5 behind-the-scenes moves that helped Nigeria turn the tide against Boko Haram | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 2 March 2015

5 behind-the-scenes moves that helped Nigeria turn the tide against Boko Haram

Sponsored post. 
The victories recorded by the military in recent weeks over the dreaded militant sect, Boko Haram, has seen several towns and villages reclaimed in the North East region. Great news indeed! But something that a lot of people have not been talking about are the crucial steps that were taken by President Goodluck Jonathan in the buildup to the latest military offensive.
It seems that President Goodluck Jonathan’s characteristically quiet nature is a perfect foil for his smooth strategies and having the psychological upper hand in protecting Nigeria’s territorial integrity. Below are crucial moves that have helped turn the tide: 

1. Improved welfare and morale-boosting visit: There has been an improvement in welfare for the gallant and brave Nigerian soldiers waging the war. And recently did you see how their spirits received a further boost as the President and Commander-in-Chief visited military formations in Maiduguri and Baga. From the video below, this clearly worked.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GaY3veJg7gs&app=desktop (WATCH President Jonathan's moving visit to Soldiers in Baga)

2. Foreign diplomacy moves: From the later part of 2014, Jonathan embarked on crucial visits, prominent among which was the visit to some of the presidents of our neighbouring countries like Chad. These meetings were instrumental to the establishment of a multinational West African offensive. Mr. Adefuye, the Foreign Affairs minister also addressed the US parliament, slamming Washington for refusing to supply weapons and ammunition.

3. Consultations within the country – Jonathan has visited a number of stakeholders in the security sub-sector as well as thought leaders and traditional rulers from the North. Those visits smoothened the way for the current operations.

4. Reinforcing the military with equipment: Military equipment was procured by pivoting away from break in relations with traditional partners like the United States to China, Russia and Belarus. 

5. Timing is everything: The military had said since December 2014 that it would begin a big offensive against the terrorists in February. It has stuck to that schedule and now producing results.

98 comments:

Ok.lindaobserve

The end of BH has come Insha Allah

Dey shld keep up d gud work

MANY THNGS R INVOLVE..I REST MY CASE....TOMJERRYSWIT

9jahub.com said...

na everywere u dey........ nice

Good for them....and good luck

:::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::::::::

And that's wat am talking abt......GEJ I know till 2019

9jahub.com said...

but they acted late if not, people will not use bokoharam as a weakness against GEJ

congratulation 4 that ooooo

VERULE Says-gud to kn.boko haram will soon be history.

GOD IS GREAT, VICTORY IS FOR NIGERIA AND ANYONE WIT DELIVISH INTENT SHAL NOT LIV TO DO IT IN DS COUNTRY...AMEN.TOMJERRYSWIT

propaganda

Hmmmmm just observing sha

For this to happen
For Bh to be destroyed some high measures have to be taken

why did it take us 6 years before hitting back at them? why this period? a million questions still left unanswered.

Rough Diamond said...

I jst love my able president Dr Goodluck Ebele Jonathan. The appointed one.
GEN I KNOW #JONA2019

Everyone should be happy Boko haram is getting crushed but would you allow a man that allowed 8000+dead Nigerians in 2014 alone continue.

The number 8000 dead meant nothing to him until he realised that he'll be on his way out because of elections. Is this the kind of captain you want? Allows your ship to get punched full of holes and only react until the Captain's cabin was about to get flooded?

@9jahub, dis is wht is called committed members of LIB.

Thumbs up to our gallant soldiers and more power to their elbows.

Rough Diamond said...

Enemy of progress. Ntooooo

Amin.

Okiie seen, I pray with all these we shall all get to see the end of the BH madness. Linda take note!

Aboki believe in one Nigeria. Believe in Jonathan please. What ur old generations who ruled this country couldn't do to the north Jonathan has done it now they get jealous and reward him with bokoharam , killing there own people bcos of power.ie dey don't fucking care about their own. Let a younger generation from the north rule after GEJ . Be wise

ok
whatever

Rough Diamond said...

