Woman resigns rather than issue gay marriage licence in the US | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 3 July 2015

Woman resigns rather than issue gay marriage licence in the US

Linda Barnette has issued marriage licenses in Grenada County, Missisipi for 24yrs. On Tuesday June 30th, she resigned rather than issue gay marriage licenses, writing in her letter of resignation;
"I choose to obey God rather than man. I am a follower of Christ and I believe strongly that the Bible is my final authority. The Bible teaches that a marriage is to be between a man and a woman. Therefore, because of the recent ruling of the U.S. Supreme Court, I can no longer fulfill my duties as Circuit Clerk and issue marriage licenses to same sex couples."
“I told my supervisors a while back if it happened, I would tender my resignation. I had already decided in my heart that I could not issue marriage licenses to same sex couples. It’s my Christian belief. As a follower of Christ, I could not do it. The Bible teaches it is contrary to His plan.” she told a Fox News reporter

321 comments:

1 – 200 of 321   Newer›   Newest»
ejoec said...

Madam, God just reserved a place for u in heaven.

Wow!!! God bless her

I love you woman....God bless you.

Finally, someone proves to me that not all Americans are in sane.
God will not leave you hungry maám. keep upholding His Word.

God bless u Ma,u have a special place is heaven cos I think this world needs more Christians who are not ashamed of their faith. Obey God rather than pleasing man.

Allybrownny said...

Nice one and fully support her move,d bible teaches us that a man is to be join togeda with a woman as his missing rib not a man to a man..Let d will of God be done and also be abide to..

Whao! This is quite inspiring...#MyOpinion

Let them hold firmly to their beliefs, she will hold firmly to hers.

Awwwww! Come here...*hugs*

It's better to do the will of God and be hungry than to eat on the dining table of satan. Good decision.

Wow, God bless u ma, for putting christ first, u will surely get a better job, ure indeed a rare gem..

May God bless your soul ma.

we re solidly behind you ma'am

God bless you, and never put to you to shame...Olori ire

Thank God. God bless you. Thank God.

Unique Bee said...

GOD bless u richly

good one from you. God bless u

"I choose to obey God rather than man. I am a follower of Christ and I believe strongly that the Bible is my final authority"
Wow! Its comforting to know there are still people like her.
God's standards can never be changed.
May God bless her.

PHINITE said...

Good to know there are still sane pple in the us

Very laudable indeed.

Now thats a woman with balls and faith deeply rooted in christ.Im inspired!

Indeed d Bible is d final authority, and the Bible teaches that a marriage is to be between a man and a woman.
Shalom!

And this is how saints are made! May God be your strength!

B. V. Jerry said...

God bless this woman

lgho said...

Wow!

Diet, no. Fitness! said...

And may the lord prosper her with a position bigger than the one she left IJN. Thats a true follower of christ. God bless you ma.

ASHANKA said...

NICE ONE

Good woman, God will continue to bless you and your whole family. In fact you must be with us in Heaven, you are a heavenly candidate. I am so so disappointed that this is happening in this Obama regime, the first ever black American president.

God will bless u madam and give u a better job.

fgtf said...

This is a true Christian not the hypocrite President Obama that signed into Law Gay / lesbian rights to marriage and signing Amazing Grace on Pulpit in front of Methodists Pastors for Wake keeping of the Charleston Massacre.

BBQ5

Heaven is where you belong granny...heaven is where you belong

Juliebabe said...

Thanks Mrs Linda, i love your courageous act and boldness for resigning rather than issuing gay marriage license in US, i won't be surprised if Obama is a gay who might divorce his wife and marry another man after his tenure as a President

Great decision. God will honour and bless you for the bold step

GBAM!!! Correct woman.

She has made her stand clear, obeyed and honored GOD. HE will never forsake her in JESUS Name, Amen.

Kudos woman! God bless you.

God bless you Madam.......Bravo,,,,Obey God and not black Obama

Good follower of christ keep it up

Good decision u made.

owww.. so we America still have this kind ...thanks ma'am u made the right decision

I like that jare... Thumbs up

*Nuelcode

This is a righteous boldness. God will honour and bless you greatly for taking this step.

