Photo: New map of Nigeria as proposed by delegates of National Confab | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 20 August 2014

Photo: New map of Nigeria as proposed by delegates of National Confab

As a follow up to their July 3rd recommendation for 18 additional states to be created to bring the number of states in Nigeria to 54, members of the National conference Committee on Political Restructuring and Forms of Government jointly headed by Ike Nwachukwu & Mohammed Kumalia have released a copy of the proposed a new map of Nigeria with the additional states added. (pictured above). Continue to see the newly approved states as seen on the map...

Apa from Benue,
Edu from Niger
Kainji from Kebbi state
Katagum from Bauchi,
Savannah from Borno,
Amana from Adamawa,
Gurara from Kaduna,
Ghari from Kano,
Etiti from South East,
Aba from Abia,
Adada from Enugu,
Njaba from Anambra and Imo,
Oil River from Rivers state
Anioma from Delta state,
Ogoja from Cross River State
Ijebu from Ogun State
Ose state from Edo
New Oyo State from the present Oyo State

The closing ceremony for the CONFAB will take place tomorrow August 21st where the final report adopted by the delegates on all matters discussed will be handed to President Jonathan for consideration and approval. I hope president Jonathan ignores this proposed bill of additional states...

95 comments:

God ..take the wheel! This couintry is unto your hands. 2tim 2:1-2. BishopDammy#

In my opinion, I think it's ridiculous!
The many more states will increase the division and tribalism we are fighting already. Don't see any positive need for all the states.

* My R1.50c comment *

jerry said...

Creation of new states? This is rubbish with all d problems nigeria is facing now is creating a new states d way forward? This is rubbish and nonsense I pray president jonathan ignore it as well.

I prefer my state the way it is,which on is Adada state.
Face of lib

Creation,of more states to me is not the solution to our developmental problems. They ought to have canvassed for more autonomy to local governments,creation of more local governments and the strengthening of the existing ones.
With local governments functioning effectively and free from the interference of state governments,there won't be need for these new proposed states.

As in eeeeh! Dis creation of new state is highly unnecessary. We have better things to look into than this stuff.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Amicable said...

Does the creation of more states solve the problems in naija right now....smh

David Iyke said...

Ah where is Mbaitoli state?

Interesting
Gracenot2001@yahoo.com

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

SMDH for Nigeria my county. Misplaced priorities. Is this the least of our problems? They sat there for months and this is what they could come up with? To compound the woes of Nigerians? Approve ko !!

oludaniel said...

I think more problems will be created. What we need is true federalism

madam linda, I support ur comment GEJ should not evn support it,.

Honestly GEJ should refuse the proposal.

FIONA FIONA said...

I think I like this
Let's see how this goes
54! That's much

NaNcY DreW said...

Hehehehe so dey serious wit dis nonsense am so not in support of it. Dey all choose deir home town up ad a state yeye dey small 4 dis country. So 36states is enuf hmm 2015 God help us.

How dare you want the President to ignore the additional states?. The states are fine. They also recommend the scrapping of LGAs. That is also fine.

Jenny said...

Misplaced priorities..This shouldnt be the issue at hand, considering the health and security challenges in the country at d moment. I dont support this either.

We dnt need additional states, we av more important tinz 2 solve biko....

THIEVES!!! AVENUE TO SYPHON AND CREATE MORE WAYS TO STEAL... CORRUPTION AT ITS PEAK FUCKED UP NATION!

Bad idea! GEJ shouldn't buy this biko

Let's forget the creation of new States and develop the ones we have.

Uche said...

This is one of those times I agree with you. What kinda names are these biko? Anyway, it's the primary school children I pity. Dem never learn 36 finish, more don dey pile.

Olumide Abiodun said...

Lol! So when someone asks me where I'm from I will have to say Ijebu Sate? This will take a while to get used to if it is approved. And where did they name a state Etiti, when there is already a state name Ekiti. And where name a state Edu, when there is a Edo state? Plenty confusion.

Are You A One Minute Man?

it really does not make any sense.