Shut up! Talking trash

And Nigerians should know that terrorism is not fought with kitchen knives and propaganda. Terrorism is fought by strategies that are best kept secret (otherwise you would leak your plans to your enemy). It takes a long time to plan against terrorists otherwise you will go into a war to wipe out innocent citizens and receive the hammer from United Nations. People should think before saying rubbish

Grace n Truth said...

APC blind follower! The blood of Nigerians will not be spilled for your evil political ambition. God will avenge every drop of blood your Boko Haram kurdered have spilled. And all the sponsors of Boko Haram and their supporters will die a painful death.

uwa said...

Thank God the zombies are being put down in shallow graves or left for the vultures which of course is the benefiting thing to do to them .
But, if you ask me since this is a paid post , I'll say WHAT THE HELL !!!!!!!!
Why didn't he use this strategic since 08 ?
Why let the land soaked deep wet with blood before this ?
No sir, i'm not falling for this !
This is sick sir/s .
It worked for Obama because he was on their case for long, he didn't wait till few weeks to hand and start performing miracles.
I believe you planned it ,you turned a blind eye,back them when the fire was still little and now you're flashing this before our noses and faces of achievement !

Sorry, IS A NO FOR ME !
I've not being around that much to tell which president did good for Nigeria ,but I know that this is the WORST administration to hit Nigeria .
Nna , please step aside Bill .

Mumu why didnt join d army

I guess we all know who is behind BH now. 6 years and now just 6 weeks. And some Nigerians are so dumb to think GEJ really is working! All we want is just a free & fair election and peace afterwards. Why is he running around around states sharing money? Wasteful president. What is there to commend him for? He knows how it all started. Wake up Nigerians! Don't sell your votes for Christ sake! Wake up! I just pity people supporting dis man. He drinks ogogoro, get drunk and sign any paper. That's why people like FFK, Koro and all wants him back. Don't u get. We need a discipline person as a president. Quit d sentiment people, wake up to reality.

Grace n Truth said...

Because the enemies within Nigeria teamed up with enemies of Nigeria outside to block Nigeria from getting military equipment suitable for the type of warfare Boko Haram engages in which is guerrilla warfare. It took courage for Nigeria to break away from looking to US for hardware which they refused to sell to us because AKPD Ovama's consultancy company hired by APC influenced the Obama administration to refuse to help so that their client APC will get political advantage from the failure of the current President in the fight against Boko Haram. But man plans but God is the one whose purpose will stand. So in steps China and Russia! And by the time the military hardware was procured and arrived it was late in the day. The time wasted with trying to get hardware from the US is the reason Boko Haram seemed to be having an upper hand plus also the saboteurs within the army were fished out and are being dealt with. Praise God for all He is doing for Nigeria!

Rough Diamond said...

Mtchewwwwwwwwww

Its a lie!!!! Rough diamond is dis really u? Bin ages! Welcome back and dnt disappear again abeg u

Yea roughy is back on...finish 'em! Remaining ejike bigger pr**k

BOSSLADY said...

This cuudnt b done earlier? Dey had everything all planned I c

Grace n Truth said...

What rubbish are you spewing here. Clearly evil APC has poisoned your mind with their useless propaganda. Was it not evil APC that hired AKPD Obama's consultancy company to influence the Obama Admijistration who refused to sell Nigetia military hardware? Was it not because APC wanted to bring down this administration so that power will return to the born to rule that they became saboteurs of their own country? Where were you when the president wanted the northern elders to lead negotiations with Boko Haram at the beginning but they refused? And what did your Buhari say when the government wanted to use military force? He said that an attack on Boko Haram was an attack against the north. So who is it that was feeding off the dead bodies of 8000 Nogetians if not evil APv led by Buhari and El Rufai and co. God will avenge the blood that was spilled and all the sponsors and sympathizers of Boko Haram will die a painful disgraceful death.!

Grace n Truth said...

Believe whatever you want. Evil APC the real power behind Boko Haram will die a painful death. The sponsors of Boko Haram will die a painful death. Those who are sad that the government hasbturnedbthw tide on Boko Haram are as evil as the Boko Haram itself and God will pay them back. After all the effort by evil APC to use Boko Haram as a campaign point for the head of Boko Haram itself BokoHari it has failed. Nigeria has broken free. Let it pain you well well!

