New York Times calls GEJ lousy, says he's trying to frustrate Buhari | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 17 February 2015

New York Times calls GEJ lousy, says he's trying to frustrate Buhari

In an article titled 'Nigeria's Miserable Choices' Published on New York Times yesterday Monday February 16th, and written by the editorial board of the US newspaper, they described Nigerian president as a 'lousy incumbent' & described Buhari as a 'former autocratic leader'. See article below
The Nigerian government was supposed to hold presidential elections this past weekend, which presented voters with the dispiriting choice of keeping a lousy incumbent or returning to power a former autocratic leader. Now they will have to wait at least six weeks to cast votes.
The Nigerian election commission said earlier this month that it had pushed back the vote until at least March 28, after the country’s security chiefs warned that they could not guarantee the safety of voters in northeastern areas of the country where Boko Haram, the extremist militant group, captured international attention last spring when it abducted hundreds of schoolgirls. On Friday, Boko Haram fighters attacked a village in neighboring Chad for the first time, an alarming sign of the group’s expanding strength in a region that also includes areas of Cameroon and Niger.

Any argument to delay the vote might be more credible if President Goodluck Jonathan’s government had not spent much of the past year playing down the threat posed by the militants and if there were a reasonable expectation that the country’s weak military has the ability to improve security in a matter of weeks.
It appears more likely Mr. Jonathan grew alarmed by the surging appeal of Muhammadu Buhari, a former military ruler who has vowed to crack down on Boko Haram. By dragging out the race, Mr. Jonathan stands to deplete his rival’s campaign coffers, while he continues to use state funds and institutions to bankroll his own.

That Mr. Buhari, who helped launch a coup against a democratically elected government in 1983 and ruled until late 1985, has emerged as potential winner is more of an indictment of Mr. Jonathan’s dismal rule than a recognition of the former military chief’s appeal.

Nigerian voters have grown increasingly worried about the stunning rise of Boko Haram, which has committed terrorist atrocities including bombings. 

The abductions and attacks by the group have exposed the weaknesses of Nigeria’s armed forces and the dysfunction of the government. Although Mr. Jonathan’s government has in the past been less than enthusiastic, and at times obstructive, in response to offers of American and European aid, he appears to be growing increasingly worried. In an interview with The Wall Street Journal last week, he said he would welcome American troops to fight the insurgency. 

Beyond security matters, entrenched corruption and the government’s inability to diversify its economy as the price of oil, the country’s financial bedrock, has fallen have also caused Nigerians to look for new leadership. Nigeria, the most populous nation in Africa, and a relatively young democracy, cannot afford an electoral crisis. That would only set back the faltering effort to reassert government control in districts where Boko Haram is sowing terror. The security forces may not be able to safeguard many districts on Election Day. But postponement is very likely to make the security threat worse.

221 comments:

1 – 200 of 221   Newer›   Newest»
www.glowyshoes.com said...

So wrong

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Igbinosa Sarah said...

Sigh

This is gospel according to America and its so truer than true!

Hmm all is well that ends well.... OBSEQUIOUS

Lol, failed nation.

Almost all the foreign media are against Jonathan. But they should criticize him with some respect cos he's the president of a country.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

Rubbish talk

Well, we've read the article laced with spite and atrocious name calling. Moving on please...

IS THERE A COLLUSSION BETWEEN THE WESTERN WORLD AND AN"APC LED GOVT"??? Whats their Biz? i feel a lot of people that used to benefit from our economy and suck us dry are pained with the GEJ led govt, so they're all backing up Buhari, hoping to be restored back to status quo #myopinion. BUHARI HAS A LOT OF PEEPS TO SETTLE ONCE HE GETS POWER!!! and all to the detriment of the Nigerian masses!

Worefa!!

Funny stuffs have bin happening this period. http://onlineyouthjob.com/?user=19356. Youthjob

Na so..... Dis is getting really interesting

merryfrancee said...

In as much as I agree dt we have to choices dt I for one may not like to choose any mana biko ndi america tinye nu onu unu n'akpa!.. We no call una,. Come here de pour fuel for already hot fir!..#teamchris

No respect for nigerian president.na wa o

The way these people disrespect us though,imagine if any of our papers call Obama lousy??!!! Smh! Dis is where reuben and doyin okukpe are needed

Thank u NY mag, help us tell Mr Jona wella make he hear

MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

Hmmm. I just dey observe
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

dilinger said...

