FG finally pays allowances of scholarship students in Russia | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 August 2014

FG finally pays allowances of scholarship students in Russia

The Federal Government yesterday August 21st started paying the allowance of scholarship students in Russia three days after it was reported that the 322 Nigerian students currently on Bilateral Educational Agreement scholarship in Russia hadn't been paid for about 8 months. 

One of the students, Moyosore Ojuri, a Metallurgical Engineering student who spoke with Punch said herself and her colleagues have started receiving credit alerts of $4,450 in their respective bank accounts. She said $4000 is for her January to August allowance; $200 for annual medicals & health insurance, and $250 covers her annual protective clothing. Continue...
"Before now, the Federal Government owed us from January to August. But now they have paid us everything. I can pay my accumulated debts and I am sure that I won’t be sent packing from the hostel over unpaid accommodation fees,” she said.
President of the Senate Committee, Association of Nigerian Scholarship Students in Russia and a post-graduate student of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Volgograd State Technical University, Russia, Akinola Akindamola, thanked the federal government for the prompt response and hopes that by today Friday August 22nd, all of them would have received their allowances
"The payment of the money is in process and I am confident that by the end of today, we would all have been paid. The least problem we want now is to be financially handicapped. We appreciate the Federal Government for their prompt response.” he said
The students had resorted to begging and engaging in menial jobs in Russia after FG failed to send them their allowance, putting them at risk of being deported.

35 comments:

Can't still believe they stayed 8months without pay, why did they send them there to suffer? Thank God The responded shaa and I pray they are not forgotten again.

queenreigneth@gmail.com

Weldone Diligent linda! I don't really know where I saw this news this morning,. Being waiting for you to put It here! Thank God the FG has done the right thing. Psalm 1:3. Prov 3:4. I pray the students would continue to increase in wisdom in Jesus name. Luke 2:52. BishopDammy#

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

They would always prefer to wash their dirty linen outside before doing the right thing. Happy for the students anyway..!!

Olumide Abiodun said...

Look on the bright side, now that lump sum can do something that the monthly payment couldn't do for them. So, in every disappointment, something good lies within.

Are You A One Minute Man?

Hmmm, since. Guess dey now knw diariz God.

Gud news and whoever push to see that the FG carry this action should forever remain bless....

Congratulation. Auntie linda, abeg post mai comment o ehen.

Good move

Good work FG

Ok.. Because of the outcry!

* My R1.50c comment *

Ok oooooh

That's gud

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Finally

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

THANK GOD FOR D RESPONSE

ZB.

Just imagine?? $4000 for 8months accommodation in Russia???
These children under scholarship have already learnt to be thieves...they would come back and be greater thieves...I'm also sure they are from rich families and did not need the scholarships either..

Thats gud

If GEJ and his advisers are so forgetful,won't it rather be better to put PEJ in charge of these boys b4 the ekwesilis become a thorn in d flesh,afterall PEJ is mama 9ja(peace).

Praise the Lord

I am pleased that the fed govt has done the right thing, if belatedly. I am happy for the students and I want them to always remember how much they have suffered to aquire this educ. I want them to put it to good use. Let your suffering and your sacrifice not be in vain. Indeed, this scholarship has been an opportunity and a blessing, pass it on. Use it to DO something for someone, for your people, for your country.

I am currently on holiday and everywhere I go I EXPECT to see a nigerian AND I DO. We have so many children studying in some of the best schools all over the world. Our educ system failed, yes, but there's silver lining.

I am totally convinced, Nobody can tell me otherwise, NIGERIA WILL BE GREAT. YES, VERY GREAT.
- AE

Zen...What an embarrassment said...

They only got their stipends because they cried out to the public....why didn't they get it before now?...possibly because some wicked people probably decided to put the money in a fixed deposited account to yield interest...I bet the devil ain't as wicked as African politicians.

Zen...What an embarrassment said...

They only got their stipends because they cried out to the public....why didn't they get it before now?...possibly because some wicked people probably decided to put the money in a fixed deposited account to yield interest...I bet the devil ain't as wicked as African politicians.

Good!

Sue said...

It pays to speak out, rather than dying in silence

Jessica law said...

The federal Govt like disgracing their self before they do the right thing what stop them from doing this all dis while.happy for the student

@ anonymous 12:45, these are normal students that are neither from rich nor poor backgrounds but are intelligent enough for the govt to send for scholarship. Masef n Akindamola went to the same secondary school

Tee. said...

Thank God o.

Tee. said...

Thank God o.

God bless punch newspaper

And some people will still be defending this useless and corruption laden Jonathan's government? I don't understand this country and many people in it. I swear

Sometimes I feel like an alien here

Big relief.. #mediapower

aM happy that FG respond to this, if they never respond who will hold them. good

BORN TO SHINE!!!!!

Go online and see for yourself, Moscow is more expensive to live in than London. A student apartment costs 180 to 200 dollars per month. So the money these students get is peanuts. And no rich kid goes to Russia, politicians send their kids to the UK or the US. Don't you effing talk rubbish u don't know nothing about.

Countries like Angola, Ghana, Guinea Conakry pay their students 800dollars per month. Mind you all these students are under the same scheme BEA. But Nigerian students borrow from their fellows to survive and when they are paid their peanuts (more than half goes to clearing debts) you come here to write trash.

Thats good our government are now trying kudos to them, by dobis112@gmail.com

@anonymous 12.48,such a dumb statement to make!Have you bothered to get information about the cost of their tuition,feeding,accommodation and cost of living generally in Russia!Oh stop hating cuz you weren't smart enough to benefit from the scholarship.There are 2 guys on this scheme that i know,one used to live in my area,and the other went to my primary school,sooo......