'Why I boarded the train With 'ordinary people' on March 2' - Mercy Johnson | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 4 March 2015

'Why I boarded the train With 'ordinary people' on March 2' - Mercy Johnson

Article written by actress Mercy Johnson Okojie...
My picture and that of my daughter, Purity in a Lagos train has surfaced online and quite a number of people have asked me what I was doing in a train and in Lagos for that matter; not Paris or London.
I was around Iddo at Ebute Metta when my Range Rover developed a mechanical fault and I had to make a very important appointment in Ikeja regardless of the usual traffic congestion in Lagos. Luckily, a member of my management team was around, he suggested a train ride and we were in Ikeja in less than 30 minutes but that is not the crux of this statement.

Like I mentioned earlier, I have had to answer questions in private and public as to why I would board a train because trains in Nigeria are considered a means of transportation for the ordinary and not-so-rich people. A friend called and said I just devalued my brand by being on the train with ordinary people.  I couldn’t help but laugh. Are we extra ordinary people because we are celebrities?
In as much as I understand the concept of branding, packaging and exclusiveness, I will never trade the experience to sit, interact and feel the pulse of so-called ordinary people.
By the way, I am part of the ordinary people. I grew up as an ordinary person among ordinary people. Why would I avoid them now? Would that be because I am now famous? Without these ordinary people, how would I have been famous in the first place?  Without the so called ordinary people, where would Nigeria's growing population of so-called well packaged celebrities be today?
For the purpose of clarification, I was not on that train due to lack of money to get a well packaged cab or to get somebody to bring another car from the house but,  my car developed an unforeseen fault and I needed a fast , reliable and convenient alternative immediately as there was urgent business to be attended to and I respect time a lot.
The train was available where I was; most importantly, I did not want to turn down the opportunity to be with the people who would ordinarily not have access to me so I grabbed the opportunity with both hands and here we are.
I want to thank my co-passengers, officials of the train for treating me with absolute respect and courtesy, I am indeed, very grateful.

576 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 400 of 576   Newer›   Newest»
OluwaCdon said...

Lovely woman. Celebrities are still ordinary people.#OluwaCDon

Humility of the Highest Order.... much Respect mam

Mercy u ll live long I swear !! This her statement is sooo natural n straight from the heart! Now my respect for u has just trippled! Unlike all those fake ppl claiming stars yet ends up in the toilet doing same sh*t ordinary ppl do! I love me some mercy joorrrr ! .....#OYEGO !!!......"Linda Ruturn My Ring !!

Liar liar..how convenient your Range stopped working near the train station,PDPigs paid you pls don't insult people's intelligence by trying to lie,have the courage of your conviction now,why lie?! Plus naija so called celebs really believe their own hype oh,saying ordinary people as if you can stand next to real worldwide celebs,na hunger & poverty make you sell your soul for money,awon ole buruku pls remember what your colleague said about celebs going into politics, remember the future o

omowunmi okunti said...

That is so nice. Celebrities are not god, they are just like every other person...

what is this one saying?....PDP campaign material...

That your friend dat said rubbish is sick upstairs for saying such. Who made anybody ordinary, miss supernatural being? Anuofia. Linda take note!

Good response to this imaginary view of some people.'Ordinary people'

Mercy, nah today? who no know say na Goodluck campain you dey take style dey promote... Abegy! I remain your fan anyway but I dey support change.

Mercy J rocks

Well said Mercy Johnson. Been a celebrity does not make anyone divine, because at the end everybody will die and be buried six feet below. Some of this so called celebrities are really allowing stardom to make them feel they are better than the people on the streets. If you are opportune to be popular today does not mean stardom will end with you. Remember you were once unknown too. Thanks Mercy Johnson for your humility,it shows you are more than a celebrity.

who r u dat u cant boarded train

God bless you good mama purity

chrys said...

Ordinary people. Really?

chayomsky said...

You are my babe anyday, anytime.

Awww Nigerians with their thinking Linda u too do d same we all human beings we need to see more of our favorite celeb in town like us to meet and ve a few chat

Good for her

NMaa said...

No mind dem.

Never mind dem. Olofofo. Live ur life. Spend it with who ever u wish. No one is ordinary or extraordinary in d sight of God. The pple im seeing in dat train doesnt look like they cant afford other means of transportation. This is wat is killing Nigeria, FORMINGS

#Linda'schiefbridesmaid

Glo-glitters said...

Well, u made sense a bit.

Ordinary people?!? Take several seats madam. U are as ordinary as they are.

My respect for you just went some more notches up. #Kudos

what a humble woman, my dear mercy keep it up.