Can the United States mind their business and let us mind ours...idiots

FFK, Doyin Okupe, Abati, should have responded to this publication by now. Why are they keeping mute.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

rubbish...

awwwwww...lousy president and former autocratic leader.........dats a huge one

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB.....

Mosiwomeka said...

In as much as I support General Mohammed Buhari it doesn't mean they should say anything provocative about the President. He's our President and he deserves respect. What's their own?
I don't ignore people, if I don't have anything to say, I don't say anything at all, I'll like to think that I have grown past entertaining pointless conversations for the sake of being polite.
Cutting people off is not malice, it simply means you want a life free of Drama, Pretense and Negativity.
@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

FFK, Doyin Okupe, Abati, should have responded to this publication by now. Why are they keeping mute.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

FFK, Doyin Okupe, Abati, should have responded to this publication by now. Why are they keeping mute!
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

WizzyEsq said...

its such a vulgar language

commenting from d
TempleOfJustice.

Goodbye Jonathan

I tink d US should mind their freaking business nigeria is a sovereign state for crying out loud!. And calling d president 'lousy' really classy ! (Nd dats Sarcasm For d dumb guys here.

Apc at work.....

They have spoken well... not that am taking any sides...but Burahi seems to me like the next president... even international bodies see Jonathan as incompetent, unfit to rule the National...its absurd..God help Nigeria

I love the New york times! Hehehehehe!!!

Nigeria politics suddenly becomes world interest. The implication is that, it shows we are growing.

They just said the truth. It is a shame that people will rather want Buhari a former autocratic leader over Jonathan.

The new York times should go to hell

They've been bought by tinubu whose media partner is close friends with all these foreign media as Obama's former campaign adviser

Linda Fashion Blog said...

Let's give GEJ some credit pls. Hes the best president nigeria has had since 1999 but administration's weak fight against the terrorism bedevilling this country has now become his bane. I will vote any1 i'm sure will put an end to killing of innocent men, women and children.

Fashion tips@
Lindahrisfashion.blogspot.com

What is their concern, make them keep their opinions to themselves. Linda take note!

WizzyEsq said...

its such a vulgar language

commenting from d
TempleOfJustice.

Liflblog.wordpress.com said...

the whole political brouhaha has been one confusing circus act. with the presidental options forced down our throats one isn't very eager to vote seeing as none of the candidates are ideal, but vote I shall.

Liflblog.WordPress.com

over 200 million mumus

WE HEARD U AND WE KNW...tomjerryswit

I tire 4dis country

Call GEJ any names bt nt lousy, do dey understand d word lousy???.. Na wa o. I can c GEJ puttin his many enemys to shame cm may29

WORD. Never me to miss any New York Times, Washington Post, The Economist n Daily Beast Editorials. These are First Class World Standard publication outfits that serve what is cooked, how its cooked, the way its cooked. Always hittin the nail on the HEAD no matter whose OX is Gored, be it American President or Isreali Prime Minister. WORD.

As I would always say...I smell conspiracy!.. the western world is playing that card again... I wish people would see this.

What is their problem? They should mind their business.

***floxycares***

Afterall their AKPD consultancy they are sounding very frustrated in deed. Hahaha.

Hm ! Even the U.S?

When Sodom and Gomorrha ( New York and by extension the West) start jumping over themselves to enthrone an Islamist puppet then Nigerians know that the current administration is on the right track. Colonialism by proxy will never ever take hold in Nigeria. AKPD plus Obama plus John Kerry plus all their homosexual agenda groups will never succeed in enthroning a certificateless islamist forger of statement of result and perjurer on a United Nigeria state.

Jonathan became an enemy of the WEst when he signed the anti homosexuality bill into law. A bill 99% of Nigerians supported. net York times and the rest of western media cannot and will never dictate our values! This government is on the right track.

this new york times want to cause more problem in this country...why r they interfering wit our country...has nigeria don it to them...they want their prediction that nigeria will divide in 2015.but their plan wont work in Jesus name..amen

Obama's AKPD and the entire homosexual agenda groups will not thwart God's purpose for Nigeria. Linda since you are suspected of being a lesbian if you like post my comment if you like don't.

