'Nigeria has never seen this type of corruption being exposed before' - Soyinka | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 9 January 2016

'Nigeria has never seen this type of corruption being exposed before' - Soyinka

Nobel Laureate Wole Soyinka says the current anti-corruption fight by the federal government has revealed an unprecedented level of corruption that has never been recorded in Nigeria before. Soyinka said this when the Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, paid him a courtesy visit at his home in Lagos today January 9th.

"We have not had a case where it had been alleged and increasingly proven that money supposed to be spent on defending ourselves, our nation, our neighbourhood, has been shared among individuals. We never had experience where we were in a state of critical emergency where children are being kidnapped under our noses. Never had there been a situation where we are helpless and our soldiers are sent to the front to defend our very existence and we are not backing them up with conduct that shows integrity and commitment. Because of these reasons, corruption is really desperate and has chosen to fight back, but I am confident that corruption will be tackled," Soyinka said.

143 comments:

He's right.

Wild flowers!

oga prof nor b 2day

SHORTEST DUDE said...

No shaking!

What's next?

Change is here...!!

Alpacino D said...

Mono sunso la pa duo de laureate......... Don't let them make U change mind abt the truth!

See his sexy finger nails

He just spoke my mind

Ok seen.

Yeahhh!dat's true but He's somehow being partial...

Yes I agree

Hypocrite..linda observe carefully

JAYZSBOSS said...

Haha! This is just the beginning

paparazi said...

Soyinka should keep quiet. What about Abacha,and IBB and OBJ? the god fathers of corruption. They were discreet and very evasive that was why Nigerians didn't know how they stole the nation blind. Jonathan allowed himself to be shot on the foot.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

they keep talking about corruptn yet nothing is being done...i pray for a better Nigeria

Glowyshoes's blog

My Facebook

Prof you are very right..

Abegii, your own dey your body...... Let's go Linda

So?

True talk.

Uzosafetyblog said...

Good news #IRepLIB

This certainly massive ....

tosisochukwu said...

Corruption rules d world

Tosisochukwu! Marry me

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Corruption will fight back but it will be tamed

U also ate yam. Fried or roasted. Yam is yam. You knew quite well salaries weren't paid in rivers and you accepted a dinner to be held in your honour. Where is your conscience holy prof.

What about the one in River state.......Mr Right (LINDs cook)

I agree wit u prof

What about his 82million naira dinner? is that not corruption?

please let this old man leave politics alone and go and write more books before he makes himself a nuisance.

Hahaha, very soon wind go blow, we go see fowl toto.

Olatee said...

Oro lenu baba to logbon. God bless u sir

true talk

Stern's crush

Shut up beans, de great Mabito

My mentor sai prof sai soyinka

And Now We all Know !!!

*dew*

I hear, how can corruption be tackled when there are corrupt leaders everywhere, if Buhari can probe amaechi and the core APC members, not the PDP members alone without being sentimental, then I can firmly say that the fight against corruption will be a successful one.

Ok. Let the fight against corruption continue biko!

I never see my brother..nuel

Observed, yea its a syndicate of corruption, am in love with Linda Ikeji for real and would wish to meet her in person as my 2016 resolution.

Soyinka, I'm sorry 2 say, 'you are among the corrupt. Which money did Amechi use to throw party 4 u? As a critic and writer, u shld hv known it was River state money bcs someone doesn't waste a hard earned money.' All of u are the same. All of u are d same. Corrupt Nigerians.

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

I couldn't agree with you more sir.

His eminence said...

Thats a fact but prof it's not corrupt fighting but witch hunting.

Well said.omooba

Oga oh.. God will help us . Hmmmm

MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person

With baba Buhari I strongly believe corruption can be tackled
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

A new sheriff is in town.

OK.

#IBOM'S FINEST

Lol...Actually sir we've always known and heard worse. No justice still tho...

I pray. In'sha Allah

Mousa Mie-mie

He's a wise man.. It'll be tackled soon, we hope for a better Nigeria

We hear you. Until they are convicted they are still innocent. Nigerians have never see this kind of corruption exposed on social media.

