NDLEA- Nigeria records highest number of drug related convicts in the World | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 28 June 2015

NDLEA- Nigeria records highest number of drug related convicts in the World

The National Drug Law Enforcement Agency, NDLEA, announced that Nigeria has the highest number of persons serving jail terms for drug related offences worldwide.

Iweajunwa Okechukwu, the NDLEA commander in the state disclosed this while celebrating the 2015 UN Drug Free Day in Minna on Friday.
“There is no doubt that as a country, the menace of drug abuse and trafficking is one of the biggest problems staring us in the face today.
“All over the world, Nigerians are notorious for drug trafficking. We have the highest number of traffickers serving jail terms more than any other country in the world,’’ he said.

This year’s Drug Free Day is tagged: “Let’s Develop our Lives, our communities and our identities without drugs’’.

Okechukwu said that the recent Indonesian incident involving Nigerians was a pointer to the claim.

He said that in Niger there was a serious issue of drug abuse, especially the prescription drugs and psychotropic substances such as tramadol, rohypnol and diazepam.

According to him, other drugs abused in the state include Librium, cough syrups with codeine, sukudia (suck and die), glue, solutions, petrol, gutter dirt, zakami, lizard dung and cannabis sativa (Indian hemp).
He said that the harmful habit was common among the youths, married women, secondary school students and primary school pupils.

The agency’s commander urged parents, teachers, religious leaders, state government and traditional leaders to see drug abuse as a societal problem that must be tackled by all stakeholders toward minimising it.

Okechukwu advised the people of the state to desist from abusing drugs and report illegal drug dealings to the agency.

NAN

36 comments:

Provide job opportunity for us then d rate of drug trafficking will reduce.

This is so true,happy Sunday all.
Linda look alike

K. .. We r literally like Mexican & Colombia n's ....sh*t

Phew! Its not a welcomed development.
Not the type of history we love to make.

90% are ibos

Bad image for my dear country. Always in the news for the wrong reasons. Some Nigerian citizens need to a change of heart cos the government cannot do it all.

That is a good one but watch the western world twist that

thanks to bad government

Ndlea shouting in all media houses recent.. Ke Koshi menh!

Niaja for life

95% of whom are Ibo people.

God help us! Unemployment is one of the major reasons!

Naija and love of money! Ehn

Naija and their love for money! Ehn

Na dis kind record we sabi break. Sad.

See the rubbish people take just to get 'high'. Na wa o.

It's so sad we have crossed over fully to being a consuming nation. On another note...Lizard Dung??! WTF??! Lol @ married women....that's a a very definite classification... We do love our excesses....

And it's a big fat lie. Mexico, Brazil and oders nko. I think this people just make up stories.

I believe

Hahhahahahaah y am I not surprised

Married women hmmmm

Thanks to our igbo brothers, they keep screwing d country.......anything4money(igbo definition) akwa ibom nigga

They should say the igbos not nigerians,thats why I am praying so hard for the igbos to break from nigerian..notorious criminals with their bloody money..nemesis is falling on them

Naija I hail o, I doff my cap

annoying country bad news everywere

Nigeria my father land, its well my brothers, and sisters for we wil soon b celebrated as d least country dat is involved in drugs.

Joy C said...

The truth is that the state of unemployment in this country is not helping, till the situation is dealt with, more 'll still be apprehended.
Buhari pls look into this area.
Many v lost their lives through persecution of drug related offences, & no hope of it stopping soon.

Oh yeah, we're always representing...

Oooooooooh my ...!

Before nko?
Me sef they smoke presently reading this *lol*

My dear dat is not an excuse. What is bad is bad. Linda take note!

Nigeria my father land, its well my brothers, and sisters for we wil soon b celebrated as d least country dat is involved in drugs.

They are Biafrans not Nigeria. By God's grace u will get your Biafra so u can stop staining this country with your evil ways

But wait!! I don't get why you guys are shouting unemployment. Yes unemployment is also part of the reason, but have you thought of asking yourself this question!!!Are most of this people educated??? Nooo. Have you forgotten that all fingers are not equal, most of this people couldn't afford the money for school. There are other good means to get money and start business, but GREED won't allow some people think about that. All they want is fast money.

too bad