Sad photos: No parent should ever have to go through this | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 5 December 2014

Sad photos: No parent should ever have to go through this

Gregory Hughes pictured very emotional as he carried his son's coffin into his funeral on December 3rd. Phil Hughes died on November 27th two days after he was struck in the back of the neck by a ball during a cricket game in Sydney, Australia. He died just three days to his 26th birthday.

The funeral was attended by over 1,000 people including many national and sporting dignitaries as well as the Prime Minister of Australia, Tony Abbott. It was also broadcast live on Australian TV.

His mum
Late Phillip Hughes

353 comments:

1 – 200 of 353   Newer›   Newest»

Awww! Very unfortunate. *sad ~ceze

So sad... May God console them.

Omo this guy is handsome sha.... Rest in peace dear. *Sad*

Danz said...

Eh yaaa, painful.... Btw Linda go sleep na, you've been working all day, rest small *hugs*

destinysweet said...

Tragedy.Rip Phillips

-------#AUNTYLINDAgoddaughter#

May his soul rest in peace.

ASAP said...

So so sad....RIP

ada said...

Wot a painful death, no parent should experience such. May he RIP.

So sad, I hope the parents wont commit suicide. Cause Australian people are so deep passionate and value loves ones more than Diamond . RIP Phillip, may your soul rest in peace

chaiiii....God help us

flave said...

So sad...Rip to d dead

RIP my dear (chynnatu@gmail.com)

Rip Philip! will not use our hand to bury our kids oh .. and will live very long to take care of our great grand children .. Amen.

collins2vudu@yahoo.com

What an emotional father, RIP Philip Hughes. So sad.

sheba olamipo said...

So painful. But Linda u no dey sleep. Na wah for u

Maura O said...

So sad. R.I.P Phil.

Too bad. May God console them

oh my God, i feel is pain. may his soul Rest in peace. amen.

www.udokajane.blogspot.com

bluemagic said...

May God gv dem d fortitude to bear ds grt loss..Death is rily a sad tin

Ebube God said...

May his soul rest in perfect peace

RIP Phil, God knows best.
Never right for the parents to mourn their child/ren.

Blessed day to us all..!

*My R1.50c comment*

Such a sad moment. May his soul rest in peace

lord klaus said...

May his soul rest in peace

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

So sad. May his soul rest in peace

ugo said...

Accept our Sympathy

Kateorok.blogspot.com said...

No parent deserves this. RIP

Chai! Rip phil

It's really heart wrecking.RIP to Philip. God console his dad!

ASHANKA said...

SO TOUCHING AND SAD...

Sad event
RIP Phillip Hughes

Omo London said...

R I P

lgho said...

So so emotional wit tears runing down..continue to RIP PHILLIP.

ukbliss said...

Rip

DOS said...

May God grant them the fortitude to bear the loss.

Fun science trick you can perform for kids

Atobatele said...

RIP to the departed soul. May God give the father the fortitude to bear the lost

Eternal rest grant unto him oh lord !!

#ka mkpuru obi ya zuo ike n'ndokwa....help me say amen **tears rolling .**

Painful

So sad!! Rip

comy said...

so sad

Very touching. May his soul rest in peace.

Braynzx said...

Maybe He's Their Only Son!!! So Painful....! #Peace

aka. Freebonto said...

Rip

So sad..chai..God rest his soul

Such a sad story. May God give him inner fortitude to bear the loss.

Nonso Okoh via SAMSUNG GALAXY S4

It's so sad. May his soul rest in peace.

chaii so sad ..

Love said...

so sorry

Such a sad story. May God give him and his family inner fortitude to bear the loss.

Nonso Okoh via SAMSUNG GALAXY S4

Tbflow$... R.I.P Philip Hughes.

Wat a pity

Ibro Attabo said...

Eyaa! Eyaa! Eyaa!
PHILLIP HUGHES rest in peace

..............PRAY4NIGERIA..............

Quiny said...

it's Rily painful... RIP Philip

May Phillip Hughes soul rest in perfect peace, such a fluke accident!! The death of a child, is not the wish of any parent!!! May God grant his family the fortitude to be his loss-Amen!!! Whizman

Heya..R.I.P bro

May his soul rest in perfect peace

Kia! So So Sorry! RIP.

Such a fine young man. Rest in peace.

Golda Awosika said...

Wat else cud be as sad as carrying his son 2 hz funeral. Rip phil hughes

Olusoji said...

So sad. Rest in peace Phillip

LIB ADDICT... said...

It's quite a pity.

LIB ADDICT...

elo tasha said...

Lord please comfort them,its really a hard thing to bear

mercy Omolara said...

so touching....o Lord console them and let them get over this whole thing.