PRETTY GIRL said...

I just love Mercy Johnson for her originality and simplicity...Nigerians are just so stupid...So who exactly are they referring to as Ordinary people?I mean why did they even have to put her in a position where she had to explain herself for boarding a train? SMH...

Tani said...

Grow up

Sandy said...

Omor see branding!! Go MJ! Now other celebs go de hustle train and molue too so they too can be seen as humble grounded celebs. O girl nothing do u jor!

My respect for you just went higher. Nice response but sometimes you don't need to offer explanations for your actions.

Kponskii said...

Wat better way to stage a come back. I like ur humility dear.

u head no correct 2 use dt word "ordinary people" jst who do u think u re.d same people u address as ordinary re d ones dt gave u fame yeyeish
aittyfinest xyz

i love this blast , why are we taking ourselves as if we are so special,all is vanity! my dear ride on.

God bless ur heart mercy Johnson,

You don't owe any one any form of explanation you did well, it's people with low self esteem that'll ask you why you boarded a train with ordinary people, first of all if the so called ordinary people don't patronise your movies how will you get money to buy the so called big big cars. Then again in most developed countries the so called high profile people board trains and some times cabs. It's only in 9ja that they make a big deal out of nothing

NEKKY MAGIC said...

I LOVE THIS GIRL...SHE IS SO DOWN TO EARTH,ARE ORDINARY PEOPLE LESS HUMAN?QUESTION FOR THE EXTRA ORDINARY PEOPLE ....WHAT NONSENSE....ANYWAY MJ I WISH YOU MORE SUCCESS,THE LORD IS YOUR STRENGTH.

I love this lady... God keep her!

@BOBO_EDO

We all special people and we all ordinary people.
Please check out www.effiezy.com

mary nwa mama said...

i just like this woman, she is humble. i really wonder who the refer as ordinary people.Mariah Carey has done the same and enjoyed that moment where she had to interact and take pictures on the train or subway with the so called ordinary people.

Ordinary pple? R u kidding me? So Nigerians now segregate? Nor b una fault.....

God bless you Mercy Johnson. The mentality of people abusing her is the reason why Nigeria will never progress. Why can Mercy not ride the train, is she not human even if she is a celebrity. The common man is a human being and the rich people are humans too. Everyone deserves respect and the moment the rich see them selves in the ordinary people, Nigeria will improve.

I love u jare

The train looks nice and much cleaner than the metro here in DC. I look forward to taking a ride in it when next I am in town.

Like her response. What is ordinary people? the folks in the train looked my fine to me - 2 legs a piece, one head ...etc. By the way Mercy, you brand has just gone up. Kudos to you

Ehyaa dis girl is gifted with manners. Keep it on dear, no wonder ur marriage is succeeding

True talk.

Lama said...

#TrueTalk nt lyk some fake ass celeb. I respect u 4 dt. #TeamMerciJonhson.

My dear just ignore them. Jst love u for the fact that u know where u are coming from . Stay bless

chichi said...

Ok but she just had to mention her range rover...Lmao...I love celebrities...plus to be honest I'm pretty sure she got some coins for doing it...but if she did it cos of d reason she gave then more power to her...not hating

Ochuko Tonukari said...

Great talk...

Madam celebraity,how ur range rover suv come develop problem for road,abi na second hand u buy am?

WHO ARE YOU?

GEJs paid Advert, Nice concept

Awesome Reads! said...

Thanks for being real. Way to go

Michael said...

This was a publicity stunt to show her support for Jonathan. It's is meant to show to the world one of Jonathan's achievements....nothing else

Cheap point...noted

Mike said...

Really cheap PDP publicity stunts....

May you soar as high as an eagle. You will walk and never stumble. I am glad that your a reasonable human being and did not listen to all these gutter people who by chance find themselves where they never thought they will be. I have rode the train with Bloomberg, dined in same restaurant as Clinton.
By the way, you didn't even join the bandwagon of Aso Rock Celebrities. EFCC is waiting for all of them

Ordinary pple abi? Nor b ur fault. U wen de hawk b4 don turn special person.

What does she mean by ordinary people ...u don't address anyone as ordinary....

Mercy Johnson,keep quiet make we hear word jare.how much you get sef wey de big your head?you enter train na him com be big deal.

Wow that's great,, hmmm @ ordinary people....

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

I love u too much.

Marburg said...

linda pls dt ur headline z nt it o

I love u always

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Don't mind them jare,love u still

Wow that's great,, hmmm @ ordinary people....

