It is wrong for the President to be summoning Jega at will - APC | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 March 2015

It is wrong for the President to be summoning Jega at will - APC

Press statement from the APC below...

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has said the President's decision to summon INEC Chairman Attahiru Jega to a meeting that was not attended by other political parties in Abuja on Tuesday is part of ongoing moves to compromise the integrity of the electoral commission, which is expected to be fair and neutral.
In a statement issued in Abuja on Wednesday by its National Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, the party said it is wrong for the President, who himself is a candidate in the forthcoming elections, to be summoning the electoral umpire at will, especially when such meetings are populated by his appointees.
''Without the representatives of other political parties attending such meetings, irrespective of whether or not it is aimed at briefing security chiefs on the preparations for the polls, the ruling PDP and its presidential candidate are seeking to gain undue advantage over others ahead of the elections.
"'It is like the referee in a football match meeting with key officials of one of the teams ahead of the match. This is against the spirit of transparency and fairness and must stop forthwith. ''Had the representatives of other political parties apart from the PDP (the President is the leader of the PDP) attended the meeting, the widespread speculations that Jega's life and job were threatened if he fails to drop the use of the card reader, as well as circulating reports that he will be removed before Saturday, would not have happened,'' it said. APC said whatever briefings must be given by the INEC chairman on the elections must have in attendance the representatives of all the political parties that will participate in the elections.
It also decried clandestine meetings between some key presidency and INEC officials with a view to rigging the elections, warning the presidency to steer clear of the electoral officials if indeed they are desirous of a free, fair, credible and peaceful elections. Meanwhile, the party has said the Presidency and the PDP cannot and must not be allowed to profit from their sponsorship of ethnic militias, including MASSOB and OPC, to create chaos and violence before, during and after the elections. It said the plot by the duo is to make the country so unsafe before the polls that members of the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC), who are supposed to serve as electoral officials, will simply say they can no longer participate in the elections because they fear for their lives.
"This will simply truncate the elections and trigger a constitutional crisis, the exact scenario being plotted by the Jonathan Administration and the PDP to allow them to either perpetuate themselves in office or install an interim government,'' APC said. It said another booby trap on the path of holding the elections as rescheduled are the pending court cases against the use of the card reader by INEC. ''Nigerians should note that nothing is yet guaranteed as far as the holding of the rescheduled elections is concerned.
The Jonathan Administration and the PDP are still shopping for a court judgement to declare the use of the card reader unconstitutional, just because they are now painfully aware that Nigerians have rejected them and their party.. ''We are therefore calling on all our compatriots to be more vigilant in the next few days to the elections. We are also alerting local and foreign observers, and the international community, to the ongoing shenanigans by the Jonathan Administration and the PDP to scuttle the polls,'' APC said
Alhaji Lai Mohammed National Publicity Secretary All Progressives Congress (APC) Abuja, March 18th 2015

127 comments:

Saibuhari!! Lindaobserve

Free and fair elections

Olawale said...

I tink i agree wit this. It is def wrong.

MAKE SOME EXTRA PAY MONTHLY FROM THIS SIMPLE AND NEW IDEA. CLICK HERE AND SEE IT NOW !!!

He is the President and he has every right to summon Jega to know how prepared they are for the Elections.

APC town crier

Continuity for @Good luck

Forward Nigeria

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Very true

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

Cry APC cry

ACCORDIN TO YOU OGA...TOMJERRYSWIT

10 days to go. Make everybody rest from all this wahala. Linda take note!

nonsense........ i dont feel like voting again cos we already knw who is ganna win......

meenah_wakil on instagram

*in Patience Jonathans voice* weee u keep quiet.

PDP too desperate.. Linda take note

Why is there so much drama in apc? Shut the he'll up apc.

Oh! He is d president so u guys can kill urself.... it's called power of incumbency

True! scary when we don't know their intent and the conversation won't be published or disclosed. PDP can ft play wa yo frm any angle......

Please quit whining. He employed the man and sure has the power to summon him at will.
If you take over power, you can do it your own way.

Amy said...

He is the president and he can summon him. If e too pain maybe you guys can ask to be present in the meeting.

liarlair or lailai, why cant you please shut up and stop causing chaos. APC can assume alot of things thereby causing tension and creating unnecessary fear and chaos. Why are you people so power intoxicating? Oh my gosh, as far as this Nigeria is concern Jonathan is still the president and also Jega's boss and he can summon him if he deem fit. Please APC people should go and drink cold water and let us decide on who will be our next President come 28th March, 2015.