Wow, there're still righteous people in this crazy world! God bless you more Sister... #UpholdingGod'sWord #TUJ "You shall not lie with a man as with a woman, it's an Abomination" Lev. 18 :22

Good follower of christ keep it up

nkem said...

God will favor u wit anoda job.dont mind d idiots.

I like your style dear. It is rather better to obey God than man.

Han said...

Correct woman

God will uphold you in Jesus name

*Nuelcode

And she will be called all kinds of names: intolerant, hateful and all kinds of stuff because of her belief. You are not allowed to hold any views different than those off the lgbt community or u will be persecuted.

Way to go lady. Marriage ids between man n woman, not man n man or woman n woman. That's God's plan for humanity. That's what's natural for the sake of continuation of the human race.

Way to go mama!

Iz

And she will be called all kinds of names: intolerant, hateful and all kinds of stuff because of her belief. You are not allowed to hold any views different than those off the lgbt community or u will be persecuted.

Way to go lady. Marriage ids between man n woman, not man n man or woman n woman. That's God's plan for humanity. That's what's natural for the sake of continuation of the human race.

Way to go mama!

Iz

Way to go mama!

Iz

Way to go mama!

Iz

GOD BLESS YOUR COURAGEOUS ACTION

I love you ma! You have amazing strength. You didn't allow yourself to be bullied by the evil gay propaganda.

This right here is a definition of a Christian! This woman don't need to preach or cajole anyone to be born again, her action is evangelism itself! Ma'am, today there will be celebration in heaven for you! A true follower and lover of Christ will NEVER conform to the things of this condemned earth! Your reward awaits you in heaven, a far much better place! Life here is temporary, everything is vanity....for the few like you, keep this in mind. I will keep saying this, the whites make better Christians! This is the best news I have heard in ages! God bless you ma'am!!

BrendaN

If thats what you want, then no probs

God bless her soul.

You go girl! Keep upholding the doctrine of the bible, God bless you.

We need more pple like this to stand up for what is right. With this trend, how long before we start using marriage license to man/woman n animal?????

Iz

Amaka E said...

God bless you for your obedience.

We need more pple like this to stand up for what is right. With this trend, how long before we start using marriage license to man/woman n animal?????

Iz

This is BEAUTIFUL. Very good oh darling mum in Christ. I really salute your courage. May the lord Honour you as you have Honored Him.

Little Miss sunshine said...

Nice 1. I am beginning to believe those that said Obama is an anti Christ.

F. O. said...

same here my dear ma'am. Only the truth can set us free. no other thing.

We need more pple like this to stand up for what is right. With this trend, how long before we start issuing marriage licenses to man/woman n animal?????

Iz

We need more pple like this to stand up for what is right. With this trend, how long before we start issuing marriage licenses to man/woman n animal?????

Iz

Iz

hallelujah, may the almighty God bless you madam. Still more to come.

mercy said...

correct woman. God bless u. so we stil have remnant in America, cos I tot there were all gone nut

That's the step of faith. May God almighty strengthen you

that's a true believer off Jesus christ...I agree with her..and I also agree with any body trying to be like her...neither Islam or Christianity that teaches us to marry same gender...am more. angry with American and the people that practice this in any part of the world...we leaves in a scary world today...were we human being don't obey our creature...so so sad!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Princessairolg said...

my goodness! God help me to stand for what is right like she did o. I'm so speechless.

Optimist said...

Mummy chop knuckle!!! Wia r d die hard Christians of our generation, those who wil not conform to the things of the world no matter what. My spirit is lifted up by her sacrifice. #Godoverworld.

Nice move!

Halleluyah!!! I'm so proud of you ma'am.

israel eyo said...

Its end time indeed

Don't mind those evil possessed morons, they should wait for the full wrath of the law of God.

Good will bless this woman and her entire generations to come omg what a virtuous woman, pls it's bera u resigned cos marriage is btw man n woman not the other way round (woman marry woman/man marry man)

Ok @ least there are still sane pple on this planet

bright Alfred. said...

