Wizkid talks about BET & African artists collecting awards backstage | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 29 June 2015

Wizkid talks about BET & African artists collecting awards backstage

African artistes be complaining. First Fuse ODG, then Yemi Alade, now Wizkid. See more tweets after the cut...

138 comments:

He should learn frm davido

Abegi make this ninja turtle go hide for one corner! ITK

Linda what do you mean by complaining??? What BET did was wrong. Linda take note!

Shoro niyen? If u rili dnt care y lamenting??

*lib's namesake*

He couldn't have said it any better, Nigga is right and straight to the point.............. One of my Ghanaian friend bet talking rubbish abt yemi alade msg, that shit annoyed me dou.......but WizKids is an idiot for being a little rude, he actually cares

Adeyanju Best said...

#gbam

He couldn't have said it any better, Nigga is right and straight to the point.............. One of my Ghanaian friend bet talking rubbish abt yemi alade msg, that shit annoyed me dou.......but WizKids is an idiot for being a little rude, he actually cares

Karlsson said...

BET should stop their inferiority game already
Ubanagum

everyone is jumping on the bandwagon..they were silent last year

Shit!!!

Nice one wizzy

@dremkays said...

it's expected bro

BET is fucked. Wat dey do is pure discrimination.

himself said...

wizzzyy,,I feel ya,,my love for wizkid just increased,,in any way he gat d talent,,awards ar nothing,,cos u awards urself by thrilling ur fans

Ha😂😂 Tf?😑😕 I'm the First

Info@soccerglee.net email

AfroShill.blogspot.com said...

When Ice prince and Davido got their awards some years back, there was a gossip they received their awards on an empty stage. So this is true. No wonder Rihanna doesn't attend the show.

himself said...

carry go sabi guy

olatunolas blog said...

words from a decent man.....
to all African artist out there keep doing what you know how to do best,
the award don't mean nothing if you don't want it to.

Nice tweet Wizkid. It high time the organizers categorically state who they are awarding instead of ridiculing our African stars.

Whatever, this boy is pompous.

Abraham Ndu said...

Great way of reasoning...I just hope u mean that much to ur fans...

It's good African artists are taking a stand to say #DontTreatUsLikeCrap

Bla bla bla.

dats a big boy talk, african artist are just 2 underated. wizzy i concur wt u in dis

that's not our problem

ANYA IKENGA said...

Can he be this matured. From now on I call you WIZMAN

Esivi Wali said...

Respect our brodas fr nt kipìn quiet

chekz johnson said...

Racism will never stop.

Esivi Wali said...

Respect our brodas fr nt kipìn quiet

COME WIZKID GO SLEPP JARE U DON SMOKE YORUBA WEED

Black discriminating against blacks

Nice one, way to go.
Now they're speaking up.

sugar plum said...

linda, email me my Godwin alert ohhhh

Candygirl said...

And when they don't acknowledge,you guys would sound bitter. Smh What's the big deal if you collect backstage??you don't have any reason to complain!first it's not African they are doing there own thing and the fact that they even recognize you is a good thing for you so sit your arrogant ass down! With they way you guys are going about this they will soon stop and getting a Grammy will now be impossible! Pride is sick get well soon bro

I think Nigerian artistes are also to blame. They carry the notion of collaborating with a foreign /white act as an ALMIGHTY favour abi accomplishment, making these people feel like mini gods. Stick to ur 'africanity' and originality. Then they will have no reason to put u down

Nice one, good to see they're now speaking up.

Ma Fla said...

Good! Wizkid made a whole lot of sense..Americans wud say "equality " when it comes to gay rights. There should be equality on the stage, which one is 'back stage' to collect award? Meaning d stage isn't for everybody(African artist) . Yeye people.

So funny

Stupid. BET is black entertainment television. What is racist here?

I swear to God i just gat more mad love for wizkid nw.... God bless yu wizzy for this abeg......

Your comment just showed us how little you value yourself. It's a shame.

JayMillz said...

Hmm wizkid ... tell dem something... STARBOI MOVEMENT

its sad to think some people expect afrcan artiste to be grateful for being recognized at all. pls note pride and self respect are different tinzz. self respect demands that u announce them on stage during the show. they are also artists for crying out loud.

flimgee said...

Nice1 bro

If it is true that awards to African artists are done backstage, then I think it was appropriate for Wizkid to speak up.

Such awards are just not right.....

U r sick. U can never grow with u shrunken mentality. #fact

Allybrownny said...

True talk,makes sense

Make our african artiste dem stop 2 dey attend d BET Award nah..Abi those People FORCE DEM go America....But E Good as them dey Speak Up now oh...Back stage award na wah oh....

smurfilicious_countessagabby said...

@candygirl.. Like your name sweety go suck on some candy.. it's your likes that cripple progression.. #thinkwithurbrainnoturass

Which one is yoruba weed....choi plz don't post a comment if u have nothing sensible to add*mtcheeeew

Good they are now speaking up other african artist should do same to stop the discrimination mtewww!!!

