Abduction of journalists & others by Tompolo - Keyamo gives SSS, IG final ultimatum | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 18 November 2014

Abduction of journalists & others by Tompolo - Keyamo gives SSS, IG final ultimatum

Find the press statement from Festus Keyamo Chambers below...
We have been briefed by the family members and friends of the following persons who were kidnapped, tortured and nearly killed (along with some journalists) by the hirelings of one Government Ekpemupolo (alias Tompolo) on Sunday, November 16, 2014, in Delta State: 1.) Mr. Eyengho B. Samuel 2.) Tokunbor Oluwaleye 3.)  Kelvin Tuduo 4.) Ekpen 5.) Edema Eburajolor 6.) Otos Lemun and 7.) Dolor Emmanuel. Please continue..

The facts are that the aforementioned boys (hereinafter referred to as “the seven victims”), together with some journalists from different media houses went to Ogidingben in Delta State on Sunday, November 16, 2014, to get first-hand coverage of the crises leading to the cancellation of the commissioning of the EPZ Project by President Jonathan two days earlier. Recall that I raised an alarm last week about the threat by Tompolo in respect of the commissioning of the project by the President. True to the alarm, the President called off the commissioning because of the threat by Tompolo.

When leaving the venue, the journalists were joined on the boat by the seven victims, three of whom were given a free ride, one was a boat driver and three were from the company that owns the boat.

On their way from Ogidingben after their assignments, the seven victims and the journalists were stopped in their boats and blocked by more than ten other boats loaded with fierce-looking and armed hooligans around an area called Tebujo, which is also near an area called Opuraja. The seven victims and the journalists were then evacuated from their boat into one of the boats of the hooligans. Along the line, Tompolo called and spoke with one of the journalists and he confirmed that he sent the hooligans to accost them and that they should “co-operate” with his boys.

The seven victims and the journalists were then taken to Tompolo’s house in Opuraja where they were beaten to pulp by Tompolo’s boys. The cameras of the journalists were all seized and the memory cards were removed so that they could not show what they went to cover. Unknown to them however, the journalists all had back-ups of their materials in their external hard disks which Tompolo’s boys did not see and seize.

It was a near-death experience for all the victims and in particular for Mr. Tokunbor Oluwaleye who is suffering from internal bleeding and is in a critical condition till today. It took the intervention of Naval and Army personnel in the area for the victims and journalists to be rescued from the hands of Tompolo’s boys later that evening.

Sirs, your failure to simply carry out your statutory duties of arrest, investigation and prosecution of Tompolo for his various acts of lawlessness is now a national and an international embarrassment to the Government of President Goodluck Jonathan. It is disgusting to all men of normal minds to see a private citizen strutting all over the place, threatening lives, abducting citizens, (perhaps silently killing voiceless persons) and you hide your heads in the sand. Yet, he moves about with nearly a whole platoon of Army and security personnel that even a serving Governor cannot get. What is going on?

Recall that I wrote a complaint of the open threat to my life by the same individual nearly two weeks ago, yet you have not even done as little as write me an acknowledgment letter. It is such a shame. This unhealthy romance between government officials in high places and this individual raises strong suspicion over, perhaps, some criminal dalliance in relation to shady deals. I am confident that time will tell us better. There is no better way to see this. But I have decided that enough is enough.

TAKE NOTICE that if within 72 hours of the receipt of this petition you fail, refuse and/or neglect to invite/arrest, investigate and perhaps prosecute Mr. Government Ekpemupolo (alias Tompolo) for the threat to my life and the attempted murder of these seven victims and the journalists, I will be proceeding to court to compel you to do your duties under the law.

I would want you to come and tell the court what is tying your hands against Tompolo.

The ball is in your court.

Yours most trusted,

FESTUS KEYAMO, ESQ.

Head of Chambers

67 comments:

Should an individual be bigger than the law? Why can't the so-called tampolo be arrested?

Not reading DAT shit, d Nigerian security system has failed...

noisemaker. sitting in ur chambers spilling ink n instigating conflict. law school warrior! y dont u go to d creeks n have a chat with him urself na. monkey. dis festus keyamo nucca needs to b banned from ND. He must b a coward of low nobility.

God help us....

Uche Emma said...

This is guy is becoming bigger than the law

Linda's Elder Sister. said...

