Bello El-Rufai's moving tribute to his late younger brother Hamza | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 August 2014

Bello El-Rufai's moving tribute to his late younger brother Hamza

Bello El-Rufai (pictured right), son of Mallam Nasir El Rufai, took to his Facebook wall to pay tribute to his younger brother, Hamza El-Rufai (pictured left), who died in a fatal car crash on July 29th. Find his moving tribute below..
"Hamza El-Rufai was born on February 14th 1991 in Kaduna state and attended Essence International School before transferring to Sacred Heart, a Catholic Primary School in Kaduna. He took the Common Entrance Examination from Class 4 and began... his Secondary School Education in Nigerian Turkish International School. His journey to secondary school 2 years before his time was more pleasing due to the several awards he received. He is my younger brother and was one of my best friends." Continue...

He excelled in high school, and obtained his IGCSE Certificate with distinction. Hamza He completed his IB Diploma in 2009 at the United World Collage of the Atlantic, before moving to the University of Virginia to study Chemical Engineering. Unfortunately, he had to transfer due to visa issues during his sophomore year in college. Hamza’s next and final academic destination was at the Rochester Institute of Technology in Dubai. He had settled on studying Mechanical Engineering, after managing to transfer his credits to his new school. 

He came back for the holidays after taking summer classes to compensate the delay he went through as a result of the aforementioned visa complications. In all his academic days, he was engaged in various extracurricular activities. He enjoyed football; basketball, skiing, traveling, and video games among many other hobbies. He was an avid Manchester United supporter, a staunch Chicago Bulls fan and Pittsburg Steelers fan. Hamza was a huge fan of the critically acclaimed actor James Dean and the American artist Jean-Michel Basquiat.

He enjoyed going on ski trips and traveling around the world, the most adventurous was a Spring Break trip to Columbia. The playful picture of him jumping over a Columbian flag was taken while he was there, Hamza enjoyed learning more about the diversity in Latin America. He had always been interested in the political ideologies of numerous revolutionary fighters, particularly, Che Guevara and Fidel Castro. He got to witness the legend of Pablo Oscar, the drug lord of Medellin whom the poor protected during the height of his power. All in all, he described the trip as a life changing experience. His friend, the son of a former Vice President of Columbia, invited him.

Hamza was simple, unpretentious and too nonchalant at times in my view. He loved t-shirts, bathroom slippers, akara, and was never distracted by the finer things in life. He was extraordinarily blunt, a trait I believe he got from both of our parents. He was a loyal friend that went the extra mile for others and they reciprocated the affection in return. He enjoyed diverse genres of music, from Classical, Hip Hop, House, Rhythm & Blues and Rock. He was huge fan of Bob Marley, Bon Iver, Il Divo and the Kings of Leon. He was also addicted to Football Manager and loved FIFA. Our FIFA career mode is still in our PS4.

Hamza was open and comfortable with strangers regardless of their position or status. From the newspaper vendors by Federal Secretariat, the credit sellers by Transcorp Hilton, the street hawkers selling orbit chewing gum on Adetokumbo Ademola Crescent to the security workers in Amigo, Hamza managed to touch their lives in some way or the other. A few days ago, a security guard at Dalema Bakery in Kaduna approached my humble self, Adam and Bashir to condole us and compliment Hamza. He was patient enough to know their names and kind enough to assist them in anyway he could. And, they will never forget him for that. They regularly confused me for him when he was back in school.

I have been called the politician of our family. Having a degree in Political Science and International Relations, coupled with a Masters in Public Relations & Corporate Communications might be the reason why. But while I had to study and learn the art of politics, it came naturally to Hamza. It was this inherent character that enabled him to relate with a cross section of individuals in a more authentic manner than I ever could. The reputed intelligence of our father was also a gift he inherited, leading to the great pressure he had to endure. As children, when I came back home with a B+, it was accepted, but, when Hamza came back with an A-, he was criticized for not putting his best effort.

