Bash Ali refuses to leave jail despite meeting bail conditions | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 March 2015

Bash Ali refuses to leave jail despite meeting bail conditions

Nigerian boxing legend Bash Ali was arrested on Wednesday Feb. 11th in front of a bank in Abuja for constituting public nuisance. He was locked u  and charged to court for the offense (read here). Despite meeting his bail conditions at a court hearing yesterday, Mr Ali has refused to leave jail in protest for his arrest and detention. Read the NAN report on the matter after the cut...

A Wuse Zone 6 Senior Magistrates’ Court, Abuja on Wednesday fixed April 2 for hearing in the criminal case brought against Nigerian boxer, Bash Ali, and four other accused persons. Meanwhile Bash Ali has refused to leave jail despite meeting bail conditions. The four others are Gabriel Ikyowe; Timothy Ugbede; Daniel Otoski and Jones Ebele.

They were arraigned by the police on Feb. 19 on a six-count charge of joint act of abetment, criminal trespass, and obstruction in public way. They were also charge with criminal trespass, causing obstruction in public way, wrongful restraint and criminal intimidation. The prosecuting police officer, Sgt. Bulus Samuel said the charges contravened the provisions of sections 79, 85, 348, 194, 256, and 397(b) of the Penal Code. When case was first mentioned on Feb. 19, all the accused persons pleaded not guilty to the charges. The Magistrate subsequently granted them bail in the sum of N1 million each with one surety each who must be a civil servant not below salary GL 10. According to the Magistrate, the sureties must be reliable, resident within the court jurisdiction and must swear an affidavit to substantiate reliable means of livelihood. Bello adjourned the matter for hearing to March 4, adding the sureties, who must be civil servants, must produce their first appointment letter and their last promotion letter.

At the resumption of hearing on Wednesday, the Principal Witness 1, Mr Bisong Peter, told the court that he and some of NEXIM Bank workers were assaulted by the accused persons.
Peter is the Chief Security Officer to NEXIM Bank.

He said this under cross examination led by counsel to the accused persons, Mr Anthony Agbolahan.
According to him, Ali, his colleagues and others now at large, disrupted NEXIM Bank operations by preventing workers and customers from entering the premises during their protest on Feb. 18.
“Ali called himself a suicide bomber and claimed that he was coming to bomb the bank.
“As a security agent, my colleagues and I have to be on alert.
“They came on a protest carrying placard with all kinds of inscriptions against corruption; we stopped them but they were still able to gain entry into the premises.
“When they were disturbing and making noise, we called the police who later came to our rescue.
“Ali had visited NEXIM Bank several times but am not aware the purpose of his visits,’’ Peter said.
He, however, said that during one of such visits, he had a meeting with the bank’s management and later left in anger”.

Defence counsel, Mr Anthony Agbolahan, however asked Peter whether he was aware that Ali and the Local Organising Committee (LOC) were planning a boxing championship. When the witness answered in the negative, the defence lawyer told the court that Ali and his team visited the bank in connection with the championship. Agbolahan also sought from the CSO whether Ali and other attacked the bank’s Managing Director, to which the witness also answered in the negative. Witness also admitted that Ali had had a meeting with the management before but that Ali left the meeting in “anger”

Senior Magistrate, Habiba Bello, having listened to the parties adjourned the case till April 2 for continuation hearing. 
(NAN)

75 comments:

na him sabi

Cicee said...

TL;DR but I guess he's having a swell time there

lool I'm sure mr bash doesn't have a home anymore..

He loves it in there

LET HIM STY NOW, HES HAVIN A GUD TYM DRE....TOMJERRYSWIT

Frm what i read he is behaving like a thug, well that is what he is tho... Daddy yu need to rest abeg......

Lmao.....this man is a confirmed trouble maker.

:::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::::

OK........baba is still vexing

Dave Mide said...

This man shouldnt be treated this way ...hes a legend

Looking for attention, he does not know that people are more focused on the elections than on an old, tired boxer looking for a final pay day.

lolz.... he is loves jail i guess.

Hehe.. Werey!

Nxt plz

9jahub.com said...

abi prison dey swit am

Ehn...The judge should kuku close eyes and give him like 10-15 years for no reason at all! since he loves the place so much...

HAWT TALK WITH TOSAN said...

