Navy discharges black sailor for refusing to cut off her natural hair | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 August 2014

Navy discharges black sailor for refusing to cut off her natural hair

This week, the U.S Navy announced that it was discharging Jessica Sims, an Africa American woman who has been a sailor for 12-years, for “failing to obey an order to cut off her natural hairstyle.”
The military has been under scrutiny for guidelines issued in March that critics believe were discriminatory toward African-American women. Those regulations “specifically forbid several hairstyles popular for black women who keep their hair natural, including twists, headbands, dreadlocks, or multiple braids that are larger than a quarter-inch.” A former U.S. Army Major, sharply criticized the regulations, noting they targeted “natural styles African American service women have been wearing for years.” Continue..
Sims had been wearing her hair in the same way since 2005, without any apparent issues.

In response to the criticism, Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel ordered the regulations to be relaxed earlier this month to “allow female service members to have a wider range of hairstyles.” But the Navy found that Sims hair still violated their guidelines.

Sims rejected repeated calls from the Navy to change her hair style, saying “I don’t think I should be told that I have to straighten my hair in order to be within what they think the regulations are, and I don’t think I should have to cover it up with a wig.”

The Navy said her hairstyle made it difficult for her to wear a gas mask. Sims said that her hair conformed to regulations requiring it protrude less than two inches from her head and that she “never had a problem wearing safety helmets or gas masks.”

After her discharge, Sims had no regrets: “I still stand by it. I would do it again if I had to.”

Source: Think Progess

83 comments:

nekysparkles said...

Wateva rocks her boat

EbonyAma said...

Feminist. I love dis woman and d hair sef. #teamnatural#.

benito said...

Blacks always wanting to play the victim, always wanting to have something to prove........

Lucky her?

benito said...

Blacks always playing the victim role, always wanting to prove something

Is this racist or what if she say she's ok with they should leave her,but if it was their rules she wound have done it

What a strong hearted woman she is and why should someone be discharged cos of hair na? When she's nt failing in duties. Ha oga o

Every organization has the rules guiding its activities,and military outfits are known for strict adherence to rules. So ought to know better.

Deeper life tinz I guess

O God this is unfair. After twelve years in service US navy just found out that the hair style is not in line with their standard.

Nawaoh,

That navy man they craze for head.....

I believe I am speaking the heart of most students in nigerian who is affected by this sudden change of the orientation camp activities. This is a life time experience that you guys and the government want to deny us from. Our parents and some of our grand parents took part in this 3 weeks excercise, our friends took part in it, why deny us this opportunity? Most of us have gone as far as buying things we would use during the orientation camp, should it all go to waste? Our friends had the experience, march, july why us this joy? Why not close down markets, shopping malls, business centres, motor parks and so many places where lots of people gather, if the government is really trying to protect the nation. Why shut down schools only? This exercise is just for 3weeks. We buy food from d market everyday, meet different people everyday and yet many are still living. The government should not deny us this experience, its a life time story, it happens Once in a life time. I am speaking the heart of many students. Our parents have spent money purchasing equipments that will be used for this exercise will it all be in vain? People gather in different places, markets, sport centers, e.t.c people make body contacts with people everyday and yet not up to 12 death has been recorded of the Ebola virus, why punish us this way. We beg of you to allow us carry out our orientation exercise for the 3weeks. At most every student should be tested before entering d orientation camp and not canceling it. Please don't take part of the stories we owe to our children. Do not make us feel incomplete as part of nigerian students. We beg all of you not to put saddness in our hearts. Should the president of this country also be in the black book of nigerian students, should they say it was his tenure they never went to orientation camp. Mr president sir should everything be negative in your tenure? Should the full nation think badly of you? Why not shut down universities that are still on sessions if that is the case because some schools are still on session. Please do not take joy away from us you all had this opportunity .Thanks and God bless. Please students join me in d campaign

The hair is beautiful and clean. Just because some arrogant idiots have problem with it does not justify their prejudice.