Well said and articulated one here mr chairman of APC. I particularly questioned the unhealthy and unconstitutional summoning of Jegar by mr president and his amiiable loyalist without any other political party representatives. These PDP guys and mr president are now dragging the independence of INEC as a body to the will of PDP caprices and whim which gonna jeopardize the supreme power of the nigeiran masses at the pool. South west be wise to avoid unhealthy intimidation by OPC which mr president just bought recently.

Another drama

APC =Attention-seeking people congress

Well said!

Blessing ozoemena said...

Truth be told GEJ can not be summoning Jaga only,He is a candidate also.

This jega is really on in hot sit.
6 EASY WAYS TO ATTRACT YOUR OWN HUSBAND

5 WORDS TO MAKE HER FALL MADLY IN LOVE WITH YOU

WHAT A MAN WANTS IN BED

Inec is suppose to be an independent body...but its not...............The president is not suppose to be having close door meetings with its chairman few days before the election

Hmm can u imagine what GEJ, re doing? Whatever the evil GEJ and PDP party re planing to rig the general election will work against them

desperate Apc's... Gej has d right to summon whosoever he wishes to.... He is still d president.... Deal wit it

My tot too. i agree that it is wrong for Jonathan to meet with them alone

talk2frankky said...

Am a die hard APC supporter but sometimes they talk too much.
We must not turn to the likes of ffk,indomie brain and abati inorder to be heard.

Godblessnija said...

God will not allow them succeed despite the various antics being rolled out day in day out to frustrate INEC.
Change is all we need n we shall achieve it via our votes, comes March 28.
In JEGA we trust. The unbiased umpire who will not compromise his integrity.
Long live Nigeria!!!

The irresponsible allegations of APC:
These guys dont realise that in Cote d Ivoire, there was already a civil war on, and the UN was part of the electoral process. Also, the opposition had the backing of a certain European Nation! This was why the UN and the AU accepted that the opposition form a parallel Government, after the Supreme Court ruled in favour of the opposition, after the third count. Nigeria is a totally different scenario. No Western Gov is backing any opposition here (people should stop confusing AKPD/consultants propaganda with the neutral position of the US Government). There is no civil war on in Nigeria with the UN involved in our election. The threat of forming a parallel Gov should be treated as TREASON. The false accusations from Tinubu, Mbaka and co, "of Mr President wanting to kill them", should be legally dealt with! This is criminal, especially, when there is absolutely no evidence. Nigerians dont want desperate politicians to cause confusion and turn Nigeria into a bloodbath, simply because of their own selfish desperation to grab power at all costs!

As d president it's his right to summon any one @ will,but being a candidate I dnt think it's ethical. He shd ve also invited other parties. Be that as it may,i believe Nigerians no wat they need now,so let's let d events play out.Nigeria must be better this 2015

precious 1986 said...

Who appointed JEGA? And wat was the meeting about? Pls make I hear word APC

He spoke well, dat meeting ws wrong true true. How can he hold meeting wt inec wtout oda political parties being involved?

LAI LAI MOHAMMED DECRYING AND ALLEGING AS USUAL! HE NEVER HAS ANY POSITIVE CONTRIBUTION TO MAKE ABOUT WHAT HIS PARTY HAS TO OFFER ONLY LIES AND ACCUSATIONS.

It is Crystal clear to everyone that PDP wants to rig and which would never work for them by God's grace !!!

APC is foolish. Is he not the president?

sweetie said...

Why all dis? Wat is going on? Is it a crime ll voted jonathan in 2011? Is presidential post is do or die or die affair? U can't force us on u jona, we embraced u in and we reject u now when ll see dat u ar a failure. U can't impose ursef on us by force. We need peace in dis country. Since I was born Av never seen dis kind of election before either heard in history. Is dis end time or jonathan end life. Na GOD go destroy every evil plans dis man got for dis country.

I know he is the president and he still has to perform his duties but APC is right, Jega should not be part of close door meetings at the Villa, GEJ should remember the meaning of the 'I'in INEC

Lia should go and sit joor bf dey will create tension in d air. who says the president cant summon any principal officer under his watch at any given time...

who is to be vigilant? wher re ur households? bring dem to be vigilant.

story for the gods. na today yansh don dey back. Old pp fighting for power.

Of course everything GEJ does is wrong while everything Thiefnubu and Bokohari does is right they became saints overnight...APC if GEJ summons Inec chairman all to himself you people should go ahead and summon him for GMB or are you people scared that Jega might ask him the full meaning of INEC?

chikaezez.blogspot.com said...

when will tomorrow come for young pp to rule dis country for God sake. say no PDP & APC

Please you APC should stop fueling a crisis. Must everything be about you???

Da rosy said...

