Senate committee summons CBN, AMCON over Cecilia Ibru's N150bn assets | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 16 March 2015

Senate committee summons CBN, AMCON over Cecilia Ibru's N150bn assets

The Senate Committee on Drugs, Narcotics, Financial Crimes and Anti-corruption have summoned the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON) and other relevant stakeholders to appear before it to explain what happened to the N150 billion Mrs Cecilia Ibru reportedly forfeited in assets and cash after she was convicted of fraud by a court in 2010.

The summons comes after a petition was sent to the committee alleging that the funds and properties recovered by the EFCC from Mrs Ibru were not remitted to the banks.

The committee say they plan to throw its searchlight on the recovery of assets from other convicted Managing Directors of Intercontinental Bank Plc, Union Bank Plc, AfriBank Plc and Bank PHB.

49 comments:

Wow! For one person? Lindaobserve

Hmmm nah wah o, I was thinking that this case is closed already

prettiyz said...

Hmmm serious Gobe!

Good for dem. Dey really strip dat woman off so much moni.

destinysweet said...

Gbam!

Tee said...

Issorite 2016 will be a very intresting year! alot of fowls yash go open. and alot of people go run go exile

Ok. Good idea and let them use dat searchlight well and I hope they r not doing dis bcos of wht they want which is personal gains or bribe frm d case.

LIVING REAL. said...

Hmmmm it's o, gbege don de be dat.

Na wa o
Even Efcc is corrupt too
Then who do we trust
After GEj will say stealing is not corruption

Nigeria needs serious change o,

Mtcheww! How many of the forfeited funds and properties have they ever remitted?

i don't have money on my mind

I do it for the love

Gay Life of an Anonymous Writer

FULL INVESTIGATION ON DS....TOMJERRYSWIT

See gobe o for Nigeria. Some pple don collobe the assets especially since stealing is not corruption.

Interesting! This is the kinda case that intrigues me.Lets see how it unfolds.

Tee said...

THE CASE IS NOT CLOSE OOH! THE INCOMING GOVERNMENT WILL RE-OPEN THEIR YANSHES ALL OF THEM THIEVES... 2016 WILL BE A VERY INTRESTING YEAR! *GRABS POP CORN AND FANTA*

150billion?! They are summoning them 5 years later? I think they know exactly where it went.

Get king of impunity Nigerians shine your eyes vote wisely

Tee said...

REDEMPTION FOR NIGERIA

OK

This people no get fear of God o! Imagine the kind of money wey dem go dey talk story on top. Wen we still have people dat can barely feed well littered everywhere in the country. God go judge. Linda take note!

Oya, make una start dey vomit the money.

Biko ask them oooooo and probe the Efcc too...all the corruption money they've been collecting wia has it been goin to??

Lets see how it goes................

...150billi, Just like that O! Linda confam!!

They should call back Faruk lawan an Otedola as well, an all other thieves as well

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Same set of pple hope they will really do somthing abt it

Hw I wish our government will amend our constitution n put death penalty 4 looters of public funds

Angela Judy said...

Phenomenal woman!PLEASE no one should harm her o

completely forgot they got that much money from her.. I would not have imagined N150bil is even available for just one person to steal, that's well over £500,000,000.. Jeez!!!

Hmmmmmmmm

Wahala. Tot this was a closed case already.

so it could be true that Sanusi Lamido/Buhari funded Boko Haram with the money. I see 2*wahala here

Ibru vs Lamido. The drama aint ending yet. No wonder he financed BH

Since 2010, o ga. Make dem search well n find it o

How can criminals fight crime. They collected the money frm the woman and pocket it.

Angela Judy said...

Phenomenal woman, Pls no one should harm her o

All na to fund a way to acquit them of the obvious crime

The motivation of transparency is important. The culture teaches people to be candid and blunt, but this usually revolves around self-centeredness – you have a right to express your true feelings and your rage. This is an entitlement. Instead, the Christian way to approach transparency is to realize out candidness should be motivated by a desire to have a pure heart before God and others.

150 Billion naira gone missing....and una say GEJ is working?!

Na Thunder go fire una papa yansh!!!

Can anything good come out of this committee? What happened to the result from national confab, how abt fuel subsidy probe committee ?and a host of others...samayo via bb10

Why not? And 6 months in prison was just a slapped on the wrist. She deserved at least 5 yrs in prison

They robbed Tom to pay Susan.

Cecilia Ibru, 6 months in prison at Reddinton hospital. No asset forfeiture. Me, All my shares gone with the wind. I bite the dust. Nigeria, I hail thee with all my heart.

they need the money to campaign for election ni.

#smh - and now Swiss bank wants to return $350m that Abacha stole. They should hold the money till a government that will use it wisely is inaugurated. Else PDP will give them to OPC and Switzerland will be held for sponsoring election violence o.

#GEJ shouldn't be afraid as Buhari has promised that after swearing in he will concentrate on the future of Nigeria and not go back to those who have constantly looted the Treasury of this country in the past decade. However Mama War should be careful as International Criminal Court in the Hague hasn't promised anything apart from the fact that those who incite violence shall be prosecuted. Stone, poison etc.

SAI Buhari