When Sodom and Gomorrha ( New York and by extension the West) start jumping over themselves to enthrone an Islamist puppet then Nigerians know that the current administration is on the right track. Colonialism by proxy will never ever take hold in Nigeria. AKPD plus Obama plus John Kerry plus all their homosexual agenda groups will never succeed in enthroning a certificateless islamist forger of statement of result and perjurer on a United Nigeria state.

the international community want gmb to win...but only God has d right to decide who wins...unless people

JIRO said...

What can I say..... ' F*CK NEW YORK TIMES' and their thoughts.

Frustration galore. New York Times that is under the control of AKPD Obama's consultancy group that is consulting for APC can keep writing their jargon. Their plans to rig the election by disenfranchising 23 million voters has failed woefully. Hahahaha.

Look at these racist white media...they should shut up. The blod of Eric Garner is not yet dry from the ground where he was murdered.

Where did they get this funny information from?

It is enemies of Nigeria APC that I blame. For bringing these racist media to insult us. Their end is near.

Racists shut up.

These American don't like us, they don't have our interest at heart, they won't mind their business. They are the ones causing world problems.

All GEJ evil plans to rig the election we work against him. Is GMB we want as our president, all say #change# GMB all the way

Under the first 'gay' president America has become a land of depravity and they think that they can spread it to the rest of the world. They will see what God will do to them. Racists!

In buharia aspect yes I concur with them...according to history books ....he regime was autocratic in nature.....but calling Mr Jonah lousy president isn't the best name to describe him.........incompetence would've been a modernized name to use.........

::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::::

Hmmmmmm....

OKAY NXT!! !!!!!!

APC has failed in their evil attempt to sell Nigeria under slavery and colonialism to the WEST. Such a shame that a political party will be enemy of their own country all in a desperate bid to win political power. New York Times and all the foreign media can keep writing their rubbish thinking that Africans are so foolish that we don't see their racist agenda ...thankfully America is not the no 1 economy in the world anymore. China is and we have more trade with China.

Doyin will soon come and tell us it's an article sponsored by the opposition

Okowright Balaxy said...

US should allow Nigeria be! Enough of their opinions, they should stop pretending like they care about the crisis Nigeria is facing. They are instigating all this confusion to make their prediction of Nigeria dividing in 2015. The US government is angry that the Nigerian economic system is growing despite the challenges in the oil market. American government are angry that GEJ is working towards making Nigeria a country that can be self reliant in the nearest future,therefore ending importation of almost everything to the country. Another thing the US is angry with GEJ is his refusal to sign the same sex marriage bill, please US should mind their business and stop looking for a way to destroy Nigeria. The know years from now Nigeria will be a developed country which they don't want, they want Nigeria to remain under-developed so they can continue to exploit us. Dear Nigerians be wise, don't allow any biased foreign media to deceive you into believing the present administration is not working. The US have their evil agenda against Nigeria,be wise Nigerians.

Okowright Balaxy said...

US should allow Nigeria be! Enough of their opinions, they should stop pretending like they care about the crisis Nigeria is facing. They are instigating all this confusion to make their prediction of Nigeria dividing in 2015. The US government is angry that the Nigerian economic system is growing despite the challenges in the oil market. American government are angry that GEJ is working towards making Nigeria a country that can be self reliant in the nearest future,therefore ending importation of almost everything to the country. Another thing the US is angry with GEJ is his refusal to sign the same sex marriage bill, please US should mind their business and stop looking for a way to destroy Nigeria. The know years from now Nigeria will be a developed country which they don't want, they want Nigeria to remain under-developed so they can continue to exploit us. Dear Nigerians be wise, don't allow any biased foreign media to deceive you into believing the present administration is not working. The US have their evil agenda against Nigeria,be wise Nigerians.

The WEST crying more than the bereaved. Wetin concern una for Nigeria matter? Racists

The liberal America Media having a headache for another man's problem. Yeye dey smell

this is APC's american PR team at work. stupid fools...we better be careful of the change we seek. as st 2000 Buhari was quoted as saying "i can die for the cause of islam. if necessary, we are ready to fight another civil war. we cannot be blackmailed into killing sharia". he was also believed to be behind the 2011 violence in the north when muslims rejected GEJs win. Vote wisely

And if anyone wanted to know why America is the most hated country in the world right now this is it. Hypocrites of the highest order. So 23 million eligible Nigeria voters that we're going to be disenfranchised by JEGA does not matter as long as their islamist puppet dictator Buhari is enthroned. Evil people.