He is still the president yea! Bt summoning the electoral umpire at this point can possibly raise an eyebrow. I pray march 28th comes sooner!

Da rosy said...

He is still the president yea! Bt summoning the electoral umpire at this point can possibly raise an eyebrow. I pray march 28th comes sooner!

That is one of the reason APC will never win. Its not common wining incumbent president.

To b sincere all dis political noise's here and there abt dis and all dat is enough to mak a pregnant woman to deliver b4 she is due.

Just next week left for dis elections to come and go so dat we can hav peace of mind. Enough of all dis noise pls.

APC,please stop fooling yourselves with constant critisizn of every Jonathan's action.We nigerians cannot be deceived by your lies.All of you are just looking for opportunity to loot our national treasury.We reject you and everything you stand for.

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Whatever! Election do come and go.

lai mohamed or what is it call u better be careful when u hav a secretin wit jega in dubai who did u invite foool cry cry baby idiot

can u imagine u said is clueless now u r cry like a baby go to court or go and die fool

Lar shld go n slp. Who told d fool dat Nigerian rejected PDP. It is APC Nigerian rejected. Fucking Dog

when u hav ur own meetin wit him in dubai did u also invite d opposition?

CORRECT !

Nnamdi Okosieme said...

Mr. Laid Mohammed, the truth of the matter is that Goodluck Jonathan in addition to being PPD's presidential candidate, is still President of Nigeria. He still has the responsibility of running Nigeria and that brief includes ensuring a free and fare presidential election. So, Mr. Scaremonger, he has EVERY RIGHT to summon Mega and your party or any other party does not have to be there. Did you by any chance see the PDP National Chairman there? If you want to know what transpired at the meeting, you can always find out from Prof Mega during your regular nocturnal trysts or from your moles within the Jonathan government. Please, let us be.

If look at GEJ face to face he has a face of failure, a thief, he could use God, use his humility to decieved pepl, we have have already discovered this, some of us in occupied high office in PDP are not with him but he may not know, we will continue to share the money until election day, Buhari is the next president nothing can change that. 85% of PDP member today re with BUHARI,

I am PDP senator.

If look at GEJ face to face he has a face of failure, a thief, he could use God, use his humility to decieved pepl, we have have already discovered this, some of us in occupied high office in PDP are not with him but he may not know, we will continue to share the money until election day, Buhari is the next president nothing can change that. 85% of PDP member today re with BUHARI,

I am PDP senator.

maky said...

APC. Party of imbeciles. Look at what this fool is spewing

I am PDP senator.

UNHAPPY NIGERIAN. said...

APC noise making team.

Make next saturday. Reach abeg make we rest

please APC spokesman,who appointed Jeja? i thought it was the President and was ratified by the Senate

He is the President and there is no where in the constitution where it states otherwise.

Totally wrong....PDP should leave us alone....we are out for CHANGE....infact GEJ suppose to step down after he declear his interest to contest...that should be fair enough

I say fuck APC and cohorts
He is the sitting president and has the full right to summon whosoever he wished
APC the complain party
Fuck u all and even the lib APCites
We owe u guys no apology
GEJ till infinity and noting will happen
Bastard power intoxicated party
With thiefnubu, amechi and cohorts lair mohammed
GEJ if possible sack jega and heaven won't fall

I rest my case GEJ till 2019

He is the sitting president and has the full right to summon whosoever he wished
APC the complain party
We owe u guys no apology

APC the complain party
We owe u guys no apology

APC the complain party
We owe u guys no apology

GEJ till 2019 no matter what propaganda PDP comes up with

APC is just a false party

There is point in what he is saying o
He is contesting again
So he doesn't have any right to invite jega with other political parties being there
What if he planning something fishy
How will we know

Stupid people. PDP 6 Years of F9 parrarel

#SaiJonathan said...

The APC, always crying like a spoilt child.

You guys took JEGA overseas to plot your evil rigging strategies which has fallen flat on your faces. But JONATHAN invites Jega in the open.

All the APC will remain in this country is opposition party. Bunch of pretentious deceitful liars.

#SaiJonathan

Thank u my sister. Atleast I have seen one sensible person here..

Yes o....just drink kunu water and sleep. GEJ is so winning this election. Like I said earlier, that seat is not vacant till 2019.

Grace n Truth said...

Your head no correct. Was JEGA the only one there? liars. Ans embed he was Jonathan is still the president of the country and there is no vacancy in Aso Rock. The service Chiefs were there, so what is Liar APC's problem? All of una go get heart attack when president Jonathan wins his second term. liar Evil APC

Grace n Truth said...