He had his shortcomings as a young adult, but I am yet to meet a human being that does not. I always had a problem with his somewhat carelessness and overly free spirit. I was more calculative and reclusive than he was. But I also knew he would have outgrown his spontaneity with maturity and time. Yet, despite his occasional absentmindedness, I valued Hamza’s judgment and counsel in everything I did. He was instrumental in my decision to propose to my fiancĂ©e. He was my debating and arguing partner on a number issues, ranging from politics, social life and ethical conduct. Even before his double promotion from Class 4, I knew he was more intelligent and straightforward than I was. Most of us believe he grew up too fast was very wise for his age and that made him a friend, as well as a brother to me.

As Muslims, we are cautioned to not speak ill about the dead and that prayer is better than any form of compliments. Therefore, may the gentle soul of my darling boy rest in peace along with all the other Nigerians we have lost to natural causes or the insecurity situation in Nigeria. He will be remembered for being a caring young man with a huge heart. He had friends from all over the world from different cultures and religions and interacted with them as fellow brothers and sisters before anything else. He lived a fulfilled life of smiles and laughter, and will be remembered for being there for his relatives, friends and most importantly, his parents. His affection for our mother was true love at its purest form.

To my parents, who have now lost two children in less than 3 years, I beseech you to pray and accept the will of God. I recall a kind reminder from an uncle, Jimi Lawal; on the day we lost Hamza. He mentioned that even the Prophet Muhammadu SAW (PBUH) lost 5 out of his 6 children during his lifetime. Therefore, my parents must do well to remember that as special as they are, they are not as unique as the Messenger of God. And he still had his 3 more children taken away from him.

To my siblings, I urge them to come together to sustain the dreams and memories of both Yasmin and Hamza. I also assure them of my full support and affection. For in this capricious world, it is important to consistently express your love for your relatives. One of the things that I am glad Hamza and I practiced was that we never hesitated to tell one another that we loved each other. We expressed this feeling in public and in private countlessly. To our friends that were physically here and those that could not make but had to send their wishes, I would like to thank you on behalf of my family. It is no exaggeration that we could not have endured Yasmin or Hamza’s death without your support and prayers.

To Hamza’s girlfriend, Iman Abubakar, I hope she remembers the good times she had with Hamza, and their joint sense of humor. He was fond of showing off her pictures and reminding us that he had the prettiest girlfriend within our group of friends. It is the combination of her beauty, discipline and kindness that endeared her to Hamza. She should continue to be what she is, a strong and independent minded woman. And as our father said, she will meet a better person than Hamza by the grace of God. It might seem a herculean task, but nothing is impossible with prayer and patience and life must go on. Iman, my sister, you will always be a part of our family!

To other well wishers that reached out via phone calls, message or social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter, thank you and may God continue to protect your loved ones. To our not so well-wishers that bombarded our father’s social media platforms and other news outlets to air out their hatred, we thank them as well. But they must do well to remember that it is fruitless to take joy in someone’s Ioss. We will all leave this world when God wishes it. I re-call Hamza’s reaction when we witnessed something similar after Yasmin passed away. He believed it is the price we pay for the choice our father took to participate in public service and politics. But our stalkers must remember that for every one of them, there are ten others that will continue to support and believe in us. This group of people will continue to pray for Hamza’s eternal soul to rest in peace. And your obsession and hatred continues to be the fuel that drives us.

To the countless dignitaries that visited and prayed for Hamza, I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedules to mourn with us. May God protect you and your loved ones! I would also like to thank President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan for his statement condoling our family. Though politics may divide us, death should serve as unifying incident for reflection and repentance. In Suratul Imran, the Qur’an states that kullu nafsin zaikatul mau, which translates to “verily, every soul shall taste death.” On this absolute truth by Almighty God, I have accepted the loss of my Hamza, or shall I say our Hamza for he belonged to us all. And as a friend pointed, Hamza’s loss is a loss to all of us and not just his family.

