!!! U hot n burning me likey.And I don't see anything wrong with wuh she's wearing.*stares closely*

greg_gpel said...

I don't c anything wrong with her dressin or d curves,ateast she covered everything

greg_gpel said...

I don't c anything wrong with her dressin or d curves,ateast she covered everything

Hmmmmm! I think she's showing much curves oo

They are still together but she decided to do a solo album but its not too much, being sexy is not a sin

Surest said...

i don't think so, she's beautiful.

I dont see what the issue is - she is covered. I see no flesh showing. She is decent - you cannot see any vpl or vbl (visible bra lines) she is a woman, wife and a mother. Nothing un-christian about looking good for yourself, your husband and your children !

The industry doesn't prioritize the careers of female artists who just sing. Beyonce's a married mother established artist. She's rolling around half naked in the sand to move units. Janelle Monae is trying it fully clothed, no overt sexuality. She's lesser known, less promoted and didn't break records. Tells you something.

Darling Happy said...

I have ñ✽t really listened to the album but I think her dress ɪ̣̝̇È™ ook since it didn't expose her body

Religious groups need to mind their own damn business

its quite inappropriate

ik obasi said...

Those hips don't lie biko

APPLELIPX said...

SHE AINT NO DAMN GOSPEL SINGER.

JST COVERING UNDER THE UMBRELLA OF GOSPEL MUSIK.

Kelkas said...

Nic dress shez preety..c curves

Temiafo said...

very bad oooo

Is it not God dt gave her d body she's showing off?

@BeautifulBella

maris said...

Is ok joor

As 4 me, she is only doing shakara in the lord.... I can't see any part of her body exposed... Its not her fault dt she is blessed wit such a glorious physic... She is looking clean and neat #smiles#

A bit too much  must say,,, everytin de M̶̲̥̅̊y̶̲̥̅̊ eyes..#lordavmercy.

I disagree with it. It is not too sexy. My opinion though.

SouthernSoul said...

This is beautiful....

Temiafo said...

very bad o

ebony0107 said...

I guess its a little too tight...but her figure z very .com

Nice lookin lady..Debby green

Afrikkasual said...

Most inappropriate! Is she selling her contours or the music? May she not drift into the world

Toluwalope said...

Hallelujah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Being sexily hot in Christ....go babe!!!!!!!!

pegoo7 said...

nice curve...d fact dat she's a gospel musican does nt hinder her from dressin to her taste but sha her shape is killin

yea...its reli too out spoken for a gospel album cover..wats d difference btw dis and Nicky m. album cover...too much

#epiphany#

Thr is nuthing wrg

Its not to sexy for a gospel album cover afterall its not revealing.Linda post ma comment ooo

Na waoo, make una leave this woman alone no be dem talk say na inside heart their believe dey ni

samuel said...

Personally i believe we should all endeavor always to focus on the message instead of the messenger, if her message/s inspire us, make us grow, make us draw near to the creator, then let it be.

Her album look is appropriate. There's nothing bad in what she's wearing.

Afrojuice Online said...

This is what you call figure 8! Correct!

Its not such a bad outfit.......
Abit too tight yes....
But well covered up....

Gosh you are 2000 and late on this story! Been doing the rounds for more than 2 weeks now

fayth said...

I think the dress is beautiful nd fits her perfectly,buh when it cms to d'gospel nd ministry we av to look beyond ourselves nd not let anything hinder ppl frm gtn d'msg we wnt to preach...she culd av worn it smplace else cos now ppl ar gtn distrtd by d'dress nd probably paying less attention to waeva msg she's'got to pass

I don't see anything too 'sexy' in her appearance, rather i suggest her critics should check the 'state of their mind'. Dirty???

Must she wear winter jacket to praise God? how about our praises in the bathroom while bathing naked? Leave it all to God people!

Umm...a little too much

she isn't naked o! what else do they want her to wear ?

Coming from Americans, they are mad! We have seen crazier things from pastors to their wives in America. She looks good in immaculate white and the her body is d gr8t! God be praised for it

Aunty Linda, hav u heard d gists of Nadia Buari flauntin an engagement ring recently and that of Lynxxx confessin of havin a crush on Chidinma? * Phil *

dats her salin point. i tot dey were sisters? y go solo. me like d dress sha, bt nt gospel in any way

But... Who is she?

Their criticisms underlines everything that is wrong with religion. Cloth the body, while it rots underneath! We appear good on the outside, while evil looms underneath. It's a jerkyl and hyde sh*t!!! Show your curves woman, if God didn't want you to have em, you'd be rail thing.

All I can say is that 'damn, she's got a super gorgeous body' I love her bod.

Linda why u no dey like to post my comment na? Well she's showing too much shape which is not right for a gospel cover. Linda my birthday is on the 25th so i'll be waiting for my gift ooh

There's nothing wrong with what she's.wearing jhor, by d way, i want those shoes!!!!!!

Is ok I luv ha sexy shape

She look lovely, the dress is actually a bit too tight for a gospel album cover but would have been perfect for an evening event or show. The dress doesn't reveal her naked body so I personally will not criticize her but I understand people's opinion because its a album cover not random pics or event picture. *ThatFunctionGuy*

tsw said...

it is unholy. all her curves are so pronounced which would definitely make a man to fornicate in his mind

Being a gospel. Musician,does nt mean dey sing to glorify God,dey are only glorifiying dere master all in d name of religion decivers u shall kw dem by dere friuts

Dis is 2 much.it is 2 hot 4 a christian lik her

Turtle neck, long sleeves, dress below the knee......Critics should take several seats jare. shey na jalabia dem want make she wear

IKWERREBOY said...

not bad but if she is a true believer she won't use such for her album cover. Its obvious not all christian artist are actually practicing christian. they are just do it for the money.

​A̶̲̅ little too much. Its gospel for crying out loud. @ Zenki brown

famonzo said...

Chai.... She was an Hip-Hop musician. Those hips r wide. She is better than Maheeda though.

Abeg dat dress do jor. It shows dat she is wonderfully and beatifully created. What are u not talking? Bad mind will always think bad tinz even in dreams when ur eye are closed.

drz smthng like being 'moderate'... nt too tight, nt too loose. duuuuuh!!!!

sweet

she is looking very decent

Oluwadamilola said...

They should leave her jor.. But those shoes mhen #loveit

I love erica...na woman u be jor....all u haters shuld go hug transformer...una no see so called gospel singer maheeda.all naked.na person wey wear full cloth una dey talk about....lindodo abeg post my comment

Bold Kid said...

She ok sha...cos A LOT of females wear tins not a lil decent as this to church.

Chigozie Stephen said...

Marketing Strategy....

Saw this last week. Makes sense now.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SufCDy-3OA0

Very ok! Nice curves btw...

Igor said...

Lol.

Owwww boy.... Me likey sha buh, the bible talks about moderation... It's too much :)

@Bobo_Edo

Leave maheeda out of dis,,, we are toking gospel we are not toking illuminati or antichrist...

Holy Guy said...

The devil keeps making smart moves, all that was never okay now seems to be alright these days, well you have a brain so think for yaself..luv

yes is too sexy

I don't see anything wrong there o! She looks good!

ginagat said...

She looks good but its too sexy.....

Janelicious said...

No comment

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 324   Newer› Newest»