Pride goeth before a fall...
Fuse and yemi tweet was more appropriate..When they boycott africa its another story entirely,now we have the privilege it's still another story.

Ah love dis guy....#respect..#truTalk

shut up little man, still angry my dat IGBO no make. Still gat ur back man cos you're the best after PAC...

Jojo said...

Yemi was right after all...........quite bad

Na wa oooo

Bunny said...

CandyWoman your comment has low self esteem written all over it, you need counselling

Ur full shit....cud u imagine...stop letting urself down gurl...wah d heck...mehn...dunt even knw wat 2say...

@candygirl. Your observation is defeatist and lacks self esteem. The African Americans ain't better than you. They scream racism when a white cop shoots an African American. Their black rappers rap about racism and lack of equality. Kanye once said Former President George Bush hates blacks. Now, coming to the issue of African artists complaining about receiving awards at the backstage. I believe they have that right to protest. I will do the same if I was in their shoes. Don't live in a slavery mental state. Rosa Parks who is African American made history because she refused to stand up for a white individual as was demanded by the law of the United States as of December 1, 1955. Parks' act of defiance and the Montgomery Bus Boycott became important symbols of the modern Civil Rights Movement. She became an international icon of resistance to racial segregation...So African acts, fight for your rights and stop black on black racism......Blackhole say so..............

Nigerian Artist should stop attending it's an Insult if the Highest other, they want them to come and be performing for passers by... eat ur show bet

Adetunji Saka said...

Tell dem

"Slow and steady wins d race"

Ximena said...

Hmnn

I believe in all Nigerian artist, y'all are far from pushover. If you are invited to the award, receive the award where everyone else does. Back stage! a no for me.

Why is it that sm pple ar shy to use deir brain,, if BET want to promote africa, dey should stop d back stage award shit, and plan it wif deir event,

Jay Tee said...

I luv u more dan ur comment jor,*NO HOMO. Na u get sense pass for here abeg. Oya take 10k KKKKKKKKKK.

He's becoming so lazy

Dude ur back, we're have u been

When Whites discriminate blacks it's called RACISM. But when blacks discriminate blacks it's called MARATHONISM..LOL

True tlk, BET is full of shit. So disrespectful

Why is this one ranting without a mention, if you want to rant then direct it to BET na, I'm sure they have a twitter handle...Mcheww

HAHAHA @abokidawarriboy Wizkid really resemble ninja turtle

Big fool

All you foolish people saying Wizkid is a little man that smokes weed you still go for his shows

Why are u so stupid? Your words and thinking are just wrong.

I HAVE ALWAYS SAID THE SAME F***ING THING. IT IS SO RIDICULOUS........AS IF AFRICANS ARE NOT TO BE SEEN ON STAGE.

AS FAR AS IM CONCERNED, IT IS EVEN BETTER NOT TO GIVE US ANYTHING RATHER THAN GIVING US BACKSTAGE.

THEN WE WILL KNOW THAT "BET" IS NOT FOR AFRICANS FULL STOP

Truetalk wizkid!!!

David said...

Why do we like to bring each other down? We can't continue with the mindset of jus humble your self and take any how they give u. For the 1st wizkid earn my respect.....#untill we speak out, demand for respect and stand for us; the world will give us what ever they like... gud one @wizzy

My sister Rihanna was at BET awards..... Jez saying

Nt his fan tho bt am supporting him here

God punish wizkid left balls lol.. why can't he mention @BET in his rants so i can see it..

Dey are not speaking up yet.. .. Speaking up with some reservations..... Y did yemi alade delete d tweet after some minutes

Linda's Addict said...

After reading all the comments here ,I just decided to drop mine.... Wizlion is right but wait o ,are you trying to say you didn't rush the award like Davido did as if his whole life was on it ?

My sister tell dem.... Dey treat dis people like masters and wen dey are treated lyk slaves dey complain....

Tanx for dis comment..... He still has reservations so dat he will b nominated again.... Mtchheeewww

What is blessed about ur stupidity?

The fool cant even spell sleep..

Some people shouldn't have access to the internet.. This candycandygirl is completely dull. Is it back stage that others are collec theirs?

Lol.. The boy didnt even receive the one they gave him in 2012.

He is right...

Oooooooooooh my...!

Just passing by
Dis 1 no concern Aunty Peace jhoor

AbiolaVJ said...

Wizkid always keeps it real. He no send

@candygirl..u sound more like a desperado &ofcos like someone of less value...so sorry for u

iyke cindy said...

U wish!!!

iyke cindy said...

It's gud to knw y'all ae voicing out...its reali discriminating if u ask me....

Imagine even among black we have racism ...Very bad.Like seriously why BET is fucked...Blacks are sale out to blacks..I could remember when they gave ice prince his award and he was saying hi to an empty audience..Plus after they got a computer to clap for. Very bad for africans. This should def stop.