I believe I am speaking the heart of most students in nigerian who is affected by this sudden change of the orientation camp activities. This is a life time experience that you guys and the government want to deny us from. Our parents and some of our grand parents took part in this 3 weeks excercise, our friends took part in it, why deny us this opportunity? Most of us have gone as far as buying things we would use during the orientation camp, should it all go to waste? Our friends had the experience, march, july why us this joy? Why not close down markets, shopping malls, business centres, motor parks and so many places where lots of people gather, if the government is really trying to protect the nation. Why shut down schools only? This exercise is just for 3weeks. We buy food from d market everyday, meet different people everyday and yet many are still living. The government should not deny us this experience, its a life time story, it happens Once in a life time. I am speaking the heart of many students. Our parents have spent money purchasing equipments that will be used for this exercise will it all be in vain? People gather in different places, markets, sport centers, e.t.c people make body contacts with people everyday and yet not up to 12 death has been recorded of the Ebola virus, why punish us this way. We beg of you to allow us carry out our orientation exercise for the 3weeks. At most every student should be tested before entering d orientation camp and not canceling it. Please don't take part of the stories we owe to our children. Do not make us feel incomplete as part of nigerian students. We beg all of you not to put saddness in our hearts. Should the president of this country also be in the black book of nigerian students, should they say it was his tenure they never went to orientation camp. Mr president sir should everything be negative in your tenure? Should the full nation think badly of you? Why not shut down universities that are still on sessions if that is the case because some schools are still on session. Please do not take joy away from us you all had this opportunity .Thanks and God bless. Please students join me in d campaign

Na wa 4 her oo... Well evrybody noes what he/she like bt not in ur workin area...

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Dats not right atal

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Hhmm

What has one's hairstyle got to do with one wanting to serve his or her fatherland? I get having to look decent but women shouldn't follow the same procedure as men or should they?

Amaka said...

Stubborn woman.

According to George Orwell's Animal farm," All animals are equal but some are more equal than others". Really sad for a country that preaches justice.

Hhmm

Nawa ooo (Liהda's Maה)

Emjay said...

I was ever thinking she has been carrying d hair just since 2005,I starting carrying mine since 1998,abi she use am as jazzz?? Mtewwwwwwww

########LIB MY BAD HABIT#######

KWEEN said...

Smh... apparently, someone had something against this woman and wanted to do away with her. She said she can wear the gas masks or whatever with the hair and she's been with the hairstyle for years... but it's suddenly a problem? rubbish!

It seems she disobeyed her employer 's instruction. But why not let her be than terminate her career of twelve years with the socalled forbiden hair style.

Your hair rocks more than your job baby!!!

»_»_• \0/ ^FORTUNEDEXC£L@REDIFFMAIL.COM^ »_»_• \0/

if na our nigerian woman she for don do am since, nigerian women too fake for my liking.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

That's just unfair

Breezy_p back with MTN

Ladies add me up. 25fc1101

They wud find every means to intimidate blacks, soon dey wud start asking them to go work nude to defend their job mtcheeew

Ok!!! She must be a seriox born again who doesn't believe in Artificial hai., but discharging her is harsh..!!

Ladyv said...

Nawao, some people self okbye

May God help America because what happened to Italy will happen to them soon. Their power will be lost and reduced as God promotes every other nations. Their atrocities are increasing by d day and Obama is there looking.

Gud dat she got herself rid of dem stupid rules.

Demilade Isaac Osoteku said...

That's rather abysmal. Its part of the glass ceilings that Africans experience in non-african societies. Thank you Chimamanda for opening my eyes to the plethora of racism still left in our world

Who knw d DG of nysc mit be a liber...pls giv we d stream 2 batch B coppers a full 3wiks orientatn programme....we av barely a wik to go,pls reverse d present desisn

Amicable said...

Fight for what u think is right...prejudice against blacks

Choi Thank God I didn't join this guys!

Tunie. said...

Another racist move...would they ask a white lady to do same...biased set of people...

Discrimination will never end as far as our skin is dark,everything about us seemed to be a preoblem to them,
Face of lib

Surerimz said...

help me see racism.. ....

Tunie. said...

Am glad she took a firm decision and stood by it...#racist

Dats brave!

Yea babes proudly black!

I love this lady...God bless you, stand for urself....

no comment

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

26A265AD ( Ola ) said...

I Like d way she held firm her decision ....I pray u find a better job if u fired.....

Black people can form say them dey victimize them..lol... Black people can form outlaw just to prove stupid point..yeye dey smell #firehersmellingblackass #marshallmatters

Usom said...

