Nurse drops newborn baby at hospital, fracturing his skull | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 3 July 2015

Nurse drops newborn baby at hospital, fracturing his skull

A hospital and police are investigating what might have caused a veteran nurse to drop a newborn baby, fracturing his skull. Jacqueline Hunt, the baby's mother said that a pediatrician said the nurse was feeding and burping her 1-day-old son, Eli, at Uniontown Hospital when the nurse became "drowsy and fell asleep and dropped him."

The hospital and Uniontown police confirmed that a 30-year veteran nurse accidentally dropped the infant at about 6 a.m. Tuesday June 30th

Uniontown Hospital spokesman Josh Krysak said the baby is expected to recover. He is being treated at Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC.
"We are aware that testing revealed a minimally displaced skull fracture, but we also know that all indications given to us point to a full recovery," Krysak said.
The nurse remains employed and has not been suspended or placed on leave, Krysak said. The hospital is conducting an internal review of what happened.
"We're supporting the nurse completely, and we recognize her dedication to her job," he said. "There is absolutely no indication that there was any malice or intent involved."
Krysak said he couldn't confirm the mother's account to the television station that the nurse was tired or fell asleep.
"At this point, we can't say whether that's accurate or not," Krysak said. "We have multiple reports that conflict a little bit about that."
The spokesman said he didn't know what shift the nurse was working or how many hours she had been on duty when she dropped the baby. But if it turns out fatigue played a role, the hospital could make changes to prevent similar situations, he said.

"Pending the outcome of our review, we could certainly review protocols and internal processes," Krysak said.

Source: FNC

36 comments:

Allybrownny said...

World people,Na wa o

Strange

Elixir said...

Eyaah... poor helpless creature.

Allybrownny said...

She drink??Lol..Which kind sleep be dat?Ha!!!

uwakwe Esther said...

Thank God he is save

Glad the baby will be OK..

What kind of stupid accident is that?

Lilian Fc Barcelona said...

Careless Nurse.I pray God heals the baby.

what sort of negligence is this?

Carelessness most likely. Sad one

Sleeping on duty? Wl break r head too n den apologise simple

Carelessness most likely. Sad one

Poor nurse! Its well though

Oohhhhh nooo, u know dese nurses are ova wrked but that's not an excuse

that nurse should be jailed....can she ever drop her own baby. after the mother carried the baby for 9 months, went through labor and delivered d baby safely one nurse is now fracturing its skull mmmtcheeeewwwww

She shld be stripped of her license

hmmm - a tough one. thank God the baby will be okay

Kai, all work without rest will make..............thank GOD the baby is safe. Linda i sight you.

Jesus christ!!!!

How sad, but its a relief the baby will be ok.

I don't know wen Linda will approve my comment for it to be visible to me sef!

I know no body is above mistake but the nurse should be placed on suspension first till the baby is well n discharge. Bcos she was careless

An honest mistake, who knows how long she had being on duty.

Hian! Thank God the baby is recovering well. I can't deal biko. Linda take note!

Most likely the nurse had a long day hence the accident. As much as the nurse should be summoned for some of assessment of her physical/mental state,its great to know there's hope of full recovery for the baby;that's the most important.

You are maybe not yet a parent.especially during the nursing period,its Gods grace o.even for the parents not to talk of the nurse

mel20 said...

Must u had "lol" in ds kinda news, dumb fool!

Poor baby poor mum poor nurse. Must have been an accident or she became drowsy . Americans should allow moms nurse and bond with their newborns after delivery. I find it upsetting that's some hospitals take newborns away for upwards of 4 hrs shortly after delivery. It's different in Britain and Nigeria.

Wonder what the outcome would have been if this happened in Nigeria

Accident or no accident,all of this needs to stop
Smtin similar 2did happend to a frnd of mine when she was born and eva since,she's been undergoin surgery afta surgery to correct her broken knee

Very risky ooo

pray for both the baby & the nurse.

Choi......na wa o!

Mi$$ Bo$$ said...

Too bad...Thumbs up to d hospital though, for protecting their Staff; if its a Naija hospital,they'll fire d Staff Immediately without proper investigations.

The Lord will heal him, he will get well soon.