Chef cooking snake dies after cobra bites him - 20 minutes after head was cut off | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 August 2014

Chef cooking snake dies after cobra bites him - 20 minutes after head was cut off

How this happened is beyond me. A snake that already had its head chopped off, bites the chef trying to cook it and kills him. Full report below...
A chef preparing a dish from cobra flesh died when the snake's head bit him - 20 minutes after it was cut off.
Victim Peng Fan had been preparing a special dish made from the Indochinese spitting cobra, a rare delicacy in Asia where eating snakes is commonplace.
But when he went to throw the serpent's severed head into the waste bin, it bit him - injecting him with its fast acting venom.
Police say Mr Peng died before he could be given life saving anti-venom in hospital.

Diners who were eating in the restaurant at the time have described screams coming from the kitchen as the tragedy unfolded.
Restaurant guest Lin Sun, 44, who was in the restaurant with his wife Su at the time said: "We were in the restaurant having a meal for my wife's birthday when suddenly there was a lot of commotion.
"We did not know what was happening but could hear screams coming from the kitchen.
"There were calls for a doctor in the restaurant but unfortunately by the time medical assistance arrived the man had already died. After we heard that we did not continue with our meal."
A police spokesman said: "It is a highly unusual case but it appears to be just an accident. He prepared the snake himself and was just unlucky.
"There was nothing that could be done to save the man. Only the anti-venom could have helped but this was not given in time. It was just a tragic accident."
The snake was being diced up to be made into snake soup, which is a delicacy in the area and a much sought after dish in high-end restaurants. China has seen a rising demand for snake products, not only in restaurants but also for use in traditional medicine.
Snake expert Yang Hong-Chang - who has spent 40 years studying cobras - says all reptiles can function for up to an hour after losing body parts, or even their entire body.
Mr Yang said: "It is perfectly possible that the head remained alive and bit Peng's hand. By the time a snake has lost its head, it’s effectively dead as basic body functions have ceased, but there is still some reflexive action.
"It means snakes have the capability of biting and injecting venom even after the head has been severed."

Source: UK Mirror

102 comments:

Dats wierd. .....

Na waooo!

Death they say comes in a tym yu least expect it..... Who would thought that snake will bite him, sad news i must say. May his soul R.I.P.......

The hunter has been hunted!

Agbusi agbaa ndi committee.
What a sight,had goose bumps watching it. The snake didn't want to die alone.

d hunter becomes d hunted

RIP Mr. Chef. No wonder Sound Sultan (9ja ninja) said one day bush me go catch the hunter. Kpele

what's a tragedy
sorry Man

BORN TO SHINE!!!!!

This is serious oh see gobe,so after being happily killed the snake and was cooking it finally dead with the the snake,,,they are even now.big gobe

#king said...

I knw abt dis..snakes can bite even wen they ar headless..still dnt understand hw pple eat snakes..scary af..no amount wilk make me take a bite.......................................#KingOfKings

Very possible..

EbonyAma said...

Chai. Now dis guy died from active service. Dat snake na wicked one and out of dis world? Still surprising.

Emjay said...

Like seriously??? Is dat his first time of killing and preparing snake soup or watever dey call it??? Abeg make dem ask he village pple

#######LIB MY BAD HABIT########

Yes madam linda it is also advisable to cut off its tail too, cos sum of its poison r der also...

May his soul rest in peace..

For your relationship issues and psychological counseling halla at
Petersonconsultant@yahoo.com
Or add up on 22F5D187 for one on one conversation.

Na wa o! Stories that touch

The snake has heat-sensitive pits at either sides of its face, which it uses to detect threats and if you're close enough for your body heat to be detected, you're close enough to be considered a threat.
These heat-sensitive pits are capable of detecting a threatening presence for hours after death, which means the snake may continue to defend itself. And yes, this applies even if the body is no longer attached.

Anyikwa chinonso said...

Chio... Snake chef.. Nawa oo...

Also check out the Latest FreeBrowsing Tips for all Nigeria Networks

Yuck. Not watching. Mo-1

Anyikwa chinonso said...

Next time, when dey see fire, make dem no put hand.. China and snake ehnn...

Also check out the Latest FreeBrowsing Tips for all Nigeria Networks

Na wa oh. RIP

Jesus! How can this happen? Wonders shall never end. RIP Mr Chef

** Sexy Milf Queen **

Lib goddess said...

Awwww so tragic RIP man

These chefs tho... ha! meanwhile I just watched an episode of chopped on food network where one of the compulsory ingredients was snake... one blue Australian snake... mstchew! I was just like "Awon oyino yii sha"

These chefs tho... ha! meanwhile I just watched an episode of chopped on food network where one of the compulsory ingredients was snake... one blue Australian snake... mstchew! I was just like "Awon oyinbo yii sha"

NaNcY DreW said...

Blood of Jesus ewwwwwww
I 8 dis cursed animal plus china pple nuffin dey don't eat AYAMA

nawa ooo......I wonder how the snake soup taste....God help us

When Satan wan work...even pawpaw tree go dey shock.....

Olumide Abiodun said...

Interesting. You know like when you cut off a lizard's tail, and the tail keeps dancing around for a while. I guess most reptiles are like that. What a nightmarish way to die.

Are You A One Minute Man?

HonsylGlobal.Com :UK ONLINE GLOBAL FINANCIAL ADVISER said...

Sad and Shocking but good to know.

Can't watch, have goose pimples already. But i'll say they are careless, since snake is a regular thing there, they should always have anti venom available.

queenreigneth@gmail.com

Yoruba used to say 'Ageku ejo ti nshoro bi agbon', imply a snake been cut can be more dangerous like bee.

dessymal said...