The more the American media write the more I am convinced to vote for Jonathan. Since when did the racist white want good for Africa? The fact they are supporting Buhari just tells me he is the wrong man got Nigeria.

The more the American media write the more I am convinced to vote for Jonathan. Since when did the racist white want good for Africa? The fact they are supporting Buhari just tells me he is the wrong man for Nigeria.

Francis said...

Simply the Obvious.

I'm just tired of politics. Infact, from now on, I'm passing by

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

yemi said...

We know what they ar trying to do but they ar entitled to their opinion abeg. They shld leave Nigeria alone and stop meddling in our affairs cos we dont meddle in theirs.

If APC still wants to stand a chance at coming close in this elections they have to tell AKPD to stop the international media frenzied write up because many Nigerians are now wondering wetin the racist colonialist whites want? Their headache for another man's problem is too much. Haba

Fuck usa let them mind their own business ... Peole that predicted that naija will disintegrate this year .. they will do anything to see that happen

It's New York Times sponsored by APC too? Wait until you hear Olisa Metuh comes up with his tale by moonlight crap. Jonathan must go back to Otuoke, he's got more than enough shoes now whilst he deprives millions of Nigerians shoes. Obasanjo gave Nigeria two sick people due to his selfish interest; one had no kidney, the other got no brain. #Jonathan2Otuoke

GEJ & Ngozi Okonjo has not paid Customs officers their 13th month salary up till now and that is the only bonus we get. We get inter-state transfers and nothing is paid. We generate revenue for the govt and get zero welfare.

Is he not?

ANYA IKENGA said...

TO SHAME THE WHOLE WORLD, THE RIGHT THING TO DO WILL BE FOR BUHARI TO STEP DOWN AND TELL THE WORLD THAT 4YRS IS NOT FOREVER. AND SUPPORT GEJ

Lol..

Mumu oyibo people talking through their ads, they should leave Nigeria alone, before they bring their dirt and try to turn this country into another Libya... Shut up

NMaa said...

Na apc naija pple we dey dia go giv the tori to dem to publish. Everyone shld mind dia own country. Political Crises no dey dia? Nonsense.

They should keep on running this government down but wder they like it or not GEJ till 2015.

GOD help dis country

GEJ till 2019.

kidykuz said...

Buary is d only one that can save this country nw

There is little truth to what they are saying though.....

We don't like GEj yes!
But they should stop criticising our president abeg

Tired of politics New-Next please

These Americans should take a chill pill. They are being frustrated not Jonathan not neither Buhari. Leave us to our own government .

Na today we bigging hear that one abeg GEJ till 2023

Well...that is the harsh truth. it is indeed the displeasure of Nigerians towards Jonathan that shifted the support of d people to Buhari. Not because they have any particular appeal for Buhari.

I see nothing wrong with this article.
To me, its unbiased and objective.

Loll!!!jonathan making fool of himself cuz of power and there's nothing to show for it for almost 6yrs.let him just go Honourably or we will disgrace him till he get to balyesa

Bunny said...

They should mind thier country and stop using ours to show off thier prowess in journalism. They don't know shit about Nigeria.

Lobatan

They are fools what their business mtchewww

Seriously is this right? How many years did it take dem 2 track down Usama Bin Laden? If they're so concerned why have they not lend a helping hand to fight BH. Now they're calling our military weak and my president incumbent. Dia ris God Oooooo!!!

They have no right to describe the president of Nigeria or any of it's officials in that manner. This is an independent state that deserves it's own respect. US had better take time!!

Quite true

#SaiBuhari

People dont like to hear the truth, the same foreign leaders that criticize GEJ are praising the Rwandan and Ghanian leadership.The truth is that our leaders are incompetent and even if God sends his angels to come and run for office in Naija this same Nigerians will not vote for him because of religious, ethnic and sentimental reasons. We choose to sit on the fence and allow a few people to rubbish our image internationally. Our passport is rubbished, even in Africa, we a laughed at. Abeg! lets get serious, do what is right. The question is: "Is our lives any better in this 16 years of PDP in the centre"?, if not, then why should i vote for them, and please dont play the tribal or religious card. cos i am sick of it.