There are steps and ways to achieve goals which as well takes time to see results..all of the progress we see now are from moves made in 2013/2014..it is coincidence that we see them around Election time..don't forget BH also hv targets given to them at strategic times from their sponsors which are suspected to b from the Opposition ..the real change we need is the people exercising more rights and more voices ..a govt tht welcomes and acts on Criticisms is a very good one..Aso Rock has become an open Museum .GEJ permits and is open to almost everyone..This is a good govt working its way to a greater Nigeria..Buhari and Tinubu hv separate plans and selfish too ..vote GEJ

Rough Diamond said...

A.P.SHITS

Why now? Didn't they have the initiative. 3 or 4 years ago, that could have saved lives? Was the waiting and dragging it close to the elections worth the lives of all those lost. What kind of selfish greedy human beings are these pdp leaders?

Grace n Truth said...

Bokohari and El Rifai and the rest sponsors of Boko Haram have failed. They thought that Boko Haram will bring down the government and that insecurity will be Bokohari's strong campaign point so they went about bombing and murdering people in the North East and used their foreign consultant AKPD to block Nigeria from getting any weapons from the U.S. and their British lapdog. But guess what? The world does not revolve around just the US and Britain anymore.! China and Russia sold us arms and the time lost trying to get arms from the US was the time Bokohari and the rest of evil APC gang went about chanting 'clueless' and Alhaja Obiageli Ezekwesili went about demonstrating against the government and not against Boko haram. But we now see who is clueless. APC the clueless party of criminals. Your end is near. Very near. GOd Almighty will avenge the blood the APC sponsors of Boko Haram have spilled. Every single drop.

After killing and playing politics with thousands that have been killed and displaced,he want to claim victory what should have been done years ago and boko haram would have been long forggotten in this country.well he can appeal only to weak minds all i know that this man is not worth voting for he is a loser. i dont support buhari either but we need a strong man not a corrupt and draggy person like him in power.

Well said..we need to come out of "Party" and come to reality that a 72 + old man who is trying to become president by force,blood shed and nothing but it has to be me attitude hmmmmm is not rily the best..and as long as their are diff issues surrounding d person..it is just red flags ... All we need it to move closer to this Govt and work together as one .. Yes if in upcoming elections the APC can produce a better candidate,if the present govt worked better too,we can have very good elections of Choice and not makin elections seem like war amongst ourselves

No truer words were spoken

You got to give credit to Chad, Cameroun and Niger as well. BH has, over the years, snowballed into a real monstrous group that containing them would have taken our forces months if not years. The arms that were regularly seized from them are enough to service a small country's army. Of course the bravery of our army is unquestionable but where you are armed with Mark IV and AK 47 and pitched against thugs wielding AA 52 rifles (900 rounds per minute), there's only one way - the way you came from. So a big bravo to our army and a rare bravo for brother Jo for sourcing the requisite modern arms to counter those demons. Morale was so low those days so tay naija sojaman de tear race enter Cameroun. If them no run anything wey happen na dem waffi boy go come de halla 'whodemhelp'!!!

Goodluck Till2019 said...

Amin, Amen & Amen. Omo I done tire with bad news.

Gerry said...

@Uwa. I wonda if u make use of ur brain. How many yrs did it tk America b4 dey could kill Osama bin Laden. Dis is a case of terrorism,u ve to tk ur time nd map out a good plan b4 attacking if not dey might even get to oda part of d country. So Mr President weldone nd May God continue to guide nd stregthen our troops as dey fight 4 peace in our great country. And 4 dose who promised to make GEJ's administration ungovernorable 4 him,u succeeded,bt jst knw dat d wrougth of God ll befall u all smday. D cries of d poor souls of innocent Nigerian dat died ll continue to disturb u all untill u ppl joins dem.

Stupid man, he didn't even acknowledge the falling heros...

kai, my presido..na u biko. Upon all the evil the opposition is planning, good will always triumph.

Zoë said...

I'm so happy for the great improvement recorded by our military. But we need them to mention names.

Impressive..

NOORDEAN said...

Amin

Shut that hole in your face.... And your disciplined person is who?? Let the criminal called Tinubu be disciplined then we know how serious your "disciplined person" is...

NOORDEAN said...

