'I was forced to pay a godfather N10m monthly as governor ' - Mbadinuju | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 December 2013

'I was forced to pay a godfather N10m monthly as governor ' - Mbadinuju

Former Anambra state governor Chinwoke Mbadinuju (1999 to 2003) tells Saturday Punch:
Well, a godfather has many connotations. You could have  positive godfathers and negative ones. The good ones work towards making things work and succeed but if you have a godfather that is always challenging, he wants to make appointments, if you have 10 commissioners, he would want to have three or four. After you have given him two commissioners, he will say he wants Special Advisers, Special Assistants and he will even want to choose their portfolios but I said these things are not done like that and they said it is done like that, that is controversy.
There is a godfather who had an arrangement with the military that he would be paid N10m every month, I wasn’t there when the agreement was made. When I tried to stop it, I was dragged to President Obasanjo’s office and I told Obasanjo this is the situation I found on ground and Obasanjo said I had to go back and continue paying it; that it was legal. At what stage did I renege? They will always try to give a dog a bad name in order to hang it. Obasanjo gave them contracts worth billions of naira, they were super rich, there was nothing I could give to them.
You mean Obasanjo asked you to pay this godfather; who is he?
Yes, Obasanjo asked me to pay. The godfather is one of the Uba family.

111 comments:

JDY said...

It's a clean business
Jdy last posted...When people love you enough... Poetic Ramble

Highly-Favoured said...

The many sorrows of OBJ. He who wants equity must come with clean hands. You advice GEJ on how to run Nigeria when u were worst during your time.

OBJ oooooooo,wen poor pple re evrywere u re teln sum1 2 pay 10m evry fuckn month lyk WTF

E don tay way Nigeria fall inside well

O di serious,10mill monthly!!Lawd when is it gonna be my turn?this country is breathing and eating corruption,so sad!!!

Mbadinuju,
(1) The agreement to pay Uba N10 million every month is called Irrevocable Standing Payment Order (ISPO); the military governors were paying it before you came. We expected you to have gone to court to stop it, being a legal document.
(2) You said your first term as governor was "largely peaceful"? As far back as 2000, you and your godfather, Emeka Offor were already at each other's throat because of the agreement you signed with him. Everybody, including the former president and Chief Emeka Anyoku were intervening to settle the two of you.
(3) You said Obasanjo invented godfatherism in Anambra because he wanted 'his boys' to become governor? Are you talking about 2003, or long before then (1998/99) when you signed that agreement with Emeka Offor?
(4) Have you forgotten that you told us that it was after you left power that you discovered that Chris Uba would go to Abuja, lodge in one hotel, then come back to claim that he went to Aso Rock?

You think all of us are dead, abi? At least, if they are trying to rehabilitate you, you people should at least try to do a professional job.

TIRED OF UGLY FAT? CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT HOW TO BURN OUT STUBBORN FAT

Like we don't already know

Classgist said...

No wonder politics is d way it is in dis country. D earlier dis politicians do away with "godfatherism" d better for them.

Obansanjo again!!!

Gov Mbadinuju is a disappointment and should know better as a lawyer that using State money to fan the ambers of godfatherism during his tenure was criminal.
In a more developed system with a sound rule of law, he and Obasanjo would be in prison by now. OBJ for not reporting a criminal act and abbetting it and the ex- governor for misappropriation of public fund to perpetuate himself in government when he should have got the so called godfather in question arrested.

Discover the hidden weight loss secret of top Celebrity

Isn't this "odera." What has he said that's not been said already? Only Chris Uba? What of Emeka Offor? When you ride on the lion you will end up in the belly of the lion. Godfathers made and destroyed you so go back to being quiet. The Igwes blood will haunt Chinwoke forever.

We r suposd 2 feel sory?wat made him pay it in d 1st place?is he coruption free? Mtchw

All dis jonathan gang sha...dirty politics. obasanjo will not rest 'cos he wrote a letter to the president. Who doesn't know u have to pay a godfather if u r vying for a post b4. Why d rantings nd screaming? Why didn't he declare this when he was the guvnor? Why now? Ode lo lyk(meaning it's only fools they lyk)....nigerians r wiser than al dis trick jonathan. man up and reply obasanjo urself. Thieves and rogues. - beesonova

precious 1986 said...

this is interesting. for every finger obansanjo points at someone, four are pointing back at him.

Mystery Hills said...

So many dirty tinz hapen bhind d curtain of politricks.It'll b easier 4d carmel 2enter d eye of a needle dan a politician!