A few days after he died, I noticed some posts that totally captured what Hamza embodied. The general theme was that Hamza El-Rufai belonged to everyone. “Hamza El Rufai was a true gentleman and a great loss to all who knew him.” Another stated that, “today we mourn Hamza and celebrate his life, pray for him, give charity in his name, say good things about him for he deserves it all.” Such words brought me to tears but made me realize that Hamza truly belonged to many others, and not just us. But more than others, or us, Hamza belonged to God, and to God he returned.

I will end this with two quotes that have kept me stable since his death. The first is an extract of a speech that Robert Kennedy gave at the funeral of his brother, President John F. Kennedy. It originated from William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet and aptly describes how valuable our Hamza was to me. “When he shall die, take him and cut him out in little stars. And he will make the face of heaven so fine that all the world will be in love with night. And pay no worship to the garish sun.” If there was one person that could dim or outshine the sun, it was Hamza. And finally, as Helen Adams Keller once said, “the best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched - they must be with the heart.” We can no longer see or touch Hamza, but as the best, Hamza has been embedded into our hearts. May God forgive his sins and reward him for the many good things he did. For at the end of the day, his good far outweighed his negativity.

180 comments:

May Hamza's soul cont to RIP. Psalm 118:17. BishopDammy#

May his soul rest in peace......

Olumide Abiodun said...

R.I.P Hamza. Very touching tribute from his brother. I didn't even know el rufai had earlier lost another kid. My condolence to the family. May Hamza's soul rest in peace. Good thing he saw the world and lived life before his death.

Are You A One Minute Man?

joy said...

So touching!God continue to be with u and your family.IJN. Amen

#king said...

Very touching..its alwaiz hard to lose a bro or sis..may God giv u d strengthen ur fam..Life is nothing..Live ur life like evri second is d last..some say d patient dog gets d fattest bone bt I think d patient dog sees no bone at all..May God guide us all..Untimely death aint our portion..................................#KingOfKings

This brings tears to my eyes. I lost a lovely sister when she was just 21 years. I know what and how you feel. May our Good God grant him rest. He rests. God bless his gentle soul. Amen.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Awwwhhh !! I must confess it did really touch me after reading this message. May his soul continue to rest in peace. The good things In life are free, like truth,creativity, Imaginatiion, love. Kindness and compassion !!

Wow!

Lovely and gallant piece. May he truly rest in Peace.

Rest in Peace

Linda this is so touching..... crying as i was reading it. this guy is really in pain. may God grant you and fortitude to bear your loss. i didn't know him but heard of the tins he did for people around him.

That was truly a moving tribute, it was have taken him great pains to recall all those memories and put them in words that made sense! I tend to judge children of politicians differently than I do others and that's because of my experience growing up with some of them in secondary school. But I must admit I was moved by this long tribute, may he continue to rest in peace.

Yoma said...

Dis was so touching...we must all know dat we r only remembad for wat we av done...not wat we planned on doin..so live life wisely nd impact as many pple as u can...may his gentle soul rest in perfect peace..

Amin and May almighty Allah forgive him is sins

Oh uh...Wish dis cud wake him up buh NO he's still down bro

ok i read half way through nice though. rip

eya, may his soul rest in peace. Amen

apoeso said...

i cant stop crying ....very toching.......life is so unfair............

Whytee said...

In Tears! May his beautiful and gentle soul continue to rest in peace! Adieu!

this speech is not long at all. Ah

May his soul rest in peace

Esther said...

May his soul rest in peace. May God grant you the fortitude to bear this irreparable loss.

So sad,I almost cried,it is well!

INNALILLAHI WA INNA ILAI RAJJIHUN

Nneka Aniagoh said...

Awwww... very heartfelt and moving tribute.

Kai, I almost cried.... if u've not lost any1 u won't know how this guy feels... May his soul continue to rest in peace.

queenreigneth@gmail.com

Woo dat was long but I manage to get to d end dis is so far d best speech from a sibling May his gentle soul rest in peace Aminaa.

