I am ready for police invitation- Aminu Tambuwal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 22 November 2014

I am ready for police invitation- Aminu Tambuwal

There were reports yesterday that the Inspector General of Police was making plans to 'arrest' the speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Tambuwal, over Thursday's drama at the National Assembly. The speaker, in a statement released by his media adviser, Imam Dalhatu, says he's ready for any invitation by the police. Find his statement below...
The attention of the Hon Speaker, House of Representatives, Rt Hon Aminu Waziri Tambuwal CFR, has been drawn to publications in the media to the effect that the Inspector General of Police has ordered that he, Speaker, be invited to the Force Headquarters and that he be arrested if he resisted.
The Honorable Speaker wishes to state that he is a law abiding citizen of the Federal Republic of Nigeria who has no immunity against arrest and prosecution except privileges as may be provided by the Legislative Powers and Privileges Act.

Accordingly , the Hon Speaker states for the records that he is available, ready and willing to answer any lawful invitation from any of the Security agencies on any matter for which they may require his attention.

The Speaker expresses dismay at the unprofessional conduct of the Nigerian Police in the attempt to stop him from accessing the House of Representatives chambers on the 20th November 2014 to preside over the Special Session of the House on the State of Emergency Extension requested by Mr President, for which he had recalled members from their working recess.

Most disgraceful is the false statement later issued by the Police in which they claimed that in the lawful exercise of their duties “ Alh Aminu Tambuwal CFR, arrived the venue with a motley crowd,who broke the cordon, assaulted the Police and evaded due process”. This blatant falsehood coming from a law enforcement agency, that is expected to be neutral and lawful, is unfortunate, to say the least.

For the avoidance of doubt, the Hon Speaker came to National Assembly accompanied by Hon Members as is customary during any sitting of the House. They all came with their official vehicles but were disallowed from driving into the premises. Certainly Hon Members, who arrived the precinct of the National Assembly in response to a call to perform an urgent, critical national assignment, cannot be described by any self respecting institution as “a motley crowd"

It is important to remind the Nigeria Police Force that as a public institution that provides common services for all the arms of government, they must not allow themselves to be used by one of the arms to undermine the others.

Malam Imam Imam @imamdimam
Special Adviser on Media and Public Affairs to the Hon Speaker

50 comments:

Like seriously? This man is too sure of himself
Young ghanian ladies undergoing "dipo" virginity test initiation totally nud,e!pics/video..must see

Bizzie Boi... said...

Ok...we here you

HOPE AM FIRST TO COMMENT!***WINKS***

Peejay said...

And the drama continues...

Funso Samuel said...

Good! Would like to share it on http://newscrib.net

Good one there Jare Mr speaker.
GEj and co can't do you anything.

He should be arrested and charged to court for improper conducts, NONSENSE.

A true democrats

Phew! And this is still democracy in action.

These political drama is getting quite interesting. In my opinion I feel that it lies in the hands of the presidency if there will be peace or not in nigeria.

#king said...

Tired of all the drama..why do they want to question him? Jonathan its over oo..u are slowly turning every Nigerian against u..............................#KingOfKings #6ixGod

we are watching this 'political drama' going on in this country..

#Godblessnigeria

My expectation is Thorough investigation & proper interrogation

As they are for you sir

Gbam gbamer gbamest

Politics sheet #bright bravo#

Victoria said...

Ride on, Mr . Speaker. Do not be intimidated nor distracted, nigeria must be
delivered from selfish and greedy individual who believe nigeria is a private business

Now this is how to respond not the rubbish that Okupe spews that is head less and talk less. Simple concise and straight to the point.

Swagg isimemen said...

I totally support u Hon tabuwa, don't mind d useless police we hv in Nigeria they allowed GEJ 2 use them 2 disturb d peace of Nigeria people, we re all watching

Jay said...

@anon 9:47am you must be angry he beat your silly master to his silly games. A dull man accompanied by thousand intelligent men cannot beat an intelligent man accompanied by a million fools.

OIL said...

My frnd do u know what u r talking abt?? This is not tom n jerry

The more Gej does this the more people dislike him and the more he proves he is a tyrant and dictator clad in deceptive mumuish countenance. Tambs already is seen as the victim here. Just stop GEJ you look bad enough already

This man don turn celeb bcos na every tym he dey blog.....

I strongly support you Tanbuwal.It's only a fool that keep trying the same thing with the same method and expects a different result. We need change

Gbamist ever.......... Dis shi***t only happen in nigeria where d police will have d gut 2 teargas our #4 citizen and got away wit it. Imagine police teargasin speaker of federal republic of Nig and notin happen. Shai, country is a joke. Jonadaft ur days are numbered

The power by the PRESIDENCY to appoint/sack a POLICE CHIEF should be revoked. That is the only way Police won't be used against citizens by the govt

Gbamist ever.......... Dis shi***t only happen in nigeria where d police will have d gut 2 teargas our #4 citizen and got away wit it. Imagine police teargasin speaker of federal republic of Nig and notin happen. Shai, country is a joke. Jonadaft ur days are numbered.