So for your mind nw, Jonathan is d man dat canlead Nigeria 2 it's glory ba, seems u're blind, deaf and dumb

uwa said...

Rough Diamond ??? Right ?
Okay, I don't know what your comment is doing under mine and it's meaning.i've seen such used when some silly childish adult is seeking the bv's attention .
I'm not gonna try to smooth you now because is very clear you didn't lose any family member or friends in that dirty political fight .
I'll forgive your OVERLOAD STUPIDITY NOW, If you try such shit with my comments *EVER AGAIN* , i'll pray for the sadness and bitter hot tears that family member shed ON YOUR FOOLISH HEAD FOR YOU TO FEEL HOW BAD IT SITS WITH US !
Did you get my point ?
Shut your mouth real close when you don't KNOW ANY FUCKING SHIT PEOPLE WENT THROUGH JUST BECOS SOME FISH HEADS WERE PLAYING WITH PEOPLE'S INTELLIGENCE !!!
For now,peace be unto you and your family .
DON'T YOU EVER MAKE THAT MISTAKE AGAIN !!!!

Luv u my president ...

It took America so many years to get Osama Bin Laden.. GEJ till 2019

dilinger said...

GEJ till 2019...God bless our army!

Which one is shut up & mumu! @RoughDiamond is he talking trash or merely stating fact??? Nigeriams can ve so ignorant sometimes! But its the truth he asked a reasonable question. What's different?? Im not even into d whole election arguement but can we think for ONCE! He sat there for 6yrs while people died,while young children kidnapped and probably the same were used as suicide bombers and did nothing! (Didnt even want to acknowledge that it happeded) HE DID NOTHING! I dont understand how people r even making this about either Buhari or Jonathan. Its plain about who is competent! Why r we not even looking at people from parties as possible president??? Are i guys blind??? We cannot be this again! We can not be stuck with this man for another 4yrs please! I am actually begging u guys! We cannot make this mistake again! We are being ridiculed in the world media about our incompetent president they actually blamed him in an American show (glee) as the cause of BH. This man just doesnt care and doeant have what it takes! We all seem to forget that there is a reason he was first introduced to the rest of Nigeria as a Vice President! He just got lucky....twice! We cannot make that mistake again! Yea i said it Goodluck Jonathan was a mistake we made once! It would be absolute lunacy and beyond foolish to make that mistake (Jonathan) again!

mercy seat said...

Long live General Goodluck Ebele Jonathan! Long live the Federal Government of Nigeria!! God bless Nigeria!!!

AGB said...

Great work by our military. God Bless our soldiers.

#BuhariOsinbajo2015

God Bless Nigeria. Amen.

Do you 2 above me want to get slapped? @12:19 and 12:26

Where has GEJ been all this years only now that he sees he might be voted out of office because of Boko Haram he decided to act. Where was he during Chibok girls saga. This move is nothing but polital he becoming despirate every day all to hold on to power.

What happened to thousands of our brothers and sisters that died and are presently displaced. What about children that's lost hope that in the country called Nigeria. The delay caused several Nigerians to weep for a long time due to the delay so no thank you to Mr. C in C. Tim71.

Yeah, I agree with you. The man knows what he is doing.

Hope BH is totally sent into extinction soonest. GEJ al d way!

Do you 2 above me want to get slapped? @12:19 and 12:26

God bless who ever that suggested to Mr President to wear the military camouflage during his visit to Baga.
i am not in military but it was a morale boost for me, i felt like we have won the war already and i believe most of the soldiers felt same, kudo's to all the countries that made it possible for us to get the necessary weapons and the countries that joined forces with our military, my heart goes out to the fallen hero's, you will always be remembered in our collective prayers, God bless and protect all the military personnel's that are involved in this battle to free the NE from the menace of boko haram

Not a fan of GEJ but cant diss him on recent events concerning BH. Great job the military is doing lately so I guess he (GEJ) gets to take the credit

uwa said...

Grace n fools company international, may that pain be your bed and drinking water bloody garbage maggot .

The only thing i hold against Good-luck Jonathan now is corruption. He is without any doubt a good person. but he has allowed corruption take root and grow fruits in his administration. that was the only reason I was considering Buhari. But If I see him prosecute at least 2 people and chase Deziani from NNPC before the election then I might consider voting him.

bricks said...

