Dylann Roof's sister tried to raise money for canceled wedding | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 3 July 2015

Dylann Roof's sister tried to raise money for canceled wedding

Remember Dylann Roof? The 21 year old racist who allegedly killed 9 people at the Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Charleston, South Carolina? Well, his older sister Amber Roof, 27, who was due to wed on June 21st called off her wedding after her brother allegedly murdered those 9 church goers.

She was due to wed her fiancée U.S. Army Reserve Recruiter Michael Tyo at The Mitchell House and Gardens in Lexington on June 21, just 4 days after the atrocity in Charleston, South Carolina.

She was very upset that she had to cancel her wedding so she went on GoFundMe asking for donations to help her pay some of the wedding costs and send her on a dream honeymoon.
The page attributed to the couple called 'A Fresh Start for Michael and Amber' went live 5 days ago in which she asked for $5,000 to help recoup 'lost wedding costs, to pay bills, and to send us on our dream honeymoon'. She Said she would give 10 per cent of donations to the Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church.

On the page, Roof reiterated the purpose of canceling the wedding in the first place.

"We canceled our wedding to protect our family and mourning the lives of those lost," she wrote. "Many friends and family members came into town and took time off of work to be there for us. We could not ask you to do that again."
"Our wedding day was suppose to be the most important and special day of our lives," she wrote on the website. "It was suppose to start our lives together with our new family. Our day was the exact opposite."
Over 30 donors contributed to the GoFundMe before it was abruptly taken down, with amounts ranging from $9 to $200.

Some donors left messages expressing sorrow and sympathy for the couple.

"I too have a selfish brother that has ruined a few of my special days" wrote a donor under the name of Megan P. "A situation like this could have easily been me since my brother has threatened to kill my father on several occasions."

But she removed it yesterday after the page had raised $1,604 after a barrage of criticism which called it insensitive and offensive.

One angry woman, Melissa Williams-Stewart, wrote on the page before it was taken down: 'I'm sorry but it is insane to me that you have the nerve to ask people to donate for a honeymoon.
Another person said: 'Look I'm sorry your brother screwed up your wedding plans, however I'm way more concerned about the people who lost there (six) loved ones.' 
Another person sent in a donation with the message: 'Here's $9 for the Nine Victims.' 

41 comments:

Eyaaaaaa. Sorry for dat. ... sh**t happens.

Hmmmmmm no comment

Owk.

Brain leakage! Smh

Anikieshaya said...

Arrant nonsense

So,considerate of her to cancel her wedding because of what her brother did.
May the souls of all who lost their lives in that tragedy continue to rest in peace.

Ojo Ayo wa o ni di ti ibanuje

Mad pple full US

~make I go take one bottle of beer~

No be only honeymoon... Na salt sun

mira cookie said...

Na wa oooo! Stil want people to fund ur wedding after all your bro did? Dis is silly.

Hmmmmmmmm I laugh!!

*Nuelcode

The woman doesn't have conscience, she just wants to use the evil popularity to make money.
Imagine when 9 people died, they should give money for honeymoon?

Very insensitive of her. She is trying to make money out of people's misery.

She is even talking of going for a dream honeymoon like seriously who cares about that!!!

Omo the insult she received frm peoples magazine is too damn much that i will just not give her my own.... She is a fool though.....

I find it offensive as well, u cancelled ur wedding cos of ur broda's devilish attitude and u want ppl to pay for u to go on honeymoon, girl u r stupid and high on some cheap drugs. Dave

I dnt understand jare

Darkchildlovethyhair said...

That was kinda insensitive.
Heard of Clip-in extensions? It's the newest way of fixing weaves without sewing or visiting the salon. Click here to learn how to do it yourself!

sky said...

i am sorry her useless animal of a brother ruined her day but i think it is highly insensitive and disrespectful to ask people to pay for her honeymoon!!

She's not serious. Make she come carry nah! Nonsense, mcheeeeeeew! Linda take note!

She has no shame asking people for money knowing its not anyone's fault that her brother messed up and murdered 9people. Its kinda insensitive.

You'll agree with me that these white folk are sick as heck

Ade said...

Yep! The incident is way too fresh in our minds for anyone to be raising money for a "dream honeymoon". Funds for the families that lost loved ones would be more appropriate at this time.

Nevertheless we must not ignore the sad fact that the family members of the one who commits a heinous crime are themselves victims of shame and guilt.

We as a global community must learn that every action we take makes a big ripple!

Bia Bia said...

People should not betray her Abeg. It's unfortunate she has a stupid irresponsible brother that has caused so much shame in her family that every one has to bear the brunt of his stupidity. I mean there was no need asking for donations however,people shouldn't make it seem like she did the killings. May the souls of the departed rest in peace.....@Bia Bia💐💐💐💐

Paul Ofou said...

She asked for it.... very insensitive indeed

Hi Linda, did you just say Dylann Roof allegedly killed 9 people? Point of correction the lunatic killed 9 people with 100% proof that he's responsible. Don't say allegedly

The Racist guy did not ALLEDGEDLY KILL NINE PEOPLE, rather he KILLED NINE PEOPLE. Mind your language....English graduate. There are so many evidences to prove it. Even the man himself does not deny killing the people.

Idiot racists...donation kor, contribution ni

Eeyah...her psycho bro caused everything.

lami said...

Actually selfish of her to say some part of the funds is for honeymoon instead of donating everything to the victims family.

She most be out of her mind to even ask for such silly donation

Ladun Liadi said...

Allegedly?!

Linda, you said 'allegedly'? Do you know what 'allegedly' means?? So you're not sure that he killed those poor people, huh? There's no proof that he killed them, despite him being seen shooting people? Smh. I think the word you were looking for is 'accused'. Thank me later.

Thnx. If he was a black nigga they would have know the right words to use. Stupid people. Linda mind your post pls

I think she should have gone on with the wedding but then tone it down, make it something small.

Really Linda......allegedly??????

Ok.

Have u seen d leaked 2016 Toyota Landcruiser? Check out www.naijacarlovers.blogspot.com. It's awesome.

Mamapapa said...

Her brother ruined her wedding plans, as well as, the life plans of others. Well, that judge said his family members were victims too! What more can I say.

I have just realized that the problem with Dylan is from his family. No 21 year old has that much amount of hatred. Can you imagine the sister still has the mind to ask for money for a wedding online when her brother killed so many people. They obviously don't consider blacks as humans because nobody in her right state of mind can do that

FAMILY PROBLEM INDEED. ALL OF THEM ARE NOT HUMANS.. ASKING FOR MONEY FOR YOUR STUPID WEDDING. INSTEAD OF RUNNING AWAY FROM TOWN AND CHANGING YOUR LAST NAME. IDIOT. I HOPE SHE DIES A MISERABLE DEATH.