I cry for nigeria.... when are we going to come out of this mess? Letters here and there, revelations here and there. Na wa oo

Home video.......

that must b Chris Uba

God have Mercy on Us Nigerians..Yorubas,FFK and co! Una don see una cheif adviser? U guys ve just seen d atom of what he did 4 8years,nt addin wen he ws military head of state! I pity his corpse! He shoud be tied n shoot dead with diz man n all of them!

MO said...

My problem with all the people coming out all of a sudden to talk is this; ARE YOU A CHILD.WHEN YOU ARE TOLD TO DO SOMETHING AGAINST YOUR PERSONAL BELIEFS,WHY DIDN'T YOU SAY NO,I WILL NOT DO THIS IR THAT AND IF PUSH COMES TO SHOVE,WHY NOT DO THE HONORABLE THING AND RESIGN.!!!TEN YEARS AFTER THE FACT,YOU ARE COMING OUT TO TELL US TALES BY MOONLIGHT.all of you are a bunch of sick old men.obj inclusive.

U are not serious for saying dis now, u know wat u are desperatly looking for den. If are not, dey ll not ask u to do dat. I bealief if it was 10 people dey ask u too kill, u will do as well. May God forgive u all. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Mbadinuju the worst governor Anambra state has ever produced.

You paid your dues so don't fucking complain

Ndi o bi ojo #one day you all will pay for all your act#

Obasanjo is the problem of Nigeria...Period. Twitter@amfestus

Manymen said...

Chris uba

Dee Tee said...

Hmmm... Seasons Revelation of secrets in Nigeria | #NewsBlist

zukas said...

Chris Ubah ofcos

That is d reason y states being ruled by PDP are nt making much progress becos every allocation they get each month goes to godfather

Idiot!

No wonder d govt wants 2 pass a law against social cos thanks 2 social evry secret ill is made public!Godbless social media!!!

Fammie said...

Before nko, when you were put into a position by a godfather and not by merit,that's what happens... why is he crying foul now...Bunch of criminals....You will all meet your waterloo. lounging at the expense of the electorate...God will judge everyone of you...

The PS4 and Xbox One are huge power consumers

delicious jules said...

Omo see gobe!!...obasanjo u wld hv let d sleeping dogs lie.wot were u tinking writing such letter to jona ..ngwanu let d war begin buhahahahahahaha

Omg! This politicians with their deadly secrets. This Obj is finished, I just hope is not true .

Obasanjo no go die better death at all.Foolish old man. You will die a lonely and miserable old man

Nigerian politics is the dirtiest in the world, in the aftermath of Obsanjo's letter to Jonathan, we have found out he was a negligent father, a wife beater and a self professed god. And now that he condoned corruption, the same thing he accused GEJ of. Our intelligence agency are working, they just aren't used for the right purposes, instead are used to find dirt on politicians. After the events of these past couple of weeks, there is no way in hell I will agree that government doesn't know Boko haram sponsors or where Shekau is hiding.

Y, re telling us now?

Endy said...

God save Nigeria from the hands of all this evil men in Jesus name Amen.

Phaeton Phoenix said...

Go and sit down, old man! What or who is he trying to expose? This is the problem I have with these failed fools, the minute they are out of the picture they begin to behave like bitter spoiled babies. There is absolutely no lack of honor particularly amongst Nigerian thieves! None! and that is a damn shame. It is not today we are all hearing of Godfather-ism, it exists in politics everywhere in this world but Nigeria would always take things to another level. We are tired and we are tired of being tired. There is almost no point in judging these people anymore. To what end exactly? But if you have to be crooks and beer parlor politicians, at least be good at the damn thing! Mbadinuju, nobody forced you to pay anything but your greedy soul. The choice was simple, you either oblige or if your moral grounds were actually as naively innocent you are now making it out to be, then you should not have meddled in Nigerian politics at all and steered clear.

He and his Godfather shld be arrested and brought to book! They are fool. Its only in Nigeria that pple can make this sort of commment and go unpunished cos everyone is d same

Hmmnnnnn...... Na wa oooooo

Will it change the current ongoing problems in Nigeria

Nw i knw y U̶̲̥̅̊ are poor after being a governor bush man U̶̲̥̅̊ no get sense

Bloody hyprocrite where have you been all dis while upid igbo man why dint u voice out now bcos obj has some controversial issues u now decided to make things wordt for him by speaking up..ur nothing buh a coward good4nothing idiot

Andy Uba!

Confirmed!!!