Please publish my comments biko

Thank God for Buhari

Everybody is coming out now to debunk corruption........ Lolzz nobody is free o. If u like, kill corruption literally investigation must take place. ### keep a clean sheet in that your little office because the next might be you###

Soyinka u re corrupt nd bugari himself is corrupt too.you re a disgrace professor.we have seen it all

linda Last Born(IPHY) said...

Well said prof.....

Hana said...

Soyinka shut up ur bloody mouth
Uv been bought!!!!
Ur opinion has zero value
Bloody atheist!!!!!

Miss Freeborn!!

benueguy said...

Ur corrupt engagement is at the verge of exposure in River state

Are you training lai Muhammed to improve his communication skills? What was the purpose of this visit and how much was spent on the trip. This govt needs to start giving account of when and how they are spending money cos you can't say you are fighting corruption and not be transparent yourself.
Plus, most of the people in Govt "fighting" corruption have been in govt in one position or the other previously, so how are they now pure?

Yet some mediocre thinkers will say due process should be followed (in this rotten system/country). If Buhari had followd some of those court orders, we wouldnt have seen these deep revelations.

funkecrown05@gmail.com said...

AZEEZ RIZQAH said...

Enter your comment...
Nice write-up from someone who was allegedly hosted to a dinner party with millions of naira..... Let sha hope dz administration won't spend all dia energy on fight corruption alone, hope dy will work on developing our economy.

And he still gets awards for running Nigeria under for 5yrs. Tim38

And he had N82M dinner and just kept quiet? Abeg go and jump inside the ocean

U are very right Pa Shoyinka, those bastards here will continue to comment rubbish here now, those retarded fools who want to defend Dasuki nd PDP party here will remain blind nd foolish all the days of ur lives, u will never see light in ur lives!

How strange,especially wen it's coming from a supporter of the said administration.

All for Ur pocket mk I hear jare

FRESH said...

When we allowed a gutless drunk lead us? Everybody in his party saw their chance & swooped on our common wealth.Looting bazaar.

Aunty Linda I think the Laurette is correct.. even rho I don't Stans wit any political party I can say dat PMB is doing well

With love from PH

I guess the ridiculous amount the Amechi government used to host him wasn't also part of the corrupt practices which crippled our economy.

Nawa

Sir Vin said...

my take on this: the arms that was brought in around March and April last year, LINDA also shared the pictures...were they a joke, borrowed or what? this arms deal is really confusing. Also, 82Million naira fr a dinner is corruption impersonified too
well, there was a country.

Ok I hear... I still dey wait

AJ MAIN BOY...

pumpy said...

Currupt nation

Hmmmmm, noted

KENTON ONUORAH said...

This group of men really finished Nigeria,am not surprise dat more names will still be review

I respect dis man, he speaks d truth even dou he has notin to gain from telling it

Tefe said...

foolish man,talk about your issue concerning state fu.d that was used to hold a birthday dinner for you,ur patheticness is why u will never equal with the late chinua achebe,ur greed and double standard is what will tarnish ur image before u die.

moss said...

Yesss. That's what it is! Asap

Is he not among the benefeciaries of the said corruption? When they were using 82 million to give him dinner.
Everybody is claiming saint now.Even Buhari is a beneficiary of the corruption money,didn't he reward Amechi with ministerial post after he looted Rivers money part of which he used to spondor the jihadist?

if dem mention your name now.you go change mouth o.

LINDA SO YOU DON'T WANNA SHOW US YOUR BF.

SHOW US NA, ABEG

That's true

SAMEUEL TAR ADAMS ADOM said...

The present administration isn't perfect but showing signs of a better tomorrow.

Nelly Roland said...

True talk

Mayberry said...

Dad u ve spoken like an elder dat u r,God bless u.
I pray all dis gets settled before God starts asking us y

Edobabe#replinda#

7F098C19 said...

Becos ur would called Yoruba leaders and brothers kept everything under the carpet. Engr Emy

Innocent people were dying in the north. Kids in IDP and yet money to protect them shares. Dia ris God oooo

Oh! My respect for this man JUST died, U have collected ur own share, so why won't u yarn Dust?

SHAME SHAME.

Are you for real? Nigeria have never seen kini? Abacha n IBB OBJ ABDUSALAM all world class looters

People loot money and hide under the cover of bail, democracy, rule of law, court, lawyer, medical condition, ill health etc. Those killed by boko haram as a result of the looting of PDP did not even have the opportunity of having a bail or lawyer. So PDP wailers should just shut up!