You could not have said it better. Nigerians! wake up for goodness sake! how can you produce this sort of results in less than 4 weeks and u could not do it 6 years and people are saying well done? let us ask intelligent questions, let us debate intelligently...these politicians know too well how the average nigerian thinks. I noticed that before the postponement of the election, there was a good and positive energy of political discusss for possible change on the Nigerian social media sphere.I personally believe this single-handedly got the rulling party jittery. But now that the election has been postponed, I have noticed that the positive energy has wayned, why..? because politicians know that nigerians run out of steam easily, they know that they cant stay a course for long..Ask your self when last did Doyin Okupe send out any tweets unlike before. I don't think its because he was tired of the insults, in my opinion I think it's because he does not have to tweet any more as the polity on social media are no longer a threat. Now you read unintelligent comments by "educated youths" on social media. you read comments like "this election should come and go", "Not my business"! Well, truth is the election would come and go and if u made the wrong choice you will be back to that poor paying job or no job, bad roads, no light, no water and miserable living conditions.Worst still the people that have made your life miserable would flaunt our collective national wealth in your damn face and there would be nothing you can do about it. By that time, it would become your business cos you are worse off and just existing.! ..The truth is that nigerians are the architect of their own mis-fortunes.True change is letting either PDP or APC know that if they perform below par, we have the power to vote them out, this election is an opportunity to send that message accross to both camps. People, pause, think and choose wisely!

Rough Diamond said...

#Uwa jst shut up already cos u'r not God. If u like curse from now till eternity, e no go work! Rather na back to sender o! So think twice before acting on ur threat. Pfft

Rough Diamond said...

Lie lie! U no dey watch news ni abi u stay in d caves? No wonder ur party apshits is full of liars n deceitful pple

Rough Diamond said...

Eh.... let it be politics or whatever at least they r winning and capturing ur brother's ndi Boko Haram. Nothing goods comes easily

uwa said...

Gerry the living wizard , what have your electric worthless brain made you ????
Nothing !!!
You're the FOOL not using 'IT'S' brain because you talk like a controlled robot !
For running your useless mouth without knowing me or my reasons, you MUST witness what family members that lost their beloved ones in that shit went through .
We'll get back to this debate when you stand & watch a love one KILLED IN THEIR HIDING PLACE !!!!
Why the fuck is your so called president providing such powerful fights FEW WEEKS TO HIS NONSENSE?
The same guy that went dancing when people's bodies were blown apart right there in Abuja !
The same guy that asked when the hell Borno state is ?
Shove your shit right back in your ass & let me air my view because you fool didn't pay for my fucking data !
Animal, go back to the beginning of this post and read again, it says:PAID POST!!!!!!!!!!!,meaning all this shit been displaced is one of his campaign programme !
So why use this battle as his post ???
Meaning he your president knows what he was doing all this while !
Did you not hear when the armies were crying out for help that they were not equip ?
Why provide & visit them now !
Where the fuck was your wisdom when the armies that fought their boss was sentenced to death ? what was their crime ?
Who is using their brain now ?

Take it to the moon and back here, your president FAILED HIS PEOPLE BECAUSE HE WAS WAITING TO PLAY LAST CARD WITH YOU BUBBLE BRAIN ZOMBIES SINGING THE CHORUS & MATCHING BLINDLY BEHIND THE WAGON !

Timing? How stupid! He waited till election to show us what he can (what he should have done) and u counted timing as a positive strategy? Nawa oo

But what never cease to amaze me is that these are the same Nigerian soldiers that were criticized for being in the army for job security after they complained of substandard weapons.

Does it mean all the timid soldiers are now dead and all that are left now are the brave ones?
Abi our soldiers were given new hearts ni?

Now that military is winning the war, does it mean USA is now selling us weapon since Jonathan claimed that was the reason we cudn't stop BokoHaram before?

They claim APC/Buhari (opposition) is the sponsor of BokoHaram. Now that the Nigerian Army is winning, does it mean their sponsors are now short of cash?

Could it be that it is now that our prayers are being answered? Or Jonathan’s visit to places of worship is now paying off?