This is really bad. They should just let sleeping dogs lie rather than continue humiliating themselves

Apc ful hear my pple try nd no d contution abeg may no let oyibo de yab us

Your parents are childless in you. I have no doubt that you reason from the anus.

fewspharm said...

Am beginning to b a great fan of Tambuwal.

My thought exactly,how is it a false statement,we all saw the tape,they attempted to break down government property,eventually scaled through a fence like agberos they are and assaulted the officers,even David Mack,it's all in the video.it doesn't matter if the president is behind or not,you should be law abinding citizens,breaking order to prove whatever is not honorable,(what if there was really an attack coming to NASS) the IG should arrest all in the tape.Why would a Nigerian think he is above the law...we should be realistic sometimes

You both (Oil and annon) are very stupid...so Tambuwal is now the man of the people because he defected from his original party,scaled through a gate,bought a form and returned it under sentiments..look let me tell you,the president might be wrong and corrupt but he is far better than these criminals you are defending here.

Olusoji said...

I quite agree with you. All this drama is just because Hon Speaker defected to opposition party.

Double standard!!!

This man is an honourable man indeed, let Jonathan keep ruling his cabinet...

With Due respect to Tambuwal, your Honourable status needs to be preserved by you doing the proper thing. Even if the Constitution leaves a controversial loop hole, you should set the example as the No. 4 Citizen by resigning your seat. Both sides of the divide will hail you and support you. But now, look at all this mess, anger in the land, uncertainty, investor jitters, fear of 2015 exercebated by your actions. You will still go down in History as the Speaker whether you resign or not. By the way, Jonathan immediately summoned the IGP about what happened through the VP, he had nothing to do with it, you guys need to grow up. He has more important things to think about. Right now in the UK, the future of Infrastructural dev't in Nigeria is being discussed, but no one us even aware, including Mr. Speaker and yet Nigeria has no government?

By the way, what are the remarkable achievements of Tambuwal as Speaker? What's up with the PIB? What about extant Laws that require urgent upgrading? NRC laws, Land Use Act, LG Autonomy etc. We need total change. I'm 30, but once I reach the age for Elected Offices, I Will Run, we need to flush these guys our, we need progress.

Jay, I gotchur back on this one. I see you understand what the issue is; the dunderheads think it's a north vs south / Muslim vs Christian issue.

You're a compound fool. Your own case actually makes visionary leadership imperative in Niheria cos you need leadership that'll develop your mind.

His days re not numbered Mr/mrs bcus man is no God. U re not to say!

I couldn't agree more! So long as the executive has the power to higher & fire any of the service chiefs at will, they will always dance to his tune & can never be neutral in carrying out their duties! The whole process is just foul, a situation where the 1st lady supposedly has the "power" to summon service chiefs and give elected state governors directives on how to run their states is totally beyond me.

DEguebe said...

Lol, crazy comedian... I like that... Deceptive mumuish countenance

Man united said...

Now we know that Nigerian police is made for Tambuwal,
they can only bark n can't bite.Igp's action is only meant to satisfy Sambo n Nsa after they embarrassed n shouted at him in d villa for failing to stop Tambuwal from gaining access into the national assembly complex.
But now that Sambo has joined the pack of wolfs in sheep clothing to chastise d Speaker only in a bid not to b dropped as running mate to d hitler of villa in d 2015 presidential general election,we shall tell him soon that 2015 general election is not a music for LIMPING vice president.

The Inspector General Of Police has disappointed Nigerians in discharging his duties intelligently and uphold his integrity. Tambuwal displayed high level of maturity during the incidence... NPF needs to be reformed and be able to work independently.

No wonder ur name is Toronto finest.you are very senseless,So the police force would turn a country of its own eii?is that how ur father controls police in Canada?.you see my friend the problem is you all lack a bit respect for the office of the president,till you realize how much power he is supposed to posses u can't come saying crap like this,what if there was really hoodlums attacking the NASS,so he shouldn't protect the office?take sentiments away,...why am I even saying much You ain't even Nigerian

sisi said...

@ Toronto , I agree with you.

Bizzie boy don't be in a haste to comment okay "it's we heard u" not "here" smh u need an English teacher Asap

In as much as Ion like jona n ddnt also like what they did to the speaker but he shudda kept calm n not by jumping the fence with some of his men, dats kinda criminal offense tho #myownopinion

FOOL!