Photos: MTN dissociates itself from ‘political’ recharge cards | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 20 November 2014

Photos: MTN dissociates itself from ‘political’ recharge cards

I'm sure some of you have seen these recharge cards bearing logos and names of political parties and contestants of next year's elections. MTN Nigeria has dissociated itself from recharge cards. Below is a statement they released...
"As a corporate organisation MTN is non-political and non-partisan. MTN Nigeria does not have any arrangement with any political party to produce specially branded recharge cards or merchandise. We also do not have any affiliation with any political party or organisation, either in Nigeria or in any of the 22 countries where MTN operates across Africa and the Middle East. " Continue...

"Operators and their authorized partners are allowed to sell logical PINs to dealers and trade partners, who in turn retail them to third parties and members of the public who may also wish to/reprint them for their private/commercial use.”
“We will take all prudent steps to ensure that dealers conform to agreed trade practices consistent with statute and policies governing the Industry.”

48 comments:

Hmmm, 9ja politics fear me o.

first to comment......and first time too

Lol... this is just so funny... this people wont kill me with laughter... loll.

LIB ADS : NEW DISCOVERY - You desire some extra pay or income means? If so, click here to see how and what you can do to go about just with your phone from today.

Looolz Nigerian politicians wouldn't mind producing customized sanitary pads and condoms,just coz of election.

Uche Emma said...

Good

Chinedu said...

Ok... We yaf heard

APC is so desperate for power, which in Jesus name they will never get it

desperate politicians...

Nice one Mtn

Story for the gods,that sounds unbelievable,who gives out the pin for the recharge cards if the organisation claims be unaware of the political airtime cards,am sure the presidency is threatning them,greedy lots

Neks said...

Nigeria and their dirty politics, anything to win election, nice of MTN to release this statement

bbm 7F098C19 said...

mtn is as stupid as the APC. just imagine. cheap publicity. Engr Emy

See as APC wan settle down spoil other people market

abismile queen said...

Better if not any people will stop using mtn

The forthcoming elections won't be funny. Political aspirant are willing to do anything to win.

Yeye MTN should take time. They wanna be APC (boko haram). Take it of leave it, PDP is the only political party in Nigeria that practice democracy to an extent. D rest are being govern by god father.

Then those producing such cards shuld be arrested. Since MTN claims nt to knw abt it.

Lmaoo.... This politians can really hustle.. MTN should sue their ass abeg.....

Kabuoy said...

Awon oniranu! They'll stop at nothing in this their campaign! Imagine! 100 recharge card... how silly! mstchew! Nonsense!

Mtn.. ona dooo o! Lol (hope I got that right)

BETTER...

That wat we see in 9ja...

chijindu said...

Not thier fault anyway,but, apc still pays people to do that

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

Bera

This is the declaration of the Organization Of Islamic Cooperation for Nigeria. An order which must be fulfilled.

"amongst other things, that only Muslims should be appointed to strategic posts, non-Muslim religions should be eradicated, Nigeria should become a Federal Islamic Sultanate, and western law should be replaced with sharia".

en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abuja_Declaration_(1989)

Who still sees Boko Haram as a surprise? And why The Entire head of APC are all muslims?

Turkey used to be a 100% Christian Nation...what happened to it?

Nigerian Christians must wake up!

Re-Broadcast! Pls.

Shit just got real
Recharge card too????
Na wa o

Lmao mischiefmakers at work.But i need to know if this MTN N10 recharge card i see in circulation is real.With 2015 approaching,anything is possible just to get the support of the poor masses.

APC NDI OHIE ...WILL NOT BUY SUCH CARD FROM DESPERATE PARTY LIKE THEM ..RUBBISH

very good they did that and fantastic they are not letting the company be used

AGBA ENJOYMENT said...

This is story for the gods. Election 2011 during voting in Lagos, in my polling unit, they were sharing recharge card with President Jonathan on it. So make them leave that thing. No be today

Pdp don threaten Mtn.so obvious

This is cheap even for APC, shows level of desperation.

This is not a new thing. APC did the same thing during the ondo state campaign 2years ago.

I tell you...

U don't know what u re saying,has ISIS succeeded in Iraq or Syria? What has PDP achieved over 15 years in power... Please keep ur conspiracy theory to ur gullible mind

Ok.

Cheap publicity for Ambode...dec 2 is lmost here sha.

ßįļľkụ́mâ said...

You're getting close.

I have decided never to vote anymore so it is non of my business #okbye

hrm paul ojeih said...

i am very happy wen i saw this statement from mtn. i was getting angry wen i saw the idiots face on my mtn card i hate politicians with so much venom dey are nothing but greedy bastards thrives exploiters robbers permitted to rob by the constitution .
how in d hell will i want to recharge and all i see is the face of an idiot. apc has stooped so low were in d hell was this clown all this years becos its election time he is branding recharge card why didn't he just buy recharge card and give it out for free

is today they started using recharge card to do campaign they started with a Glo what is big deal if is PDP no complain

Some of you guys are bloody hypocrites.

Where were you when Jonathan & PDP were violating openly the electoral law on campagns; for more than 6 months through the activities of so - called TAN?

In any case, this is purely a branding matter and is similar to a situation when somebody buys a gift item and brands it for a particular campagn/event. E.g. during xmas.

If MTN truly feels that the terms & conditions of advertisement placements on their customizable recharge cards has been voilated, the law court is there. chikenna!

EVA said...

Also , Mtn pls dissociate yourself from those frivolous calls u put across to my phone to advertise ur products when am tryin to save my battery.otherwise I wil sue soon

abujakenneth said...

Though all I need is the PIN numbers, I will not buy any recharge that has APC or PDP logo. The two parties have failed Nigerians in the Federal State and Local Governments

Weezy said...

AMBO2015, Linda and bad belle people can go and die come May 29 2015, i trust you Linda to upload our swearing pictures on that day. APC changeeeeeeeee. Scratch you card, load your pin, see Ambode's picture and move on with your life. Gaskin, no need for story for the gods. Linda for your info, we don't recognize you, Kobo like this you will not get , you can they fall hand.

Weezy said...

@ foal shade Hamzat, na who do your grand father abi father wey make am go chop Obama for ewekoro, when hin pikin wan chop governor for Lagos. As for you all hypocrites and PDP never do wells, watch APC transform lagos to the mega city that stands out, lagos leads, others follow, I have bn to Bayelsa before and it's not half as good as lagos with all the oil money there. Awon ode jati jati ati Linda oni ra se.

Mehn wahala dey dis country ooo

ZEEZEE said...

#super story. shey na me print dis one wey dey hia ??? Nonsense. ALL OF UNA NA BIRDS OF D SAME FEATHER.