TV journalist Adaure Achumba gets engaged + tells their love story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 15 March 2015

TV journalist Adaure Achumba gets engaged + tells their love story

Award-winning TV journalist Adaure Achumba got engaged to her man Wesley Ballance yesterday March 14th. Wes popped the question as they celebrated her birthday with friends in the US. They met in college in 1999 but were just friends, and only reconnected late last year and are now engaged. Amazing. Big congrats to my dear friend! See more photos and Adaure's love story after the cut...

Adaure's story which she shared on instagram
"LongStoryButHereIsShortVersion He proposed on the spot we first met in fall 1999 by the volleyball court at Criage Hall dorm @UNCchapelHill...i started randomly and typically started smack talking with his then random college kid @wesballance who said to me "Girl I'm Gonna Marry You" ...and in dismissed him in a very Nigerian manner just thinking he was just joking around and flaterring me...really who says that on first meeting...in my head i was like #Hiss #AbegGuyComotForRoad. Lol. We became friends and hung out in the same crew. We went bar hopping on #FranklinStreet and a few games. I failed my first semester cos i was always hanging out with him and @kidkhome and the rugby boys at the pit in front of Lenoir Cafeteria. I had a crush on him and enjoyed his company and he had a crush on me but i was just too green in the romance department to read the signs and he thought i was the biggest #IceQueen #GoodyTwoShoe #TotalNigerianPrincess #AintGotTimeForThat.The biggest irony in this my not so simple love story is i ended up dating another guy with the same first name and he my french tutor. We moved on and graduated but stayed friends...Fast forward to Fall 2014 (Tell you what...immo skip that part for the wedding) and now here we are 💖💖💖...i even got punked for the proposal so there is a hidden_surprise cam video by @dr_adeyanju #BestBirthdayEver

86 comments:

Congrats!

Tee said...

PRAY FOR NIGERIA PEOPLE...

STARRY LARRY said...

Congrats to her.

*Larry was here*

THE WHITE GUY GET BIG PRICK OOOOH! ABI I DEY SEE DOUBLE???

All this twitter and instagram has made people forget how to write and speak proper english.

Seems this arrow nails is the thing in vogue now.Good for her!

White boys stwaling our able women.congrats....lindaobserve me and lets get engaged

seunLondon said...

My ozolua road one time neighbour ...congrats girl #SeunLondon

Beautiful congrats dear nd hapi Bd, I tnk she is no longer wit sliverbird again.

Fine love story

Awwwwww.... sweet

Awww! I go loveoo!

Disney love for me and my bf

AMIJEZ said...

Yea,Adaure Achumba,congrats to her.

They been hanging out since 1999 and finally make it official in 2015. That's got to be a record. She's got heart.

he looks like a serial killer...congratulations though.

And she had to marry a sick looking Whity.....what happened to the fresh handsome oyibos out there.......inferiority complex bad.....

Atlast u ll b free from ur so-difficult-surname which has been war 4u2 pronounce..congrats AND. Ofcoz I'm NEXT in line..

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Good For her.

congrats to her

Liflblog.wordpress.com said...

congrats, nice looking pair.

kindly click on my name to visit my very entertaining lifestyle/motivational blog. thank you

Congrats Adapter...

Hmmm is even a white guy,congrats gurllll,bt d whitguy aint smashing

Wow beautiful story!!I use to admire this babe when she was still presenting in stv!!I pray God bkess her union.

To a white guy? Wow I love this.
Their future babies will be cute.
Big congrats indeed.
Love white handsome guys though *winks*

Hmm. Congrats to her.

Congrat gal

Congrats. But wait a minute, in d second pix is dat

I love me a good love story.

Awwwwww! Congrats to her. Linda take note!

Is good to be in love...
Vote PDP
Vote GEJ
It's him that will take us to vision 2020

Congratulations girl

Nky said...

Congratulations!

Wot a story!.... congratulations to you both

Etsako Pearl said...

Sweet adaure + dey luk gud 2geda #Beefing #lol Congrats dearie!