Sister d lord is ur strength.

God bless you ma'am. That's how bad the States has become.

courageous!#StandOut

Thanks be to God almighty, can't believe there is still a living American with conscience...

Bravo!

May GOD bless your generations to come

God bless ur soul maam...so sweet

Thanks be to God almighty, can't believe there is still a living American with conscience...

She will make heaven.. Christianity has a price

I love this woman, we need more of this in the US

Thats it! You will reach heaven ma.

There are still so many who have not bowed to this demon in your generation

god bless you real good ma

sophieluv said...

She's right, if your right hand will lead you to hell cut it off.

A big bold step... #thumbsup#

GOD BLESS U 4 D ACTOIN U TOOK.Linda pls take note

God fearing woman!

God bless you...

That's good to know...

May God blesss u ma and may he remember u in his kingdom amen.

amakandidi said...

am loving this woman, thanks for standing for God.

dilinger said...

I am in full support!!!! God is great!

Olusoji said...

God bless her in many folds. She has said it all.

Jesus honour you.

Wat a grounded faith. How I wish someone like me can withstand n surmount dis kinda temptatn. Thumbs up mama

seun said...

May the Lord bless your beautiful and faithful heart..Bcuz of ur action, u made the Lord smile in the midst of it all.

Liddieberry said...

GOD BLESS YOU MA... A WOMAN OF INTEGRITY

that's a true follower of christ.

Wow so there r still sane people in d US? I was wondering where they all went. God bless u mam. It's better to obey God than man

May God almighty bless you and house hold for obeying the God almighty. You will never lack may almighty jehova provide for you in jesus name Amen.my sister in Christ keep it on and those who believe in Christ jesus will never lack.God bless you and bless whatever you lay your hand on.praise God and Satan will be sham including those that worship him eh American supreme court/Obama.

Linda Barnette May God Almighty continue to Bless you and your household IJN. AMEN! Say NO same sex Marriage it's against the Will of GOD.

ella-b said...

Woman of the word of the Most High, Chim gozie gi.

Wow so there r still sane people in d US? I was wondering where they all went. God bless u mam. It's better to obey God than man

So America still have people with conscience? who really want to serve God. Tell Obama, that son of the devil that freedom is not to the extend of going against nature and God, the almighty.

Hallelujah !!! Glory to God for those who are prepared to stand up for the gospel. God bless you and your generations IJN. Amen

HONEY said...

A PRACTICAL CHRISTIAN YOU ARE MOMMA!!!!! PROUD OF YOU AND AM SURE GOD IS SMILING DOWN ON YOU RIGHT NOW...THERE IS NO NEED ASSUMING ANYTHING...BIBLE SAYS A MAN AND A WOMAN SHIKINA

Wao! God bless you and your descendants.

She is so right.everyone has their strong beliefs. The world is really at its end time. During noah's days, the people were doing so much bad things in God's eye and He destroyed them all except noah and his family. Same is happening, history will repeat itself.we as humans are defiling God's arrangement and eventually forcing Him to remove the wicked ones. We are so worried about water pollution, animal killings as things that destroys ecosystem but we fail to see that humans are part of ecosystem, when we change our normal way of reproduction and sex...we will definitely change and detroy ecosystem. Even animals will be confused with their sense of smell and sight about who is who between humans.humans will be the cause of earth's destruction.but before man can completely ruin the earth, God himself will wipe out every form of wickedness and immorality of all sort that are detestable to Him.

From what she has said, she is definitely a Jehovah's Witness. I applaud you my dear sister. Indeed, we must obey God as ruler rather than men.

GOD bless her soul. She will surely get a better job

Jenny said...

Bravo lady...we still have some sensible Americans

andre kelvin said...

Tru shit

ZiZi Kokoye said...

God bless you.Say no to evil.

LET ME KNOW THAT HEAVEN IS "OUR HOME" SOMEDAY WHEN WE MUST HAVE POURED OUT BLESSINGS TO OUR CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN.

ALL THE BEST,
SO SAYS: @MILLION-DOLARS

NKU said...