LORENX said...

na smol children wey go recite state n capital to take pass exam i pity pass lmao

The newly proposed state should not be dependent of Federal Government and they should present to the house what is their source of internal generated revenue.
I do not see the need for creation of additional state in this country. The Niger Delta people should kick against it cos they will be using their oil money to run all theses newly created state. This is not what we need in this country.

shattap there! we haven't managed the ones we have already, they are talking of new ones. instead of new states they should find unifying elements not split Nigerians more. bastards looking for more avenues to chop allocations.

kachiezy said...

This is absolutely outrageous. additional states? is it gonna solve the problem of this great country? am not in support this jawe

kachiezy said...

This is absolutely outrageous. additional states? is it gonna solve the problem of this great country? am not in support this jawe

Chai, I pity the primary & secondary school students of today oh. You mean they'll have to memorise the names of 54 states?

Na wa oh.

I for one,like d idea
Long have the Anioma tribe treated Dsecond. Hand citizens
Its always the ika speaking deltans in the midst of things
And all most all the meaningful projects re executed in their own side of the state
Obu ne nwata ife (no be small thing)

...SƖεεkz

Onyinye said...

Making no sense at all...this's not wah we shud b considering right bout now..

Create more issues Nigeria and money loot. I pray it goes as plan but I doubt my country

AGB said...

I also hope president Jonathan ignores this proposal for the creation of new states. This proposal is just going to great a huge financial burden on the federal treasury.

I love the sound of Savannah and Adada state..#am Linda's newest boyfriend.

Mtschew..is this the only thing their CONFAB meeting could produce?!!

Gift Lawrence said...

our leaders are supposed to be engaged on how to make Nigeria a better place. ebola, boko haram and other crises every where, especially corruption. nonsense to the highest levelllllllllll

All those of u who think we shouldn't hve more states and some people should remain marginalized in states where they don't belong......GO AND JUMP FROM 3RD MAINLAND BRIDGE!! Long live ANIOMA STATE!

Don't know about others, but Ijebu is long over due

flexycouture@yahoo.com

PAVOUR said...

the names thot..so the millions spent on them is for this rubbish. different Nigeria into 2 i beg. Boko Haram country and the real Naija country. just passing

The call for state creation wouldn't have arisen if the voice of ethnic sentiments weren't so loud.

So for me state creation is a yes.

the only state of concern there is oil river. im sure there is a plan for that state..nigeria and their trash

JIRO said...

For the sake of justice and fairness, Nigeria needs only 1 additional state and that should be for the South East to be at par with other zones@6 states per zone.....Shikena.

Senator said...

Oyinbo has succeeded in dividing naija. Oh my mother country, she has lost her beauty. SMH

Lol! This ought to be the height of ridiculousness! How does creating additional states help the nearly doomed nigeria? We need to pray against the spirit of confusion and misplaced priorities

...Why is the south east and south south small in the Map, while the northern states are very conspicuous. jus my observations though.

peter C said...

Jesus take the wheel on GEJ's heart. Meanwhile l say #abjection Mr. ConFab

=Y IS THE SOUTH-SOUTH SO COMPACTED? IS IT A TABOO TO DIVIDE STATES IN D NORTH TOO? EVN KWARA HERE IS SO BIG DT U CN TRAVEL FRM 1 LG TO D OTHER FOR 8-10HRS. M TALKING ABT ILORIN TO KAIYAMA OR BARUTEN. Y NT JS DIVIDE D NORTH ND GIVE THEM A COUNTRY SEF, SO PEACE CAN REIGN 4 ALL?

I am tell you!!!!!! Ebola, Boko haram, poverty, lack of social amenities, and this is d nonsense they could come up with upon all the millions of naira they all just got paid????? Are u kidding me?????? It's ridiculous. New states are not even the least of our problems, cos it's not even something that should be considered. Jonathan shd not just approve biko. This proposal makes no darn sense!!!!!

=Y IS THE SOUTH-SOUTH SO COMPACTED? IS IT A TABOO TO DIVIDE STATES IN D NORTH TOO? EVN KWARA HERE IS SO BIG DT U CN TRAVEL FRM 1 LG TO D OTHER FOR 8-10HRS. M TALKING ABT ILORIN TO KAIYAMA OR BARUTEN. Y NT JS DIVIDE D NORTH ND GIVE THEM A COUNTRY SEF, SO PEACE CAN REIGN 4 ALL?