And what is the other political parties sulu poise to be doing there with service Chiefs and INEC? He is still the president of the country and APC is still the angry propagandists Congress .no space in Aso Rock.

No he doesn't for goodness sake. How do u reason, am ashamed of where i come from. I think there is a fundamental problem with the black race.

Barry said...

Is like u read that statement upside down Dear....go back and re-read it pls

Noise! Noise!! Noise!!! Total and equal to noise frm APC crying for nothing. Let them wait for their time.

Eagle Eyes Media said...

Nigeria employed Jega.

La said...

Jona is a fool. All other political party should be present at any stupid meeting with Inec. Pdpigs don't want this election to hold. We wait for another joker next week.

He is the president,thats what makes him different from ordinary buhari

I just want clear answers, may be your answers could convince one or two indifferent persons to vote for APC/Buhari.

1. During his regime, did Buhari fight corruption or indiscipline? If Buhari really fought corruption, who was justifiably/undoubtedly convicted, and which of them was a northerner?

2. What was Buhari's economic achievement during his regime?

3. What has Buhari done/said about his brothers/fulani herdsmen attacking and killing other ethnicity, either presently or in the past?

4. So far, in what single way has APC and their media helped the nation in the fight against boko haram?

5. Without Boko Haram, how would APC campaign had faired?

6. If Buhari is not a tribalised person, what tangible thing did he do for the eastern region(SS/SE) during his first regime?

7. Are u voting against GEJ because he has RELATIVELY performed poorly, or you just want something new? And with what we have seen of APC, is the party worth that something new?

8. And lastly, as de-tribalised as APC is claiming that Buhari is, why did he not campaign in the SS/SE during the first and second time he contested? Or did he campaign in these regions those times?

9. Do you really believe 100% that APC means well for this nation. Or you are gambling that we should just give them a "trial" chance

10. Do you really believe that APC/Buhari would solve the problem of these Boko Haram Islamic insulgency. Has any country ever solved it?

You can answer any or all of these questions, or you can start e-war/insults. It's up to you!

i believe jega is not the only person in that meeting and the president have the right to summon the inec chairman ,apc is right in some sense ,but jega is not corrupt he will not compromise to pressure from both side...

Eagle Eyes Media said...

We can imagine what GEJ ARE doing.

U're a complete bastard and ur entire houshold. Sai Buhari

Nothing is stopping dis change. Sai Buhari

UNHAPPY NIGERIAN. said...

@ ANONYMOUS 5:04pm, of all NIGERIANS if u are the only one left please just join ur fellow deceits in apc. We are good will reall people not liars and propagandists. Your English is an embarrassment to anybody/party associated with you.

anonymous said...

Dis gay messing around in owerri,u hates GEJ because of his anti gay law.ur an idiot.

ajii said...

Change is Wat we need...... Sai Babaaaa
Sai Buhari

Mumu APC people, just like to talk, are u guys in the security cancel?

U think? U are not even sure of urself. Maybe u need more time to know whether u agree or not. How about 4 years?

U are so pointless and unreasonable from what I've noticed

This is a desperate and urgent call from the throne of Grace that the brethren in Christ are about to make the greatest error of their lives by selling off their kingly heritage for a mess of pottage called "change". Change into what? Change into what happened to Egypt , Sudan, Lybia, Algeria and Turkey which were once flourishing Christian countries but because the brethren there also sold their souls on the premise of "it does not matter" they became the last set of Christians in those countries! Remember Turkey! It was the beautiful Christian country called Constantinople! Today it is history! The foundation of the planned islamisation of Nigeria was taken in 1989 in Abuja by OIC. Since then they have not looked back! Our Government gave them a contribution of 21 billion dollars then! Wonder then where the funding of boko Haram is coming from? They have painfully now infiltrated one of the biggest denominations in Nigeria and offered one of their best Pastors -a Professor,a Vice presidential Slot! Now a larger community of that denomination now promotes this "change"! They did it in Constantinople ! Remember brethren, that the biggest denomination of Christians in the North - the EYN has been wiped off! All their churches burnt. You may say that it is the North it can't get here! They said the same thing in Sudan, Libya, Algeria and Constantinople! How come the brethren have become so dulled in the Spirit that they no longer are sensitive?
We may be the last Christians in Nigeria if this grave error the brethren is about to commit is not averted! Our Lord Jesus is greatly miffed by our irresponsibility as His Followers! How come we no longer hear Him! The Great shepherd of the Sheep! How come that Christians have forgotten that this country was made ungovernable by these same people and Christians are holding the wrong person responsible? How come? The signs of the eventual Islamization of Nigeria are a wash in the 1999 constitution where Islam, Sharia.