If federal govt can't arrest this tompolo, that means that Nigeria is in trbl

Dem no get work joor.na rice sure pass today

I just hope Keyamo has left delta state. Tompolo is defiitely above Nigerian law. If he kills Keyamo the President won't blink an eyelid.

"the president called off the commissioning because of the threat by Tompolo"
And we expect him to win the war against Boko haram.

UK GLOBAL ONLINE FINANCIAL ADVISERS said...

GEJ BY HIS SUPPORT FOR THESE MILITANTS KEEP DIMINISHING HIS OFFICE.

Ode......is he not ryt....if we see truth,make we dey talk

Little mind! I sorry for u. If you don't have anything write why don't you keep your brain short. Fool

Boko Haram will come to an end but Niger Delta Haram will be worst than what we are seeing now. GEJ is breeding aanarchy that will consume d entire Niger Delta and South East in those millitants,shortly after GEJ leaves power, there will not be peace in Niger Delta and South East any more.

How could any any sane mind support Goodluck Jonathan?
My disappointment is with Nigerians.

The President actually called off the commissioning of this massive project because of Tompolos threat

The to polo guy cannot be stopped by Jonathan they are related . Jonathan needs him and therefore won't say anything or get him arrested. Keyamo is saying the truth.

My friend! Ure not in Delta state and don't know what is happening. The itsekiris of delta state are very crafty and deceitful people and they are the ones planning all dese to dis discredit tempolo who protects the ijaw! Keyamo is just a tool being used by d delta state government being run by the itsekiri cabal.

He is clearly above the law ...even GEJ cannot call him to order ..A whole president .. hahhahahahA ..nigeria is in trouble ..on to 2015 we look

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

President Jonathan is a lily livered man. He is not fit to rule a state not yo talk of a country.

Politics! Legit way to make money right from your home. #dancing skelewu#. http://TheWeeklyJob.com/?id=287189

Tompolo is a government minion, he is one of the many pawns our government use to instill and maintain fear in the populace, how do you expect them to act against him?

Mr President called off the commissioning because of the threat by Tompolo. The cancellation of the commissioning by the president shows the extent in which Mr president is powerless & incapable. Don't expect him to do anything about Boko haram attack & Fulani herdsmen crisis. What's a shame

I can not believe that Government Ekpemupolo who could not write his name as at 9 yrs ago is now terrorizing the whole Nigeria

Bonario again...but come to think of it bro...there is so much to take home from your statement

Clearly you are lost.. You dont read..yet you posted meaningless comment that has nothing with the story

What an idiot. I won't waste time explaining the Danger of leaving an uncouth rabbies ravished dog like Ekpemupolo 'Government' Tompolo unleashed.
When you pamper a cat's ego beyond it's fish & 9lives, it just might return to you as a blood thirsty Lion...

The SS/SE will experience development when they put their glorified thugs, criminals & looters in their places, else they might end up like the North......destroying their own people & structures to instill fear in their zones. That's what you get when militants determine your Leaders.

YOU DESERVE WHAT YOU GET, cos YOU PUT THEM THERE

Shut dat stupid hole u call a mouth!! Uttering rubbish!! He is learned!! Not only from d bar...but at heart! he shd go n see d idiot tompolo so u will have space to write RIP?? Baboon!!

Omg!!! Don't I just love you already for this your comment!?

sisi said...

@ Chy Somy, don't you Tompolo is bigger than Nigeria ?

frank millz said...

The impunity of Tompolo though,ride on Keyamo.

Nigeria is a failed country. Enough is enough indeed. Linda close this blog and rest. Nothing is news.

frank millz said...

The impunity of Tompolo though!!Ride on Keyamo

This is unbelivable, what type of a weak country is this?...it has gotten to a point where Nigerians wish they were neva born in this HELL of a country..

ANYA IKENGA said...

Lol @ keyamo. Nna gbara ogwu gi nnuo

That is the level of impunity Nigeria has gotten to thanks to GEJ and his crew. A country that the institution are not working were judiciary has been bought and they presidency hands full with corruption, if not who is tompolo or what is his function in the government if not the death that took late Musa Yar'adua who have good heart of the country and was building a good institution before his death not this devil dictatorship we are encountering know. May god deliver us from their hand

Funny enough the same festus kayemo was dinning and wining with tompolo, asari dokubo etc, not too long ago. He even represented them and defended them in court knowing fully well they were criminals and militants. Now they have fallen out, he is crying foul play. Mr lawyer go and rest abeg.