It's Buhari not Buary,yes he is d right man 4 Nigeria #SaiBuhari

Very tru #SaiBuhari

This is very insulting. Terrorism all over the world isn't easy to fight. How long did it take them to track n kill osama. This article is totally sanctimonious n biased jare. By the way this is my ist time to comment on the blog

#SaBuhari

#SaiBuhari

#SaiBuhari

#SaiBuhari

#SaiBuhari

#SaiBuhari

#SaiBuhari

#SaiBuhari

Very truthful!!!!!...even if we don't like....we are just sick and tired of 16yrs of Pdp reign....it's brings nothing, but rather developed difficulties in everthin for us....abeg,security threat or no threat... make hin comot der jhur....

I don't like how international media talk about this country, cant wait for us to have a president that can change this bad press. This election should come and go

We neee change in Gov...Pdp wanna turn to Authoritarian party and worst still,offering nothing....16yrs!!!!...aba!!!

Change from Useless gov is all we need!!!!

sai buhari!!!!!

change from 16yrs one party system is all we need...worst still,u don't offer anythin meaningful

THIS IS VERY INSULTING!THESE POKENOSERS HAVE WORSE ISSUES.THEY'VE HAD DRE PRESIDENT KILLED ON THE STREETS CHEAPLY,THEIR RACIAL PREJUDICE IS SECOND TO NONE,THEY HAVE COUNTLESS SHAMEFUL UNSOLVED MYSERIES!!ABEG LEAVE US AND OUR CANDIDATES!FACE UR OWN!OPPORTUNISTS!FYI,THERE WILL BE NO WAR IN NIGERIA AND WE WONT NEED YOU FOR ANY OF UR OIL INDUCED PEACE MISSIONS!!DAN BOROBA!!

Am walking away wen trouble in niger am waling away to go get a better place

Cindy# said...

@ Kidykuz, he's d only 1 dt can save u & ur aboki broda. He wants 2 come & save a country he helped 2 destroy, he had d opportunity 2 save it bt wt did he do wit it? Evn nw he stil has d opportunity 2 save us 4rm dis bloody insurgence bt he chose 2 play politics wit it, he wants 2 unsit Jona & den tell his boys 2 stop, den it wil nw look lik he stopped dem. God is on his throne & wil destroy all d plots of d evil doers, dey wil neva rule ova his ppl.

Koni Dafunwon said...

@salifu,he,ffk and omockery're already all over this post.They're the anonymous talking about sodom n gomorrah

TRUTH said...

It only took that long because Osama was based in another country,if he had been based in America as Boko Haram's based in Nigeria;he'd have been killed a long time ago

This is where you lib are good, you are always quick to post such news, but snail - think to post those that attack Buhari and APC...Wole Soyinka called Buhari the worst dictator after Abacha, why didn't you update it? he referred to Buhari as worse than the devil, why didn't you upload it?
Continue your hypocrisy o,we know the Lord of fraudulent activities and drug barron Tinubu had bought u over like he did with TVC, the Nation's newspaper and LTV!!!!

This is where you lib are good, you are always quick to post such news, but snail - think to post those that attack Buhari and APC...Wole Soyinka called Buhari the worst dictator after Abacha, why didn't you update it? he referred to Buhari as worse than the devil, why didn't you upload it?
Continue your hypocrisy o,we know the Lord of fraudulent activities and drug barron Tinubu had bought u over like he did with TVC, the Nation's newspaper and LTV!!!!

True because it's "gospel according to America " or 'cos it's actually true??.........

Mr. monitor said...

It's very clear now APC and America are doing something together we don't understand, we have to wake up and say no to America and the rest who act like they care, they have plans to loot us dry, in that area President Jonathan has hindered them and that is why they are just against Nigeria, I don't doubt they have hands in the terrorism attacks, they are devilish set of people and we must not allow them to do to us what they did in Iran, Iraq and co just causing war to loot them....America should face their problems and let us manager ours....God bless Nigeria.