That's a man on a mission. Good for him

OJAI baby said...

Am sure he is enjoying himself there.

Forums said...

Funny man. I can't stop laughing oooo.

Olaide Davies. said...

This epistle is too long, I no get time.

Linda Fashion Blog said...

Not leaving will not solve anything. If he feels Hes bin wronged, sue, period. That's why we have courts.

Lindahrisfashion.blogspot.com

The guy sha! Notice me or I die!

Was he not suppose to be paid his money If not corruption with GEJ? Let us call spade a spade joor, what re we saying here, go to the rest country like germani etc. They always honored their sport men and women, it's only in Nigeria here they will molest sport men and women. Was he suppose to be arrested @ the first place? If we have a good leaders or government in Nigeria? Nigerians should wake-up! I ready some stupid comment here it makes me get angry, because many Nigerians re still sleeping and they need to wake-up!!!!!!!! Nigerians wake-up! You & I know that PDP Government. are bad & they re not suppose to be voted in again to rule this country Nigeria, let us make a #change# so that we will be free from this evil we are seen almost everyday in Nigeria, & for how long are we going to be swimming inside corruption, insecurity, darkness & poverty? U can see the way they recycle themselves? So wake-up & join #ihavedecided to vote for #change#

Na'akpa ya. Lolo1

D man dey vex but he should leave jail first and then find a good way of registering his grievances. Otherwise he would grow grey hair in jail. Linda take note!

If he refuse to leave den should be left alone

Chigo said...

And so Mr security man, Mr. Peter, hw has he assaulted u? Is protesting now a crime? Lets watch and see hw it goes.

Maye73 said...

Abeg let him stay there na,he will leave when he's tired.

Na wa

If it was GEJ that instructed the bank to sponsor the fight, how come the presidency is ignoring the case and not getting involved at all

Bash Ali should sue and demand for some billions, afterall that is the trend now.

Bash Ali boxing to shock the world #Hahahaha

Neglected by his Country. I feel sorry 4 him.

7F098C19 said...

Stay there na. No ones business. Engr Emy

Henry Ekene Obianika said...

Super story.

Linda I said so..

Absurd way to protest.

I dont blame him.Let them give his own share of the national cake

Let them settle him.

him no get house or abandoned car to sleep again, who say naija prison bad

Let them give him his own share of the national cake.shikena

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Let them leave him there jor.

Hmmmmm, whr is nigeria going 2, detaining innocent pple n accusing dem wrongly, o ga o. May we nt fall a victim IJN

Lol.... we don't have to worry for him as per the "torture of initiation" in cell. Bash Ali is very capable of taking care of himself

Ethel said...

He is enjoying the place, let him continue.

They should answer this man now
Why suffering him

he probably wanna be like scoffield...prison break

The man don vex

MEREZE said...

I guess he is enjoying the split unit AC there

Mummy Prince said...

All you haters of GEJ will jump into the lagoon when he wins. Pple like us have since made up our minds to vote for continuity, so don't bother yourself in trying to castigate GEJ and his government, next please!

Truth is people have to know you for something whether good or bad. Mr Ali should just go to his family and chill, like share a coke with em lol

I smell foul play here from FG, putting two and two together, this case is appearing to look like Bash Ali is being victimized for daring to paint FG in bad light by leading a protest over failed promises from FG. This could be one of those examples in Nigeria where heros are vilified and criminals are celebrated.

Was he suppose to be arrested @ the first place? If we have a good leaders or government in Nigeria? Was he not suppose to be paid his money If not corruption with GEJ? Let call spade a spade joor, what re we saying here, go to the rest country like germani etc. They always honored their sport men and women, it's only in Nigeria here they will molest sport men and women. Nigerians should wake-up! I ready some stupid comment here it makes me get angry, because many Nigerians re still sleeping and they need to wake-up!!!!!!!! Nigerians wake-up! You & I know that PDP Government. are bad & they re not suppose to be voted in again to rule this country Nigeria, let us make a #change# so that we will be free from this evil we are seen almost everyday in Nigeria, & for how long are we going to be swimming inside corruption, insecurity, darkness & poverty? U can see the way they recycle themselves? So wake-up & join #ihavedecided to vote for #change#