Eeeeehya...venom + anger
#RIP

I completely agree with you kelvin

The victim has got plenty of nerves. some people dey try shaa. Quite unfortunate.

RIP Chef!! 1000 ways to die

As a psychologist and with little known knowledge in biology it's fathomed biologically that animals tend to live after death longer than humans becus their body system isn't dah complex allowing them to move sporadically based on the part dah was cut off buh still inculcate some level of life in them, so it's veri possible for the snake to attack, depending on the tym it was killed...dis trait is also seen in catfish,ants,reptiles n so on # dah man was obviously ignorant of dis,.# dahs my analysis

⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥A̶̲̥̅♏ telling you!!!

Like seriously? After 20 whole minutes? Unbelivable

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Linda na your blog dey open fast like this? Make I go back go check first .!!!

It's not
It happens wen handling d common catfish

Nawa oo

Rittyluv said...

Goodness me!!!

So is your spelling

That's weird,I can never in me life eat snake meat.gross
Face of lib

He want 2 prepare d snake and he were prepare by d snake him self. Dear pls add me . 25fc1101 or watsp. +2348141791567

Pls baby can u add me up. 25fc1101 or watsp. +2348141791567

May his soul rest in amen. Hook me up ladies. 25fc1101 or +2348141791567

Lolz!!! U r veri funny o

Baddest Puta said...

Snake soup ewww

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Its really weird

Pls bisit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Our old ones know what they speak!!!

AMIJEZ said...

Inyamaa....in my little nephew's voice. Some people here talking must have eaten snakes unknowingly in mangala fish. On a serious note,they're supposed to have anti venom in that hotel. Carelessness.

Revenge (Li×”da's Ma×”)

what does that tell you? DO NOT EAT SNAKES!!!

Amicable said...

So sad tho

U finally fixed your blog,it was becoming exhausting waiting for a page to load.

Obviously if it was in Africa we'd say it was juju, but not everything is. We forget that sometimes even when you have severed the head of a chicken, it gets up and runs away! Everything as a viable explanation, at least people will learn from this.

I thought I have read it all until now.

true even there is speculation that it could be same with humans but not as intense.

waitn 4 my darling Bonita Bislam 2 coment,alws thrilled wt ur comments nd wl lik 2 knw u better.

Damochedxb said...

I dont even wanna watch.. The thought itself is very traumatic. .

Gabon is wasp not bee(oyin

One day bush meat go catch dey hunter.

Different ways 2 die#Rip chef

MUVA said...

Weird stuff

PRETTY GIRL said...

SPEECHLESS#SAD MUCH

joy Egbunu said...

D diced body parts of d snake looks delicious tho. A bit of stir fry n peppered sauce wld make make it even more delicious! RIP Chef!

Very weird....the braincells where still active.

»_»_• \0/ ^FORTUNEDEXC£L@REDIFFMAIL.COM^ »_»_• \0/

Lie small small na. Shuuu! It was not a snake, it was a gum jelly shaped as snake! Na wa o!

beewhy said...

OMG... your English is so horrible!

And that's it, if na 4 9ja police go want investigate or maybe na frm village um ~ice princess~

Shut up grammarian u knw wat he/she wanna say!!! Y d fuss! Oloshi

Yea!!! So wt roaches......dnt knw of all meat ppl wud eat snake? #Yuck am gonna puke....

Jesuuuuuuuu!!! English hard ooo. BL

Ebola said...

D head of d snake looks lyk ur head bona...

Your Grammar is a horror story unfolding. For humanity'd sake, nip it in the bud. Read above Janine Nwafor's analysis. That's the sane version of this madness you typed. Sorry. Grammar like yours, for a supposedly educated youth riles me. Sigh.

Hahaha @anon 1:03.

Chideeera! Ke ihe ina su? Concentrate on ur studies kid, leave dis blog. It won't help u. Come back after ur studies.

Scary!!!!. I never though as much that will happen but a LIB reader here just gave a inkling of its possibility. #soSad...*SAPIENT

For your mind you don speak English. Mtsheww wrong use jare

Lol...ur eye sharp oooo

Solary said...

Wld nt b out of place 4 dm to av antivenom of basic snakes they prepaer in their fist aid kit, dt is if they av one

The nerve endings in the snake's reflexes were still functional.

Snakes are more deadly when their heads are cut off, so don't act as if u don't knw linda!!! Dis is no news abeg mayb u are just tryin to keep ur blog busyyyy!

Smart suggestion

Sisivic said...

*SAIPENT +er Ÿ̲̣ø̲u̲̅ kiddin me

Janelicious said...

Na waaaa ooo

it's been said that anything a snake that's beheaded bites dies at the spot even if its a tree

Gbagun of life!!

Yeaaa I heard this on NaGeo! There's life even after the head has been cut off... Aww "the hunter has been hunted.

LEEZ said...

The hunter has been hunted Awww to bad!

Stanley Chisom Nnaso said...

na wa oooo

Join shareasale.com, Earn Cash!

#bloggers

Brown suga said...

What an irony of life? RIP to d chef, a case of Hunter turned hunted! I've heard dat snakes has d possibility of living for somtime even wen d head is detached from its body dats y it's beta if u are killing a snake u insert a stick or somtin in its mouth so as it could release it's venom there bcs dey tend to pure out their venoms wen hitted hard, likewise cockroaches can live for awhile even wt it's head chopped off.

The guy no well

@Anon 1:23AM With this your grammer? Mba oo ----C21

Gbenga said...

It's normal! Snakes are more deadly when dead than alive. That's why they have to be buried deep in the soil when dead cos the venom becomes even more toxic at that point.

Chyluv! said...

It's called bite reflex. N can occur even within an hour...of Killin a snake. n it's evn more deadly cos of large amt of anti-venom.

Lol, na so i dey think too.