If African artistes think BET Awards is an award of shame. Why not all come together and boycott the award? Instead of some of you taking selfies on BET Grounds, don't show your faces at all at BET Awards..only then will they take note otherwise u all will continue to be irrelevant...my advise attend your own award shows; make noise about your African Awards so it can be the next biggest thing. BET does not represent Blacks accurately...

l.i.m said...

No mind am.. Olodo.. I must comment

Well, na true talk. But i don't believe he doesn't really care about d awards. Their wahala sha.

He sppoke well, and nailed it. Thumbs up, and more power to his elbows.

kunta said...

U see, the Nigeria artist brought this upon their selves....They see Rick Ross, Meek mill and d likes of them as mini gods....u guys need to watch d video of *new guy* by sarkodie where he featured Ace hood sarkodie was just hyping DAT dude men and to me d nigga is wack as fuck mehn.....and this goes out to all Nigerian artiste, Value and always respect urself..u guys are even better off these so called African America artiste....your songs are everywhere mehn...people love wat u do.....stop ridiculing urself....as 4 wizkid me no like u o cos you are too proud BT for this kudos 2 u...u stood up 4 wat is right...nice one o bro...and BET u guys need to start making ammends we Africans deserve better.

Everyone who think candy is wrong is the fool of the highest order.... Do you even know why there is a BET award show... Was any of wizkid ancestors sold to the white in the colonial times.... This people are rewarding themselves for the hard work and things they've been through.... We don't deserve shit in BET.... It's just complementary... And if you guys do really value yourselves like you all dumbass advice.... Create your own platform and grow that much integrity for yourself... So you may someday call them back stage for awards.... Suckers

Ofcourse it's not for everybody dummy.... It's to celebrate some set of people who have been onces discriminated people ones considered as blacks "does wizkid as that kinda history"

Stupid fool.... It's not a right.... Do you know how many categories take backstage... More important ones for that matter... It's their award show.. They push contents that sell to them... All our big shots here,are not really known there.... Man. Illiteracy is not about going to school is it

To who.... Illiterate

Illiterate....BET is the world?

Illiterate.... Who should clap for him....people that don't know him

Illiterate...

She hadn't attended in years... just saying

That's a lie iceprince and davido got theirs during the main live show probably why they aren't the group of bet bashers.

Frst reasonable thing ez ever sd

It is a sh*tty thing BET do, they are just assholes. These is made up of same chunk of people who cry foul when there is a white on black crime! SMH isn't this discrimination?!

team wizzy all the way!!!

STAAARBOOOYYYYYYY. I love you even more. Second base ojare.

Bodmoore said...

Segregation and racism?

Bodmoore said...

Black discriminating against blacks.hmm! Just curious

Bodmoore said...

Guy, they once complained before when MTV was all about white. Please do a thorough research.

Bodmoore said...

They shld also hold BET award in Africa

Bodmoore said...

Word!

BRock said...

BET is an American TV Network, their output is primarily for Americans, same wit their content and Sponsorship, this is not Channel O awards..Candy girl had a point, African pride aside

Lewis said...

Well said, d earlier black entertainers start getting it nd respecting themselves d better.

Flavia said...

Cheks has a point! It's not about bin black, is the fact that even blacks have a wayof discriminating against themselves..that's y we are always a target for whites. If it's an all black show,y not just give d awards @ the same time and not throw us in earlier than the rest?

Lool... #whyevuls

mira cookie said...

Yes she was.

And when whites discriminate whites it is called aputupoyoyo

Kai anon 11:04pm you just made my day with this perfect response...some people just refuse to organize their thoughts.

Mumu repliers, BET is owned by a white man

Listen - Y'all out there hating/cursing on nigga's making impact/sense/money everyday "watin una don chop today" .. go get a life fools. Nice one blood - any award backstage is like a replica/counterfeit!
Hormoh.m

Listen - Y'all out there hating/cursing on nigga's making impact/sense/money everyday "watin una don chop today" .. go get a life fools. Nice one blood - any award backstage is like a replica/counterfeit!
Hormoh.m

BET a platform to riddicle african stars. They should creat theirs

Y Davido no receive in own 4 backstage.....I guess Davido is mouthed.....Wizkid d proud and arrogant bastard!

Ummm I don't get it.... He wasn't complaining, just stating facts.. in a polite way i might add

You lie Davido received it on empty stage no African has ever been in the main stage

NIJ REPORT said...

OMG,i love u wizzy.kisses

Anonymous 7:31 e b like say name back of TV u watch....I watched it live punkass....Davido received his award live on d main stage and called other artiste out to join him on stage....shut d fuck up and don't say wat u ain't sure abt....punkass!!!

Anon 1:22am, Pls shut d fuck up...must ur opinion always be d right one...very insultive idiot..ITK!!!...urchin!

Must u be insultive....shows how literate u are. Bloody fool!

Theophyll said...

Y'all artistes should stop complaining just keep calm, if they give you the award back stage simply send your gate man to go collect it...sometimes words dnt correct a mistake actions do, if they invite you early pass the invitation to 'musa' so he can go enjoy himself, when they see whats going on they'll re-trace their steps...shikina no long story and tweets