U r an idiot

This is absolutely insane. I love my Nigeria the way it is. if they add more states, it will bring more problems of tribalism and there will be more restiveness in Nigeria than there already is. Well, we just have to leave Nigeria in God's hands. "For everything there is a time and season under the sun" Eph 3... But there really is nothing positive in creating more states. it's a waste of time.

My own is 'nobody should ever ask students or pupils to draw this map ooooo', any teacher that gives my daughter/son this herculean task will hear from me. Rubbish!

Jennykiss said...

Hmm...

One of the ways we continue to allow our cowardice overwhelm our ability to stand up and positively determine our fate...

with all the unsolved problems weighing the country down, a bunch of Jobless-overpaid-uneducated-clowns decide to use our hard-earned resources to develop such tasteless and unnecessary list of states.

I continually try not to imagine where we are headed.

#NONSENSE!

TalkAtive beibei said...

anioma, savanna,, oil river, aba states sounds nice a bit, which cone b edu, ose, ijebu and ghari again as in garri eba. 9ja i hail. make den create the state shall, i fit get correct job from delta or anioma coz am from both

Ritz said...

Madam lili, abeg do u hv a way of sharing our opinions with these useless fellows, as a matter of finding solution to our problems in this country, i consider this development a mess.
egbuonurita@gmail.com

Ritz said...

Madam lili, abeg do u hv a way of sharing our opinions with these useless fellows, as a matter of finding solution to our problems in this country, i consider this development a mess.
egbuonurita@gmail.com

Ritz said...

ritaegbuonu@gmail.com

Ritz said...

egbuonurita@gmail.com

America is 10times bigger than nigeria geographically, america only has 51 states, and Nigeria is heading towards creating 54 statesI, pls give me one reason why this is even happening. Nigeria was better off during military era abeg. This is crap

Akinade said...

why dont we just merge states to create a balanced geo-zone to solve the problem created by our colonial masters. FOOD FOR THOT.. United States of America has 50 states (States United together to form a federation) Nigeria is just a state like Texas in the states. we should be forming a USA (united states of Africa) stead of breaking our small Nigeria into many fractions with the Noun tag 'STATES'(Etiti State, Ijebu State ko, na Surulere State ni.

These old,wrinkled,dead brain men are sick wah a stupid suggestion,must u do everytin to ur advantage

@samuel sleek u right, we hv been second hand to the ijaws nd urhovos,let the creation be done...long live anioma

fly guy said...

When they have not finished developing d ones we have, I guess they want 2 justify d 4 mil they were paid per month

Amaka said...

See how they cut d map finish like Vegetable.

Biko na job we need pass abeg

May someone as heavy as rick ross sit on your brains. stupid oldfools. no wonder 2 died. this recommendation is for the trash can

Uchenwa said...

The USA, which is North America has a total of 55 states. Now that's a continent! Naija is not a continent and we're about amassing 54 states? Here is the thing; with more creation of states, more minorities will arise which will in turn clamour for their own polity! It's a circle guys....a growing one....Useless one too! It's just as Achebe left it, "the problem with Nigeria is simply and squarely a failure of leadership". Gaskiya!

Damochedxb said...

Wow, which one is new Oyo state again? I might not even know which state i come from at the moment.

I dunno about other states but they should please give us our Njaba State cos we have been marginalised for long

This map correct so! I nor see Delta state abi e dey there or dey wan remove Delta state from map!!!

Gloriaify said...

Where da hell is Onitsha state? Fools

Emmanuel said...

May God Help Nigeria

Barbara said...

This is outrageous 54 states in nigeria???? Will the creation of more states make d country big or worsen d situation @ hand. More room 4 corruption. Abeg the creation of more states is baseless and senseless.

www.meddirectng.com said...

For once i see nigeria from all corners of the country agreevon one thing! Please , creation of more state is creation of more political offices through which our common wealth is siphonned. No more states please. What we need is creation of more accountabilty and probity in the system with stringent penalty for corruption. If possible death penalty!

Discard this section in the trash can after shredding it!

