INEC electoral institute gutted by fire, commission says no sensitive material was destroyed | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 16 March 2015

INEC electoral institute gutted by fire, commission says no sensitive material was destroyed

The Independent National Electoral Commission’s Electoral Institute in Abuja was gutted by fire around 11pm on Saturday March 13th. While conducting pressmen around the burnt warehouse, the INEC Director of Security, Mr. Shettima Ngilladar, said only non sensitive materials used in the 2011 election as well as bags, envelopes, election forms and electrical control panel/ switch were destroyed during the fire incident which burned into Sunday 2am.

No material to be used for the 2015 election was destroyed. The fire outbreak was attributed to power surge...

"There was no power and when power was restored and the alarm was heard, security men and the in-house fire fighting men started going round until they discovered smoke coming from the warehouse where we keep our non-sensitive materials. So, they battled to gain access to the fire to quench it. It started about 11pm and by 2am they were able to put out the fire. Aside our in-house firemen, firemen from FCT Garki and even the NNPC fire service came. But when they came, the fire was already under control. All these people rallied round to help.
"These are non-sensitive materials that have been banned in the warehouse. You will see it yourself. It is not hidden. It is something clear, these banned non-sensitive materials have nothing to do with the elections. They are old materials in store that have not been evacuated. These are old stock of non-sensitive materials, like bags, envelopes, election forms which were used in the 2011 elections. They won’t be used for the 2015 elections. Everything here is non-sensitive.” he said
Photo credit: Punch

53 comments:

MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

Hmmmm I just dey observe. thank God no see sensitive material was destroyed.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

Pheww thank God no sensitive material got destroyed.

Judeocracy said...

Make we take style. Believe!

Let's hope it's true, sceptical of their messages these days... OBSEQUIOUS

My own is that, we won't tolerate any other story again ooo, election must hold on the 28th of march 2015. chikena.

Double Dating Is So Sweet, Yet Sour (lwkmd, the way she caught her cheating boyfriend is just funny) up on the blog
www.udokajane.blogspot.com

Hmmmmm...everyday fire

Thank God no sensitive materials was destroyed cos this election must hold o

Some people truly dont want this election to hold.But nothing debarring a nuclear bomb will stop this change from happening

WCH KND THNG??THNK GOD SHA...TOMJERRYSWIT

Goodnews.........All plans to postpone dis electn again will not work

Okiie o! We thank God that nothing meaningful was lost to the fire. Linda take note!

Goodnews.........All plans to postpone dis electn again will not work

Okiie o! We thank God that nothing meaningful was lost to the fire. Linda take note!

Thank God the damage wasn't much, as to affect the scheduled date for the election.

Riketoke said...

If they like they should set Jega on fire Election must hold. awon mofos oshi.

Too much drama already, 28 shld come nd go pls.

Bimablinks said...

They should,t joke with us o

Oohgawd

Good! Godd!! Good!!!
Thank God for dat and I pray dis elections ends successfully. God b praised and blessed now and forever.

thank God ....atleast there wont be any excuse to postpone the election again......

LIVING REAL. said...

The fire outbreak was caused buy GEJ, #fashola,joker, the will soon say that.

Hmmmmmm...I suspect foul play

Na wa o
If they're trying to use fire to postpone this election
Fire will burn them and their houses

AYO said...

Fire on AIT, Fire on ITV, Fire on INEC. Hmmmmm. who is behind these fires or are they just real and non intentional fires???

Better.

Chiwhyte said...

Hehehe! Them don start ooo! Ok na

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm at this point in time, we shouldn't hear of any fire outbreak esp not INEC.

SHILZ said...

I don't trust dis ppz..i no wan hear anoda story next week o

Zamani said...

Ok. Hope nothing sensitive was lost as they have said. Pls visit rellanaija.blogspot.com

This election must HOLD.
Just wanna let folkz out there know that there are other Political parties aside the corrupt PDP n APC contesting in the forthcoming General Election so there are variety of chow on the menu to choose from.

This election must HOLD.
Just wanna let folkz out there know that there are other Political parties aside the corrupt PDP n APC contesting in the forthcoming General Election so there are variety of chow on the menu to choose from.

PDthief!hmmmmmmmmm

Juu Suppy fun Suppy joor!

#SMH

Now they have attempted to burn the entire INEC HQ? “There was nothing the PDP, even as a ruling party has not done to ensure that these elections are not held. We have heard about the sowing of fake Army uniform. We have heard about how they want to use the Army to rig the election. We have seen attempt to sack Prof. Attahiru Jega. We have heard about how they have been preaching about religion, talking about the health of Gen. Buhari and the way they had been canvassing for postponement of elections and non-usage of card readers. The big question still remain, why are they afraid of election?”

SAI BUHARI!!!

ghen ghen they haff started oooo... fire burn all dem badt people

some parties just wan extend this election by force by fire..... hehehhehe

Dafe writes via old itel mobile

If it smells like a fish, it is probably fishy! They better not postpone this election again oh!!!

MASSOB(Aba) in action...wicked souls...
#Jegamuststay

Thank God, if not I would ve say this was all a plan work, since the fire neva affected any of the materials dt will be used

Didn't catch fire in 2012,2013,2014...Just had to catch that 'FIRE' in 2015...during the election? OK!

Thank God o, if nt, dey would v postpone d election again bt still I smell fowl play, dat fire as political hand

Thank God no materials for the upcoming election was destroyed...apc is at work..i know they ll always accuse pdp, so let me start

Thank God notin imprtnt went missin'
Looking 4ward to the election.

I hope not.

miz bonita said...

anoda week of allegations and propaganda

Why keep them in storage if they are none sensitive and not needed, whats the point of keeping materials used in 2011 elections?

Tank God for dat cos dis election must hold on 28 of dis month ooooo.everytin is just pending cos of dis election

PDP !!!!!. I hail una.
But than GOD Jega is smarter than this . May God bless Federal Republic of Nigeria.

I have been asking almost everyone I meet if they think the election will hold and guess what they all said...

visit iamsegunakande.blogspot.com/stateofournation to join the conversation
or bbm Channel: C0019BBF6

We will soon see who is behind all this trouble, either BUSH-MEAT or HUNTER will be exposed.
I don't understand why such should happen at this sensitive hour, but am sure someone must have pursued an antelope to the place "make fire" unknowing that it is not the sensitive area. No wonder OPC boys made campaign against using card reader and stress the removal of Atairu J.

wot a SHAME !!!