That press statement is one of the most accurate information I have ever heard about Nigeria... If you guys so much crave for respect.... It has to be earned... It's useless and lazy ass Nigerians like you... Has given us bad name.... Always leaving on profanity with the cheapest value ever... There is no value to protect here.... He is a lousy... Things just need to Change abeg!

ndidiamaka said...

Jonathan, you must win o i know when you became an enemy of the Western people, it was when you signed the anti homosexuality bill into law. A bill 99.5% of Nigerians supported. new York times and the rest of western media cannot and will never dictate our values! This government is on the right track for me hissing.....

Truth is bitter. On a good day,a lot of people hate to hear the truth. Jonathan is more than lousy. I have never seen a president that sends his voltrons to respond to every criticism in an immature manner while other reasonable presidents will welcome criticism and improve from there.

olu said...

Mr Anonymous, let's sef aside political parties for a spell and look at it strictly from a situation-on-ground aspect. Don't we live in the same Nigeria?
For most Pro-Buhari/APC supporters, it's not about the Party (or the man), it's simply because WE ARE FED UP!
We know PDP and APC are like Cerberus (different heads on the same animal), but we are just tired of being bitten by this one head.
Do you think if George Bush hadn't fucked things up so bad Obama would have won? But after Bush, white America was willing to TRY anything else but another Republican. And that's exactly the situation here.
So I don't know what your station is in Nigeria, but for the rest of us that feel stepped on, lied to (unintelligent lies for that matter), stolen from, upressed, supressed, violated (...I could go on forever), WE WANT A CHANGE!

What is their business tho. Rabbish

The truth is bitter, this is just an opinion of one editorial columnist in the US and people are already getting pissed. That is called freedom of speech people, he has the right to air his views. It has nothing to do with gays and lesbians. If you guys are trying to play God, know that in that Abuja alone the people that passed the so called anti gay law practice same shit behind closed doors. Naija has some elements of sodom and gomora in it as well. Leave my US of A alone

olu said...

Whatever it is you're smoking, can I get two of it
Respect is not given by virtue of a/any position... It's given on how one carries out responsibilities that come with that Position.
It's 2015... Did yourself of that Slavery mentality.

olu said...

GEJ is not the hero in this satire... Neither is Buhari. So peo

olu said...

GEJ is not the hero in this satire... Neither is Buhari. So not everyone that has something derogatory to say about PDP is pro APC, but given the state of things in Nigeria right now PDP's gotta go.
A failing/failed company fires the CEO, even if he inherited the seat when the company was already failing. And that's because the CEO should know he has a whole lot more work to do to keep the company from falling even further than one that inherits a company in good standing. If he can't stem the negative flow, he's not up to the task.
GEJ is not up to the task.
Have you seen before and after pictures of President Obama? That's what a president should look like when he comes into power when the economy is breaking. Means he's stressed out and not sleeping. THAT is a man who knows what it takes to get the job done... Not one that goes to a party a day after a bomb went off in his backyard.

olu said...

They haven't disrespected us... We have disrespected ourselves.

The only students that complain about a teacher maliciously failing them are the ones that are already circling a D grade... If you are a strong A student, a teacher who doesn't like you can perhaps knock you to a B, but definitely not an F.

If we weren't already circling disrespect, the world would not disrespect us.

Not a sermon... just a thought.

olu said...

Smh... A lot of good us "minding ours" has done us.

olu said...

Respect is not "deserved", it's earned.

olu said...

And for you (the smart guy), you do know that people are entitled to their opinions right? Especially when there's a hint of truth to it... Just saying...

olu said...

Smh... I hope no one has u as a role model.

olu said...

...sooooo you aren't voting GEJ then (cos obviously he can't stop the killings)... Which also confuses me... Cos according to you, he's the best president since 99... Yet he's yet to meet up to the one thing that matters most to you (and the whole of Nigeria)... The phrase "talking in circles" comes to mind.

olu said...

And what are "our" values on his ineptness at tackling Boko Haram?

olu said...

Jesus is sitting this one out... Homeboi. Where we are, we got there on our own. Doesn't matter what the international community says about us, fact is, most of us are already saying it... What ur doing is trying to plug a wound to keep from bleeding out when there's already internal bleeding... Effort in futility.

Grace n Truth said...