Job Vacancies in Nigeria said...

That is serious if a particular criminal cannot be arrested. It is a threat to the nation. God help us.

Bosslady Chinwe said...

Odi egwu!

Mr. Jonathan has failed Nigerians, calling off a commissioning just because of one little idiot with a gun and his boys is great cowardice of Mr Jonathan. Shame to his administration, where criminals in the likes of Tompolo, Asari, Atek Tom, Shekau, and their likes who are supposed to face fireman parades in all public events crowned chiefs and high chiefs my foot without the government doing anything to save d poor masses frm their victimization, daily annihilation, robbery, extortion and criminal activities. Haba Nigeria has lost her glory in the hand of this woman man called Jonathan. May God in whom we put our hope and trust save our souls and body from these evil that pervades the land

Keyamo shuld shut his mouth up. I see anoda kwankwaso,Amechi in him.

Can u imagine! that is why I like Obasanjo

and u call him a serious president. When individuals from certain place ar above the law. Why cant he call this retards to order? Kidnapping innocent journalist. I weep for my country. God save us.

What could be ur reason for being dis stupid and daft, someone is talking abt an individual that has been touring and tormenting citizens with impunity for him to be arrested and called to order, ure abusing him, ure part of the problems of this country,illiterate!!!

hold on, let me get this straight, so there is an individual in this country that the president who commands the army, navy and the entire defense is scared of?!!!!!! oh so why are we talking about him fighting BH. So what this Tompolo guy is part of the reason the militants put down their guns, he gets paid!, the ex-militants gets paid and some even get sent to schools abroad, why should he be allowed to kidnap, imprison and torture innocent citizens... THIS GOVERNMENT IS A JOKE!

Chibok girls was kidnap and nothing happened but this fool called Festus Keyamo had the gut to spew garbage about the war lord of ijaw kingdom. Nigerian politicians are notjustok.com.

I love Keyamo. Very bold. Tompolo your end is here.

oritshejafor, Patience, Tompolo all have Jonathan mumu button.

I think Anon 4.54 I'd just a silly man with his daft comment. That's why this country is still lagging behind till today. People supporting leaders based on sentiments and ethnicity. Trivializing important matters that embarrasses us intenationally and in the comity of nations

ColdFlame said...

Situations like this call for serious national soul searching... How did we sink this fast? A President and Commander-In-Chief unable to freely roam his own domain? He can't go to some parts of the North East and now can't dare go to some areas of the South South yet remains adamant that he alone has the pancea to all that ails this land...
As for Tompolo, guess we all saw it coming. The moment Jonathan began to give him contracts that undermined the statutory responsibilities of the Navy, it became just a matter of time. Like all over-hyped small fries though he is bound to overreach himself sooner than later. All it takes is one act of aggravated
foolishness and bam!

Tonpolo, Asari dokubo, book haram, errrrm they are all GEJ bosses. So he can't arrest them.

Keyamo should pursue other endeavours. Rumour has it that Tompolo was placed in charge of securing oil installations of all multinational companies in that region. He is doing what Nigerian Navy cannot do. If the government shudders they know their constraint. The glorified Nigerian army that has ended countless civil wars in Africa and even saved the US Marines in Modadishu Black Hawk Down, cannot contain Boko Haram, dont expect the Navy to be able to take on this guy. History has shown that so called terrorists were once empowered by a particular government. Keyamo should go and sit down and not spoil our mind with rotten Nigeria matter abeg. Linda Ikeji please blog less serious minded issues let us be suffering and smiling dey go abeg.

U get sense atal?@ ur age ur sense of reasonin is as low as ur ankle 2 d ground.

OBJ for president again joor. ..so that weting happen for odidi Timaya village go happen to them Ijaws again. ..that time dem nor even disturb reach like this before OBJ kill one upon one.....Ijaws can't rule naija again ooo bcos only this small opportunity them get now see as dem dey do like afonesigba ( monkeys) . One brain for book dem nor get.

It happens in the North and Jonathan does nothing about it. He had to be forced to say something when the Chibok girls were kidnapped! It is happening in the South and he does nothing..... This President who wants to come back for a second term is dragging us into a new level of insecurity; this , he will leave as a platform for his successor to build on- that BASE level of insecurity. Inferior, low!!!! Na so we go dey dey??? In his words 'there are challenges'. Asari Dokubo Muhajid never do im own o.