The train looks clean inside, I am surprised. The lil girl (Mercy's daughter) looks happy, people sitting around her must have loved it, the management team member who suggested the ride gets my respect even though I don't know him, her friend that called Lagosians that rides train ordinary people (i'm sure in a 'yuk' tone) can dive off 3rd mainland bridge. Mercy-good actress, keep your humility and success going girl.

Nice1, I luv u for nt discriminating. The range rover though,we sha understand

She is so real... Love you dear!

Abeni said...

So cool of you

good mama

Nice woman
Complete African woman
Luv mercy

California gal said...

Love you more Mercy Johnson!

Ma Fla said...

MJ, I keep luving you more everyday! u are too much!!! u answered your critics well! Real world real people, don't mind some people who deceive themselves in d name of celebrities and that is why dey keep living fake lives. Keep being the real u! we love u just d way u are.

Gud of her bt it was of no use to av mentioned the range rover,i do nt see d need for dat. All d same, I think I like her humility

And I just love u more becos of this....

Awesome Lady,great response

AGB said...

Why did she have to state "my range rover"? Is "my car" too belittling to have said? Anyways,everyone with their own ways....I'm not criticizing her, I just find it to be "somehow".

Your cup of tea

Mesky Da ImoFirstSon said...

D person dat cald u n askd u why u boarded a train wit ordinary pple must be very stupid...mtcheew

Linda listen attentively

Meenora said...

I love you more #real people#

Well said, u earn my respect. matured mind

Am loving you more than before. It shows you're humble and real. Keep it up. Don't loose who you truly are.

KING OF LIBERS said...

'Why I boarded train with ordinary people.' LMAO.

You be extra ordinary people abi??? or you be spirit??? Mtscheeew!

Next!

But still on still sha, LIBERS LOVE AND HAIL THEIR KING.

The problem with dumb people is they tend to think they are smarter than everyone else. I would love to believe your sad ass story but its clearly a lie. That whole thing you have there was staged politically and to show your candidate GEJ is working so stuff it right back where you pulled it from. Do you even know what "ordinary people" look like if you saw them? Cos I don't see any ordinary people on that train. Important meeting indeed...with your daughter with you? And then you just left your car that developed a fault on the road abi? Mumulat!

Am loving you more than before. It shows you're humble and real. Keep it up. Don't loose who you truly are.

mercy Johnson!!!!!!!!!!!
you too much. I love more for this clarification. more grease to your elbow.

OOOh did she say ordinary people.? she must really think of her self a Super mega star. idiot

People shaa!!nice one Mercy

we have so many derange people that Portray them self as celebrities,first who are the ordinary People? fellow Citizen Like you who you don't even know their status,we have so many Unknown that are richer than Top Celebrities,not all Celebrities are doing good More than Anyone,Most of them are still struggling to Survive,Some cant even afford to eat 3times a day ...we dont need to start calling names.

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

People can be foolish, when Mariah Carey who can buy all our so called celebrities used the tube. So Mercy is suppose to be extra or super ordinary. See mentality

Nicely said. Well done jare.

Bsek said...

U r blessed MJ,no mind that silly friend of yours

Nigeria ppl sef,wch 1 is ordinary ppl again,bkus u r a celeb doesnt mean u cant associate wit ppl datu grew up wit... Thumbs up mercy,u r indeed a good person

This is orchestrated BULLSHIT...planned by the PDP!!! Mercy u r a money whore for this one! Sold your vote did yer?!

Naijasportscrib.com said...

I still believe its part of the campaign though. Check out here for sports news

I love this Girl

and thats how you know someone who has got home training

I love mercy johnson

Goaldyn Boy said...

Mercy Johnson we know it's all publicity stunt and you just wanna be in the news! Even this your explanations is in furtherance of your pre-arranged stunt! You forgot to explain why you decided to take pictures in the train?........Go sit son joor!!!

Damola Gbadegesin said...

Well siad Mercy.ose

maybe until she explains the meaning of the phrase "ordinary people"?

Very well said nd touching

Janeychantal said...

U r my inspiration, Mercy Johnson

Nigeria with too much pride. When Cameron enters train with 'ordinary people' does anyone call him to say he will loose election bcos of that?

Mercy Johnson I have never been a fan but baby girl you just win my outmost respect for life,inferiority complex is a bad thing and it's stuck in the brains of most if these So called local celebrities.You are an ordinary gal my darling doing extraordinary things.#Getoveryahighhorse u so called Naija celebs.A train is a means of transportation and doesn't define who you are.

Mercy...my love and respect for you just sky rockted to an uminaginable height for this....carry on...You have never failed....

That's my girl I love u so much mercy u will always remain my role model

Famous Amos said...