For once i see nigerians from all corners of the country agree on one thing! Please , creation of more states is creation of more political offices through which our common wealth is siphonned. No more states please. What we need is creation of more accountabilty and probity in the system with stringent penalty for corruption. If possible death penalty!

Betty said...

So if d president approve this my little nephew will start learning ''States n Capital'' all over again,omg! Dis will really break his heart.

United states is 10 times larger than in Nigeria in size, yet they have just 50 states.

This upside down thinking of our elders and leaders self is baffling, it is confirmed that as they grow old they become more stupid in thinking.

I think we should make a law to ban anyone older than 45 years from taking part in any form of political decision. Until they wise up. We will just hid behind them developing dementia.

Tired Of Fake Hairs??? Grab 24 inches Indian or Brazilian 100% Human Hair for just 19k and 16 inches for 15k. Promo ends soon. Other types also available. Ping now 2B6C82C7

what has gotten into their brains. Will creation of these states put an end to the nation's challenges. mtcheewww

What about Taraba State? Is Bali L GA not big enough to be a state? I hpoe Taraba was ably represented?

Yap, daz cool so that some part of the country will b develop, all does bush will covert up

mtchewwwwwwww, of all the things to do.N more chop money, more corrupt politicians

Hmmmmm instead of reducing, they are creating. Nawa

queenreigneth@gmail.com

Edwin Akwudolu said...

If everybody insist that it doesn't make sense, then why are our leaders ignoring us and going ahead with what they deemed fit? food for thought question

this new states they are creating!!! hian..well as usual
#sippingmytea

NikkyDee said...

boy am i so glad i dont have to "cram" "54 states and capital"

yesisangthatassitypedit.

CORRECT ME IF AM WRONG...BUT WHY DO I FEEL NIGERIAN LEADERS HAVE THEIR PRIORITIES MISPLACED.
SO AMONGST ALL THE CASALA ON GROUND RANGING FROM BOKO HARAM EBOLA ETC, THE MOST IMPORTANT CEREMONY IS TO CREATE NEW STATES FOR MORE FOOLISH LEADERS TO FIGHT OVER? I BEG TO DEFY BUT THIS DEFINITELY A SECONDARY MATER FOR NOW. WHY ON EARTH DO WE NEED NEW STATES? WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF THE NEW STATES? HOW DOES CREATING NEW STATES HELP THE DEVELOPMENT OF NIGERIA FOR GODSAKE. OF WHAT GOOD WOULD NEW STATES BENEFIT US RATHER THAN CREATE MORE TROUBLES AGRO AND BITTERNESS ....BEEF..."my niece once asked me whats the meaning of beff. i simply dodged the ajuju". NIGERIAN NEEDS TO GET ITS PRIORITIES RIGHT. FULL STOP.

If this is their piority at confab then we have a problem in this country. we are not done sorting electricity problems even in the smallest states yet these ones feel creating new states is a major piority.

I believe that this is a welcome development. People should be given the opportunity to govern themselves. Being from Delta state, I have noticed that only certain parts of the state are gaining from this "democracy". There have been very few if any developments in the proposed 'Anioma" area over the last 15 years. So it stands to reason that they would want a state of their own.

The James Ibori years were crap, and the Uduaghan years have not been much better. I think that the President should accept this proposal.

I believe that this is a welcome development. People should be given the opportunity to govern themselves. Being from Delta state, I have noticed that only certain parts of the state are gaining from this "democracy". There have been very few if any developments in the proposed 'Anioma" area over the last 15 years. So it stands to reason that they would want a state of their own.

The James Ibori years were crap, and the Uduaghan years have not been much better. I think that the President should accept this proposal.

Why creating more states at North while they are the biggest of all?....we need independent not more states #biafra

Akpan Itai said...

Why do they want to create more states when well meaning Nigerians are asking for the existing six geopolitical zones as federating units.Fifty-four weak states is the recpie for a strong centre, also known as unitary government, the type we currently have in place.If we cant go back to regions,then it should have been the six zones,or the one time 12 states structure if we are to consider viability. All said,let the present 36 states stay if we cant agree on a formula for merging them,provided we practise true federalism. No more new states please,unless ITAI State[remember?]is included.