GOD BLESS THIS WOMAN......

Jehovah will sustain you. Obama and the five members of the Supreme Court in America have signed the Death Warrant of America. Obama is the Abomination of Desolation standing in a Holy Place. Gays are now DESECRATING the cross having sex using the Christian symbol and beating up people in the street trying to oppose them. Their logo is love win but they ain't showing any love to those who oppose their Satanic acts

fesssy said...

This is a true believer and one who truly fear God!

Oooooooooh my...!

Interesting
I pray heaven will reward u

Madam trust me your mansion in heaven has 3 of "kris jenners luxury bathroom" in it, made in Gold.May God continually fill you with His wisdom.your a rare gem

May God bless ur soul, madam

It better to obey God than Man.......Well done!!!

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

mel20 said...

It should start from there, may the kingdom of heavens open to you great woman!

You are saved woman.

yes!

Good Woman

God almighty will bless ur generation for this, you ll never lack anything in life. You are blessed.

God bless this woman in thousand fold. Thank God we still have some Christians there who still believe in Christ Jesus and His teachings!

Good to hear that, Keep it up.

HIbeeeeeee

Elixir said...

Very sound decision... May God bless you more!

osyda said...

You did the right thing my dear, God blessings shall continue to go with u. The wise shall inherit glory.

God bless you ma, you are indeed the "Light Carrier".

So true..am with the woman, God is good

Treasure said...

Correct! A believer by action.

It is heart warming to know that there are people who still listen to the voice of reason, the gentle whisper of the Holy Spirit, and are still firm about their belief in God Almighty, HIS holy Son Jesus Christ, and would stand by their convictions, even in the face of contradictions.

God bless you Ma'am for being a shinning light that illuminates the "dark" system of this world.

Some Americans are still sane

I just ve to comment on this post Linda - God Bless her for taking such a brave decision!

I am Coonett

My hero. I will rather obey God, than obey man. God bless you maam

God will definitely provide another job that is 100% better than that in Jesus name amen

God bless u ma. Dave

She's an ambassador for Christ.. Glad to know not all the people of US are in support of these moral decadence.

Heavenly candidate. When we leave this wicked world and join our Saviour in the sky, I look forward to seeing you Ma'am. God bless you for this, He will supply all your needs in Christ Jesus. Amen.

God bless you ma, u did the right thing and may God almighty remember u for this act on the last day Amen

Nimelda said so....

THANK YOU LINDA BARNETTE!! ITS SO RELIEVING TO KNOW THAT THERE IS SOMEONE WHO STILL STANDS FOR CHRIST. TO CHOOSE TO LOSE YOUR HIGH PAYING JOB, TO MAKE THAT SACRIFICE FOR THE GOSPEL OF CHRIST, THAT IS TRUE CHRISTIANITY. LET US LEARN FROM IT.. YES WE ARE ALL CHRISTIANS, HOW MANY ARE WILLING TO WALK THAT WALK FOR CHRIST. AND LINDA, YOU ARE INFLUENTIAL.. YOU HAVE MILLIONS FOLLOWING YOU AND YOUR STORIES. YOU CAN CHOOSE TO SPEAK GOD'S TRUTH THROUGH YOUR BLOG, AND STAND FOR HIM, EVEN IF YOU LOSE MONEY THROUGH IT. LET US SPEAK OUT AGAINST WHAT IS TOTALLY WRONG ACCORDING TO GODS TRUTH. DONT BE COWERED INTO SILENCE. DONT MAKE PACT WITH THE DEVIL.

THANK YOU LINDA. AM STANDING BY YOU. FOR THIS SACRIFICE, CHRIST WILL STAND FOR YOU FOR ALL TIMES.

#Iamwest said...

A wise decision!!!

May God give u d grace to run dis race to d end

How much I love this lady, if and only we can all follow the ways of christ and fellowship with him, may the Lord protect you for evil as you kept to his words and put into practice.

Wow nice , I mean really nice ... Atleast they're still honest and well principled/discipline pple ondis planet who won't go against the teaching of Christ & d bible.

ok bye, nobody chose their sexuality.