RareSpecie said...

I weep 4 my beloved country anytime i read ish like this. Can't these leaders at least have some shame?. Its quite pathetic n bafflin that impunity reign in this clime. I will advise all the patriots genuinely concern about the State to review the " Law of Contract". Talkin bout Rousseau, Locke, Hobbes n the rest of em who explained lots of ish on y we live in a society which ought 2 b peaceful. Dear folks, nobody is above the LAW as it is the only contract we entered 2 exist peacefully. But when such laws r broken wit impunity, then that contract is no longer binding n concience is clean on what follows next. Pls study on ur own, the net is a free medium of gainin knowledge n enlightenment.

Festus Keyamo! You're jst not serious. Mind you, i do not support Tompolo's act but i stl remember vividly dat dere was a time wen he hired you as his Lawyer and you worked for him and of course got remunerated fatly. Now, d table has been turned against you and you're shouting. Go carry your cross i beg.

Am quite disappointed with d statements that are coming from a lot of sponsored commentators in this forum. Am specifically disappointed in Festus Keyamu, the Uvwie and the Urhobo nation is disappointed in u to say the least. Am reliably informed that just bcos Tompolo refused to give Festus Keyamu money to join in contesting for governorship and senatorial positions, he has resorted to join the Delta state lead Itsekiri Govt to redecule the person of Mr Tompolo who is a well respected rich personality in Delta state tru unnecessary blackmail. The Military knows the truth and the Nigeria Police knows what transpired between those Itsekiri boys and those pressmen who where handed over the d Nigeria Army untouched. Festus Keyamu is loosing our utmost respect if he continues like this. The Itshekiris are known by all and sundry in Delta state ( mostly by the Urhobos and the Ijaws) as land grabbers using illigal and witchcraft and political powers to wim other people's land to themselves and and later claim ownership of people's villages. We in delta state knows that d Itsekiri don't have lands. I blame the governor who is an Itsekiri man for putting fires in this peaceful tribes, after d efforts of Ibori to make these tribes live together in harmony over the years. The governor who has not been able to take care of his Imbeciled son and cocain smoking daughter, is not fueling problems between the Ijaws and d Itsekiri. Let me pass a warning to the governor, that if anything goes wrong as this confrontation is getting stronger by the day, we the Urhobos will drive all of the Itskiris from our upland and make them to look for their riverine and waterloGged riverside to go do their fighting there

Y Can't d so Called Tombolo go and face boko haram naaa.

You gals think tompolo is anybody u can deal wit rite dont advise ur president well be say opening ur wide mouth to say rubbish why not go and frnt tompolo urself since u can talk alot

What do you expect from a clueless Commander in Chief?

U are a fool..this is d reason why dis Nation surfers ..cuz of idiots like u..this Tompolo and Asari Dokubos case hv been long due ..they hv to b put behind bar for all their atrocities..Period..Mr Keyamo pls charge GEJ to court.he is an accomplice

It's obvious ur a tyrant n a fool

This is the rot we see in naija, he is untouchable now he is soo rich and criminally empowered by the present gov same as asari. The issue is once this gov leaves, u now see the mayhem this hooligans, criminals, thugs and illiterate will inflict on this region. What is wrong is always wrong . No matter the time frame it will always yield wrong.

Ok bye #darisall

@ Anonymous please when expressing ur views and opinion do not be bias and tribalistic.call a spade by its name,mr Government alias tompolo thinks he is above the law but i can bold and vividly tell u that no one is above the law..time alone will tell when he will be caught up by the nemesis he has brought upon himself..thuggery,hooliganism,kidnapping,etc are some negative tools of a corrupt leader and government.we must not be narrow minded in saying the truth..thank u

@Obas johnny, you are a p***y ,shey when itsekiri Don place una now, unable Don sit down where belong to una. ? Ahahahaha and if una messup again we go go hard and whoop y'all urhobo a$$ again and again. Abi una Don forget soon how we save una from Isoko aka isoko tolorpia hand.? We have always wife y'all and will do it again and again retarded p***y a$$.

jolomi said...

festus don start again people when you claim say kill your brother onokpite ogbe na him you don run go meet thy support them now abi when you for they arrange urhobo stake you thy there they work for people when go mess you up latter wise urhobo is de largest tribe so they should be talk about us tompolo is doing the right thing those goat are just trying to be greedy