Photos: Sister of immediate past Chief Judge of Lagos state sworn in as new Chief Judge | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 20 August 2014

Photos: Sister of immediate past Chief Judge of Lagos state sworn in as new Chief Judge

History was made today August 20th in Lagos state as Hon. Justice Oluwafunmilayo Olajumoke Atilade (pictured centre), the younger sister of the immediate past Chief Judge of the state, Justice Ayotunde Philips (left) who retired in July, was sworn in as the new Chief Judge of Lagos state by Gov Babatunde Fashola at the Adeyemi Bero Auditorium, Lagos state Secretariat, Alausa, Ikeja. 

This is the first time in the history of the state judiciary siblings will succeed each other as Chief Judge of the state. Continue...

The immediate past Chief Judge and the newly sworn-in Chief Judge are both daughters of the late Justice James Williams, who was a judge in Lagos State and the late Mrs. Henrietta Williams. Until her recent appointment, Hon Justice Atilade was a High Court Judge.

Presenting the Chief Judge designate, for the oath of office, the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Ade Ipaye said that the new Chief Judge was recommended by the National Judicial Council and appointed by the State Governor, Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola, and that her appointment has been reviewed, found worthy and confirmed by the Lagos State House of Assembly.

69 comments:

Wow.congrats ma,

Thk u jesus.

Infact na only dem dey lagos? Congrat sha. Topzyus@yahoo.com

Congrats ma.. Well deserved I guess.

Ade said...

Congratulations. Child of destiny

Should this be allowed? Isn't it nepotism? smh. This isn't a family business people, it's law and justice.

Even if they're both qualified it sends the wrong message. This won't be allowed in the other countries we try so hard to emulate.

Kimmy*****

Gud news no doubt about that.....

Congratulobia.

queenreigneth@gmail.com

congrats

BORN TO SHINE!!!!!

OMG, Niggas would be Congratulating people they dont know on BLOGS..LMAO...e.g Contratulations ma....lol

No be naija we dey???? Money talks, bullshit walks.

libration said...

Na only her waka come.

I hope it went through due process

When God speaks, nothing else, it's done. Lucky family, happy parents

A BIG CONCRATS.... FAMILY OF JUDGES

Do they still shake hands in Lagos? Hmmm.... Okay oo.

na wa ooh...na only family dey chop for this lagos??? aren't they other people who are capable and fit to carry out the task??? dia is God oooh...all this position that they are swearing for each other.
geepearlz.blogspot.com says so

Why are the women in this picture looking like they are eating the whole of tax payers money

Wow... dats gud news. Congrats ma

what history???? Tinubu daughter no succeed her mama??? Arangee situations. f):k!

Nepotism?

Is it a family post?

Na family bizness? Na woah congrats shaaa pepperextedpepple@yahoo.com

Maybe the tabloids will now swift focus from Gbemi Philips to Femi Atilade.

Ada said...

Well......congrats to her.

It's a family business in Lagos. Fashola will soon elevate his poorly educated wife like his boss did his.

Congrats ma!gud 2 hear dt!jokemi*

Public office has become inheritance trait in their family,na wo o

Family matters

Na only d 2 of dem walker come do chief judge 4 lagos state lol congrat.

What a glorious thing, it brought tears of joy to my eyes last night as I watched them. It's incredible. Congratulations ma for a well deserved honour. Motherhen

Oye idile tinz.

Gov 'No more hand shake'

Must have earned it, I believe. A big congratulations to the William sisters. Make sure u do Lagos proud.Best of lucks

Face of lib

Bishop larry said...

Congrats madam,may almighty God be with you.

Governance in Nigeria...family business!!!

@GEMMAG

Congrats to her..
Hardwork pays

Unto inheritance abi? Congrats

Lin lin still expecting to hear from you ooo. In respect of yomade balogun. D girl with kidney failure

Hiei! State affairs don become dia inheritance??? *Justaskingsha*

Hmmmmn!Things are happening.

Before people start spewing garbage....there is a hierarchy to the judicial system and Justices Atilade was next in line to be CJ after her sister Justice Phillips.

O! What a history, it runs in the family from father to children. Congratulations. #######OTUoCHA

Congrats ma.

NaNcY DreW said...

Family business congrats tho

Dis is wah i pray 2 becom 1 day. So help m God. Congrats. Ma turn dey com

WHICH WAY 9JA? SO ITS NOW A FAMILY THING. HHMMMMM

THEY LOOK SO FAT, AND WHATS IT WITH THE STUPID HATS?! IS IT A LAW THING?

na only una family waka come? is alright! continue.

Wow! Naija now gets to that point where every deserving person can get their due without that monster of a perceived "family quota" rearing it's head. Congrats Ma'am. Welldone Gov Fashola

Why are they fucking fat, for fuck's sake. Fat women irritate me.

Chucks

David Iyke said...

Well Lagos govt. is a family business! or what do you think?

jerry. said...

Congrats.

Evidence of corruption.

I so love her outfit. Congrats ma.

FunmiR said...

I don't blame you since you are not a learned person, aka a lawyer.
If you were, you will know that each state has courts 1 to at least 15.
When court 1 retires, whoever is in court 2 moves to 1,3 to 2, 4 to 3, 5 to 4 and so on till they all get to be chief judge.
The only reason why a person may not get there is if you retire before it gets to your turn.
It only means that they were employed after each other and have being following each other in ranks for years.
Oya thank me later.lol

Hiei! State affairs don become dia inheritance??? *Justaskingsha*

Congratulations madam.
The Lord hates injustice. I ask that the Righteous Judge Himself, the good Lord, grant you the wisdom to bring glory and honour to His name.

Once again, congratulations
- AE

Congratulations madam.
The Lord hates injustice. I ask that the Righteous Judge Himself, the good Lord, grant you the wisdom to bring glory and honour to His name.

Once again, congratulations
- AE

Random Thoughtful Thoughts said...

His Excellency, Governor Babatunde Fashola is setting standards, left, right and center. I admire this great man of super-sized intellect.

This should send messages to everyone that hard work pays and it is blind to whether you're male or female.

It should also educate all the African men crazy about male children. A child is a child, whether male or female. It is amazing these days how Women shatter the proverbial class ceilings... Great Job to the sisters. Celebrate you both.

Ensure to keep the flag of justice flying high in Lagos State. Also, strive to to protect and advance the rights and welfare of children, young persons and people with special needs including disadvantaged women.

be like say na only dem waka come!thank GOD for their lives

Some people comment like illiterates

TBELLZ said...

Appointment into the post of chief judge is based on seniority . upon the retirement of a sitting chief judge, the most senior judge in the state becomes the cj. It has nothing to do with nepotism or favoritism. Insofar as u are not elevated to the court of appeal or attain the mandatory retirement age, all high court judges are potential CJs based on their level of seniority at the bench