So sad. Rest in peace.

May God give them the fortitude to bear the loss.

Too bad to hear this kind of news on the early hour of Friday morning,may his soul rest in peace,Amen.

Crying

Yes...very disheartening, what a pity.

Nenyemartha said...

Enternal rest grant him oh lord. Nenyebaby26@gmail.com

Segun Ebenezer said...

It's really painful,sorry man n RIP 2 ur son.

It hurts 4 a parent 2 bury their child...RIP

Shegzy said...

Sorry man

RIP Philip.may our Lord comforts mr Greg and his family

Hmmm! Life, it is well

@Nomzyel said...

ouch! that's d love of a Dad for a successful son.
RIP dude

CELEB said...

Early morning tears. Rip and may grace to bear be with the family

mercy atizi said...

oh my God this is so painful! and he's so cute.

RIP Hugs!!!!

Klemco said...

Worse things happen in 9ja,sorry i d pains.

lois said...

Rip

Ehya,may GOD give them d fortitude 2 bear dis great loss,AMEN! Jay-B

Linda's Elder Sister. said...

Chai RIP. Such a fine n talented guy. His Dad is such a strong man.

Rip,it is well.

So sad.

graceanyakalu@yahoo.com

Chai! I can imagine....may his soul rest in peace.

OJAI baby said...

Ojai says" knew when he was hit and when he died. Its so sad. May his soul rest I peace and may his parents bear this irreparable loss in good faith. Amen

Twista said...

Awww, sad....

So sad!!! I shed tears seeing dis. May he RIP..

so painful

Everything Rosham said...

May his soul rest perfectly in peace

Neks said...

>>>>> This is too sad, should be the other way round, time will heal them; may his soul continue to rest .<<<<<

charlesome said...

My condolences to his family #Heart felt.

Sooooo sad God console d family...

Awwwwwwww... This is so heart wrenching. Rip Philip

So touching, RIP

SANDRA said...

Soo sad. May his soul rest in peace

May his soul rest in peace such is life

Chai linda so touching , may he rest in peace . CHI.

Favoured said...

So heartbreaking....rest in peace phillip & may God console ur family

Eyyaa.....may his soul rest in peace

Trust95 said...

Chai..wat a pity

AdeseOlawale said...

May his soul RIP...but why should parents be allowed to attend their children's burial?he even has d courage to carry his son's coffin?He shouldn't have gone in d first place.

Eyahhhhhh May his soul rest in peace. In Yoruba culture, Parent are not allowed to be present during their child's burial talk more of carrying the casket. I think it is to save the parent from this type of torture.So painful and I pray that none of us Will bury our own child in Jesus name

One and only Ada David Omobabalanu says so

requiescat in pace

What a tragic Loss.. Still a rude shock!

RIP Phil *sobs* its a pity.

princeabaya said...

May his soul rest in peace

may his soul rest in peace.

#Pathetic!

Such pain that man is going through right now....... May phil find peace wherever he is...... (•͡.̮ •͡ )

so sad.....May his soul rest in peace...Amen....

RIP. So sad.

ADAOBI said...

*sobbing* RIP hughes ....... its not a good thing for a parents to bury their children.....

Orlu 1st son said...

May his soul rest in peace amen...

Veracruz said...

R.i.p bro.may ur soul rest in perfect peace,AMEN

Amah said...

Sad indeed... May his young and gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

REAL. PIKIN said...

Ehyaaaaaaaaa so sad may God console the entire family........

lsabel christopher said...

Quite a great loss, prayers goes to the Hughes family. Rest in peace

Tristanflow said...

May His Soul Rest In Peace, amen.

I had a tear roll down my eyes lookin at his dads pics
RIP philip

So very sad, y should his dad partake in carrying his coffin....... RIP dear. esebeauty21@yahoo.com

SouthEastern said...

And the dad was asked to partake in carrying his coffin? This is so sad.
Looking at the mans face I feel his pains and feel like crying too. Rest in peace Man

It was quite an emotional day, here in Australia. He was well loved in his community. May God console the family.

heartbreaking..
.....songbird.....

I wish there could be a resurrection. So sad i felt for the family

Eww e no good at all
RIP Lord av mercy
bittertruth85@yahoo.com

Good am libers, aunty Linda do u sleep at all, look at the time u posted dis story

This is not the prayer of any parent...oh such a handsome young man..may his soul rest in the Bossom of the Lord.......*.feeling sorry for his dad shaa

#abbytohxoft

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Too sad

Rest in peace dear one, its so unfortunate

R I P Phillip we would miss you

Don Z said...

Really painfull.May his soul rest in peace .Amen

Nadine via nadin4real@gmail.com said...

