Teen charged with murder after stomping girlfriend’s 2yr old crying daughter to death | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 4 July 2015

Teen charged with murder after stomping girlfriend’s 2yr old crying daughter to death

A Minneapolis teen stomped his girlfriend’s 2-year-old daughter to death to keep her from crying.
Cody Feran-Baum, 17, admitted to investigators he kicked little Sophia O’Neill in the back, laid her on the floor and stomped on her back, authorities said.

“It was, it was bad,” Feran-Baum said when asked how hard he’d kicked the tot. “It was hard.”
The vicious blows split the girl’s left kidney and pancreas in two, ripped her liver loose from a ligament, fractured eight ribs and collapsed a lung.

Feran-Baum, who is not Sophia’s father, was babysitting on June 9 while the mother left the house.
The little girl started to scream and cry for her mom, and Feran-Baum claimed he couldn’t get her to stop. He tried a time out, food and putting the girl down for a nap.

“And then, I don’t know, I kinda snapped on her,” he said, according to the criminal complaint. “And I put her in a corner and I, I, I don’t know. I just kicked her in the back.”

He replayed the sickening sequence for investigators, using a doll to show how he booted the sobbing child and then slammed his foot down on her back.

The girl somehow survived the night. Feran-Baum told the girl’s 20-year-old mom, identified as S.S. in court papers, the toddler wasn’t feeling well.

The mom gave her Motrin pain relievers and tried to cool a fever by putting her in a bath.
It wasn’t until 12:30 p.m. the next day that the girl nodded out and Feran-Baum went for help. The teen asked to borrow a neighbor’s phone to call his grandfather, returning 10 minutes later with the limp child in his arms.

The neighbor began CPR and insisted on calling 911, despite Feran-Baum’s repeated requests to just drive them to the hospital, authorities said.

Hospital staff rushed Sophia into a stabilization room and worked on her for nine hours. The girl flatlined twice and was resuscitated twice before she finally died.
Feran-Baum and Sophia’s mother lived with his grandparents.
His grandmother, Barbara Whetstone, said she didn’t think Feran-Baum would hurt the child.
“I can’t believe it,” “I can’t believe it.”

But the grandfather told investigators the teen had never been around children and couldn’t understand why a child would cry. The grandfather had advised the boy to be patient.

Prosecutors filed second-degree murder charges against Feran-Baum on Monday.

“This was a brutal beating that is almost beyond comprehension,” Hennepin County Attorney Mike Freeman said in a statement.

He vowed to seek the stiffest penalty possible if he’s convicted.
Feran-Baum’s family attended his first appearance on Monday in juvenile court.
“Love you, Cody,” they cried. “Love you, buddy.”

A hearing is set for July 9 to determine whether the teen will be tried as an adult.

Source: Minneapolis Star Tribune

42 comments:

My goodness, shit happen everywhere *sigh*

My goodness, shit happens everywhere *sigh*

Sylvonce said...

Mean boy! He is nevr stayed around children to understand hw they wld cry?? So?? The guy is a psychopath nd shld b tried an adult

Meenora said...

Lord have mercy. How do they raise children? Oh Lorrrrd have mercy.

Pple shud stop leaving their babies wit whoever if not a relative, relatives sef na psychos...dunno anymore. Rip lil angel

Damilola said...

Devastating. Rest on at the feet of God lil one away from this cruel.cruel cruel world

Allybrownny said...

Jesus!!! Dis is bad,how can u lay and little girl on d floor and did that to her??Wat kind of inhuman act is dat???Hmmm...

We have more "sick" people in the so-called developed countries than ...

So angry reading this story and Y was his family telling him "love you for" say he killed someone child.

Why so much wickedness in dis world?

sad

What kind of Demon is this?!

Oh God

May her soul RIP....

omoladun said...

People should be more careful with who they leave their child with

Na wao!!!

This is really sick..
May her soul rest in peace

Jesus christ,too bad

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Omg how cruel! RIP little angel

Amaka.u.l said...

Rip Sophia

#Iamwest said...

Is he mad???

Oooooooooh my...!

Wonders
Unbelievable
Wickedness
Is he under a spell or what cos I ain't imagine it.

Hundreds of thousands wake up and read your blog, why do you choose to litter it with horrible and negative news stories like this? Please Be smarter with the gift and playform God has given you

So many sick news of recent. How do you stomp on such a beautiful child and your excuse is that you haven't been around children before and you couldn't get her to stop crying. God please help us in this generation.

Some evil spirit inside him & about 5 evil spirits , they actually pushed him to do dis....,

Monty said...

Some ppl have serious psychological issues. Anger is a sin. Sleep well dear child. It's just a pity

Jenny said...

He should be hanged...RIP little angel.

JENNY U ARE RIGHT,,,,,HE SHOULD BE HANGED TO DEATH

So sad. May the little girl's soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

little girl go enjoy for heaven jare. may her soul rest in peace

He sure is
He sholud be tried as an adult...
Wicked soul

Oh my! Some infants cry unneccessariy and its kinda provoking and fustrating but d teen over snapped! May d lil girl RIP

Wicked boy

Mercy Bawa said...

end time tins.......loading

Victor Chinonso Eke said...

#Signs Of EndTime. Part 2

Because it is developed in 'infrastruture and technology' has made them too busy & more focused on the wrong things. They have neglected d most important things like family and human interaction and this has led to depression and loneliness, which is left untreated and then escalates to such evil. Why? Because they simply dont interact...their ipads, tv and fastfood lives takes a toil so as to keep up with this developed environment and they lose themselves totally in the process.

This is disheartening! May her soul rest in peace....

This is unfair. May her soul rest in peace.