Nnenna 10000likes to your comments

This is a desperate and urgent call from the throne of Grace that the brethren in Christ are about to make the greatest error of their lives by selling off their kingly heritage for a mess of pottage called "change". Change into what? Change into what happened to Egypt , Sudan, Lybia, Algeria and Turkey which were once flourishing Christian countries but because the brethren there also sold their souls on the premise of "it does not matter" they became the last set of Christians in those countries! Remember Turkey! It was the beautiful Christian country called Constantinople! Today it is history! The foundation of the planned islamisation of Nigeria was taken in 1989 in Abuja by OIC. Since then they have not looked back! Our Government gave them a contribution of 21 billion dollars then! Wonder then where the funding of boko Haram is coming from? They have painfully now infiltrated one of the biggest denominations in Nigeria and offered one of their best Pastors -a Professor,a Vice presidential Slot! Now a larger community of that denomination now promotes this "change"! They did it in Constantinople ! Remember brethren, that the biggest denomination of Christians in the North - the EYN has been wiped off! All their churches burnt. You may say that it is the North it can't get here! They said the same thing in Sudan, Libya, Algeria and Constantinople! How come the brethren have become so dulled in the Spirit that they no longer are sensitive?
We may be the last Christians in Nigeria if this grave error the brethren is about to commit is not averted! Our Lord Jesus is greatly miffed by our irresponsibility as His Followers! How come we no longer hear Him! The Great shepherd of the Sheep! How come that Christians have forgotten that this country was made ungovernable by these same people and Christians are holding the wrong person responsible? How come? The signs of the eventual Islamization of Nigeria are a wash in the 1999 constitution where Islam, Sharia .

Good people of the Federal Republic of Nigeria are too wise to fall for such illiterates

Anon 6:30 d only fundamental problem with black race is YOU & we are patiently waiting 4 ur exit. Hence d reason 4 ur shame

Tell him o!, olodo Matthew

Gej is a fraud and mark my words, he will neva get re-elected

Area grandma we don hear u, now shut up!

Mr senator, all I need to look at is ur English & I know u are a FAILURE.bet u wanna follow buhari bcos u both lack certificate. Smello

Anon 7:23 why d thing pain u like dat na? Oya come take N20 for panadol

Thank God u still remember ur school result. No be ur fault nah, ur brain no gree u read ni

Prime example that Nigerians are painfully ignorant of basic rules of law and the fundamental characteristics of democracy. The I in INEC standards for Independent. Get a dictionary and look up Independent and Democracy. I swear it will bless you.

Henry with brain! God bless ur sense

Have any of you actually read the constitution? Or do you think the president wrote that one and can change it's as he likes also? Blind leading the blind. And before you get hype I'm not an APC follower, just a believeer of using God given common sense and wisdom.

the two pple dt commented on this post, i wonder where ur brain is, i wonder if dumb peeps as the both of u still exist

GEJ is the only president who have organised a confab and implemented their solutions for our benefit.
http://www.channelstv.com/2015/03/18/fec-approves-full-implementation-of-confab-report/

Many are yet to get their PVCs while the arrogantly incompetent Jega continues to boast of readiness AND the APC says he should not be summoned by the .president over this potentially volatile which affects us all by a president who is paid to oversee us all ?

Jesus Reigns said...

Anon 10:14. May u live long. This is not about GEJ or buhari. It is wrong for a candidate to invite I NEC chairman without reps of other Candidates there, it is not done anywhere in the world. Can we just be sensible pls...Gosh

Jesus Reigns said...

What's 'ni'? Razz, very razz

King Jaja said...

Does supporting a candidate means the suspension of ur thinking? Lai is absolutely right. INEC is an INDEPENDENT body an independent means it's not influence by any party/body. If there must be a meeting then the national assembly should call for the meeting and should be public. For the Fayose sponsors who are employ to comment blogs. The fact that u are paid should not make your brains stop working.

PDP knows they will lose so I doubt they will continue with the election if they can't be guaranteed enough massive rigging to attempt to upturn the inevitable.

#smh -#smh - PDP is really desperate o. I'm Ibo but I will vote Buhari because from the 2nd Niger bridge to the Onitsha port that GEJ promised neither is any where near completion and we haven't forgotten; nominating our Ibo brothers to position isn't an achievement and besides Buhari will likely hand over to an Ibo in 2023 unlike PDP who do not have us in their plans.

SAI Buhari

Nnenne is a phool

Jesus Reigns said...

What we need to hear is more facts and less insults, seriously we are all open to learn new things, no one knows it all. There is too much insulting on this blog. Linda,it calls for desensitization