May God rest his soul.im always sad when the young die,i guess he had fulfilled all God wanted him to fulfil in all we give Thanks to God Almighty,Creator,All knowing,All Merciful,All Glorious

MAY HIS SOUL RIP. AMEN

He's very right, I pray that his soul rests in perfect peace. Hamza was a very fun person and friend, he can't be easily forgotten

SOLA said...

This! So sad, yet heart warming. May his soul rest in peace.

Write-ups like this one, makes me pause to ponder... cos truly, everyone must taste death; but how will it be said of one?

To the El-Rufais, do take heart, and be strong for one another.

#Shalom

I feel sorry for him

Very touching tribute,I'm sure he would have grown up to be a great man like his Father.Take heart Bello,I'm sure its an irreplaceable loss.May God console the entire family....Hamza,continue to rest in the bosom of the Lord

cosmos9112@yahoo.com

Bella j said...

Awwww so sad, may his soul rest in peace Amen beautiful write up.

ANYA IKENGA said...

SORRY ABOUT UR LOSS. YOU GUYS ARE GOING TO THE BEST OF SCHOOLS WITH SO MUCH ALMAJIRIS AROUND YOU. AND YOUR HEROS ARE ALL WESTERN. BUT HOW COME YOUR DAD IS A FANATIC. I NOW SEE WHY HE IS HATING GEJ FOR BUILDING ALMAJIRI SCHOOLS. HE DOES NOT WANT COMPETITION FROM THE DOWN TRODDEN. MAY YOUR BRO REST IN PEACE THOUGH. AND I HOPE UR FIANCEE WILL FORGIVE U FOR PROPOSING ONLY BECAUSE UR BROTHER ASKED YOU TO.

This is so emotional and touching,it made me feel like i knew him,may his beautiful soulrest in perfect peace,amen

Wanas said...

I am so touched...what a tribute! Welldone Bello and may you all find solace in the Lord...RIP Hamza

awwwwwsh! this guy try shaa, i took my time to read the whole tribute, its quite unfortunate u lost him. like u said, death is what every soul shall taste. RIP hamza. and for the gf, family and well wisher take heart.

via official intercom

Asiwaju said...

Very touching.

Just one thing stands out here. Quality Education is the best legacy any parent can give to their children. For those that continue to give birth to kids without plans of how they would be educated; may they continue. This is one of the best write ups I have read today.... It shows so much humility in the man who wrote it and how he sees life. And he also respectfully shunned those who criticize his dad without them even knowing. He is a bright man... May the soul of your late brother RIP

Chioma London said...

So touching, RIP Hamza!

AnnieWhite said...

so touching...rest on Hamza, it's a cruel world after all

Allah please grant him eternal rest..Aljanah firdaous

Dee Brown said...

I've never had any interest wt d death of dis guy until nw,I'm deeply touched by his tribute to his late broda,we love u hamza bt God loves u more, continue to rest in d bosom of d Lord until we meet to part no more

atutu said...

GREAT TRIBUTE MAY HIS SOUL CONTINUE TO REST IN PEACE

I've never had any interest wt d death of dis guy until nw,I'm deeply touched by his tribute to his late broda,we love u hamza bt God loves u more, continue to rest in d bosom of d Lord until we meet to part no more

so touching, may hamza's soul rest in peace, Ameen.

Amin
May Almighty Allah forgive us all, for we all are sinners

treasbuk said...

Very beautiful piece! Well scripted.
I pray the both you and your family will continue to find comfort in the many lives he touched while he lived. May God bless and keep you all.

May His Soul Rest in Peace

I just feel like weeping all over again. soo touching, so true but we must let go. may his soul rest in peace

wow. really touching tribute

lINDA, ALL I CAN SEE HERE IS THIS BOY'S WRITE UP. I MUST SEND MY CHILDREN TO A GOOD SCHOOL. SO LOVING IT. BUT ATLEAST THE BOY ENJOYED THE WORLD B4 HIS PASSING . MAY ALLAH REST HIS SOUL THOUGH.#HER EXCELLENCY#

Awww! So touching... Rip Hamza.