Well am nt surprise,same tin happened in oyo state wen ladoja refused 2 give late Adedibu 10% security vote OBJ told ladojo pointblank 2 go give hm...same tin bola tinubu iS doing any candidate frm hs party pay hm monthly...reps+senate Pay tinubu 100m per month...so ow will dey represent wen all dey will b after is ow 2 pay deir montly dues,2 think ds fools r d 1ces complaining abt GEJ....pot calling kettle black...may God judge u all.....OMolabake

Apple Berry said...

Everybody is now out to expose him.

The God fatherism that Ngige stopped during his tenure has been started again by Peter Obi. Let God deliver Anambra state from God fatherism and that is why there is no meaningful developments in Anambra state. Heard Peter Obi is now the richest Igbo man in the world. No Airport in Anambra state, not even local Airport. God deliver us.

He's trying to form St. John, let him go and take several seats jare. Like we don't know that all politicians are thieves.

Joseph Oguche said...

When Ɣø̲̣U we're payin to Emeka offor †ђξ unquetionable billionaire wats was U̶̲̥̅̊я reactin? Its when Ɣø̲̣U we're ask to pay Uba brother dat Ɣø̲̣U A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ paniking.Try and tell urs better tinzzz

Akeem Rotimi said...

Linda, he be like say this na setup o... Or how u see am?

Akeem Rotimi said...

U re rite, but the truth is, it all run in our blood.. We(Nigerians) re too corrupt,except those that has found Christ. Nigeria can never ve a good leader unless we change our selves, in the University, u nid to see the SUG, they re even worse than our national leaders, even Course Rep, dat small position of his,come and see hw corrupt he is, jus bcos of the love of money and not the love of progress.. So my dear, even u that is complaining, if u re given the opportunity of Jonathan, I can bet my all that u will also do like them(Ogas @ d top)

You are an Idoit sir! This rubbish u just narrated is how things are done in d western world? The destiny of this nation lies in ur hands? Foool

You and your likes is the reason Nigeria will never be corruption free...I am not a fan of Jonathan, but I do not believe that he oweS Obasanjo any explanation. OBJ was worse than GEJ and we all know it, OBJ is the root of corruption in Nigeria, he wrote the letter for his own personal interest....they are all thesame! Corrupt old men! None of them is hollier than the other!

He was forced to pay N10M/month abi, how about the murders under his govt...was he forced as well? The NBA leader and his wife were assasinated together in broad daylight for being vocal against the attrocities of this idiotic fellow and he is telling us about N10M. Linda tell this devil to rot in hell. When Nigeria wakes from her slumber, many past rulers would wish they were not born.

Yes you are right

It is only a matter of time, before the truth behind boko haram is revealed. God is not asleep

Õђ-kàγ naw, I've always belived the letter the daughter wrote about him ιƨ true. Obasanjo Ʊ ɪll pay for αℓℓ the wrongs uve infected in Nigeria. *cagey*

Of wat use is this now

ReXX said...

GOD HELP THIS COUNTRY!!!!!!

kenino said...

This is a deliberate attempt to hang PDP n everything dat dey represent....so sad

sugar coated said...

You accepted the terms before been made governor. Besides what's 10 million naira to you as a governor?

nzuzu...Mbadinuju is 0% in governorship mantle.mtcheew

abass said...

Godfatherism!
It is everywhere in NIgeria
Even Tinubu, I heard he collects 2billion naira from each LGA in a month in Lagos

Uloma said...

So much money! And u say associations shldnt go on strike!... Anugom!

They wanted to continue the same with Governor Ngige and Ngige was dodging them so they kidnapped and him.Nigeria... how can there be development?

All you folks who are always quick to say stuff like 'I weep for my country', I weep for my generation and blah. Let me give you all a reality check.
-Your tears ain't gonna do squat for Nigeria.
-The youths of Nigeria need to overcome complacency and tribalism and be ready to take the fight to the people responsible for this decay and rot in our beloved country. (Corrupt politicians, heads of parastatals, greedy lecturers etc.)
-These people have stolen our birth right and yet we are still deep in our slumber hoping that one day the ills will correct itself. (In our dreams!)
-The time has come for us to stand up and make our voices heard.
Each year young vibrant Nigerians graduate from schools all over the world with new ideas that will transform our way of life yet we are oppressed, suffocated and made irrelevant. These reckless looting, poor infrastructures, substandard education, etc. has got to stop.
One last thing a 27 year old (Sebastian Kurz) from Austria has just been appointed as a foreign minister in the EU. It just isn't funny anymore. Nigerian youths lets arise! God knows we so deserve more what these so called leaders are giving us. Its time to take back Nigeria.

Girl said...