Thumbs up babes. Nothing to worry about jare. You did the right thing

nice one mercy we are all important to each other regardless of where we find ourselfs now ***much luv dear****

Good u clarified that "ordinary people" cuz I was about to go off on yoass..

U ain't different from them OK
We are all special

I am very rich mj,buh u just got me there, I love ordinary pple.... I ve been too low as low as looking for churches to sleep in,buh am very rich now, so any contact I ve with my ordinary pple,i always make it a tym to remember

Yes my dear. You are on point! you go girl!

Intelligent word. Level of reasoning 100%+

Queenangelics said...

My dear i will always love u 4 ur humility....

Why are u giving them explanations? Let dem hug high tension if they are angry u boarded a train

Love u more DUMEBI

PAAaaid !!!!!

kitty Belle said...

Mercy, I love you more and more.

"A developed country is not a place where the poor have cars. It's where the rich (and famous) use public transportation" - Mayor of Bogota.

Mercy dear, don't mind them. You did the right thing. God will continue to bless you for being who you are.

Nigerians with this their over-packaging and over-branding.abeg my dear mercy carry go,no mind dem.they no kw say ur fan base go even grow stronger now.even David Cameron dey board train.

Nollywood campaign strategy for the ruling party!

The money from GEJ campaign team will really hurt this madams brand. Well somethings gotta give

All these explanation necessary, Biko which one be ordinary people I don't understand.

Gracie ~Lindodo's Angel~ said...

I like the sounds of simplicity in comment. Awon olofofo, over to you now.

Who do u think you are to call some people ordinary ?

Good talk MJ. Dats y I love u so much. U live a christian life

Mercy all i can say is dat" u are a daring" lolo1

One of the reasons I loovvvve her. Well spoken!

One of the reasons I loooovvvvve her! Well spoken!!!

Awesome!! Mercy, ur my girl for life!!

Nice one girl, don't mind vain people. No one is ordinary, love and appreciate everyone no matter where you meet them. I love you more for your understanding and kind nature.

Lin Lin my love!

Mercy Johnson has always been humble and down to earth so I am not surprised. She once admitted to selling pure water and living in an uncompleted building. To my amazement, I think she has really toned things down in her marriage. She dresses more responsible and I think she is having a serious blast despite the controversy surrounding her marriage. I think the success to her marriage is her humility.

sexy chizzy said...

Naija pple are pride, orinary pple, if check well, u might see a professor in that train, and just a common actress without a certificate is what is making ur heart to pling.

Humility!!!

sexy chizzy said...

Mtchewwwww

very nice response. your way of thinking is refined, and shows you know where youre coming from. being a celeb doesnt mean you cant be seen around. i mean if david cameron (england prime minister) could board a train with "ordinary" people. there is no big deal. c'mon Life is simple, why do we complicate it alot, especially we africans. nice One Mercy.

Mercy Johnson must be very stupid by using such a word ordinary people, who is she to call people Ordinary...Nothing way person no go see for this life...Fuck You Mercy Johnson poor little bitch.

Whoever making this "ordinary people" reference including Mercy are the most hopeless and useless people the earth has ever seen!!!

Let us av a world of ordinary pple, living life d way God wants u.

Lolssssssss! Ma'ma purity you wouldn't seems to amaze me. Are we extra~ordinary? Pls ask them thiz question one more again, Nd l need just only the celebrate to answer this question for her. This is interesting from Awdarful super~star like "Mercy Johnson, kudos to yuh my "diva"

~CYNTHIA~commenting from my TOYOTA CRICKET

Thumbs up Mrs Okojie

mercy nwa Johnson, kedu? nice acting, the first time u boarded a train na tear rubber train, how come the local train was not available at the time got der?see as the people in the train r all decked up, arrangy. well its ur money, work for it.

That why you are always the best. My mercy I adore you a lot keep it up

Alorlondon said...

Foolish local woman with your local mentality. Jay z, rihanna and several others have ridden on trains to their gigs in London without later explaining that it's not due to lack of cash. See how you're trying to sound humble. Celebrity my arse. Once you "so call" unknown Nigerian celebrities buy your accident written off range rovers, we no go hear again. How r no go break down? Ordinary people. Waka

And thats she always remain the very best.... I love this lady to the moon and back.

I'm starting to like this lady

nice one babe. i love u. NEXT

purity mama cool

Nice reply, I like that mercy j

flygal Ani said...

See why I cnt stop loving MJC.. Simply d best.. Bby purity growing bigger... #Me_likey

Jade said...

lolzzzzz i love dat dude reading paper..... no time, celeb waka pass yhu for europe... he/she dun waka pass be dat! they called us ordinary people, bur we made them :)

celebrities are just here, abeg rideon jawe ma sista!

