Mum 'died of heroin overdose' in baby's hospital room while Dad was passed out | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 9 January 2016

Mum 'died of heroin overdose' in baby's hospital room while Dad was passed out

A mother died of an apparent heroin overdose in front of her seven-month-old daughter while inside the baby’s hospital room. Nearby the girl’s father was found unconscious after he too took the drug while visiting.

The death of Mary Ann Landers has shocked the small town of Trinity, Alabama, where she and her husband where known as doting church-going parents.

Just hours before the 32-year-old died on Wednesday the couple had taken to Facebook to update the progress of their daughter who had undergone surgery.
The mother was later found slumped on the floor at the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Centre and her husband Wesley Landers was discovered unconscious in nearby room.

He was found with a heroin syringe in his arm and revived with Narcan. Another two syringes were nearby on the bathroom counter, documents state.
The father has since been arrested and faces charges of possession of drugs, carrying a concealed weapon, having weapons while under disability and possessing drug abuse instruments.
A judge ruled for his bond to be set at $500,000 (£344,000) bond.
“It just goes to show you how strong the grip is of drugs,” said Hamilton County Coroner Dr Lakshmi Kode Sammarco.
She added that in just the last two weeks, her office has investigated more than 20 overdose related deaths.
“There is just something inherently wrong with bringing a child to a very specialised medical centre, one of the best in the world, and then making a really bad mistake and losing your own life,” Dr. Sammarco added.
The Landers daughter had been admitted to the hospital in Cincinnati for a trachea reconstruction surgery.
Officials said the surgery went well, and the baby is recovering.
Police continue to investigate the incident.
"I've got to say now nothing really surprises me,” said Chief Tom Synan of the Hamilton County Heroin Coalition. "It is shocking where it happened, how it happened. You're right there with your child.”

Mirror online

69 comments:

Rip...

Chai! What kind of useless parents be this one na? Now †ђξ baby is left to suffer for nothing! Na wa o

#iT wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

Drug addictions runs in their family

Both r fake husband n wife material

so this is how the child became motherless...chaii...Stay away from drugs!

#XENO-FABIAN

What a tragedy...

Uzosafetyblog said...

Na waoh, they didn't care about the baby. #IRepLIB

aww

awww

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Wow! Wat a useless parent. And that's y we trying to kip imade safe

Uc Gist: said...

My God this is heartbreaking why can't Dis pple leave drugs alone, see wht they have done to their young kid.

Wow the bad effect of taking drugs

PEPSI ADDICT

But why? Rest in peace to the dead

thank God 4 d baby but that show how irresponsible and careless the father... @tbflow$

Good for her..... Let's go Linda

What a waste! Nonsense

AJ MAIN BOY...

They are both stupid

tosisochukwu said...

Tragedy

Tosisochukwu! Marry me

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

DBANJ CRUSH said...

Two wrong pple,,RIP

LINDA NOTIFY DBANJ

Emmy Blu Modesto said...

Rest in pieces

Banji said...

Bad parenting.

#tgenewguy

JESUS CHRIST PROBABLY HAD MORE QUARRELS WITH HYPOCRITES (PHARISEES) THAN HE DID WITH SINNERS....I TRY NOT TO JUDGE..BUT I BELIEVE IF WE HAVE PERSONAL STRUGGLES, WE SHOULD NOT HIDE IT BEHIND A CHURCH GOING FRONT...(SEEK HELP).

yes nothing surprises me any more. end time is here.

MrCollz A.k.a Sanity Says.

all this court charges are getting more xpensive by the day..

What a tragedy due to bad lifestyle

i c highness....

Sophia momodu will one day collapse of excessive shisha in front of her daughter

Hmmmmmmm.#Abi linda#

ezinne perps said...

quiet pathetic, rip

Some people aren't fit to be parents...smh

JAYZSBOSS said...

What a way to be a mum.. Nonsense

Babylawyer. said...

Two drug addict rasing kid wonder what will become of that child. Weird world.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

aww

June said...

O chim!

bimi said...

what the fuck.nothing we will not see sha

LINDA PLS NOTICE ME OOOO

Wale Mikael said...

Mother dead. Father to be taken by the system perhaps for the next 20 years and child would be raised by the system. What a pity!!! They just brought a child to their irresponsible world to suffer. *tear*

Eyah,sad. See wetin drugs dey cause

Christian parents for that matter. To me, they chose drugs over their daughter.

passions said...

Still, ppl won't learn

don snipes said...

I saw d caption, I said oh it surely happened in USA, n my guess waz valid. Bunch of weirdos

Addictions and bad habits......,they eventually kill you

See him looking like one popular roman catholic priest in awka with beards like his

stop using church to cover your sins...angelmakiz@yahoo.com

I wonder the lies he will tell when she wanted to know how her mum died.

when d little girl grows at least she will b happy dat her mum died happy. LOL.

...d great wonderer

wizkid's nigga said...

End is near

What a way to watch ur parent die...this world no pure ooo

Stay off drugs...

Ndi ara.... combined fanatics in the name of parents fa...rip tho

wisdomer said...

It's only d poor child am feeling for

Victor Emeka Isaac said...

Weird.....what is wrong with this parents sef

Also Check Vabadon's Blog

Asha!!!!!!!

Rubbish

Divinelyfavored said...

What will she tell God?

LOGIC! said...

U make life a bitch and den u die!

What a shame. Doting church-going parents indeed.

#GLORY2GLORY#

What a shame. Doting church-going parents indeed.

#GLORY2GLORY#

What a Tragedy

Pesin Pikin said...

Na wa o! May God help the family...RIP

2 bad; poor baby

My view not urs!!!!

Sophie momodu and davidoo take note.

paparazi said...

Shocking news we hear everyday. This is so saaaaaad