Because Ghana has gone cup in hand to borrow money from IMF or you did not know that? Ghana is broke. Rwanda is dependent on a lot of aid from them following the genocide. If they can control your purse they are happy but since Nigeria has very low external debt so not dependent on them to survive plus the anti homosexuality law, they hate the president. But God is God and the U.S. will go down for standing against what God is doing in Nigeria. Mark my words

Olu, great analysis. We need to look beyond partisan affiliation. Our bane of existence is way beyond buhari or jonathan's existence in aso rock.

Grace n Truth said...

And what about Timothy mcVeigh? What about the Boston marathon bombers ? Despite all America's sophistication terrorism still reads it's head. Anyway their attempt to impose an Islamist puppet that will do their bidding by running Nigeria aground will never happen.

olu said...

And God's purpose for Nigeria is for us to sleep with one eye opened from fear of BH? Or perhaps to keep a bag packed, in case we are forced to seek refuge in Cameroun?
Enlighten us as to God's plans Moses!

Grace n Truth said...

You are still a slave to colonial mentality. Because Oyibo man write am it means it is true. Yeye

Grace n Truth said...

APC paid Obamas consultancy group AKPD to run Nigeria down.

olu said...

...and yet the queue outside the embassies grow even longer by the day.
Seems to me what God has done to them is a better economy than ours, and a people who sit down to think about ever better ways to do things... And not a people who sit down to plot ever better ways to BUY things that "they" built...
So yeah... I agree... God is really showing them pepper... You clueless clout.

CJ said...

Best comment! My thoughts exactly. Anyone but PDP is what we want, even though we knw they won't do anything.

OH!! PREACH brother!!!!

Mr your comments 2day are spot on!!!....some folks do not think things thru.......thumbs up!!

olu said...

You lost me somewhere around "...is working towards a Country that can be self reliant"... Haba guy, do us the courtesy of imagining we have brains nau. In six years all we've heard is "...is working/...is planning". Details of the plans sef dem no gree show us. How the hell can we be "self reliant" on just Oil? Or are you referring to the unsustainable car assembly plant? If that were going to work, it would be mandated that all government official cars should be from the plants in Nigeria. There is no country in the world that produces automobiles and has it's government cars imported (all the way down to even police cars).
To make any country self reliant, the power sector and transportation sector must be solid... My guy hasn't made any recognizable steps in those directions... So maybe u need to invest in some bifocals (or maybe I need to get rid of mine) cos we don't see this thing the same way.

Obyno C said...

US has been Battling with Terrorist Over the Years Yet they increase Everyday. They are calling GEJ Lousy because he has not stamped out Book Haram, which means All there Presidents till date are Lousy. Most especially Obama who Terrorism has increased exponentially during his Tenure. Stupid People they want to be dictating everything that happens around the world. Obama should face their Economy and how to Revive his Party which is going down with the American Populace.

olu said...

...and not the fact that our brothers and sisters are dying in the hundreds almost everyday?!
I mean... Why do people think like this?!

Naijarian said...

These oyimbo people sef.. When they start to gang up against you, know say you dey the right track. This was how they ganged up against Congo under Lumumba, Ghana under Nkrumah, Angola under Santos where they even supported the rebel leader Jonas savimbi, ganged up against the ANC and supported apartheid, and lastly ganged up against Gaddaffi... Look at Libya today..

this anonymous is definitely reno omokri copying and pasting

Mosiwomeka said...

This is what they are employed for, don't mind them, they don't even know their job

@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

Any one who is in support of this article is a failure to Nigeria, even if Jonathan has failed us, it gives no right to a publication from another country to insult the person and office of president of the federal republic of Nigeria. We dont go writing publications about other leaders even when G. Bush was president and killing people in the far east for selfish aim we never said a word. Nigeria deserves respect

olu said...

Maybe we (Nigeria) do need to crash and burn. Some of the comments I read Nigerians posting are so outrageously ignorant that it breaks the heart.
What makes the USA great is that no matter how divided they are on issues, when there is a common threat "they" set aside differences and tackle the threat head-on. That's what a family does... They may have issues with each other, but they set those aside to fight outside threats TOGETHER.
We (Nigerians) have a common threat that kills indiscriminately... Kills women, children, the old, the young, Christians, and Muslims all alike... And we are so focused on politics that we can't come together against BH. Fact is BH can even just sit back and chill, and watch us tear each other to pieces for them... Make their "holy" work easier.
So yes, maybe we deserve to crash and burn... Cos evolution dictates doing whatever is necessary to ensure survival... And we are too "political" to evolve.