Reading people's comments above, and seeing the faces of those making such comments as youths is deeply disturbing. There's obviously something wrong with the youths of this generation. They lack sense of justice, morality and candor. They are quick to accept anything without verifying. They are lazy to search out fact but are swift to search and consume all manner of entertainments and jamboree. Many of them went to school but came out with only certificate education without civility and certain basic human knowledgibility.I can go on and on. The mindset and disposition portrayed by many youths in their commentaries toward issues of crucial and public domain such as governance and human relations is so abysmal. Could this be what the older generation have seen and finds it disastrous to relinquish power to the youths? Without being overly hash on the youths as I'm also one, I would say the Nigerian youths of today are casualty of the long negligence of human capital development of our nation. This negligence will surely hunt the this nation in the nearest future as the older generations fizzle out and replaced by such by-product of their negligence.

Human Being said...

I weep for my country.

Even though the guy behaved like a thug during his protest, we should not forget the motive. He did not just wake up and start attacking the bank. He had information that the FG instructed the bank to sponsor them and he went to demand for the funds. Lets know why the funds was not made available.

Secondly, I am still yet to understand the Nigerian Judicial System. Asking for 1 Million Naira for bail for protesting and threatening someone? While the pension guy that was involved in a fraud/embezzlement worth over 23Billion Naira police pension was asked to pay only 750k as bail/fine and go free.

Human Being No Be God

smh - when I read the comments of PDP supporters I bury my head in shame. think of how such a man will be treated by his country if he wasn't a Nigerian. he is only asking for what he was promised. Not that we haven't seen it over and again; our military men can't even be treated when injured, our footballers are left to rot.

BREAKING NEWS: Buhari has made GEJ a man, because of Buhari, What GEJ couldn't do in 6 years, he has done more in 6 weeks. GEJ now tackling BH, Reaching out to Chibok girls' families, Press conferences, EFCC now waking up, Power plants now visited, now meeting Youths, etc. IF BUHARI CAN DO THIS TO A NIGERIAN LET'S VOTE HIM IN SO THAT HE CAN GET THE BEST OUT OF OTHER NIGERIAN LEADERS AND NIGERIAN MEN AND WOMEN.

Sai BUHARI.

You your self said it. They recycle themselves. The bad eggs of PDP moved to APC. if you move a rotten apple from one basket to another, it does not make it a good apple.

Maybe he feels more comfortable in there. Lol

ayomide said...

Eeya

The man is a legend he should be treated wit rest and I believe he is fighting for his right, pls you people should talk wit a little respect for him

leave him there lol

Otuonye Chidera said...

good for him

CLICK HERE TO READ THE SERIOUS INFORMATION

Ngwanu, he can start building his duplex in there. Smh

#myopinioncounts# said...

He's definitely seeking attention

Is Irabo mentally sick?
Why insult the Nigerian president.
What has GEJ got to do with Bash Ali and the bank ?

Story for the gods

This is for @irabo bobby fera favor and other people talking about change! My question is who is bring the change?is it same politicians that have rob the Government purse,in each arm of Government they have headed or fresh blood that have never tested the power!?You should please think of it very well before talking about change.It is the old men and women who has rob the Nigeria treasurer in the past and still robing you are hoping to bring change i am sorry for all of us because we shall never see the change. Let encourage our self and let the young and vibrant verge for the post and bring the change not the old men that has stolen from the treasurer and want to come back to finish the little that is remaining.When OBAMA bring the brings that slogan of change people followed him because his young and never been indicted with any crime.Be wise

GEJ has not been accused personally of being corrupt. So why is Irabo abusing the president of the Federal Republic. If you watched the AIT documentary on Tinubu, you will see corruption personified in APC

He should leave na

Alhaji Irabor boby fera fevour,you are a big fool.Dont kill your yourself for nothing.Your hero Buhari,will never rule nigeria again.He is perpetually unelectable.Go and get a good and stop giving yourself unnecessary pressure.

ANON 3.25PM AHHHHH DONT KILL US WITH GBAGAUN ENGLISH....LOL. WAS HE MEANT TO B ARRESTED "AT" THE FIRST PLACE YEPA!!! AND MANY MORE gbagauns, Pls help urself get an English tutor!

I wish he is your father.

For sure GEJ is corrupt, else how come no single government official has been prosecuted despte their attrocities for the past 6years.