God bless you linda, God has the final say

McdioEmpire said...

She spoke well...God bless u

wao, God must proud of this woman's decision to follow his will rather than that of man/money. I pray for God's grace to put him first in my walk with him in Jesus name. Aby

events by tegz said...

Way to go,God bless you,he knows he's own and he ll never let them down.

Is well wit u Ma

chike JO said...

Obviously there are sane people. I am in USA. I'm a strong Christian.

That's where you got it wrong.There are many conservative people like me in US.

KoolTonero said...

. . . God bless you real good Ma' am!

Yes nice of u woman, God will see u through .America will soon witness d wrath of God.sodom n gomorrah..thumb up dear.

God bless u real gud mummy

TC said...

Thanks God we still have some sane people around.

If you ask me, this woman should win the 'courageous people' award instead of Bruce Jenner. God bless you woman.

Linda, please we should be able to 'share' some of these posts na, for others to read. Please do something about it.

WOW. MAY GOD HELP US CHRISTIANS TO BE AS BOLD AS THIS WOMAN AND REPRESENT CHRIST IN THESE LAST DAYS. LET US CHRISTIANS STAND FOR WHAT IS RIGHT AND NOT BE ASHAMED OF THE BIBLE AND GODS WORD. LET US NOT KEEP SILENT IN THIS DARK DYING WORLD. WE ARE THE SALT OF THE EARTH. SO SHALL IT BE,AMEN.

What an exemplary action! May Jehovah God reward you for your staunch obedience and loyalty to his Moral Standards and Laws.

sweetie said...

Yeah! Am move, I feel the presence of GOD in her life
Word! I choose to obey GOD than man, bible is my final authority ::: Linda barnette

Solid guiding principles

Elixir said...

Where are people like Onyx and all dem gay hiding under anonymous? You people are so quiet... why naa?

Way to go ma'am, your little quota would make a difference. God bless you. Linda take note!

God bless u richly Ma

I love this.Thank God for your faith.we should read leviticus 20:13.it is well stated

God bless you ma...may you live long.......

ONYX LINDA'S FIRST SON DID NOT COMMENT ON THIS ONE O! Later he will say his straight. Never!! Sorry Dude, you can't fool me.

Amy said...

Integrity. I love you for this ma'am

Mam i salute and respect your stance!

May God In His Excellence Reward Ur Courage nd Project Ur Light Brighter To D Rest of his Lost Sheeps to See and Follow# Yung Nigerian

What is she feeling like? Abeg shift go one corner, u don't want to others will.. The marriage licenses u have signed didn't the couples fornicate? What are we talking about here? Mtcwwww

God bless you ma. be blessed forever.

I read the comments from beginning to the end...I ain't judging though but I didn't see onyx comment...

Nice of u God will reward u

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

May God immensely bless and replenish u. Keep the faith.

iyke said...

wow this is inspiring a time will come when ppl will have to choose btw the devil and jesus and this woman has made the better choice.God created them man and woman and not man and steve lets be careful God is not fooled by human stupidity .soon we go hear more of that .nonsense law .very sickening

Exactly!!! God will surely reward her

Super woman. Big congratulations to you. Salvation is yours.

African News Hungary said...

Wao, I had thought many readers would call for the head of this woman for being intolerant. I could not hold my joy reading that all commentators agree with her. O yes, this is another beautiful day the Lord has made; and we shall rejoice & be happy in it. Mark it, the verdict is the beginning of the end for this country call America. I can only pray for the righteous in that country. May the Lord spare them in times like this.

I love u woman..❤️. God bless u.

So deris still a sane American! God has a special place 4 u ma'am

You will never lack what u will use to feed yourself and family. The joy of the Lord is your strength..

God bless ma. Good to see someone like you in US. More grace ma

his-excellency1 said...

am so impress by your action ma, may God reward you~!...I also love you for doing that.am so proud of you.

his-excellency1 said...

am so impress by your action ma, may God reward you~!...I also love you for doing that.am so proud of you.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 321   Newer› Newest»