"Keep your marriage out of social media' - Betty Irabor advises | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 3 July 2015

"Keep your marriage out of social media' - Betty Irabor advises

I totally agree with her. I'm sure marriage is hard enough but bringing it on social media will probably make it harder - when people start to share unwanted opinion. See more tweets after the cut

85 comments:

On fleek!

Elixir said...

I agree with her too.

Toke did hers for fame and popularity, it worked and also backfired, but at d end no publicity is bad publicity, all men cheat, hers bcame Big deal cos she's a social media celeb.. Move on people, she has already

#True!

SANDRA said...

Keep ur personal life away from d public,period!

SANDRA said...

Keep ur personal life away from d public, period!

True!
Do toke visit this blog?
lol....just asking

Exactly... Marriage sld be kept out of social media if really u want it to work... Y do u think our parents own worked, they had nothing like social media back then which made live easy.. We cld go back to the pass and copy from them.

Meenah_wakil on instagram

Lilian Fc Barcelona said...

Nice one.

Thumb up dear

Sound advise for once on Linda Ikeji blog

This is truer than true. It's a pity how people live their lives on social media.

7Star advice, please leave social media out of your marriage. God bless you ma for this advice. UNA DON HEAR oooo. Petero

True talk. Social media can be destructive.

MYS fabric bags lagos 08134794565, D60E8C4D said...

So aunty Linda u knw dat bringing marriage issues on social media will make it worse yet, u will still table people's marriage affairs here without them permitting u to do so.....if only u knw how much damages u ve caused all in d name of seeking traffic on ur blog....it is well

True yarn

I am with her... Everything tend to go viral in this ICT revolutionized world we are, though technology drives, but this is a disadvantage. Roger Linda!

Who doesn't have challenges in their marriage, but living out every issue on social media is just MARITAL SUICIDE (celebrity or not). Thank you ma for these words. Gepetto

PARENTAL ADVISORY

We av anoda Toke on our hand, all this marriage counselors dats either not married nor can't keep their marriage, advising others about marriage

True talk

social media is a narcotic to which couple remain addicted to most of their lives.Ask all these celebs whose marriages crashed,social media was a catalyst to their breakups

True talk,i've being saying it all the time if any star want a successful marriage take it ou tof media.
Can some one call aboki terrosit buhari i have a word for him please.

True talk,i've being saying it all the time if any star want a successful marriage take it ou tof media.

Betty help me tell them oh.....u go leave ur husband in bed come de write shit on social media, u no fit tell am there? Abi una mouth de stink for morning wey make una no fit tell am wetin de una mind.

When your business is everywhere, the 'other men and women' know you there's trouble, everybody can now use you as case study, how about just keeping that man or woman happy at home no matter the challenges, settle them at home. Olaniyi

Keep your marriage\relationship outta the public eyes.....

Oby said...

Correct. People, please adhere to Betty's advise.

So true, thinks that make they bring up happens a lot in other people life's , to me the celebrity's are cause of their problems, they use their marriage for publicity stunt forgetting that a real thing in their life's. They are somethings that even ur parents are not supposed to know but now they make it public tru social media n the media's are not helping matters.

#Word

Gbam !!!!!! please kindly pass on to Toke, who relishes been on social media

On point.

Dats d reason Y I love the the Ekeinde's marriage (Omo T & Captain).....MrOpeAre

Gbam! Gbamer! Gbamest! In a way, she's also saying, "keep Your marriage away from the public ".

More hysteria and paranoia on what kills a Nigerian marriage. Being publicly nice to a spouse isn't what derails a relationship. It's how you mistreat each other behind closed doors that does.

lgho said...

So true,

Clear and simple.....

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Most of reality show or over media exposed celeb marriages end in break up so she has a point

Shut up u dont ve sense listen to urslf talk. If d pple involved don't table their marriages on social media wr will linda gr d gist frm? Linda is only doing her job okpetu

She's so on point. I hope people would learn. Linda take note!

how do we learn if they dont bring it on the table for us to examine.......i understand it causes more damage but it is a form of their contribution to the society

Yu try shah nobi lie.....

how do we learn if they dont bring it on the table for us to examine.......i understand it causes more damage but it is a form of their contribution to the society

I second your opinion my dear, Linda is all about enriching herself, therefore she can snap pictures in front of a GATE!

tru talk

Well said!

Well said!

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Social media has maimed and yet to maim celebrities marriages.
Be wise

prettiyz said...

I second her

Rubyliciois said...

Does is the right tense to use.

Nky said...

i seriously agree with her.

It is only FOOLS that broadcast their marriage activities on SM. People like Toke. Even if your husband cheat on you, must the world know? Handle your business privately. The public r there just to RIDICULE you and not to render any HELP

True

Joseph Egbedi said...

Engaging a 3rd party in a relationship is not advisable.... Even if there's a problem btw husband and wife... They should settle it amicably within their selfs... #gbam www.spicyjoevibes.com

So true. Will they listen?..