Oluchi P said...

wooow congrats to both of u.

Dey luk good togeda

This Dude over here is Wishing you more than 60yrs of Conjugal Bliss.

QUEEN AMANDA said...

Aleka nails

congrat sweetie

Congrats Adaure. God be praised. You Will Make An Excellent wife. What a lucky man.

Na now she go gree na wen old age don dey come.....happy for ya Adaure Achumba

FENITYGISTHUB.INFO said...

D same story with me-but am still waiting. Wink!!

congratulations

Wooow....congrats to her,its been a while I saw her on TV tho...

miz bonita said...

nice love story. a blissful life ahead

@long last! Phew! Congrats Nne. I waited for dis day though. And I keep asking myself each time I c her on TV "y is Adaure still single?"... Nne congrats ozo kwa. no be only our naija men go de catch oyibo girls.

Eyah so sweet.love is a beautiful thing indeed.wish them well

Congratz to ha

Wow. Congrats to both of them

Congrats to her..

iyke cindy said...

Congrats dear....m nxt in line..so waitin on my D day to get d biggest surprise.

The guys shoes though..congrats!

www.gidipotion.com said...

awwwn, adaure was the reason i watched STV News...congrats mami...

How many years after sisters Onyenachi and Nene are married?
And she said love? After years of searching for any handsome Naija bloke she returned to her cast off and called it love? Na wah.

Congratulations to her, she even looks finer dan d guy.

Woh!!! God will bless you, exact thing I was thinking, could barely understand what she wrote (too much Americana sheenaneegans going on there)...

Wao. Congrats 2 dem!

Congrats hun

Congrats to them.

#HappyMothersDay

Lmaoooooooooooo that cracked me up.

Tendency oby said...

Congrat

Lol u had me rolling with laughter. Smh.Congratulation to the cuople tho.

congratulations guys.My own hubby is here o Im next in line.Thank God for me people.May God bless all those waiting on their boo.♥♡

for real..thought i wasnt reading it right...being a journalist and all.lol.Congrats

God provide for all searching for their life partners to locate them in Jesus name Amen.♥♡

Jade said...

That story gave me a headache. I expected eloquence, I can barely understand it. Either way, congratulations!

Exactly wot I thought too. Mumu oyinbo

A day re my gal CONGRATULATIONS. I was one of your biggest fans and blog readers. I miss your writing so much. You are such a good writer and so funny. I even left a message on your blog when John Legend got married :) miss your blog sha. Wish you all the happiness in the world. I hope you read this.

Femiluv said...

lol, of all the white men in North Carolina, she chooses this one? He does look like a serial killer. Look at those clothes and shoe.

My head oo I dnt even understand what u are writing.... any way congrats dear... in my eyes u looked like rihanna bck den in STV, but my gurl u donfat up oo

This not smart. People reveal way too much of their personal lives on social media. Hmnnn. They dont mention the down sides, like what the guys does etc. for a living.

Anyway wish you happiness, and good married life. I

First of all if una see the kine white men wey dey North carolina, una go sabi sey the babe try. Secondly how do you fail a whole semester. That is very hard to do especially in the U.S. should I presume that english was one of those classes she failed? Either way congratulations and leave out the failing part when you tell your kids the story abeg.

Awww! We go loveoo *winks*

So what if it was decades after they got married!! What if she wasn't ready then....

presh ijay said...

congrats bae

Me too

Congrats Adaure, this Oyibo no make sense o abi na my eyes dey deceive me. He looks hungry tho.

Mr/Mrs anonymous im sure u attached to eat rice at both weddings. Judge and jury.. Her sisters being married is not a yardstick to marry. Pple like you pressure women to jump into wrong marriages bcos of "Mrs"status. There is more to life biko

I am quite disappointed at the comments on this story, The negativity is indeed, quite appalling.

Race is not a consideration for choosing a partner or spouse.

"There comes a time, when we have to make a choice,
Take a stand on the kind of life you want"