I know it's that c.ike that will ask u that stupid question.

Pls who re d ordinary pple??? Na wa for mercy oohh abi na u talk am Linda??? Let me reserve my comment. Just passing by.

kinky babe said...

i lov dis mercy johnson so much she is always hersef she doesn't feel too big, unlike iniedo and genevieve

kinky babe said...

i lov dis mercy johnson so much she is always hersef she doesn't feel too big, unlike iniedo and genevieve

May money vanity and material things not kill us Nigerians its crass!

i will always love you Mercy J.

This is the face of Mercy, but the voice of PDP... We are not deceived joor!

FOR HER MIND, SHE'S EXTRA ORDINARY

osaro said...

Well said my dear. .so humbling. .

Better Pikin...

U make sense die pass that FISH that is calling non-celebrities ORDINARY...

Please abeg them born am for SPACE!!!!

Msthewwwwww..

who are the ordinary people?
And who are you?
Talk well !!!!

lOL

charles said...

LINDA TRYING TO PUT HER IN TROUBLE WITH THAT `ORDINARY PEOPL`` ISH.

God bless you MJ! You are well mannered,reasonable and thoughful,and for this alone God is gonna take you places. And for the people complaininng about you boarding a train with ordinary people,their matter dey for Baba hand. Love you loads

That's my lady! I love ur simplicity! Boarding a training with ordinary pple like ua friend said is not a big deal just that celeb in nig form too much!

I luv u mercy

ColdFlame said...

Bullshit!
Hear her: "..my car developed an unforeseen fault and I needed a fast , reliable and convenient alternative immediately..."

Everyone knows that train tracks unlike roads do not crisscross every part of town so wouldn't it be rather too convenient that her ride chose to develop the so called 'fault' right next to one?
Plus, anyone who's ever had car troubles in Lagos knows that a train (despite all the noise about railway transformation) is hardly the first in line when considering a 'fast, reliable and convenient' alternative.
Mercy Johnson should stop messing with people's heads and just admit she was paid for that stunt by we all know who.

If she reall used the words ''ORDINARY PEOPLE'' she is crazy. Who is she to call people ordinary. Ewuuuuu!!!!

Dat r frnd is stupid, so is only in London dat dey can gt train wt ease abi, so nigeria train ws designed 4 d poor masses? Imagine

Sounds like she advertising for the train company (if it's private), or the Lagos State Gov.

If she is...not bad 'shrugs'

Which one is ordinary people again??? Nawao!!!!

Jay said...

Well said.

Much Love for MJO, she's is d definition of value, beauty, respect, in fact, she respresent every good things happening in Nigeria movie industry. God continue to dey bless u make ur life much more peaceful, mama Peace

Who are the' Ordinary People'???????????????????

adeola said...

What an irony!! So you're extra ordinary nw? Very insultive!!!

what does she mean by ordinary people? is she a supernatural being? #justsaying

Humble Nigerian beauty.

Abigail Onyin C.C said...

I beg I too Like This Mercy Of A Woman...

Well said...i'm really impressed!

See their mouth "ordinary people" Mercy dear I love ur way jare

People get time sha. Na everything dem go release statement for?

Pls what does she mean by ordinary people! Even The Prime Minister in UK commutes with the British Underground! Naija and there level of mediocrity.

auntykaydee said...

That's a good one! you'll go far dear.

Victor said...

so to dis celebs we wen no famous or get money we be ordinary pple...ok o...na so life be sha...mercy johnson how humble of you

REALLL!!!

REALLL!!!

ODE!!!!

Mercy Johnson does not need to explain to the public why she boarded a train,it's her life,her choice,she had to get to a meeting and boarding a train is now seen by Nigerians as been poor.

Abeg MJ tell dem o.....ordinary pple ko ordinary pple ni....*mtcheeew*......my luv 4ds lady jst increased!

Linda would you board a train if need may be?

Dumebi.....ride on darling! much love for u

Lmao at ordinary people. Honey you are part of the ordinary people. Have a seat. Thinking she's one Hollywood celeb

Nigerians over packaging na wetin dey kill us....what is wrong in mercy Johnson boarding a train? Mercy Johnson is one actress that's so real and that's what she wants to prove

GEJ is working... Train now accessible by all

What are you? Very important person. Nonsense!!! If people that works in the White House with Obama can board a train then who the fuck are you not to board a train even if it is in India for Gods sake. Please you need to seat your MF ass some where.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 400 of 576   Newer› Newest»