So so sad¤ so full of his life¤

McLord Peters said...

God forbid this.......

Linda... Be Smart! Tough to agree Abi? Though intelligent Buh yu need the street Sense to see things in this blog.. Notice some anonym try mentioning some people's name to make them look like a better fan than others.. All set Up by same person using two phones (Google name & Anonymous) commenting on one story. Don't let anybody finger yur brain.. Nobody deserve to be giving express cash reward cos soon it will back fire on You.. Treat all yur fans as EQUAL!!!!!

Don Z said...

Really painfull.May his soul rest in peace .Amen

May his soul rest in peace,Amen

I can really feel his pains, see the handsome dude kai. It is well! I pray God gives the family the strength to bear his loss. May his soul rest in the bosom of the Lord Amen #onelovefromSnow#

So sad. RIP Phil. I cn feel d tears in d father nd mother

I think its very painful to do such. Bury a child. Though seen as a taboo in most African cultures/countries, i think it actually helps in the healing and mourning process. Rip PH.

Rip, may God give his parents d hrt to bear this pain Amen

is a pity!

Marilyn oge said...

May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace. and may God give his parents fortitude to bear the loss. AMEN.

hw life cn b somtymz...a parent goin for thier child's funeral...which is meant to b vice-versa

so sad! may his soul rest in peace...

Linda there is one story we are waiting to hear, the nephew of West Idahosa, senatorial aspirant that was shot to death on wednesday the 3rd by unknown gunmen in benin city, nd he ws the only son of his mother, pls snoop around and get us the full gist abeg

may his soul rest in peace

elovi said...

Dis is so touching

elovi said...

Felt it

ejoec said...

This is so touching. Very painful. See the pain of loss on the father and mother's faces. May his soul rest in perfect peace, Amen.

So sad

So sad

linda ikeji's boo said...

very very traumatic.that was a great tragedy.so emotional.may his soul rip

It a pity we will not witness this in our lives

RIP to da dead

Rip Philip. so so sad may God console the parent.

Very touching... Oghene forbid!

Jessica law said...

I don't know him so sad, his too young to die I feel so much for the parent may God console them and may his soul Rip crying already.

ebonydoc said...

May our eyes not see such IJN. *tears*

Mmaitah said...

Checkout my blog please

Awwww,so touchin,may his soul rest in peace

sweetbreadgirl said...

This is just painful to watch.. RIP sir phil, stay strong friends n family!

Rest in the bossom of the lord philip ....I dunno u but I feel for ur family

Sigh may God comfort them ..its painful

favourite girlfriend said...

Truly no parent should go through this ...RIP

So sad.RIP Philip Hughes.

I feel like crying ryt nw... May his soul RIP..

Nonny said...

So said

Sad face

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

Such a cute guy. May his soul RIP.

MAY his soul rest in peace....soo sad

Young elite said...

May I and my family never experience this in our life time in jesus mighty name I pray (Amen).

Rip so sad.....ologunifemidolapo@yahoo.com

Eeya may his soul res in peace amen

Rest in peace handsome

Sad indeed, watched abit and truly it hurts. RIP Phil

kerin said...

this is so sad. this life is too short. rip phil hughes

Eeyah may his soul rest in peace

Haven said...

My God! Oyinbo pple sha...A father carrying his own's coffin!! May we not see evil.....He is soo young....May God grant his family the fortitude to bear the Loss....Amen

May his soul RIP

TEEDEE said...

Really Really sad

stevenn said...

really i jx can't describe d feeling, loosing a child at a very young age isn't wat any parent shud HV to go thru... *reminds me of when I lost my grlfrnd.. may d departed rest with d lord..

Its a pity. May his soul RIP

So so touching and painful God please give the Family the heart to bear it and may the soul of Phillip Rest In Peace Amen.

Veeev said...

So sad. RIP

surshima samuel said...

Awww...I feel pity for the old man, may his soul RIP

aka. freebonto said...

Rip. Take heart, it is well.

Amaka said...

So sad.

Eeyaah. Death is inevitable. Every soul shall taste a death. When the time of death reaches, neither a minute nor a second will be either increased or decreased. mjabdulk@gmail.com

RIP...too bad!

olu sales consult said...

Aww....so sorry. RIP, good son!

Not in a good mood to ask for any chance to shine,

So Sad, May God comfort his family

DR KHENINE said...

Sad!!! But why is the father carrying d coffin naw

Jess Ruby said...

This is so so sad and untimely, may his soul rest in peace.

This is great loss. May his soul RIP

Its a very sad experience.RIP bro and take heart Philip Snr God knows it all

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 353   Newer› Newest»