Linda people like Mbadinauju and whatever statement he has to release shouldn't make its way to your blog. A criminal still walking free becasue we are in Nigeria...that's what he is!!!!

Girl said...

He single handedly murdered a state...and we are yet to recover. Criminal!!!

Chris ubas death will be wonderful,m sure he was sent frm hell..so will his wife and family..he ruined anambra!with all his has,both him and his wife and kids don't help anybody,if u like be whatever to them..wicked family..mbadinuju better start repenting..God wil visit u all soon.obasanjo is obvoiusly frm heLl.YIMU

Trojangfx said...

Anambra state 'home for all' including kidnappers, robbers, touts, political stooges, charlatans, etc. After Chris uba disgraced mbadinuju, his brother who was SA to OBJ took over. It was on record that only in that state that a sitting governor was kidnapped from office, held in a hotel (choice hotel, awka) for 3 days and made to sign over 3 billion naira 'election assistance and cordination fee' I laugh in Hebrew. Appalling and disgusting as it is, I witnessed this first hand.

When do we call a spade a spade and see wat is bad as uncompromisingly so. Hopefully in my lifetime.

DGrafix.

Mayb its dis same controversy dat Goodluck Jonathan got tired of & he stopped dat made Obasanjo want 2 tarnish his image.

GOD have mercy on nigeria

Ibrahim Idi said...

A lot has been happening behind the scenes. In a good way the recent events are unravelling the power mafia. There's hope for Nigeria.

Ibrahim Idi said...

A lot has been happening behind the scenes. In a good way the recent events are unravelling the power mafia. There's hope for Nigeria.

Many Nigerians are not wise, they fail to understand that Obasanjo is no more receiving that percentage from Goodluck Ebele's government that is why he is against him; Goodluck is not haunting any of them with EFCC bcos if u check it out that system is not working for great reasons but he is blocking ways through which they are looting our money. " Legally It is not easy to prove how a politician got away with our money with the existing system and that is why they keep looting" but you can block then gradually,truly we need to encourage Goodluck, they are against him for this reason.32ddb52c

harnikky said...

Obansonjo sha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. God will help us.

10million naira? Wat is 10milion naira,dats jst 10% of wat he is paying dem. Am sure paying godfathers 10million evry month won't deter him frm paying teachers salaries.

nzubeizuu said...

If better pple are talkin, Mbadinuju will come out! A haunted and bloody man who cannot even visit his village. An Oponu dat almost grounded d state. Unpaid salaries, strikes, robberies,bad roads n all other vices. Each time he called for state council meetin @ Awka, he'll be shedding crocodile's tears claimin dat Emeka Offor was harrasing him with Abuja Powers, thus preventing him 4rm working. It got 2 an extent dat he was announcin on ABS dat he gave all d mobile policemen on Anambra roads 24 hrs to leave d state or else! D blood of d innocent citizens u murdered will 4eva hunt u, especially dat of Barrister Igwe n Wife! God'll punish u n ur generation 4 all d atrocities u committed in Anambra State. Stupid man! Then, it was Emeka Offor now u r callin d Uba's. Prodigal Baba!

abass said...

Linda you refuse to post my comment abi, anyway no prob,
Godfatherism is everywhere in Nigeria.
Even in Lagos, we have Tinubu collecting money from each LGA

Notin manipulate d heart like money, even good is aa point.
4rm Gnomic Pretex

CREAMY said...

From Obasanjo's letter 2 iyabo's to this? Keep 'em coming Linda, keep em coming. Yet Nigeria never changes she never does. Lost hope *covers duvee*

CUTE ONYII said...

OBJ, may God have mercy on you.

Hello my dear lindwey, i have taken time to read all the comment of this particular story, i have just one thing to ask u. Please give u things like this so that we can be more informed about past and present events. I pray in the coming year that God will guide u on what things to post on ur blog. Weldone my dear Linda.

At this time,I would say this statement was made to discredit Obj.with the goings on right now, I bet this guy was paid to make this statement.

I believe this is just a tip of the iceberg. There are worse things going on underneath which the masses are totally unaware of! Someone with a rare integrity will prefer to leave the position than to be forced against his/her will....so he's totally a part of the whole scam. Only God can save the masses from the shackles of the leaders!

this madman dat made me spend almost all of my SS1 year at home.... God go purnish you

Uloma said...

Na dem sabi.... We av been surviving and we wld survive! God pass dem!

akpa-ose said...

Stupid man! So u still de exist? After what u suffered students that make me to drop out of school because of one year strike of secondary School teachers, u still get mouth to talk rubbish here, GOD will surely punish u all wicked politicians!!!

