New York Times calls GEJ lousy, says he's trying to frustrate Buhari | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 17 February 2015

New York Times calls GEJ lousy, says he's trying to frustrate Buhari

In an article titled 'Nigeria's Miserable Choices' Published on New York Times yesterday Monday February 16th, and written by the editorial board of the US newspaper, they described Nigerian president as a 'lousy incumbent' & described Buhari as a 'former autocratic leader'. See article below
The Nigerian government was supposed to hold presidential elections this past weekend, which presented voters with the dispiriting choice of keeping a lousy incumbent or returning to power a former autocratic leader. Now they will have to wait at least six weeks to cast votes.
The Nigerian election commission said earlier this month that it had pushed back the vote until at least March 28, after the country’s security chiefs warned that they could not guarantee the safety of voters in northeastern areas of the country where Boko Haram, the extremist militant group, captured international attention last spring when it abducted hundreds of schoolgirls. On Friday, Boko Haram fighters attacked a village in neighboring Chad for the first time, an alarming sign of the group’s expanding strength in a region that also includes areas of Cameroon and Niger.

Any argument to delay the vote might be more credible if President Goodluck Jonathan’s government had not spent much of the past year playing down the threat posed by the militants and if there were a reasonable expectation that the country’s weak military has the ability to improve security in a matter of weeks.
It appears more likely Mr. Jonathan grew alarmed by the surging appeal of Muhammadu Buhari, a former military ruler who has vowed to crack down on Boko Haram. By dragging out the race, Mr. Jonathan stands to deplete his rival’s campaign coffers, while he continues to use state funds and institutions to bankroll his own.

That Mr. Buhari, who helped launch a coup against a democratically elected government in 1983 and ruled until late 1985, has emerged as potential winner is more of an indictment of Mr. Jonathan’s dismal rule than a recognition of the former military chief’s appeal.

Nigerian voters have grown increasingly worried about the stunning rise of Boko Haram, which has committed terrorist atrocities including bombings. 

The abductions and attacks by the group have exposed the weaknesses of Nigeria’s armed forces and the dysfunction of the government. Although Mr. Jonathan’s government has in the past been less than enthusiastic, and at times obstructive, in response to offers of American and European aid, he appears to be growing increasingly worried. In an interview with The Wall Street Journal last week, he said he would welcome American troops to fight the insurgency. 

Beyond security matters, entrenched corruption and the government’s inability to diversify its economy as the price of oil, the country’s financial bedrock, has fallen have also caused Nigerians to look for new leadership. Nigeria, the most populous nation in Africa, and a relatively young democracy, cannot afford an electoral crisis. That would only set back the faltering effort to reassert government control in districts where Boko Haram is sowing terror. The security forces may not be able to safeguard many districts on Election Day. But postponement is very likely to make the security threat worse.

221 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 221 of 221

I think I love d sound of DAT @ growing.....lorl

Bia onye wu Olu a self? I suppose Buhari has shared with u how he is planning to stop d killings, if he really has d interest of Nigeria at heart y not go to Good luck n share with him d practical steps he should take to stop BH? Must he wait till he sits on DAT chair? So much for change. All d odA countries having terrorists crises I suppose Goodluck is also deir president

Do we all think that these foreign nations want the best for our country or they are just interested in benefitting from our resources.
They slander our president and former president and all we do is to support them. What makes them better than us? Is it by sponsoring terror wars around the globe? What I expect is constructive criticism and not comments to heat up our polity. Anyways, its sad that most of us do not realize that we are insulted as a country when articles such as the NY times castigates our leaders in such a manner.

Fold my hands and wait patiently get all your afrocentric products here

Nkechi J. said...

Lol Olu, I've been following your posting on this, for a min there I was responding as well, but Bros. I don tire, some people just don't want to know the truth, so am just reading your attempt at reasoning with empty heads which is hilarious by the way lol.
Let me try to put this smh reasoning in words Americans are so racist they are the ones turning Nigerians into refugees in Chad and Cameroon!
This dumb dumb anonymous is the reason for the saying: the death that will kill a dog don't let him smell shit.
Olu keep trying though, you might talk sense into one or two of them. As for me, I don tire jor.

Olu, you make sense die. Jonathan/PDP just has to go.

Dont mind the sheepish Jonathan followers.

Ehyah, ndo. Your hero is a failure. Collect handkerchief...

WHEN a Nigerian wrote an article which was posted by al Jazeera, you asked your readers if it was okay. Now is the New York Times, will you not ask your reader if it was right to talk bad about your president. Or ask your reader if it was wrong that THE ECONOMIST called the president a failed president.

If you know the no of Nigerians applying for American visa every week, you'd know it's their business.

Stupid talk

Ebube said...

1 Timothy 2:1-3.I exhort therefore, that, first of all, supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks, be made for all men; 2 For kings, and for all that are in authority; that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and honesty. 3 For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Saviour.

Really? How so? Sir.

Kai! Mugoo dey sha.

Mr Olu I'm glad you were mature enough to ignore the use of insults and abuses to prove a point or oppose my view as against what most APC and Buhari loyalists would do, having said that, it should be clearly stated here that, the phrase " we are fed up" with the present administration is only but a fraction of the population and not the entire population's views, just as you enjoy reading news that condemn GEJ, those of us against Buhari, APC, Tinubu, Fashola and Ambode should also enjoy the privilege of reading facts and truths about these people, media houses, especially those in Lagos should stop sugar coating Buhari, Tinubu et al just to sell them to us, it's quite unfortunate that a respected blog like LIB apart from her copy and paste news style, is so subjective and biased in Political issues and this is clearly seen in her staunch but coded love for Tinubu who I believe have bought her over just like TVC, LTV, the Nation's newspaper etc...
On a final note, take out time to think about the calibre of people in APC, are they clean? are they good enough to be termed role models? Are they credible?...be sincere with and to yourself APC isn't a party to reckon with.

Cheers and have a good night

If it is a failed nation that makes a faile peter ojeifo, stay positive

@Olu I think u really need to shut up your dirty mouth and stop attacking every commentator. We all are entitled our personal opinion and we don't need maggot like u to keep blabbing nonsense...

Olu plz shut up!!!

Olu Plz shut up!!! You maggot!!!

Mr Olu I'm glad you were mature enough to ignore the use of insults and abuses to prove a point or oppose my view as against what most APC and Buhari loyalists would do, having said that, it should be clearly stated here that, the phrase " we are fed up" with the present administration is only but a fraction of the population and not the entire population's views, just as you enjoy reading news that condemn GEJ, those of us against Buhari, APC, Tinubu, Fashola and Ambode should also enjoy the privilege of reading facts and truths about these people, media houses, especially those in Lagos should stop sugar coating Buhari, Tinubu et al just to sell them to us, it's quite unfortunate that a respected blog like LIB apart from her copy and paste news style, is so subjective and biased in Political issues and this is clearly seen in her staunch but coded love for Tinubu who I believe have bought her over just like TVC, LTV, the Nation's newspaper etc...
On a final note, take out time to think about the calibre of people in APC, are they clean? are they good enough to be termed role models? Are they credible?...be sincere with and to yourself APC isn't a party to reckon with.

Cheers and have a good night

Tessa said...

I will never buy New York.

The idiot buying up publicity for GMB will end up in jail someday by Buhari's hand.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 221 of 221   Newer› Newest»