Chai!!! tears rolling down...........RIP Hamza,you will surely be missed.

Alozie Paschal Okwara said...

IT TOOK ME TWO DAYS TO FINISH READING THE WHOLE STUFF. Nonetheless, I feel you bro. Pop your lighter. He is in a better place. Jah bless.

Amen

Chai! It's a pity

dear Lord.... the tears running down my eyes right now...RIP Hamza El-Rufai.

Continue to RIP Hazat El-Rufai,May God give ur family the heart to take your loss.

Amen, may He rest in peace, such a touching tribute.

Hushpuppy said...

this really brought tears to my eyes......To him we come and to him we return. RIP

ms cookie said...

very well written, i dont know them but may almighty God comfort their family in jesus name.

BELLO,U JUST MADE ME CRY. I CANT CONSOLE U COS I DONT KNOW HOW IT FEELS TO LOOSE A SIBLING. GOD WILL HEAL YOUR WOUNDS, SOOTHEN UR HEARTS AND GRANT HIM REST ETERNAL. THE PAIN CAN BE UNBELIEVABLE BUT TIME IS THE GREATEST HEALER

ms cookie said...

very well written, death is not strong enough to take away the memories.may the almighty God comfort their family in jesus name.

Deep yans! Very deep. ...condolences to the family. No one deserves to loose a son.

flakky said...

Wow..so sad..close 2 tears..rest in peace hamza

Too Long... but may God rest his soul

Stainless said...

RIP Hamza.

May God rest his soul....

Awwwww, dear brother to Hamza accept my condolence. I can imagine the pain in ur heart. Sorry bro. Life is deep mmmmm. Speechless*

May his soul continue to rest in peace.

I feel your pains bro..Just take heart..God will be your strength in this season of trial. My humble condolence to your family. His soul will definitely rest in peace, Amen...Kel.A

Oh Bello, you have me in tears!!! You are a good soul yourself, it is well. I honestly feel for your mum! I lost a six month old son and I do know how it feels. I pray God will help your family heal especially your mum! You are a worthy son any woman will pray to have. Please quickly marry and give her a grand child to nurse that will help her heal too

Well said

mich mich said...

So touching. .it brought me to tears..may hamzas soul rest in peace

Yodus211 said...

Hmmmmmm! What a way to appreciate the dead for the life he lived. May his gentle soul rest on in Allah. And may He grant you all the fortitude to bear the irreparable loss. Take heart brother, God knows best.

RIP ...and now i have a hint of the life of rich man children.

TemiAja said...

May Allah Almighty grant him eternal rest and to his sister. Mind you i am not an El-Rufai lover but his son is very right we shall all die one day and it would do us good to pray for the dead and move on why should a child suffer for his/her father's sins.

To cut the long story short, God knows all

Cutemumm said...

Awwwwwwww..So touching.RIP Hamza.

RIP boo.....

Cee said...

Beautiful.........May His gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

Aw....so touching and may God grant him eternal rest and continue to give the family the fortitude to bear the loss.amen

Oskirin said...

so so touching! it always painful whn 1 loss his/her loved ones.my prayer is dt may Allah 4giv him his sin,grant him Aljanah firdaus n may Allah also gives d family d fortitude 2 bear ds irreparable loss.aameen.

Every soul must taste must death.we dnt knw who's nxt.but our prayer 2 God is 2 let us live long and b a source of good inspiration 2 odas.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Amen

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

BIg Ass said...

So touching but that is part of the reward one gains when they oppress innocent people. Has anybody forgetten what he did when he was the Minister of FCT? He made difficult for many families, demolishing houses, living like there would be no tomorrow. And now he is suffering, who cares? The eveil the people do, lives with them as we will all reap whatever we sow.Simple

There is something unique about the Elrufai dynasty. You may not like them, but you cannot deny their forthrightness, intelligence and sense of purpose.