You've seen why ngige is the best anambra governor anytime anyday...as a real man,he stood his ground and said NO I aint gonna pay this money.and choose to work for Ndi anambra despite the abuja political machinations to nail him.he broke the camel's back in anambra politics yet some people
Choose to Be ungrateful. #teamONWA!

Ndu said...

Dis man should keep quite, this goes a long way to show the kind of politician that is governing our states. So you preferred to save ur job instead of delivering democratic dividend to d masses that voted you in. Ngige refused to play balls with them, he lost he job and earned the peoples respect. NO body can coarse Amechi to do that. RUBBISH

Ndu said...

Mbadinuju should keep quite, bloody coward so you saved ur job instead of delivering democratic dividends to the masses. Ngige fought against them he lost his job but he earned the respect of the masses. NO body can even try it with Amaechi, go and verify what he did to Peter Odili

Is dis NEWS?next....

Fø̲̣̣я̅ example Abia State. †̥ђα̲̅†̥'s Ʈђε̲̣̣̣̥ worst state S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ far, Ʈђε̲̣̣̣̥ Governor is not doing anything at all. Who knows if he's paying 20million every month too.

He did nt tell us dat time so why is he telling us now.

Mbadinuju shld just shut up. Don't he know what is right or wrong? Is he trying to get the sympathy of Anambrarians? What of Emeka offor? Did they force him to pay him? He shld just admit his failure and not form excuse. Is like karma don dey catch am. Mtchewww. Nonsense

The reason he refused to pay teachers their salary I believe. I know Linda won't post my comment as usual.

Thank you u said it all. All d same crimainals...

I share your views but there's one problem with your submissions: Nigerian youths are not saints

Gbam!

king H said...

Many Nigeria reader are pure illiterate, who just know how to read but cannot sit to peruse and analyse what he is reading.sir if you can stand for election on your own do you need godfather.god father don't jump on people, every average igbo man is a business man having spent his money for you you want to disown him.why did you sign agreement you cannot fulfil? 10 million....every Month how much is your security vote did you tell us.everything is obj now , yes they want to pick commissioner for the boys who work with the godfather to help you.when you people are looking for position you promised heaven and earth to your godfather and the masses, when you renege masses have no choice but godfather will not kept quite like the masses so you enter trouble.tell us another story ten million is not the reason why you failed .

king H said...

Many Nigeria reader are pure illiterate, who just know how to read but cannot sit to peruse and analyse what he is reading.sir if you can stand for election on your own do you need godfather.god father don't jump on people, every average igbo man is a business man having spent his money for you you want to disown him.why did you sign agreement you cannot fulfil? 10 million....every Month how much is your security vote did you tell us.everything is obj now , yes they want to pick commissioner for the boys who work with the godfather to help you.when you people are looking for position you promised heaven and earth to your godfather and the masses, when you renege masses have no choice but godfather will not kept quite like the masses so you enter trouble.tell us another story ten million is not the reason why you failed .

king H said...

Tell that man to keep silent you are the one that know and sign agreement with your godfather why bringing in obj.you don't need to castigate obj to be rehabilitated by Jonathan.every thing obj, your wife failed to cook for you obj, rain did not fall obj.many of you by the time God start dealing with you for wrong accusations against obj you we know that God doesn't think the way man thinks.continue to cry and blame the sin of Adam for your woe instead of embracing the solution-Jesus. 8 eight years is gone after obj regime no new thing done it is still obj ......make nna continue to blame the international president.the most popular, powerful and influential, Nigeria president dead or alive current or ex.

please keep quite since you could not speak up then, is too late to make a case at of it, you love your life and couldn't do anything why now. whta about the ones you yourself took.

Mbadinuju so after 1 year strike you surface to talk. 10 million small you should have pay chris Uba 50 million, as for baba iyabo ur evil will soon find u out.

All from Govt treasury,see looting for godfathers. OBJ must be there,dt gorrila of life!

Ezeoke L said...

this is y we future tomorrow of anambra state was deprive of education for almost a yr plus. bc of godfather issue? hmmmm. whether godfather or not who we know is u mbadinuju. bc is in ur regime that schools were close 4 yrs.ur Pontius pilete of our time. u came 2 destroy not 2 govern.

Amaka said...

@Akeem- i cant agree less with ur analogy. We are all what is wrong with dis country.There's nothing to write home abt SUGs of unis and so on and on. But i doubt just everyone is corrupt or will succumb to d pressure of political leadership in Nigeria.
All our politicians however seem to be of d same scion.