Nice question sir

Ok seen

I seriously feel for this country. To what extent must our country decay before it obvious that we are having a failed government. It's amazing that people are still making this a PDP vs APC thing.

@olu lol

Nkechi J. said...

Because they do not want international wrath released on them.
Everything NY Post wrote is true, like it or not.
That you don't believe a car kills does not mean it won't kill you when you stand in front of it.
Nigeria's are so busy worrying about an already rotten reputation instead of working on fixing the reputation.
No one corrects a situation by sweeping it under the rug.
We did not elect GEJ to be respected, he was elected to lead a country and earn respect subsequently, but he has failed woefully so no respect earned.
There's no respect to be given when the truth needs to be spoken. If Nigerians called their leader out on their BS as much, we would've been in a lot better situation than we are in now. People do better when they know their work will be checked and criticized. We are too busy respecting those that haven't earned any respect instead of calling a spade, a spade.
Because ur papa be tif no mean say u sef no fit talk true!
#truthshallsetusfree

Nkechi J. said...

Do you actually believe Tinubu and co can afford to bribe The Times? That in it self says a lot about you so nothing left to be said!
Google is your friend so my advice, Google The Times net worth, the powers that be, before you say anything else. I don't blame you though, since Nigerian media house is your yard stick.
FYI: Everyone that disagrees with GEJ is not in APC's or Buhari's pocket, leave sentiment out of this for once and look at situation as is.

@ olu hear hear!!! Unfortunately, ethnic, religious, regional myopia reigns supreme.

Jamiu said...

The American are playing a dangerous role in this election. Nigerians must not allow them to decide who wins the next election. Nigerians must be allowed to decide who governs them and not any foreign machinery coming in to dictate our choice.

With or without the support of the American people, President Jonathan will be reelected by a landslide.

Angela said...

THE IGNORANCE OF NIGERIANS IN THESE FORUM IS RIDICULOUS. I ADVICE YOU ALL TO LOOK AT THE SENATORIAL NOMINEE LIST OF THE INCUMBENT PRESIDENT AND DECIDE IF THIS IS THE KIND OF CONTINUITY YOU WANT.
THE NY TIMES HAS AN ACCURATE ANALYSIS OF THE PRESIDENT. HE IS TRIPLE LOUSY!!!

Linda if you post anything bad about GEJ again, you'll have to pay back all the money lol

The reason the foreign media are trying to demean Nigeria's presidency is simply due to the fact that David Axelrod (Obama Guy) is leading the election of General Buhari. That is why the Americans are seeing General Buhari becoming president so that he can be controlled.

New York Times or no New York Times, the president will win a second term in power. NYT can't dictate who we will votes for the in the coming election.

Mr Olu, I will be less alarmed if you say you are voting for Buhari because you admire him. But to vote because you are fed up is behavior filled with regrets. Never jump into anything blindly and out of anger. Choose wisely. If you want buhari, vote for him because of what you admire. If not, I think you should stay home because Jonathan will not be punished by voting him out of office. the masses will continue to suffer if you vote in a Pharoah because you are angry. Please stay home if you are not convinced about who to vote for based on what is admirable

Olu pls can u take a seat n keep quiet? Dez guys have absolutely no right to talk abt my president like DAT weda he has done well or not. I don't get it, its not deir business at all. I wonder what u will be able to offer ur followers if u ever find urself in a leadership position seeing DAT u make such utterances. Have u ever for one day opened or mouth to pray for your president in dis your life?be talking like its easy to rule a nation let alone Nigeria

N u think GEJ is sleeping? Whatever u think PDP or GEJ is not doing right, APC or Buhari will give u a double dose of it. U had better open your eyes n let all doz scales begin to fall off right now.

Lol @ people being entitled to deer opinions..... D way I c it, u r d one trying to shove ya silly opinions down our throats. I think u should take a chill pill, as we all know wia u stand on did.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 221   Newer› Newest»