I don't think marriages crash because you expose it on social media. Let's stop looking for more external forces to blame. If it does, very rarely. Yes, you may feel your relationship is lacking when you start to compare it to the 'glossy' images couples post on social media. But it's everyone's prerogative to do as they wish on social media. When marriages fall apart, it wasn't because it was on social media, it is just that having it on social media let's everyone know your situation and so you may feel worse after it crashes bcos you were putting up all these perfect appearances which is now no more, so social media may enhance the feeling of shame when a marriage crashes but it is NOT 'the' reason why relationships fail.

I'm sure a lot of you here saying well said well said will like to post some pics of you and your significant other on social media but is that paranoia and fear of humiliation when if it ends that stops you. If people can post other good news on social media (or in Linda's case she can post her multi million naira purchases.... Rightfully so because she earned it) and you are not scared, why can't you most the man/woman that gives you the greatest joy (if they really do). It's all part of your life. But of course there is a line to be drawn. Don't share advice when there is fire in your home or don't come and be posting private messages but you are free to declare your love however you wish. #imdone

Gbam! Pls tell dem...ordinary relationship haters wanna see d end...jealousy an all...dere was dis lady dat gave her bf a shoutout on ig buh made sure to cut d head off b didn't even mention him..cos she knws how desperate n unchilling some ladies are

Shuttup dey didn't ask u to call names +d last time I checked shit happens 😩😩😩😩

Linda, if they stay out of social media, it will affect your job oh! Lol

So on point... But MBA,they will not listen

That's very correct, if you want to run a successful family

Shuttup did linda go to dier house to gt info? ?it is nt wa dey table dat linda will see??? U ppl will just b talking lik u fink wif ur but. ..maybe it's nt wats on social media dat linda posts

Oooooooooh my...!

Linda this is strictly 4 u cos very soon u will get married

Sorry,not all men cheat,everybody is likely to cheat, not all men alone, it takes a disciplined man /woman that respects his/her body hun? So cos ur dad cheated on ur mum doesn't mean everyone is not disciplined.

@MEETDREALEVANS® Betty Irabo has been married for 31 years and counting, so don't call her ''Another Toke'' cause she ain't. She is experienced and has the right to give such advice. before commenting at times, you should have done a proper research about who she is and her family background. I don't blame you, young people of these days don't read or do proper research and as such tend to comment ignorantly and blindly on social media sites.

Nkwobi na Isiewu said...

Mumu! For ur mind now,u gave a sound advice. If they don't go about posting their marriage stuffs all over fb,Instagram and all them social media,where linda for get d gists? Abi she dey follow them live for their house? Ewu mpam!

Gbam!!! But because of the fake lives people live these days, they have to put up pictures to show "haters" that they are on the trend bus!

My sister, I tire ooh. One million likes for ur comment. I argue about this all the time with friends, people will leave their spouses in bed and write love epistles on Facebook or instagram.... showing the world what biko??? why can't u appreciate your partner face to face....or text message sef, personally, I prefer to look into my hubby's eyes n tell him how much I love him, going on social media n writing epistles is just RUBBISH...

Of course she's right. When you bring your marriages on social media, it seems as if the clock starts ticking and the timing for your marital woes is set. Its as if olofofos are patiently waiting while sniffing around for troubles to leak to bloggers. Then, a little issue gets blown out of proportion and everybody starts advising the woman to leave. To save face, she acts rashly to salvage her dignity and when it backfires, they'll start crying wolf. Na u do urself

MYS fabric bags lagos 08134794565, D60E8C4D said...

'A closed source said......'
'A family friend said'......
'people saw dem hanging out together'

Tell me u haven't seen Linda using dose lines uhn, just for ur info dis people go extramiles just to get a little piece of someone's personal info.

Laura may God fix ur stupidity

Little Miss sunshine said...

1000000 likes

Skinny bones, not all men cheat. Do NOT generalize

andre kelvin said...

Real shit

That is a rocky advice! Thumb up for you dear.

She said it all, and Linda u nailed it wit dis words of urs "Marriage is hard enough but bringing it on social media will probably make it harder".

"In a marriage U bear each other's burden without counting the cost" is the best thing I've heard so far about marriage in my life. Thanks Betty Irabor.

Angiicool said...

Hahhhhhahaa chai!Linda you get funny LIBS sha.So true.All those social media freaks listen and learn before you say it's the witch in your village that caused you crashed marriage.

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Finally someone who echoes my sentiments- thanks ever so much darling. I'm not a great fan of flaunting my relationship on social media.when I finally get married I will not bring anything on social media - it complicates things

someone should pls tell this to sonia lareina abi ik ogbonna's new bride. she too do abeg, all she post on ig is her marriage, like girl dont u got nothing else going on in ur life? damn

I swear, she's 100% on point

Spot on, she nailed it

Mayoress dey there they vex for linda while she does her job and gets richer. Go n tell the owner of twitter n instagram to shut down cos they help in spreading stories.

Ma Fla said...

Well said!!! God bless you ma. I hope they see this and take ur advice. Everybody needs this advice too.

I agree too