Greatest gift a mum can give to her daughter. Two women have given birth using wombs donated by their own mothers. The pair become the first ever to have children using the very womb that brought them into the world a generation earlier.
The breakthrough brings hope to women who want children but were born without a womb or have had it removed.
The two mothers are among nine women to have been given womb transplants – seven of which have succeeded.
Allan
Pacey of the British Fertility Society said: ‘That’s a very good
success rate for a new surgical procedure. If it carries on like this,
it may have a massive impact on things like surrogacy.
‘Women would much prefer to have their own baby and be pregnant than watch another woman be pregnant.’
The babies – both boys – were born a month ago in Sweden and are doing well with their mothers at home.
Henrik
Hagberg, a professor in foetal medicine at King’s College London, who
was at the first birth, praised the grandmothers who had hysterectomies
to donate wombs to their daughters.
‘It is an absolutely extraordinary gift. It is probably the best thing you can do for your daughter,’ he said.
‘The
mothers were still very much doubting whether things would really go
well. You don’t take anything for granted when you have experienced all
of the problems they have been through.’
The first child, who weighed 5lb 8oz, was born to a 29-year-old Swede who lacked a womb at birth.
141 comments:
The breakthrough brings hope to women who want children but were born without a womb
oops:see hackers leak popular socialite sheneka adams private photos online.. [18+]
That's how. Its suppose to be.....obi nne
That's God at work
Science is making what was once impossible, possible. However no everything we can do, we should do oh!
Christmas sales on baby and childrens clothes at Konga.com
Aww best gift ever, may God bless both of them
Mmmmmmmm
Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com
Wow that's so nice...technology is taking us higher
#abbytohxoft
Wow this is wonderful.wife1987@gmail.com
This is a medical breakthrough
Power of technology.
Wow
Amuzieemmanuel@gmail.cm
Wonders!
wonders shall never end.thats hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Wow! Good news to a lot of ladies out there Hehehehehehe #onelovefromSnow#
Mothers are great gift of nature.....ologunifemidolapo@yahoo.com
Amazing Great! I'm even short of words. Greatest gift indeed! Gal 6:10. BishopDammy#
God is really wonderful. Neva imagined such tin was relatively possible
Sweden and science. Impressive.
wow! this is great..its indeed the greatest gift!
Hmmm...d handiwork of science.
Wow.this is awesome but once they are done they should remove the womb cos its old.
Faceoflib
Wow this is nice!!! It's the best gift I swear nufin more!!! It's risky tho
Awe nawa oh. Dtz cool doe.
Long live LIB™
The world is envolving by the day.
That's a miracle. But I prefer using my own womb. <>. REPORTING>>. LIVE FROM PORT NOVIA>>
Extraordinary gift
OMG....WOW$$$$
Hmmm. Very cool
It just keeps getting better with science.
Wow...
just too great.. modern tech.. GOD is wonderful
Wow! Intresting. There's hope for women without womb.
Wow!
Love,motherly love.
Those mothers are role models.
Bryte Tablet from Konga.com
Linda, there's also a case of a 65yrs old friend who donated her womb to her 34/36yrs old friend. The transplant went successfully. Thot to let u know. Thanks.
Whaoooo that great, this is the type of good innovations I wanna hear. Will take decades before it gets to Nigeria!
One and only Ada David Omobabalanu says so
Lovely aunty linda plspost my comments l
How possible..hmmm..science is just marvellous and amazing
Pls aunty linda post my coments biko
so there is hope at last for the hopeless.
Dats wonderful.......Nothing is impossible with God...... Science is awesome
Uhm! In today's world, nothing is impossible
Wow I'm stunned. There can never be an end to discoveries.
Wonderful
Greatest gift of all
Wow! ... Dats all I can say
Linda, I have glued my device to my palm ,today an today I must eat the good of this land in Jesus name amen.Thank you in advance winks
God bless our mothers...they go through a lot 4 us!
That is great!
Thank GOD for science and new discoveries!!!!
God is really worderful
Wowwwww,that's lovely.what a gift indeed.
Wow! Everything is possible now in science except ofcourse,creating breathe. They try. Astonishing things human can do!
dis is y i love science
Wow dis is amazing
Awesome!
>>>> Thank God for science <<<<<
And it's amazing!!
Wow..
*My R1.50c comment*
What can I say? It is miraculously awesome. (•͡.̮ •͡ )
Infact is the lords doing!
The whites breaking new grounds in science and technology, the blacks well we keep praying and committing crimes, indulging in negative vices. Just pray I won't come back as black in another life!! White people brought bible to Africa to enslave us and they moved on from it, yet we are stuck with it using the teachings of the bible to commit all sorts of vices. Rather than deceiving people with prayers for fruit of the bomb in churches around lagos to collect offerings and tithes, whites have solved the same problem with technology.
Thank you Jesus
Thank God!!!
Technology at its best God is good.