May God grant the family the fortitude to bear this loss, and may the death of Hamza be the last the Nasir Elrufai will experience on his Children.

my deepest condolence to the family. RIP Hamza

May Almighty Allah accept his soul nd fortify El-rufai fam.

jessicamor said...

May his soul rest in peace,made me wish more that my brother was still alive,was almost in tears.

MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE..... AMEN

All of a sudden, Politics, Tribalism, Religious differences, and the like, mean absolutely nothing!!

If only we could all learn a thing , or two from this very heartfelt message.

God be with your family at this very trying time, Amen.
May Hamza's soul RIP.

Pains of death...RIP to Hamza and Yasmin.
And to Iman,she will sure miss her lovely boo,especially now that lovely boos are scarce,take heart dear,you'll sure meet someone better than your dear Hamza.
My condolence to the fam.

May the good Lord keep the rest of you for your parents. I can imagine the pain, but our God is a sure healer, all will be well. Accept my heartfelt sympathy.

Jennifer Collins said...

So touching!! But life must move on #RIPHAMZA

Pains of death...RIP Hamza and Yasmin.
And to Iman,she will sure miss her lovely boo,especially now that lovely boos are scarce,take heart dear,you'll sure meet someone better than your dear Hamza.
My condolence to the fam.

Fm_Schmadd said...

May his gentle soul continue to rest in the bosom of the Lord. May God grant his family the fortitude to bear the loss IJN.

This got me teary eyed, I could feel the deep sense of loss he felt, its soo touching..May Hamza's soul continue to rest in peace..Amen

Rip Hamza!!! It is well dear writer.Your brother Hamza is in a better place.

You captured it all truly well Bello. Didnt know him but i think from your submission that Hamza was a jolly good fellow. RIP dear

Well done Bello........may the gentle soul of Hamza rest in peace(amin)

REXOVIC said...

I'M MOVED TO TEARS.....MAY GOD CONSOLE UR FAMILY BELLO.....RIP HAMZA

Amazing tribute.

So painful! May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace! Farewel brother!

C.R.I.P.P HAMZA BROTHER.

waoh so touching. i dont know him but i really believe dat God loves him more. RIP.

You are Jst SAD... lunatic!!!

Rainz said...

Woooow so deep...accept my condolence...i really can feel your pain...R.I.P Hamza...

Y r you Jst sad and bitter? Seriously, u shld get a heart!!! FOOL

SEYI OLOGE said...

They look so much like their dad, take heart and may Hamza R.I.P

I hv nt seen such a tribute. Education s very good. Rip Hamza til we al meet 2 part no more. Adieu

Very touching,may is soul find eternal rest.

So true.

So true

RIP Hamza!!! May God be you and ur family. God will definitely see d whole family through. It is so sad I must say. #Thatenuguchick

Tears in my eyes..Dear Hamza, RIP

Rip Hamza (Li×”da's Ma×”)

@aya ikenga, first of all typing in capitals is rude and called shouting.Obviously you lack home training and you are one of the trolls this young gentleman wrote about in his tribute.Can you see the difference between your upbringings? It's because of cretins like you I stopped commenting on blogs you are part of a band of useless houseboys who the internet has allowed acess to disparage people you can and will never be in their league.instead of you to read and be educated you decieded to behave like the stupid idiot you are.Ewu.

EMMANUEL said...

May his soul rest in perfect peace

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

The same thing he was saying in his message. U allow your hate for their father deny u to learn a thing or two from this beautiful piece he wrote.. Am sure you didn't finish reading hence ur comment..

Hamza, I believe is in a better place. RIP brother. May this be an end to untimely death in the house of the El Rufais' in the mighty name of Jesus. Amen. Sir you will see your children's children in the land of the living. Amen.

God please forgive those that speak ill of the dead and make fun of people's misfortune just because they have mobile data. Forgive their ignorance.

Meyfort Meyfort said...