BROS DO U KNOW IF AMAECHI SPENT SOME OF THE CORRUPT MONEY ON HOSTING YOU? WELL U DON'T CARE RIGHT?
FORMING SAINT. MTCHW

I sincerely hope so too but the problem is that this so called agents of change are still the same group of people that moved from one party to the other and to be honest eeh, this their leader called tinubu is one hell of a thief.

Some big shots has to visit prison honestly this is wickedness in high places

ACA said...

That is unprecedented act of wickedness. They shall all met their waterloo soon.

ACA said...

That is unprecedented act of wickedness. They shall all meet their waterloo soon.

Make him carry chair sit down,he was also fed with task layers money,is dat not corruption?those who live in glass houses should not throw stones.

good that corruption is being exposed, but presido should also look in house. His cacus, party, cabinet and maybe family. Then Nigerians will know that he really mean business.

Abeggi hw as it being exposed..u guys should rest jare

My view not urs!!!!

Stupid old goat, who Corrupt pass you? Shameless cameleon,I am not one of the people that respect you

anonymous said...

Soyinka, soyinka, you have never seen corruption like this? What of obasanjo, Abacha, IBB, they are all saints? The truth be told, corruption is a cankerworm in this country. Soyinka should be directing his grievance at the blind ruler we have in Aso Rock. A true leader with vision, once he gets into office, his or her first priority is to put in place mechanism to create millions of new jobs to our teeming unemployed populace. Provide free education from primary to the University level for all Nigerians to enable the poor masses access to better their lives. Massive reconstruction of all our failing infrastructures and other lofty ideas that will provide avenues to create millions of new jobs. I am for dealing with all corrupt people in this country but that shouldn't be the number one priority of this government. All those clapping for Buhari for dealing with his political enemies and letting criminals in his party have juicy positions should think twice like Soyinka. All the looting recovered from Abacha, where is the money today? How much of the money has gone to help the poor? So all those that are been harassed today, if any money is recovered, how much of the money will get to the poor masses of the country? The truth is that we have at Aso Rock a ruler who is blind. What do blind rulers do? They sow chaos to distract people from all their failings like arresting political enemies making people have the false belief that they are working. That is their number one priority because what the people truly want, they can't provide like jobs. Two of the leaders that I know that have vision for nigeria are Awolowo and Abiola. They have vision to make nigeria great again. The same slogan being propagated by Donald Trump. They were not given the chance to lead the country. So Mr. Soyinka, crying over the past misdeeds of the previous administration will not create jobs for the hungry masses but telling the blind ruler at Aso Rock to get his priority right by embarking on projects that will create millions of new jobs to our hungry masses. This is what will stop crime in this country and stop the insurgency in the north east. Soyinka, HEAR WORD

Linda's pearl said...

Hmmmm, ok

I dont know why PDP keeps saying they are being witch-hunted or PMB is trying to silence them or stop them from talking. The fact is this: Did you loot money or not? If you did, then it is imaterial whether you are being witch-hunted or not. So shut up and stop wailing like a guilty drowning bat.

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.

Seyi said...

#word

PDP is insisting on going to court because they want to bribe judges with the money stolen or use the court process to buy time. I suggest that Buhari should set up a seperate criminal panel to judge all the looters and put a judge with integrity there that will fasten the process. PDP thinks Nigerians are fools. Smtcheew

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTA said...

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE...so sad for this country, the of corruption in Nigeria does not hve part two at all chai Hmmmm anyway ma am Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECNO F7.
@lindaikeji d lindus am still waiting ohh

Gasmien Global Resources said...

I hope u are also talking about the 82m for your dinner

Ok. Same news#LindaNgwanu#

anonymous said...

