Aww...Birthday party that turned to an engagement party (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 4 December 2014

Aww...Birthday party that turned to an engagement party (photos)

Got this from a LIB reader. Enjoy...
2nd December was my girlfriend (of 20 months)’s birthday. We have been friends for 30 months though. Meanwhile I had planned to propose marriage to her on that day. Thing is, I am resident in Lagos while she is in Enugu. In 2013, a coordinated surprise visit to Enugu wowed her birthday and she never stopped talking about how that was the most pleasant surprise of her life, not until 2nd December, 2014 anyway.
So to douse her anticipation for any form of surprise, I got really involved in planning her 2014 birthday. During one of my visits to Enugu, we had dined at Octopus, an exquisite Chinese Restaurant that has got lovers of good meals in ‘042’ wanting for more. I loved the ambience and the meals were really amazing. We decided to host her birthday there. Hers was to make all the inquiries, invite her friends, have fun and be happy. Mine was to fund the dinner which I did with all pleasure. Of course there couldn’t be any more surprises when she was already aware of the ‘whole’ package. Besides, my work couldn’t allow me time-off on a Tuesday.
Then …..
I arrived Enugu at 4.15pm having been to work earlier on the day and checked into my hotel room. I had the Manager of Octopus come meet me and we concluded on the 3-level surprise.
Level 1.                
 After the starter has been served, she was invited (with her friends) to see a video clip on screen of the 60” television in the restaurant. Behold it was me (JIRO) wishing my baby-girl a happy birthday and apologizing for missing her ‘big’ event. Towards the end of the clip, my sister and cousins joined me to sing the traditional ‘happy birthday’ song. Twinkle was so wowed and crying by the end of the rendition. “This JIRO will not kill me ooo” she muttered in her tears. Then……
Level 2.                
As the video clip ended, I walked into the restaurant! The wow feeling turned into a positive frenzy. She was speechless as she ran to her star. “Baby, why do you always do this to me” was all she could say as she cried in my arms. Yes, am badt like that….hehe.
Level 3.                
 After I settled in and ordered some more champagne, the management of Octopus brought a bowl of what they dubbed their traditional gift to all birthday celebrants in the restaurant. Since I was there, it only made sense that they hand the package over to me (as the boyfriend) to appoint any of the diners to open it or open it myself. And my speech happened…. “… anyway, everybody may be worthy but I don’t see any person that is more worthy than you (twinkle) today to open this special package from Octopus….” By the time she opened the bowl, her friends and other diners  were already gathered by our side to take a sneak peek, my one knee was down and I continued “…there are no better words than the three words that make up ‘I Love You’. You have been a friend, you have been bla bla bla bla bla bla and all dem beautiful things” And … “now I ask you, Chisom Onyinyechi Ogbuji, to make me the happiest man in the world and be my wife, please……
And she said YES!
And we changed into our tees that read “OMG Jiro asked!” with all them smileys for her and “…and Twinkle said YES… of course!” for me.
Love is indeed a beautiful thing. Give love always and appreciate love when you have it. May God make our dreams come true and our earnest desires fulfilled, Amen!
Now we plan for our future, together. See the photos below...

243 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 243 of 243

Awwww!!! So romantic

This could be you but your worst mouth will never let any man propose to you. .FOOL

Infact i will plan another engagement party for my wife hahahahaha. May God grant you two your heart desires.

Damochedxb said...

You mean this guy planned all that and wrote this essay? Is he gay? A lil too sweet and romantic for a guy..

Shut the fuck up broom stick

Mims said...

I just love when guys make the effort. No be like some of my igbo brothers who will just say "nne ngwa take it...this is ring" Congrats guys!
*flips hair and strolls off*

congratulations to them wish them all the best iaminat60@yahoo.com

God a beg bless mi wid a Godfearin n a romantic guy
#tess#

Please did he wear this trouser from Lagos to Enugu. I hope he is not Gay. God help u sis. Married to one

Happy for them

Africa said...

I agree with analysis. Cute Twinkle with a thoughtful JIRO. GOD BLESS THEM. Other young people can learn but every love must not be shown at this OCTOPUS level. If u can't afford JIRO's style please keep urs at ur own level. The HEART matters most.

Wow!!! Money and love.... I love that.
Pastorniga@gmail.com

The Octopus wow! Did they ask you to reference them in exchange for a discount?

Lol...pls a cup of honey daily,will sweeten ur life.

Advice two cups of honey daily to sweeten ur life...

Whattt??? very cool and romantic...l wish u all d best in life now and ever..............

cool

love a very beautiful thing

Chima,Chima i hail oh.....

Feyisetan said...

Lucky babe,congrats

Stevie said...

At the touch of love, everyone becomes a poet...

obinna.ijoma@yahoo.com

Such a really romantic guy. Vewi good with words. God bless your union.

Nonso Okoh via SAMSUNG GALAXY SMART PHONE

Deedee said...

NICE , WISH DEM HML.

vanessa said...

congrats dear, wsh u al d best

Awww! So luvly Congrat. Can't to celebrate mine

=CYNTHIA=commenting from my TOYOTA CRICKET

give urselves brain said...

congrats beautiful people...its so encouraging to see dat luv somehow finds a way to thrive in dis country despite all d chaos...may u guys dreams truly come thru..

am so happy for them. but when will my own come?

Vicardo said...

Is this for real? Awww! how sweet! love is a beautiful thing, I wish dis old dry marriage can re-live such lovely memories!!!

U r a sadist.

Busolami said...

Beautiful..lovely..may God bless their marriage o...

Congratulations!!!!!! That's so sweet

Someone stole my comment

beautiful couple

i lost 37kg in 6 months, its all determination, diet, exercise..want to know how?
visit my facebook page https://www.facebook.com/jachy.raymond

Just wini said...

awwwwww so romantic. Hope my baby Harmony will propose this way, because me i can sha like shakara. congrats to them and may this journey of a million miles that just began be filled with love and mutual understanding

linda please how can I send you what I m faceing please I need you to help me out I need advice

Congratulations to them

That's lovely

That's cool

He does nt need to have millions before he can actually make things happen, its the tot that counts ... Nd love is a beautiful something

Uzo said...

You'll not kii me with lafta ooooo. Surprise gone bad na im be dis one. Anyways, u both were not meant to be.

unknown said...

You should shut up sometimes.. fool from nowhere not novia

Congrats dear ..... So lovely 😍😍

😊😊😊😁😁😁😁😁😂😂😂😂

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 243 of 243   Newer› Newest»