Hamza, May your soul rest in perfect peace

9ce write up. Really touching. May God grant ur family d fortitude to bear d loss & may ur brother's soul rest in perfect peace

As someone who has sadly lost a sibling, i can totally identify with how you feel. This pain will go away i assure you, you will always remember but the raw pain will go away. I pray for you dear brother, for your entire family. May God protect the rest of you. Two death is more than enough.

So amazing. Allah knows best!

For those of us who didn't have the opportunity to meet this incredible young man, this tribute opened a window for us to peep into the beauty of his soul!
May God grant his family the grace and strenght to bear this irreplaceable loss and may we always remenber to be kind to each other because life is but a dream.....

KWEEN said...

My God. I'm crying helplessly as if I knew this Hamza. Totally lost for words. What a tribute. From the description of late Hamza, one can tell that he was indeed an amazing person who was loved by many. I may not know them personally but after reading this tribute word for word, from beginning to the end, I feel the pain, love and acceptance all entwined in this message. It is well. May his soul find eternal peace. Amen.

AGB said...

What a heart-felt eulogy. Rest in peace Hamza el-Rufai,May your soul rest in the beautiful arms of God almighty. Amen
God Bless Nigeria.

Rest In Peace Hamza
Rest in Peace Yasmin

We will all leave someday but to leave our mark behind is what matters.

A lesson that we should all live as we will want to be remembered.

All u guys dat say el rufai hates christian,you can see he sent his son to a catholic school...RIP HAMZA

Bello, your words can pierce even the deepest and most rigid of hearts. You've been able to reveal in the tiniest of details how Hamza's life was although short but kind, enjoyed, happy and rewarding. As an elder brother you have done what you can by bringing everyone together with your words. You showed that indeed the greatest weapon anyone can have is a pen in this case 'keypads'. Although Elfurai's dynasty is the one I know from a great distance one in which honestly i'm not fond of but somehow all that makes no meaning anymore. Truly every soul will taste death, we all hope it will happen at the right time. Initially I was indifferent about Hamza's death, but your words written from a deep sense of loss moved me. For what it's worth accept my deepest sympathy. I pray that his soul will find eternal rest.

The pain this family feels is only imaginable, and comes nothing near to their loss. Irrespective of your dad not beign someone like, only a soul without God or humaneness won't wish you recovery and comfort. May the Almighty protect the El-rufai family and give them the fortitude to bear the loss. May Allah grant the young fellow Aljanna Fridaus. As for the rest of us that remains here on earth, let us always put to heart that this world and the pleasures therein are transcient; each day is a gift, it is best we use it to advance humanity and treat is as precious.

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

Rest in Peace Hamza

U are a pathetic human being who does not deserve to live.mayb when u die,same negative things wil be said about you.hoiler than thou lunatic!!!

This is so touching.brought me closer to tears.May his soul RIP and almighty God will fortify your family to bear d irrepocable lost.

FunmiR said...

Tears are just coming from my eyes as I read this. When I read about his death I didn't really know what kind of person he was,but this tribute shed a lot of light into his personality and I got a glimpse into what a profound loss his death was to his loved ones.
God will give them the fortitude to bear the loss.

May God comfort him..amen

Rip

.... . I Slept With My Driver Just To Have Children For My Husband ...Click www.jaybeenet.blogspot.com to Read

May Allah grant him Aljannah fridous, and give d family fortitude to bear d loss. Really touching.

Quite touching..... May his soul rest in peace and I pray the E'l rufai's. Amen

Chai.....Tearz rolled down my eyez as I went tru dis touching tribute....God knows d best!!! RIP HAMZA #columbiana#

You seem not to have a conscience....May God help u.

TBELLZ said...

Purge yourself of the hate in you before it consumes you

God punish you,Ode buruku.How dare you judge others.Your own.is waiting for u in a corner.We will all die eventually.

may the soul of Hamza El Rufai, REST IN PERFECT PEACE and may GOD give the family the fortitude to bear this loss. Belo El Rufai, well said and please weep no more, for your brother is in heaven....