***Instead of erecting monument where countless names of our fallen soldiers were slotted, Jonathan should have done the magic he's now doing and most definitely, more than half of those brave men would have still been alive today (that's not counting the innumerable civilians who lost their lives). Did I hear someone say this their destiny? Yeah, sounds Nigerian. Typical!

I honestly don't know the magic Jonathan is doing to win this war, but I sure know what brought about the magic. It's called election and the cry for change!

Mach4Change
March4Buhari

@Mayreeh fool urself with US trying to capture Osama in another country (continent) with BokoHaram camping and plotting all machinations in Nigeria (inside ur house)

@Mayreeh fool urself with US trying to capture Osama in another country (continent), with BokoHaram camping and plotting all machinations in Nigeria (inside ur house)

Redcandy said...

Story! NEXT!

Redcandy

Rough Diamond said...

@noordean as u r stupid, adamant to see wat's in front of u. Cow brain

HERE COMES MY PRESIDENT COME MARCH 2015......HE WILL RULE OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AGAIN...

yes many years. But then strikes in America, the reign of terror was not left unattended to, America vis-a-via the president did not play politics with the situation. After 911 the security measures were immediate, not a week before elections. GEJ till May 29 2015!

ISH 60:16.

In the process of fake planning strategizing BH had field years killing the innocents citizens you mentioned. Thier right to life , Nigerian constitution, 33: 2(a) was denied them. That can never be forgotten.

ISH 60:16.

Lollipop said...

This is why the elections were postponed for this huh???? What happened to immediately after 2k-3k people were massacred in 3-4 days. This monkey is a bastard! Linda if you don't post this
I'll know you biased and paid by these bastards

I want to be jona inlaw GEJ till 2019, now show me a weak leader, wetin una dey find so una go get am make jona enter first. #march 28th on mind celebrating jona victory already

Chyke said...

Femi Fani I hail o!

Lindaaa! O ti hammer ooooo! Please increase the amount for the LiB giveaway...(no b say i don win before o) but dese past few months have been ghenghen! And yes, iv been counting the numb of sponsored posts...sideeye

Okay oo, we don hear.nah

uwa said...

Now I know you're a full time bloody animal useless rough shit ! The low life beast with maggot infested brains !
Your useless jobless ass jumped to talk trash on issues you have no fucking ideas on and when the same was wished on your dumbass head you suddenly REMEMBERED GOD !
OZU , keep running your dirty mouth on shit your wasted brain don't know and see the devil supply it to you TIMES 1 MILLION TIMES !
USELESS ROUGH ANIMAL OR DIAMOND, UGLY VULTURE !
C'MON FLY OFF MY COMMENTS , YOU LITTLE MONSTER .

Rough Diamond said...

Hehehe......Kikikikikiki some one is highly pained. No wonder ur life n dat of ur family is as miserable as it is but it's not jona's fault na neither is it mine. Since u r so bitter n ready to curse on ur fellow human, may ur life continue to be as miserable as it is! Aturu

Rough Diamond said...

Uwa ntoooooooo! !!!!!!!! Ozu nama ka ibu

uwa said...

Your name said it all . Rough devil, GO AND DIE !
TO show how worthless your mother is, she failed big time in training her child not to involve people's family .
What a shame to the thing that contributed IT'S worthless sperm to produce the greatest mistake in form of you animal .
Rough devil THE LOW LIFE SEWAGE RAT, you must live the life those people did . in fact your case is already finished . No man will set you free . YES,I SAID SO !

LOOK UP WHEREVER YOU ARE RIGHT NOW AND SEE THE VULTURES AND WILD DOGS SHARING YOUR CURSED BODY !BLOODY GARBAGE MAGGOT .
miserable piece of shit .

Rough Diamond said...

Hahahaha........ ur oluriburoko of a mother trained u well n u r here ranting like a mad dog? I shall not die! Inugo? I pity u cos u r already dead as it's jst ur empty carcass replying me. Soon linda go post ur news n it will be as follows;
LIB HAS LOST ONE OF IT'S MOST FOOLISH, DERANGED, ANIMALISTIC READER CALLED UWA.
Coming soon on dis blog.