To add to my commentary on what Soyinka said that he Has Never Seen Such massive Corruption Being Exposed. I would like to make clear to Wole Soyinka that the Jonathan administration is the least corrupt administration we have had in recent memory. Let me take Soyinka down memory lane. It was in the regime of IBB that a lot of our finest journalists were murdered. Some with letter bomb. Others flew out of the country. RIP Dele Giwa. Abacha took tyranny to the next level. A lot of Nigerians were killed, many in broad daylight. The wife of MKO Abiola was violently murdered. Saro Wiwa was hanged in the presence of Abacha. His regime culminated in the killing of MKO Abiola himself with the conniving of Abdulsalam. Then came Obasanjo from the south. His regime marked the mass GENOCIDE of the Odi people. So what is this blind Soyinka talking about Jonathan that he is the most corrupt. Who gave us Jonathan, is it not Obasanjo, The father of CORRUPTION. Because nobody got the guts to expose the satanic regimes of IBB, Abacha and Obasanjo doesn't mean they were better than Jonathan in terms of corruption

How can corruption be tackled when our leaders are busy stealing money..

He shouldn't act like a saint ... How much did he receive from ameachi wen he was a governor ... Evrytime he comes to river state to do what?

LINDAIKEJIWANBE said...

Including urs,they have opened your yansh too,so oga shut up

Comment by a naija model

Noted

David said...

Abeg park well joor.kettle calling a known black pot white and shining.

Dan said...

As in eh the Mata tire me ohh

I don't know y pple re so blind. Na true u talk my brother, make dem go hang dem self. Sai Buhari

Linda our elite failed us. Even the Laurette has been part of the looted train for a very long time. don't trust any body. period.

WORD!!!

He neva said dey were saints.. He has always bn a critic of obj .. Dey don't get along..

Endydecency said...

Yes! we never knew that Amaechi used River state money to host you when he could not pay workers salary, that one is also part of the revelations. when Chinua Achebe was alive he rejected National honour many times because he said that those in power should use their capacity and change the course of the country. But your own is anyway belle face later you will come and position yourself as an Angel. Go and rest jare.

Endydecency said...

Yes! we never knew that Amaechi used River state money to host you when he could not pay workers salary, that one is also part of the revelations. when Chinua Achebe was alive he rejected National honour many times because he said that those in power should use their capacity and change the course of the country. But your own is anyway belle face later you will come and position yourself as an Angel. Go and rest jare.

Pesin Pikin said...

We shd all support this movement cux this govt is out to expose all fraudulent n criminal activities recorded in d past n even present

Peace nwadire said...

*sipping my fruit juice *

lutoeig said...

Haaaaaaaa some people are not happy with president Buhari crusader against corruption, Prof you are right corruption fight back that is what some people here are commenting rubbish about the dead sentence coming soon on the country looters, we don't care wether it takes the president 4 years eliminate all the corruption in country we are okay with that.

And what you re saying in the essence is "why is ur 82M dinner a big deal(like we've never seen such in Nigeria before)"??? Oga check yourself well shaa

-LIB PIKIN-

And what you re saying in the essence is "why is ur 82M dinner a big deal(like we've never seen such in Nigeria before)"??? Oga check yourself well shaa

-LIB PIKIN-

Stoplisten said...

Prof I follow dey all of una! U follow join hmmmmm

Hmmmm! said...

Thought there was 12billion dollars mentioned when IBB left government sometime ago and also Fela mentioned 2billion dollars when OBJ left government in 1979 in one of his songs...

LISNAN said...

Enter your comment...THATS VERY TRUE PROF PLUS INCLUDING THE 82MILLION NAIRA DINNER IN RIVERS STATE.

God bless you dear. 3hrs dinner hosted with almost 10mil

Don't mind the criminal old man. Used 2 have respect 4him

wen e favour u...u call God bo

owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin) said...

hmmm.... its nt today we started hearing tins like dis.... its nt new Prof...

Some commenters ar jst myopic. Wish God can jst remove dead brains in our midst nd replace it wt Angels, Afrcans r still mostly perverts.

Was he the one that stole the money? Even if the money was looted, was he aware? If your father hosts a surprise party for you, will you ask your father how he got the money? Abeg let the old man be. Na him good for PDP. Trouble dey sleep, yanger go wake am up. Why did PDP go and mention his name inside the loot saga. Now, the man will start talking and finish them. Useless people.

When Soyinka himself is corrupt!!! How much APC pay u??? Or is it bcos u are yoruba???
Mellychioma11@yahoo.com

very well said...angelmakiz@yahoo.com