Wept at the end of reading this tribute. I feel like I knew Hamza from d way his brother captured his life time. As for those who rejoice at other people's misfortunes, there is God o !!!

zaingurl said...

Sooooooo soooooooo touchin... can't help the tears.... what a tribute

May Allah forgive his sins , prevent him from the torment of the grave & grant him Aljana Firdaus- Ameen

May his death not be an assumption of a total lost in ur family bro, rather may it also be a blessing and source of strength to every member of ur family, He is in a better Place by the Grace of Almighty God.

Am so touched. May Allah SWT accept his soul in Janna.

May Hamza`s soul rest in perfect peace. amen. Bello is such a polished young man.And a prolofic writer.

Mumu...if na about sex them write there...you go read am finish...mscheew

Bitterness and hate will only make your own "reward" greater.

HonsylGlobal.Com : UK ONLINE GLOBAL FINANCIAL ADVISERS said...

FROM THE WRIRE-UP, A VERY PAINFUL DEATH TO EL-RUFAI SENIOR.

Rip hamza,

I really cannot hold my tears* so so touching! May Almighty Allah grant him Aljanah Firdaous...*surat ikhlas

This is more like a biography dan a tribute however we got d message. RIP Hamza pepperextedpepple@yahoo.com

Can't stop the tears streaming down my face.wat a tribute.may his soul and the souls of all our loved ones rest in peace. Amen

Tears can't stop flowing from my eyes. Family luv is d best. Rip Hamza

PRETTY GIRL said...

This here completely broke me, never knew El Rufai already lost a son before Hamza...They must be going through a lot, Continue to rest in Peace Hamza, and may God console your family

Awon smellos na their papa use dey do ritual

after reading this tribute am moved to tears.what a loss.I kn how u feel,I just lost my younger sister d pain is unbearable. may God Comfort u and Ur family. RIP Hamza.

rest in peace.. well spoken Bello well spoken

May his soul continue to rest in the bossom of Allah.What a great loss.
Good education is the key!i learnt one or two things from his write-up.

May Allah (SWA),forgive his short comings, accept his good deeds and may he be among the dwellers of Aljannatul fir daus. Amin

fatima said...

May almighty Allah forgives him and grant him Aljannatul firdausi. Just remember dat every soul must taste death. And may we die with shahada, and true believers to God Almighty.

Solary said...

Rest on Hamza in d bosom of Allah, we won't 4gt u in a hurry

This is so touching, RIP Hamza

God forgive me if I'm overstepping... I couldn't help but highlight, although this is a beautiful piece, it reeks of humble bragging. If I may, a possible political innuendo?

I think the piece should have been more about Hamza, and not too specific. We didn't need to know it was the son-of-the-vice-president-of-Columbia-who-happens-to-be-very-good-friends-with-Hamza that invited him to Columbia. The position doesn't matter, his relationship with Hamza does.

Or that Bello graduated with a bachelor's degree and a masters... There are so many opportunities. This isn't one of them.

I won't bother highlighting the other parts of the tribute...

Inallahi wainalaehi rajiun,i can't stop cryin cos dis is touching,wish i met him b4 he passed away,all d same i pray Almighty Allah grant him Al-janna fidaus and grant d family fortitude to bear d loss.

RIP Hamza, rest well. by dobis112@gmail.com

Your opinion! .. but leaves me wondering alot about your kind. Jealous? Ignorant? logical reasoning? etc

The specifics gave more meaning to the kind of person Hamza was!..

I

Yes you are clearly overstepping. The purpose of the first example is to demonstrate that Hamza associated with the wealthy and less fortunate alike. You dont seem to have an issue with him making reference to Hamza's friendship with street vendors.
The 2nd example was clearly put in place to show that the writer felt although he was well read and trained in Politics, to Hamza it came more naturally.

May His Memory Be Blessed. RIP HAMZA.
//Shola Afolabi

So touchy, May his soul and the soul of your sister Yasmin rest in peace. Pls accept my condolence.

May his soul rest in peace... but this is not a tribute. May be a biography or ..