But it's okay to allow gays to display their acts openly. Yet you can't let a black girl be black and rock her hair the black way. HYPOCRITES!

The law is the law and must be obeyed .

Lyndywayne said...

Wow!.... dats odd

Lyndywayne said...

Wow... dats odd.

Petite Diva said...

The US Navy has brought a whole load of crap on their head. They are going to be eaten alive. I can't wait to see this.

http://journalofapetitediva.blogspot.com

NaNcY DreW said...

4 realz??? 2 much attention where is not necessary

NaNcY DreW said...

4 realz??? 2 much attention where is not necessary it just doesn't mk eni sense 2 him

Imagine, what nonsense

queenreigneth@gmail.com

Aww....sowi dear, I knw a lot of pple won't agree wit u, but I do, cos my 2013 batch C orientation in ogun state was really fun, I enjoyed it

RACISM!

@Makz O
It seems you don't understand that they are trying to insult Afro hair which is also your natural hair. They are insulting you and your race and you are supporting them
Smh!

@Omalicha Uju
She doesn't have to be born again. She just fighting for the natural hair that she was born with instead of compromising by making her hair look like a white persons hair. That's a bloody discrimination.

@Anonymous Aug 22, 10:35
You are very crazy. They are indirectly insulting your race for not having straight hair and you are joining them to demonize your race. It's because of saboteurs like you that the black race is still inferior.

@APPLE
The law is the law so because you are black, bleach your skin and straighten (relax) your hair or wear straight extensions or wigs because your race is inferior physically. This is what you are trying to say.

@Wilheminna moses
This is not Deeper life issue, this is an assault on the natural looks of your race.

@BONARIO NNAGS
If the rule of your organization suddenly says that you must be light skinned, will you bleach your skin because you are naturally black?

@benito
What's there to f**king prove? She's naturally black and has natural Afro hair. Why the f**k must she straighten it?

Just cut the damn hair, not like she even looks good with it

Fuck off fool

The regulation are outrageous

I disagree dear,d nysc has long out served its purpose nd shld b scrapped totally infact!

Solary said...

Nelson remember she is nt d only BLACK woman in d Navy, y wee d rest nt asked to leave? Her hair style didn't conform dts all

America is drifting backwards on matters related to race. Her hair becomes a problem after 12 years? Somebody wanted to derail her career and succeded.

Sultry Onyx said...

@ Deo Duce it's sad that u don't seem to realise that this goes beyond hair styles and whether or not she looks good on them. This is racism and discrimination against d black populace. U just too dumb to understand

Em Jay, what form of English language is this? Your looks and your written english don't tally. #sowi

Add u up for what.

Nelson B. Please quit wasting your time. Some peeps read but don't comprhend especially Nigerians. They want2 follow erritin sheepishly. No voice, no loyalty 2 any cause ----C21

JNA$$ said...

@ Omalicha, what a poor comprehension and poor analysis and inference on what you read!

JNA$$ said...

Apple, laws are subject to changes based on current trends and understanding. Who formulated the 1st law? Did it serve the intended purpose? Will amendment to it as alleged by the lady not put her safety in jeopardy? REASONABLENESS demands that when no safety risk is determined, obsolete laws should be weeded out.

@Solary
Have you heard of a young female black child in America that was suspended from school because her hair was puffy (Afro) and they claimed it was to big and it was distracting people, isn't that her natural hair? It's also your natural hair. The only option for her was to cut it or relax it. Any new law that affects people's natural look is an assault on the person and his/her race.

@ Benito...it's her fundamental human right to wear her hair however she pleases. Besides she was born with kinky hair not with a weave or straight hair. She has nothing to prove to anyone. Does her natural hair prevent her from doing her job? You sound so ignorant. Pls shut d hell up!!

she knew what she was getting into. Refusing to cut your hair in the military is refusing to follow a lawful order. And she knows what the consequences are. Linda stop creating unnecessary issue where there is none.

Hmmmm, nigerians I hail oooo, why can't we read news update very well before commenting rubbish? Us..NEAVY are talking about new rules and code of conduct,and some of us are here praising her. She must therefore choose either her hair style or her job......simple.

It's always about black, move on girl