Technically, dey just gave birth to their siblings...lol. more importantly though is, what did the moms do right to keep their wombs in good condition that the kids aren't doing?
Wonders!!!
Very impressive..
Awww
Wow...many our youg girls way dey find kids, ask their mum to do same na
--------#Auntylindagoddaughter#
Science
Wow. So that can be done? Hmmmmm. Like dat
Very soon dem go transfer one brain to another. Good discovery tho
So luvly
That's really wonderful, am sure it's gonna be really expensive though. esebeauty21@yahoo.com
unconditional love
Ndi Ocha mma ihe.
wow. Gives hope to the hopeless.
Sooner or later, science will evolve more than what we see.
Wow
Technology,God thank u lord
Gracenot2001
So sweet.
It's in the bible. None shall be barren in the land,God knew people who can get pregnant will somehow get help...
Did u read d story?
Wow! That is called Mother's love. Sweedydiagold@gmail.com
Man has gradually attained God status, this is quite amazing!
Awww, where the ladies at, Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com
Science nd technoIogy. God is awesome
When will this type of news come from Africa. The best mothers can do here is take to their daughter from on prayer house to the other.
Hmm,greatest gift indeed
Great invention. Hmconcept2000@gmail.com
Them try
Mamashinbele! Wonders shall never end. The best gift indeed. mjabdulk@gmail.com
Zuwo! Did u read d story at all? Always commenting for the sake of it. Mpam!
Amen! Am almost filled wit tears,chai,God u r indeed wonderful
so wonderful
Nneka
Wow!such miracle...
Nice to hear is God dat made it to b successful
Linkus this na old story na...it happened in Sweden.
Whites though
Gracious God,Amazing!!!
Omo na God
Awwww! I love this!
Baba God you too much! See Science.Weldone O our oyinbo people. Ednamaka3@gmail.com
Wow! That's amazing!
Gud one, sincerely hope that some religious sect will welcome such move.
There is nothing the Lord cannot do!
Wtn oyinbos no go for do...jez wondering
This such an awesome one. But I dont rili understand how she doznt hav a womb but has eggs. The womb or uterus bears two ovaries one on each side. So if she doznt hav a womb how would she hv ovaries. The ova are produced by the ovaries.
E b like say u no dey undstd English? Will ur womb be in good and u still go in for a womb transplant? Which 1 is ' I prefer using my own womb'
Some ppl dey shaa o! Is it d womb dat determines siblings?
Wow dats great
If Una like make Una go yeye Una sef dey wait for Una grandmama womb, Oyo go be Una case....my candle opinion
Gab2shoessaysso
Science had 3 aims,D 1st was 2 mk man comfortable...wich dy av done wif all d gadgets,discovery of electricity,medicine etc...d 2nd was 2 better mans lyf...dy av done a great deal in ds 2,d 3rd however was 2 mk an elixir 2 mk man live forever_Immortality...dese pple seem 2 b getting closer daily...Ds z nice tho..(•_•)
Ode
Hmmmm. Mother's love 4 her child
The love of a mother, but isn't it crazy? The same womb that brought her into this world is the same that brought her own child. Wow!
Unconditional love
God's good.
Didn't you read that it's for pple whose womb has been removed or born without one?
Would u collect something you already have.
Continue commenting like a retard.
Wow...dis is wonderful, dis is God at work...most precious and greatest gift a mother can give to her daughter (a chance to experience motherhood)...
God is so wonderful
Kai being smart is not easy oo. The Royces of the world are too many..smh. Hopefully there's good news 4 the future 'Brain transplant' will suffice ----C21
You are sick.
Whose DNA does the child have? Sibling ke. What about surrogacy, na who carry the belle get pickin?
Just realised that 80% of LIB readers are either daft or dumb.
wow, thats great (eleyele1@yahoo.com)
Amazing! Greatest gift from mother to daughter
hope at last God bless those doctors cheers lindaikeji
chukwu aluka
So cool
There's no love like a mother love...
Wow!
I am sure the woman in the article would have preferred using her own womb. Doubt u even read the article.. SMH
You read some comments and you wonder how some people can be so dense. Is there a way people maintain wombs don't u know some women can't bear children due to different reasons? Pls if you don't have anything bright to say shut up.. "what did the mother do to maintain her womb"look how foolish u sound
Loool, make I just keep quiet. No wonder we dey behind oyibo people
it is a good and relieving news but it must cost a lot.
Wow OMG!!!!
Wow that is God at work!
Although is very risky, but there's notin God cannot do #realgreatestgiftofall#
Tekinologee #TeethWideOpen
I Pray to use my own womb ooo...
(1st time to comment i love your blog so much,, kind of addicted to it)!peace out
Wow! It's amazing indeed
But who is now the real mother ,the owner of the womb or the one that carried the baby.
The baby and the mother are sibling
Amazing Wonders! Can't hold back my tears of joy!
Adambano!
Supported
Very unhealthy sense of humour u guys have. "Lol" means nothing to y'all? Wow.